Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Munster vs Leicester match thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭former total

Frustrating because they could have won but for some bad errors and criminal missed tackles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭Moflojo

vienne86 wrote: »
    Conway has had a good game.

I thought he was quite poor, especially his decision-making. He carried into dead ends instead of passing, forced the pass when it wasn't on, and his badly-executed grubber in the first half led to Leicester's second try.

He looked like a player who was trying too hard to prove himself. Instead of doing the simple things really well, he was trying to force the outrageous stuff when it just wasn't on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 958 ✭✭✭funtime93

aimee1 wrote: »
    Keatley i think missed touch with a second kick from hand which was called back because he was 3-4 yards in front of the mark.

Madigan is not the answer either in terms of a controlling 10 because what he gives over IK [better kicker, better defender] isnt what munster need.
    Madigan kicks his goals though, Keatley doesn't. Can see why JJ left now. Must've been fuming to be sat behind Keatley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

Moflojo wrote: »
    I thought he was quite poor, especially his decision-making. He carried into dead ends instead of passing, forced the pass when it wasn't on, and his badly-executed grubber in the first half led to Leicester's second try.

He looked like a player who was trying too hard to prove himself. Instead of doing the simple things really well, he was trying to force the outrageous stuff when it just wasn't on.

I only saw bits of the second half but BOD said he was munsters best player?

Bridge93 wrote: »

He said that alright. I think he was being generous to Munster by name-checking any player!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,551 ✭✭✭Goldstein

So this is what it's like to be the 4th best team in Ireland. Sad to see Munster circling the drain ever closer under Foley. It was like watching Scotland play seeing them shoot themselves in the foot like that repeatedly. Gifting tries, missing crucial kicks, falling off tackles and opting for hail mary kicks from good attacking positions. Can't recall the last time Munster lost 3 games in a row.

On a separate point I felt sorry for Keatley coming off. The crowd's cheer said it all. Lonely place to be. Really their ire should be directed at the failure to get the required quality in at 10. Ok they've been a bit unlucky with Blydenhaal but Keatley is a handy scapegoat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,562 ✭✭✭kub

Did he mean best of a bad lot i wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,077 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Tackles made Munster 63 Leicester 120.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Foley throwing the book at them anyway.

Not sure that's great coaching work..

Foley bitching about the reversed penalty from Poite. Massive turning point. Doesn't sound great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭case885

Axel fuming in the interview

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,947 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Goldstein wrote: »
    So this is what it's like to be the 4th best team in Ireland. Sad to see Munster circling the drain ever closer under Foley. It was like watching Scotland play seeing them shoot themselves in the foot like that repeatedly. Gifting tries, missing crucial kicks, falling off tackles and opting for hail mary kicks from good attacking positions. Can't recall the last time Munster lost 3 games in a row.

Might have some competition for that accolade after tomorrow :(

Oh no. No no, Foley, please don't blame the Ref.

This is worse blame game than MOC was playing last season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭former total

Foley doing himself no favours in this interview here at all.

Foley having a cut at the ref in public now. Jaysus. I wasn't panicking before now, but...

An issue i see Munster having is that their best players with the exception of Murray POM Stander and maybe Ryan are in the back 3. It's difficult to control a game from out wide. They need a few Zebo's and Earls' in where the action is regularly. The lads out wide won't get the ball otherwise. Like having a couple of great strikers but ****e everywhere else.

I feel sorry for Munster fans having to listen to Foley saying that. Woeful.

What's he said?

Meanwhile Cockerill says Leicester were a bit flattered by the score.

I feel sorry for Munster fans having to listen to Foley saying that. Woeful.

Number's low and leaving early, 3 losses on the row, two in Thomond. I think the fan's are doing the talking with their feet.

What's he said?

He said the reversed penalty on 34 mins was "an absolute disgrace. An absolute disgrace." (He said it twice)

It was classless really. He looked like a man under serious pressure, which he is now, unfortunately.

