Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If Isis were to attack Ireland, what places would be target?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭crashadder

why would anyone ever attack Ireland ffs. Its not part of anything nor had anything to do with Middle East. Its not even a touristic place :-) I'd say ireland cant make it to the "top 20 states to attack" list

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

The holy stone of Clonrichert

• Registered Users Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

jeanjolie wrote: »
    To bad for them, accessing firearms or any other chemical/physical weapons capable of mass destruction is nearly impossible in Ireland

The reason Ireland hasn't been shielded isn't necessarily to do with our 'neutrality' (many countries attacked in Europe that weren't involved in ME conflict) but simply because of the extremely strict legislation on importing, storing and owning dangerous weapons compared to other countries.

I mean you know how many 'crazies' we have in this country; It' not as if the United States is unique in this situation. If there was a market for 'assault rifles' in Ireland then terrorists and school shooters would be on RTE in the following months.

The UVF & IRA seemed to get around these strict legislation with ease.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

If it was proper terrorists I'd say Shannon airport, But Isis seem more keen on easy casualties so.....

I'd say a regional GAA match. No security, a few thousand people. An arab would get a few quare looks, so you'd have to ease into it and only bomb on the 4th or 5th appearance.

A dart station at rush hour maybe. You could do some serious damage outside Tara Street station at 8.30, and there's always some lads handing out free newspapers there. Wouldn't be too hard to get your hands on a metro HI-VIS vest I'd say.

I'm not sure what the bollard situation is on the bottom of Grafton Street, I think they're putting some in on the top after they've finished the Luas works.

Other than that I'd say the standard ones, concerts, universities, etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

crashadder wrote: »
    why would anyone ever attack Ireland ffs. Its not part of anything nor had anything to do with Middle East. Its not even a touristic place :-) I'd say ireland cant make it to the "top 20 states to attack" list

What do you think ISIS's top 20 targets are?

Are they making the list based on liberal states that are opposed to their way of life (Sweden, Belgium).

Militant western states who oppose them (USA, UK)

Non-Wahabist governments in Islamic states (Syria, Iran, Egypt, Turkey)

Or what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

It's definitely touristy.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,815 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Celtickate wrote: »
    My guess would be the Luas in Dublin, president's house, some award show.
    the gardai think http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/elite-army-and-gardai-in-twoday-exercise-in-preparation-for-potential-is-terror-attacks-34485284.html
    A number of situations, such as the possibility of a terrorist attack at Dublin Airport and a chemical attack in the capital, were examined by the State's security agencies.
    The specialists also took part in a hypothetical role play scenario in which a terrorist wearing a suicide vest took over a multinational corporation building in Ireland.
    which is a bit strange, apart from 9/11 and the WTC when has a multinational company been targeted?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,607 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

In some cases, like the attack on Parliament, the selection of a high profile target is obvious.

But in other cases, like a concert or a busy street, it looks like the selection criteria were just finding a place with a lot of people that was easy to access. If that's the selection process, it could be anywhere, and virtually impossible to stop.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,939 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Glenster wrote: »
    If it was proper terrorists I'd say Shannon airport, But Isis seem more keen on easy casualties so.....

I'd say a regional GAA match. No security, a few thousand people. An arab would get a few quare looks, so you'd have to ease into it and only bomb on the 4th or 5th appearance.

A dart station at rush hour maybe. You could do some serious damage outside Tara Street station at 8.30, and there's always some lads handing out free newspapers there. Wouldn't be too hard to get your hands on a metro HI-VIS vest I'd say.

I'm not sure what the bollard situation is on the bottom of Grafton Street, I think they're putting some in on the top after they've finished the Luas works.

Other than that I'd say the standard ones, concerts, universities, etc.

Or they might think it was Paul Galvin.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,138 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

A truck of peace down Henry street in Dublin on a Sat or coming up to xmas would be carnage, or are there barriers there now?

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

ISIS made a list of 40 or so states they consider enemies, ireland was included. Obviously there is a chance it could be targeted then, however small

• Registered Users Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

wakka12 wrote: »
    ISIS made a list of 40 or so states they consider enemies, ireland was included. Obviously there is a chance it could be targeted then, however small

Not even Hitler (PBUH) stooped to that.

topper75 wrote: »
    Not even Hitler (PBUH) stooped to that.

How is that relevant? They have different ideologies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭snapper1234

TBH ye are just giving them feckin ideas?

I dont think we're going to have much effect on where they attack
    Do you think they attacked london bridge because some tosser said it'd be a good place to attack in the comments section on the daily mail online

• Registered Users Posts: 11,210 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

The last pub or nightclub the would-be terrorist was turned away from, or in some way humiliated in, would be prime candidate for an attack.

• Registered Users Posts: 696 ✭✭✭TheFitz13

Maybe Gay Pride this year??

• Registered Users Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭PhiloCypher

Most of these attacks are suicide runs. Even if they aren't wearing suicide vests they go into it knowing they will die in a hail of bullets. I could be wrong but I don't think we inspire the sort of hate with these people one needs to be willing to kill yourself. Look at the jihadi in the recent London attack who had lived here. If we inspired that sort of hate we would have been a far softer target for him to hit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭snapper1234

wakka12 wrote: »
    I dont think we're going to have much effect on where they attack
    Do you think they attacked london bridge because some tosser said it'd be a good place to attack in the comments section on the daily mail online

well in all fairness like anything could get into a looneys head to do it anywhere like

Thats my point,they do what they want. So a discussion on boards.ie isn't going to change ****, yet so many posters keep saying it in this thread

TheFitz13 wrote: »
    Maybe Gay Pride this year??

Much bigger pride festivals in other countries which arent on high alert for terrorist attacks such as netherlands

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

We should rehabilitate these lads. A strict regime of pints and ham sambos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

We should rehabilitate these lads. A strict regime of pints and ham sambos.

Says suicide_circus ......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

Cavan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

Stephen15 wrote: »
    Cavan

There are no large crowds in Cavan. Apart from the queue for the Night-safe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Beyondgone wrote: »
    There are no large crowds in Cavan. Apart from the queue for the Night-safe.

Drop a penny and you will see a crowd.

They'd be too cute to get run over or stabbed. Their parents have tried it every time since they were 16 and started getting a wage. Very nimble. Years of practise.

• Registered Users Posts: 86,117 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Croke Park or Aviva

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Croke Park or Aviva

The places themselves or when there's people there? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 13,872 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

What potential targets there are would depend on what point they wanna make.

An amateur attack to generate publicity is most likely to target a major concert or big football match like a World Cup qualifier. Attacking a bogball or egg chasing match wouldn't have as big an effect.

A professional attack against an enemy would most likely see an attack against the embassy of one of the war mongerers here, US, Britain, Israel, France, etc. Maybe an attack on a major US MNC.

Ireland's shameful participation in the West's wars on the Middle East and support for Israel's ethnic cleansing make these events a slight possibility.