Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Now Ye're Talking - to a Firefighter/Paramedic

Options

Comments

• Company Representative Posts: 79 Verified rep I'm a Firefighter/Paramedic, AMA

wattlebird wrote: »
    1) How often do you get called to nightclubs etc to treat people who have overindulged in drink or drugs? Do you think that's something which affects your ability to attend to more "genuine" emergencies?

2) If you treat a seriously injured person or bring them to hospital, can you find out afterwards whether they've survived/recovered or are you left wondering?

Thank you for your service - it annoys me to see the military constantly lauded as heroes when fire/medical services rarely get such recognition.

Thank you very much.

1)Every weekend night I'd say approx 50% of calls are drink/drug related and they have on occasion prevented us attending when a more serious call has come in!

2) Yes, we have a good rapport with the ER nurses, and they will generally fill us in when we return.

• Company Representative Posts: 79 Verified rep I'm a Firefighter/Paramedic, AMA

Scarinae wrote: »
    What tools do you typically carry with you when you're called out - probably a torch, cutting implements etc but what else?

Is it tricky to get the appropriate firefighting gear, such as boots, for smaller women? (the industry I work in is very male dominated, and while the appropriate gear can usually be found for me when I'm on site because I'm tall, my boss has a lot of trouble because she's tiny and wears size 3 shoes) Or are there minimum height/weight/strength requirements to be a firefighter?