Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SUP queries

• 09-12-2015 1:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭

First off apologies if this doesn't belong in surfing (mods please feel free to move). My head is done in trying to buy a stand up paddle board for the OH for Christmas. I don't really know what the best one would be for a beginner? I've read that bigger ones are better but how big is big? OH is 5ft5 and 75 kilos.

I've looked on Amazon and the Pathfinder looks good but is pricey when delivery is factored in.

There is someone selling them in the west of Ireland at clearance proce (399 incl paddle) but this seems a little too cheap? It's 9ft 6. Plus the paddle is not telescopic and is only 5ft. I've read that the paddle should be at least 6 inches taller than the user and worry that maybe this is just a cheapo one that he's trying to just get rid of. I have attached a picture of it.

Does anyone have any idea where I can source a good SUP for a beginner?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Here are two other photos of the one for 399

• Registered Users Posts: 23,532 ✭✭✭✭ted1

They look awful.

Where abouts in the country are you?
    In Dublin you have
    aboveboard in Dun Laoighre
    Pure Magic in Clontarf
    Surf dock in Grand canal docks.

They all do Sup boards.

These are similar price , but better boards.
    http://www.aboveboard.ie/category/sup/second-hand-sup-boards/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

ted1 wrote: »
    They look awful.

Where abouts in the country are you?
    In Dublin you have
    aboveboard in Dun Laoighre
    Pure Magic in Clontarf
    Surf dock in Grand canal docks.

They all do Sup boards.

Really? :(

I'm in Dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭spaceHopper

There are different SUP boards are for different types of conditions, some are great for surfing some are for flat water paddling. It also wouldn't be the easiest sport to just take up, they may find they don't like it... If they haven't tried it before, you could give them a voucher for lessons and money towards gear, I can't see you getting much for under 1000 euros and there is a real risk of getting the wrong board.

There is at least one place in Dublin doing them out of Dun Laoghaire or you could go west.

Or Bray http://www.brayadventures.ie/ I know one surf school in Sligo do trips on lakes, rivers... http://www.perfectdaysurfing.ie/

I have to own up that I know noting about SUP'ing but I know the owners of both linked schools there's bound to be others around the country

You could have a look at BIC SUP's http://www.bicsup.com/

• Registered Users Posts: 193 ✭✭Low Pockets

http://www.bigsurfshop.com/

Get onto those lads.
    Jason who does most of their online & surf stuff is HUGE into the whole sup bit for exploring the coast line. He's the right bloke to chat to and he wont set your wrong.

That 1st thing you posted is hideous.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭rodento

Most stand up paddle boards are big, so unless you have the space in your gaff to store one & a roof rack, it'll be a waste of time (the are blow up options)

Would go with a weekend away with lessons or tour for starters

• Registered Users Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭spaceHopper

Actually, forget about buying them an SUP get them SUP lessons somewhere warm and sunny

• Registered Users Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭stevire

AboveBoard in Dun Laoighaire replace their inflatable SUPs regularly. Sell old stock at good prices...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭traco

As mentioned above - the boards vary by usuage so choosing can be use specific. Any decent all round board will be close to 1k and probably 9ft plus. Length is somewhat related to weight but also has a huge effect on how the board paddles.

Short boards are more for use in surf as in actually surfing like a regular surfer, they are light, will float less weight but when surfed they glide at speed just like a moirmal surf board. However if you want to go for a paddle on a lake or flat water they are a pain as they are twitchy and not enjoyable to paddle long distance.

You mentioned paddle and I would suggest that a good paddle is more important than a top of the line board at the start. The length is critcal and the telescopic ones are OK for messing but they are heavy when compared to a serious paddle. If its something he is going to get into then the paddle is critical - if you think about it you just stand on the board but you swing and drive the paddle mutiples times per minute so a crap heavy one will tire you out and not perform very well, its what connects you to the water and gives you the drive. Budget 300 for a very good paddle, 400+ for a top of the line one but these will last a long time if minded.

If it was me and this was a new sport I'd go with some lessons and a voucher to put towards a paddle or board. paddle being first in my opinion and then pick up a second hand board next. Also and I will sound like a nany here but a leash is critical as is a life vest, SUP looks nice and safe but a quick google will show you a significant number of incidents that would easily be prevented by a vest and leash. I'll take safe over cool any day.

I would recommend an 1o-12ft all rounder, I 've picked a few below that might help you understand better how its works.

http://shopping.puremagic.ie/standup/511-bic-sup-board-dura-tec-104.html - sort of plastic material, very durable and will take lots of abuse. Used an 11ft older version and this wold be a decent board to start on. Big plus is that its doesn't take much minding.

http://shopping.puremagic.ie/standup/511-bic-sup-board-dura-tec-104.html This is an all rounder inflatable so storage is easy and again they dodn't take mcuh mining but would not perform as well as a hard board.

http://www.bigsurfshop.com/product/blend-112-x-30-2015-starboard-sup-board/ - Good all round booard but a jump up in performance, better material, lighter and fiber galss used in construction. Would track well on flat water for distance paddling and would surf well.

http://www.bigsurfshop.com/product/elite-touring-2015-starboard-sup/ long distance, flatwater, touring and would also race well. Not good for surf but this style could be good offshore and downwinding but thats a whole other discussion.

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭jarv

http://gongsupshop.com/epages/box1707.sf/fr_FR/?ObjectPath=/Shops/box1707/Products/GON5SUPPACKDISCOVERY

€500 all in with pump and paddle, good brand I have 3 boards form them.