Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Now Ye're Talking - to a Firefighter/Paramedic

Options

Comments

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Notavirus.exe

• Company Representative Posts: 79 Verified rep I'm a Firefighter/Paramedic, AMA

Would agree with you on the need for caution with any technology replacing human instinct & interaction e.g. meeting 7 foot Tungsten-titanium (5540oC mp) droid-bots on a dark stairwell could give most folks shock rather than any comfort or 1st aid. Co2 grenades do sound very high risk on hindsight as you mentioned, like a future script from ‘Backdraft the sequel’.

Merseyside & others do however use 'Firebikes', ideally in pairs and only ever as pre-arrival to the main engines. With early assessment, narrow access-ability and as tools for community awareness campaigns. Getting to a small toaster fire 300% faster (dense urban) could also be significant with minutes between a small fire starting and total room inferno.

i-Red Drones also could be good (as early pre-arrival to the main engines). My relative mentioned the strain of days spent on a vast mountainsides locating, pre-empting and fighting the yearly gorse fires, which a cheap drone could easily help coordinate.

He was also also knocked out once by collapsing roof masonry. This is something that (readily available) materials technology such as ‘D30’ aka 'd3o', inside carbon-fiber helmets would help prevent.