Number's low and leaving early, 3 losses on the row, two in Thomond. I think the fan's are doing the talking with their feet.

The fans did their best to lift the team during the match, in fairness.

For sure, hugely vocal. Deserved better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭aimee1

Foley having a cut at the ref in public now. Jaysus. I wasn't panicking before now, but...

yeah all very mourinho from foley which is poor. The reverse pen was wrong but he needs to look at the poor execution from his own players which was all night, not just one decision

He said the reversed penalty on 34 mins was "an absolute disgrace. An absolute disgrace." (He said it twice)

It was classless really. He looked like a man under serious pressure, which he is now, unfortunately.

That's only half the worry. The fact that he blamed that for the ultimate loss is baffling. How can you think that was a turning point? Still most of the match to play and while it led to a try, it only did so because Munster couldn't disrupt the Leicester maul.

Did Foley just have his contract renewed?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 487 ✭✭Chorus_suck

That's only half the worry. The fact that he blamed that for the ultimate loss is baffling. How can you think that was a turning point? Still most of the match to play and while it led to a try, it only did so because Munster couldn't disrupt the Leicester maul.

He's probably attempting to create a 'siege mentality' ahead of the return trip next week. Us against them. If he honestly thinks that decision cost Munster the game then he's in serious trouble.

I think he acknowledged that there was more to the loss than that, but to come booming out with that as being the primary reason, and then re-iterate it, just sounded awful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭vkid

Just home. Awful stuff. Why we have persisted with keatley is beyond me. It's obvious for quite a while that he is not up to it. Says a lot about foley imo thar he kept him on the field for so long. Lots of other problems too but keatley is a blazingly obvious one. Bloody frozen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭Crimsonforce

Foley should have had some media training on how to deal with questions. He is awful at them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,149 ✭✭✭blackcard

Foley should have had some media training on how to deal with questions. He is awful at them

Foley is a person that I admired as a player, wholehearted and always gave his best, similar to Cullen in many ways. Management is a totally different game. You have to say also that he hasn't got the talent at his disposal

blackcard wrote: »
    Foley is a person that I admired as a player, wholehearted and always gave his best, similar to Cullen in many ways. Management is a totally different game. You have to say also that he hasn't got the talent at his disposal

Well to be fair to Cullen, I think he is pretty good with the media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭conditioned games

Munster rugby has fallen way behind since they lost narrowly to Clermont Auvergne in a Heineken cup semifinal under Rob Penny in 2012.

At least under the last manager they were playing an attractive attacking game using the full width of the pitch and playing good rugby.

Anthony Foley is renowned for putting the ball up the jumper and pushing over the game line with little attacking flair. But even their mauls and forward play is poor.

The support in the stadium with only 80% full for a European game reflects the current style of rugby they've been playing the last 2 years and there is one main culprit for that.

Why can't they bring in EOS just to bloody help him out..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Kerry_2008

Said before Eddie would have been a good appointment after Penney. Foley is way out of his depth. Lack of class in post match interview.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,424 ✭✭✭garhjw

vkid wrote: »
    Just home. Awful stuff. Why we have persisted with keatley is beyond me. It's obvious for quite a while that he is not up to it. Says a lot about foley imo thar he kept him on the field for so long. Lots of other problems too but keatley is a blazingly obvious one. Bloody frozen.

Munster went from O'Gara to Keatley at outhalf. How many years do you give a guy to develop? He just isn't good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭Triumvirate

its_phil wrote:
    Leicester were gifted that game, can't believe their luck at getting those 3 triesl.

They very much were not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

Foley contract up at end of this season
    vkid wrote: »
    It wasn't just Keatley. Our skills are horrendous like wtf is Costello doing? It was Scannell on bench so I imagine if it was Tyler IK would have been off earlier but....
    blackcard wrote: »
    He is a good coach but HC no. He was quite good in his assistant roles but head coach not great at all.
    Munster rugby has fallen way behind since they lost narrowly to Clermont Auvergne in a Heineken cup semifinal under Rob Penny in 2012.

