Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool vs West Brom Match Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,546 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

What a let off.

We are so poor defensively .

How is it poor defending if so many were offside? That's normally good defending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭Negative_G

Why do we insist on holding a high line for those free kicks? From the beginning of the run up to when it arrived in the box the defenders had moved back at least 10 yards.. Surely a deeper line with less movement would allow them to deal with it better?

Blessed that it was not given.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

corwill wrote: »
    Pulis making a show of himself.

Could be worse...he could be naked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,948 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

No ambiguity there

CWHseUoUwAADNra.jpg:large

Negative_G wrote: »
    Blessed that it was not given.

No we weren't, WBA would be blessed it if was given, correct call

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

Could be worse...he could be naked.

I'll be leaving the dinner a half hour later at least after reading that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Well on top and West Brom are creating nothing but while never see out a game comfortably while we defend set pieces like that.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭Hangballlouie

mosstin wrote: »
    Because of the way he plays, he's going to need to score a lot of goals or he'll quickly become the scapegoat. And not just today.

In the attack I was referring to we were going direct at goal but he was positioned wide instead of being in the middle. The attack lost all momentum and defenders got back.
    If he had been central he would have had a pass to him that put him clear on goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭Negative_G

No we weren't, WBA would be blessed it if was given, correct call

Thanks for the insight. We've seen plenty of incorrect off side decisions. This could have quite easily have been another.

murpho999 wrote: »
    How is it poor defending if so many were offside? That's normally good defending.

Being offside doesn't equate to good defending unless they were playing for offside which they clearly weren't.

niallo27 wrote: »
    That is happening a lot lately, it happened in the utd game as well. Are refs and linesmen getting another input from somewhere.

latest?cb=20150822174323

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

Mignolet and Skrtel are just liabilities.

Closely followed by Benteke who is a square peg in the system.

Just have to wait now for Klopp to bring in a few of his own.

SlickRic wrote: »
    Well Klopp still hasn't fixed our set piece defending anyway.

Mig making no contact with the ball can't be put on any of the staff except Mig, all that can be done is dropping him and let his girlfriend have a chat like last year or else leave him play away.

Dropping him worked last year but might not work this year so it's a tough one. He's not too bad lately though to be fair.

• Registered Users Posts: 821 ✭✭✭Techniques07

latest?cb=20150822174323

Ancient astronaut theorists suggest, yes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

baaaadly missing a cutting edge up front

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Being offside doesn't equate to good defending unless they were playing for offside which they clearly weren't.

But the opponents had an illegal and unfair advantage so you can't really criticise a defence for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭garra

Benteke seems lacking in anticipation and movement

• Registered Users Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭ronjo

That is happening a lot lately, it happened in the utd game as well. Are refs and linesmen getting another input from somewhere.

Arsenals penalty was given today after a few seconds delay. Could be something in that.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,989 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

garra wrote: »
    Benteke seems lacking in anticipation and movement

Yes, he's playing his own game of standing statues.

I mentioned before about holding that high line on frees, it's a disaster waiting to happen. Any decent defensive coaches free, Steve Clarke?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭mosstin

Benteke doing an extensive warm up during the first half. Looks like he's coming on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,294 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Should never have been a free kick as west brom were blessed not to have given away a pen ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

How was Milner not booked for that

Could have been nasty.

Wasting time already

Some fantastic crosses today, Benteke really disappointing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Some fantastic crosses today, Benteke really disappointing

In fairness, he can't score from crosses that are almost on his head

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

That was a corner shirley?

No,just a crap header.

In fairness, he can't score from crosses that are almost on his head

Or being outside the box when the crosses are into the box.

No,just a crap header.

Think he meant Milner.

No,just a crap header.

No off Milners shot at goal.

No,just a crap header.

Although we could be watching different times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

I feel like if we don't score by the 70th min, it's gonna be a draw/late loss.

83% possession in second half :(

Kloop doesn't look too happy.

Dawson knew what he was doing there

Milner hit the ground pretty hard there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Nothing has changed at home, its all very frustrating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,594 ✭✭✭kingshankly

I'd actually say we are worse under klopp than we were under rodgers

Benteke must have shot wide 4 or 5 times now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Missed the first half. Looks like i missed a howler from Mignolet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,480 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

We always have 5 in the hole
    Need runners into the boxy

Nothing has changed at home, its all very frustrating.

Never easy against a mass defence/parked bus.

We just stop once we reach the box

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

I'd actually say we are worse under klopp than we were under rodgers

I presume you are talking about the home form. I would say its is the exact same really, same defensive issues and no ability to break down teams that defend deep.

Someone woke up the KOP

Took an awful long time to get off the pitch for a man who can jog right back on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

We just stop once we reach the box

Mrs Crinklewood must be giving the team talk

It'll be grand once Mr. Glass is back.