Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Missed Opportunities

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Lolz :D
    Wait til you see my movie, then you can laugh, I'm a wee bit drunk now, but I can say without contradiction that it's a lot better than a lot of the bollocks you see on Syfy these days,:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Ciderswigger

You! Drunk? Neverrrrrrr!!!

Yeah, but in the morning I'll still be a directorial genius.

If the bloody video is still intact anyway!!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

There was the time I could have met Mr. T at the mall. The entire day, I kept saying, "I'll go a little later, I'll go a little later..." And when I got there, they told me he just left. And when I asked the mall guy if he'll ever come back again, he said he didn't know.

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Wait til you see my movie, then you can laugh, I'm a wee bit drunk now, but I can say without contradiction that it's a lot better than a lot of the bollocks you see on Syfy these days,:)

Are you saying....are you telling us....its the new Sharknado?!!!

I will invest a tenner now for a 70% stake.

Witchie wrote: »

This is the worst episode of Dragon's Den ever. :D

Are you saying....are you telling us....its the new Sharknado?!!!

I'm not one to blow my own trumpet, and to be honest I was half stoned throughout the entire filmmaking process, but I can say with certainty it was more an atmospheric thriller along the lines of Cape Fear than any of that Syfy crap :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 59 ✭✭Geoffrey Dalton

This thread rocks, go tbm.

We don't want any 'yes men' in this entourage, tell me how you really feel :D

I'm in, i'm hard.

This is the worst episode of Dragon's Den ever. :D

Whisht would ya....am hoping he is drunk enough to agree it and if he goes backwards on it (see what I did there...har har har) I have proof he agreed. I will cut you in if you keep schtum ya big thick ya.

I'm in, i'm hard.

That's what ya said last night....:eek:

I can do six nights in a row.

Whisht would ya....am hoping he is drunk enough to agree it and if he goes backwards on it (see what I did there...har har har) I have proof he agreed. I will cut you in if you keep schtum ya big thick ya.
    Swear to God (or whoever) haigh, once you see this movie, you wont be arguing over your cut, you'll be too busy hiring staff for your villas in St. Tropez.

Just pray this twenty year old video is still viewable :)

So when is the private screening?

We need to get the bloody thing converted first.

And no, there will be no private screening, all the good people of boards should have equal opportunity to view this artistic creation :)

You should check with your local videographer....am sure most of them offer services like this.

As for no private screening? WTF? Amateur!

You should check with your local videographer....am sure most of them offer services like this.

As for no private screening? WTF? Amateur!
    I've already put my trust in a company in the southwest, thanks Doc, they'll see us right.

Yes, I am an amateur filmmaker, with no pretensions or notions. What we make, like a good Chinese restaurant, everyone sees. :)

Doc is involved its a nudey thing.

I was producer of a documentary that was nominated for an award for a film festival in cork (literally my only claim to fame) so I'm more than ready to cast my highly critical eye over this possible blockbuster. :D What about the actors? If/when this takes off, will they be looking for a cut? Will this impact on Witchie's (and mine) financial backing?

I'd love a Chinese now. Dammit.

Right I am going to bed now.....need to be bright eyed and bushy tailed to cut you the best possible deals tomorrow Mr B Man.

This has gone from "Lolz, killer rabbits" to "I need to prepare for the boardroom".

Brilliant!

I was producer of a documentary that was nominated for an award for a film festival in cork (literally my only claim to fame) so I'm more than ready to cast my highly critical eye over this possible blockbuster. :D What about the actors? If/when this takes off, will they be looking for a cut? Will this impact on Witchie's (and mine) financial backing?

I'd love a Chinese now. Dammit.
    Dunno, I only half remember two of them, don't remember their names or anything!

Twill be grand! :D

Ciderswigger you will find at Witchie Highly Intellectual Productions or WHIP for short, we take entertainment very seriously. Movies are no laughing matter.

Not even comedies? ESPECIALLY comedies!

Good night ya loons.