At least under the last manager they were playing an attractive attacking game using the full width of the pitch and playing good rugby.

Anthony Foley is renowned for putting the ball up the jumper and pushing over the game line with little attacking flair. But even their mauls and forward play is poor.

The support in the stadium with only 80% full for a European game reflects the current style of rugby they've been playing the last 2 years and there is one main culprit for that.
    The style of rugby being played isn't the reason the stadiums only 80% full

There were plenty of empty seats in the RDS for our match v Wasps....not just a Munster problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭aimee1

There were plenty of empty seats in the RDS for our match v Wasps....not just a Munster problem.

think RWC playing its part a little bit too

aimee1 wrote: »
    think RWC playing its part a little bit too

I agree completely. I for one have felt a bit 'rugby-ed out' this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

The fact that he blamed that for the ultimate loss is baffling.

Focusing on just one particular point indeed was strange as there was quite a few elements of our play that we were found lacking in.

Never a fan of bringing in ex-players as managers. Foley's history must be a huge weight around his neck.

I think fresh eyes were what was needed.

I always thought Axel would make a fantastic No. 2 but I heard there was a big clash between himself and Penny.

I also think BT sports involvement has caused a drop off in people being engaged with the tournament. Its too hard to find out which games are on what channel. And then you see the pricing they charge to watch the games on satellite. Its just too much.

I would hope next time round they offer some games to national broadcasters , in order to increase the viewership.. but there's def a fall off of people watching....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,488 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

My thoughts after that
    1 we are now bordering on a very average team
    2 No strong voices through team ,captaincy v poor
    3 doc ain't a close relation of a 7 and our back row as a unit is v poor
    4 Keatley dosnt cut it at 10 both general play and kicking not up to scratch .saying that the booing and heckling of him coming off was unacceptable
    5 foley has had his chance and failed ,we havnt progressed ,we've regressed as a team .letting Jj go was criminal and bringing some of his old mates (Flannery ,o Driscoll )with him was poor decision .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

I also think BT sports involvement has caused a drop off in people being engaged with the tournament. Its too hard to find out which games are on what channel. And then you see the pricing they charge to watch the games on satellite. Its just too much.

I would hope next time round they offer some games to national broadcasters , in order to increase the viewership.. but there's def a fall off of people watching....

Just check the Sky EPG or internet to see which channel is showing which game. I do agree with you re pricing in ROI but here in NI if you have BT broadband BT Sport is reasonably priced. If you want to see highlights of matches EPCR website is reasonable if delayed a bit) - http://www.epcrugby.com/matchdaytv and Sky sports website show them free to non Sky sports subscribers - http://www.skysports.com/rugby-union/competitions/european-rugby-champions-cup. It's a pity TG4 are only allowed to show matches involving Irish teams.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Funny enough though I was looking at the lineout and was think it's been pretty good today, bar the try they gave away.

All the hookers seem well able to throw so whoever's coaching that aspect of it seems to be doing grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,488 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

The Heineken cup on sky was a great tournament and u could nearly plan ur weekend around their schedule to catch as many games as possible ..hate this new comp on sky and bt.skys coverage and marketing was way better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

mahoney_j wrote: »
    My thoughts after that
    1 we are now bordering on a very average team
    2 No strong voices through team ,captaincy v poor
    3 doc ain't a close relation of a 7 and our back row as a unit is v poor
    4 Keatley dosnt cut it at 10 both general play and kicking not up to scratch .saying that the booing and heckling of him coming off was unacceptable
    5 foley has had his chance and failed ,we havnt progressed ,we've regressed as a team .letting Jj go was criminal and bringing some of his old mates (Flannery ,o Driscoll )with him was poor decision .

I didn't see the game, but if that happened then it's an utter disgrace. Who are these people that do that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭Panda Moanium