Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

UEFA European Championship 2016 Draw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭garra

Balls. Its all gone pear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

13 June Stade de France Sweden
    18 June Bordeaux Belgium
    22 June Lille Italy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,243 ✭✭✭✭briany

I want group F. Group F sucks.

Not saying they are bad, but they might be the worst of this bunch

There is little between that bunch. Fúck it we beat and drew with the World champions. Great to be in it. What will be will be.

It could be a group where any team takes points off each other. Still tough though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,592 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Unlucky.

Scrap the cap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,294 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Group A
    France
    Romania
    Albania
    Switzerland

Group B
    England
    Russia
    Wales
    Slovakia

Group C
    Germany
    Ukraine
    Poland
    Northern Ireland

Group D
    Spain
    Czech Republic
    Turkey
    Croatia

Group E
    Belgium
    Italy
    Republic of Ireland
    Sweden

Group F
    Portugal
    Iceland
    Austria
    Hungary

Group A
    10 June 2016 20:00 France V Romania Stade de France, Saint-Denis
    11 June 2016 14:00 Albania V Switzerland Stade Bollaert-Delelis, Lens
    15 June 2016 17:00 Romania V Switzerland Parc des Princes, Paris
    15 June 2016 20:00 France V Albania Stade Vélodrome, Marseille
    19 June 2016 20:00 Romania V Albania Stade des Lumières, Lyon
    19 June 2016 20:00 Switzerland V France Stade Pierre-Mauroy, Lille

Group B
    11 June 2016 17:00 Wales V Slovakia Matmut Atlantique, Bordeaux
    11 June 2016 20:00 England V Russia Stade Vélodrome, Marseille
    15 June 2016 14:00 Russia V Slovakia Stade Pierre-Mauroy, Lille
    16 June 2016 14:00 England V Wales Stade Bollaert-Delelis, Lens
    20 June 2016 20:00 Russia V Wales Stadium Municipal, Toulouse
    20 June 2016 20:00 Slovakia V England Stade Geoffroy-Guichard, Saint-Étienne

Group C
    12 June 2016 17:00 Poland V Northern Ireland Allianz Riviera, Nice
    12 June 2016 20:00 Germany V Ukraine Stade Pierre-Mauroy, Lille
    16 June 2016 17:00 Ukraine V Northern Ireland Stade des Lumières, Lyon
    16 June 2016 20:00 Germany V Poland Stade de France, Saint-Denis
    21 June 2016 17:00 Ukraine V Poland Stade Vélodrome, Marseille
    21 June 2016 17:00 Northern Ireland V Germany Parc des Princes, Paris

Group D
    12 June 2016 14:00 Turkey V Croatia Parc des Princes, Paris
    13 June 2016 14:00 Spain V Czech Republic Stadium Municipal, Toulouse
    17 June 2016 17:00 Czech Republic V Croatia Stade Geoffroy-Guichard, Saint-Étienne
    17 June 2016 20:00 Spain V Turkey Allianz Riviera, Nice
    21 June 2016 20:00 Czech Republic V Turkey Stade Bollaert-Delelis, Lens
    21 June 2016 20:00 Croatia V Spain Matmut Atlantique, Bordeaux

Group E
    13 June 2016 17:00 Republic of Ireland V Sweden Stade de France, Saint-Denis
    13 June 2016 20:00 Belgium V Italy Stade des Lumières, Lyon
    17 June 2016 14:00 Italy V Sweden Stadium Municipal, Toulouse
    18 June 2016 14:00 Belgium V Republic of Ireland Matmut Atlantique, Bordeaux
    22 June 2016 20:00 Italy V Republic of Ireland Stade Pierre-Mauroy, Lille
    22 June 2016 20:00 Sweden V Belgium Allianz Riviera, Nice

Group F
    14 June 2016 17:00 Austria V Hungary Matmut Atlantique, Bordeaux
    14 June 2016 20:00 Portugal V Iceland Stade Geoffroy-Guichard, Saint-Étienne
    18 June 2016 17:00 Iceland V Hungary Stade Vélodrome, Marseille
    18 June 2016 20:00 Portugal V Austria Parc des Princes, Paris
    22 June 2016 17:00 Iceland V Austria Stade de France, Saint-Denis
    22 June 2016 17:00 Hungary V Portugal Stade des Lumières, Lyon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,372 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Least I only have to book 2 weeks off work :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

Love it lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

It's a repeat of 2012: we have to win the first game or we're fooked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,692 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Thanos wrote: »
    so the last group get Hungry and Austria, feck that......

Told ye we wanted group f. Easily the handiest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

Draw done. Can someone now map England's route to the final out for me please? Footballs Coming Home, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,292 ✭✭✭GreNoLi

Pot ... it is then.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

Easy group :P

Ireland will need to f**king show up for this tournament to have any hope of even obtaining 3rd.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,237 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

I love it when we get teams with lots of different colour strips.

Green, blue, yellow, red.