Nite Jean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

cantdecide wrote: »
    I should have listened to my heart and taken that mechanical apprenticeship. Sometimes, kids do know better than parents.

but your username....

someone had to force your hand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

Doc wrote: »
    It was a missed opportunity when I was 16, which is many many moons ago now. She is gone forever my friend and I'm no longer young and also a married man now.

we all have those, if that is the case. In fact there are several examples I can think of where I would love to go back in time and give myself a hard boot in the ar$e for being so blind :)

Stheno wrote: »
    I did a FAS course on film and video back in the dark ages, where I'd to write a script and then create a short movie.

Twas considered quite good, I could have had a career in it.

INstead I ended up in IT :(

I did a FAS course in IT many many years ago, didn't follow up on it and ended up on a career path that I didn't enjoy whatsoever.

I work in IT now again though and I'm very happy, if I had stuck with it back then, I could be making a feckin fortune!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Was with a big IT company doing support for a few years and it was going well as I was moving up and getting more money pretty quickly.
    Then in 2001 the .com bubble burst and everything changed internally. Most of my mates went into the new 2nd level Helpdesk that was setup, but I thought going to do server support would be more interesting - turned out it was as complex as clicking options on a configurator and more admin than anything else. I still remember the manager's response when I asked what was going on - "the job you accepted is what we see it becoming!" :mad:

Got very frustrated after this as they wouldn't let me move back, so in the end I left, went to work for another big company for a year and then left that when the opportunity arose to run my own IT department in a public sector org.

Really loved that and transformed the place in the years I was there - learning a lot of non-technical skills along the way like team leading, project management, dealing with suppliers and tendering etc, and although I was impacted by the redundancies in 2009, it ultimately led me to where I am now - a more senior role with a bigger team (and more money)

So I suppose if I had taken the Helpdesk job I could still be there doing something similar as many of my mates still are, as opposed to finding out that the management side of things actually suits me.

Plus I probably wouldn't have moved out of Dublin (and discovered I loved that too), been as pushed about getting a car (do love driving/my car!), and I almost certainly wouldn't have a wonderful little boy now either.

I'm not one for "things happen for a reason", but thinking about it that "missed opportunity" probably ended up being the best result all along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Is this going to be like Monty Python's funniest joke in the world? We all 'watch' this invisible rabbit at the same time, and collapse in a hape, only to be revived with an urge to drink Tennents (especially on a Monday night) and do intermittent Kris Kristofferson impersonations? Or summat like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,038 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Not doing a dual forecast bet on Hamilton and Rosberg for the 2014 F1 season. I went with an each-way bet on Rosberg instead. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

I turned down (too) many social opportunities when I was younger due to cowardice. I f-cked up. Who knows where I'd be now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭Carry

Shortly before and after my uni degree I worked in a highly respected scientific institute in Berlin and they offered me a job to work for Unesco in Paris with field studies in South America.

I declined. I bloody declined because I had a new boyfriend and didn't want to leave him (effing hormones). A year later I dumped the boyfriend anyway.

Sometimes I imagine a great career with an apartment in Paris, travelling around S. America, mingling with the likes of Angelina Jolie (could have introduced her to Backwards Man for his next film project) and being able to give Bono the official finger from my high Unesco-horse.

I ended up in the West of Ireland...
    But I have a lovely house and a job I love and I mingle with the local culchies, so all is good after all.

Still...

• Site Banned Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭XR3i

Gloria

in excelsis Deo

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

Your tutor.

Schneider? You mean Scheider. No R.

A common mistake.

There was no "Schneider" OR "Scheider" in Jaws.

It was Brody, Martin Brody.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

I pasted up an opportunity to go to college in Dublin doing computer/physics related (can't think name now...comes to me from time to time)...
    As I couldn't afford to rent/fees of Dublin at the time as I'd no savings/neither have parents any money to help(wouldn't ask anyway!)etc....

instead fell into an apprenticeship...like I love my job...but somedays when it's wet and crappy you'd wonder....maybe in the future after I go see the world and if I've any money left il look into it again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

I think we should crowd fund a remake of the backwards man's film and see if RTE want it.