Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Now Ye're Talking - to a Firefighter/Paramedic

Options
12346»

Comments

• Company Representative Posts: 79 Verified rep I'm a Firefighter/Paramedic, AMA

I know I might not get a straight answer (lol!) but what would the DFB think of an LGBT person joining? In real terms, not the HR spin!

Well, we have some members already who are openly members of the LGBT community, and as far as I'm concerned, they are treated like everybody else in the job. Again, hard to use this as a yard stick, but I've never heard of any complaints by them, and I'm in the job a long, long time.

• Company Representative Posts: 79 Verified rep I'm a Firefighter/Paramedic, AMA

Was thinking something like that (sonar) would be very handy (if combined with InfraRed), as is a real-time feedback and wouldn't rely on any external data (floorplans) uploaded to HUDs (visor display).

But as the chap mentioned, training & default senses such as the sound of a creaking roof, hot to the touch door handles, and the smell of petrol always more reliable.

I'd invest a $300 D30 undersuit all the same (as used by skiers, motorcross and stuntfolks). A dilatant non-Newtonian fluid which dynamically changes structure on impact:

https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=d3o+beanie

I'm not sure if this is directed at me, but I have no real interest in technological advances, nor have I an answer for you. I've hinted at this several times. I'm not against advances, and will use them as directed by my employer if needs be, I'm just not "into it" if you get what I mean.