Couldn't be happier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

It's a repeat of 2012: we have to win the first game or we're fooked.

ftfy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Unearthly

I reckon we can beat Sweden, and get a point from either Belgium or Italy

• Registered Users Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

We got the worst group possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Germany/Spain final

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

well thats not ideal

no:1 ranked team in the world
    Zlatan
    and Italy

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭edgecutter

I'm just happy to be there. The draw could have been a hell of a lot worse (look at the norths group). Hopefully the boys go for wins and give the fans something to cheer on.

If the last World cup proved anything, when you have enough guts it can more then make up for lack of talent. Would we prefer not to qualify altogether? We were in pot 4 so there was always going to be a chance we would get a stiff draw. It is what it is and to be honest ill look forward to the tournament whatever happens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Never been very warm in Sweden or Belgium apparently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,944 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Balls but we will have a good crack at it, think about poor Scotland who will be on there holidays then.

Sweden match 1 is a must win game as we won't beat Italy or if Belgium are on fire

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

I know on paper Belgium look good on paper and their the number 1 ranked team in the world but are they really as good in reality.

They were absolutely dire at the last world cup despite coming in hotly tipped.

Am I right in thinking the last time we won against those teams in competitive games was the 1-0 win over Italy in the '94 World Cup?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,292 ✭✭✭GreNoLi

Tipping France for the win.

Beefy78 wrote: »
    Draw done. Can someone now map England's route to the final out for me please? Footballs Coming Home, etc.

Win the group. Czech Republic round two, Portugal Quarter Final, Spain in the semi, Germany in the Final. Job done.

Not sure why anyone else is turning up tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

I know on paper Belgium look good on paper and their the number 1 ranked team in the world but are they really as good in reality.

They were absolutely dire at the last world cup despite coming in hotly tipped.

I think you need to readjust your definition of 'dire'.

We may not be as good as the ranking suggests, but that's got more to do with the coach than anything else.

The problem becomes, here, is that if Ireland get stuffed again (and let's face it - that's hardly unimaginable) the team is back where they were in September 2012. A team where the spell had been broken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Tough group, but it's not impossible to get out of it. I'm sure Scotland would have loved to have been in that group instead of us. Can't wait!!!

Yes

maybe not best team in the world good but we shouldn't make out they are worse than they are just cos their ranking is a little higher than maybe it should be.

Sweden def our best chance for a win here but all the teams are beatable. Most non Irish would probably have us down for around 1pt in the group stages though I'd say.

Which is our first game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Not sure what all the negativity is about. All 3 were distinctly average in qualifying. Of course it could have better, but we were always up against it. I don't fear any of those teams

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭obezyana

I don't see the doom and gloom. Italy ain't great no more, Belgium yeah a good team but beatable and Sweden well only Ibra is top notch. Not as bad as it seems I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,502 ✭✭✭spock.

3 draws should be enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Drunk Irish fans having the pre-match craic with the hot Swedish female model fans

A match made in heaven

obezyana wrote: »
    I don't see the doom and gloom. Italy ain't great no more, Belgium yeah a good team but beatable and Sweden well only Ibra is top notch. Not as bad as it seems I think.

Italy will turn up. I don't think the other two are great and third place could get you through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭obezyana

Beefy78 wrote: »
    Italy will turn up. I don't think the other two are great and third place could get you through.

I don't think they will they don't have the players like they used to.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Which is our first game?

vs Sweden, first game of the group.

http://liveblog.irishtimes.com/1e9aea2b81/LIVE-Euro-2016-draw/

Group E
    June 13: Republic of Ireland v Sweden, Stade de France, Paris, 5.0
    June 13: Belgium v Italy, Lyon, 8.0
    June 17: Italy v Sweden, Toulouse, 2.0
    June 18: Belgium v Republic of Ireland, Bordeaux, 2.0
    June 22: Italy v Republic of Ireland, Lille, 8.0
    June 22: Sweden v Belgium, Nice, 8.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,118 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Drunk Irish fans having the pre-match craic with the hot Swedish female model fans

A match made in heaven

Except the fans will prioritise beer over boobs. For the craic like.

Seeing as every team is beatable in a group like Irelands I think the best 3rd place teams making it through make this even more interesting

obezyana wrote: »
    I don't think they will they don't have the players like they used to.

Neither do we.

Clark and Keogh did well for us but they're no Paul McGrath.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 605 ✭✭✭Lemmy Scott

so close to getting hungary again -italy makes the group awful

that portugal group is a load of ****e

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

so close to getting hungary again -italy makes the group awful

Austria we nearly had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

Time to put money on Ronaldo for top goalscorer I think.

northern irelands group is worse than ours england poxed again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭kenco

It's Italia 90 again Imo. Loads of draws one team will get a win and top the group. Coin toss for who gets second place again...

If France or Portugal don't make it through something has gone terribly wrong.

Both Ireland got the toughest draw. Actually wouldn't mind being in England's group instead of Wales but meh to all that beat Zlatan (easier said than done) in the first game and we have a huge chance especially with the best 3rds going through.