Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Battlefield 1 general discussion

• Registered Users Posts: 13,408 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Coming under mortar fire on St Quentin's Scar and ducked into a windmill. There must have been six enemies inside all pointing at the door. Didn't end well.

Also managed to kill myself with the mortar when the shell hit the edge of a trench I was firing from. Serves me right!

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭Caillte

jambofc wrote: »
    terrible hit detection and lagging issues last nite all the lads i was playing with also complained moved server but just the same.

I notice on PS4 that the response time of the machine gun I was using was much slower. I was pressing the trigger but no shots were coming out. Happened a few times to be fair.

Looking forward to the next patch.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,013 ✭✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

Jaysus lads I really dont know how anyone plays the Rush game mode, I taught people were bad in the main conquest game. Really is utter rubbish ......just saying loike!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 984 ✭✭✭XtraFalcon

To save your time, last night the attackers got the airship in the first section of ballroom blitz. 6 people in the airship, 3 in a tank sniping so 11 infantry. Half of them snipers so only about 5 infantry trying to cap the objectives.

That's f*ckin tedious trying to reduce their 150 tickets. Especially when being bombed from above.

But you have to remember if you flat out abandon the base then you'll have to try and knock out the airship twice at the final base and at that point (in my experience) the last base is practically flat with all cover reduced to dust.

Giving the attackers an airship for every attack is downright ridiculous in my eyes. I've seen teams walk through the first 3 sectors in St. Quentin Scar only to be halted on the 4th sector and get destroyed, then when the tickets are down the airship comes in and bombs the bejesus out of the defending lines.

The airship should only be given on the last attack. I would also like a decision that when the operation ends, it should give you the option to enter another Operation game mode instead of having to return to the main menu and selecting another (or the same) operation.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭Notorious

Wonda-Boy wrote: »
    Just had my best round as a sniper there with a K:D of 39-9 and a respectable 18,000+ points.

You really need to decide if you are going all out sniper and just get kills or help the team aswell, choose wisely coz you will get hammered if you dont.

Solid score for you. I'm not picking on your post, I've seen many others like it (and your score suggests you played the objective). I think the only way to be successful at any BF game, is to play as a team and go for the objective. The K/D ratio means nothing if you're not capturing flags in conquest, or getting your hands on the pigeon etc.

There's nothing worse than having a squad camping on the hill north of flag C on Empire's Edge trying to snipe; especially when flags B, C, etc. are under enemy control. Kills or revives have no effect on the race to 1k points, and players don't seem to understand that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

If the attackers can't get past the first objective, I don't think it's unfair for them to get the behemoth

• Registered Users Posts: 5,574 ✭✭✭EoinHef

Theres one pretty annoying bug with some grenades,might only be the gas one,not sure.

Throw grenade and when the annimation finishes i end up ADS but cant fire and have to change gun and back again or wait for it too fix itself. Very frustrating.

This is on PS4

Notorious wrote: »
    Solid score for you. I'm not picking on your post, I've seen many others like it (and your score suggests you played the objective). I think the only way to be successful at any BF game, is to play as a team and go for the objective. The K/D ratio means nothing if you're not capturing flags in conquest, or getting your hands on the pigeon etc.

There's nothing worse than having a squad camping on the hill north of flag C on Empire's Edge trying to snipe; especially when flags B, C, etc. are under enemy control. Kills or revives have no effect on the race to 1k points, and players don't seem to understand that.

I agree 100%, and I am all about the objectives. The only reason I posted the K : D was to show everyone the progress I have made as an actual sniper and that you can do it if you persevere. I said about 20 posts back I was gonna give it a go and see how I get on. I never play it and I was determined to get to rank 10 as I am in all other classes and to unlock that martini sniper rifle.

It has been fun and an experience but its not for me as I dont have the patience to sit and watch the team lose.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭OldBean

EoinHef wrote: »
    Theres one pretty annoying bug with some grenades,might only be the gas one,not sure.

Throw grenade and when the annimation finishes i end up ADS but cant fire and have to change gun and back again or wait for it too fix itself. Very frustrating.

This is on PS4

Happens to me too. Usually meaning I get destroyed.

EoinHef wrote: »

This is on PS4

Switching weapons is the answer which you already have but if you get into the habit of double tapping triangle after you throw the grenade might reduce the urge to put your controller through the window.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,957 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Looks like the November patch is due to drop tomorrow which will add Hardcore mode, rent-a-server, fog of war team deathmatch, changes to Suez Conquest and a host of patches and fixes.

Looking forward to a bit of Hardcore!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

If the attackers can't get past the first objective, I don't think it's unfair for them to get the behemoth

they still shouldn't start the second round with it though. we held them back for the full duration, but 50% of your deaths are from random shots from above and theres no way to fight back against it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭Notorious

Looks like the November patch is due to drop tomorrow which will ... a host of patches and fixes.

Hopefully they fix the problem with medals. I think I saw three different sets of medals while playing tonight; the new list (which I never got to play towards), last weeks list (medic), and the week before (support medal).

Of course I spent the night working towards the Medic medal, and between games the medals reverted back to the previous week. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,574 ✭✭✭EoinHef

Spent the night levelling the scout class,i really enjoy using iron sights or the one on the gewhar carbine is pretty good too.

Reminds me of sniping in World at War. Allows for a run and gun style sniper which i prefer,really nice when stringing a few kills together. Even finished top a few times so didnt find that style hurting PTFO

Oh and shout out to the audio team at DICE,been said many times but the audio is fantastic in this game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Jamiekelly

Loving the Lee Enfield infantry at the moment. The bolt action speed is impressive the more I play with it. The automatico has an unreal reload time aswell. Managed to get 6 kills in the space of 20 seconds with it on ballroom blitz. If I was using any other gun I would have died during the first reload.

Oh and I only just realised tonight that the trench periscope actually measures the distance between you and whatever youre pointing at on a scale at the side....here I was looking at flags to judge the distance like a noob.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

Just downloaded a 1.6GB patch on PC. No notes available yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

Saw something similar to this a while ago. Got annoyed last night with my team and changed my origin profile pic to this.

itFvA3i.jpg

Feel free to do the same.

I really would if it made a difference TBH....the other BF games were never as bad for team play. I feel like sticking an ad on done deal or something to buy a decent group of people to play this with.

As for the patch, it will prolly fix a handful of stuff and balls up different stuff...you know the way this works.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭iLikeWaffles

Just downloaded a 1.6GB patch on PC. No notes available yet.

Takes them an age to release change logs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

Customize option added to the soldier screen now

• Registered Users Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Customize option added to the soldier screen now

This is the best change they could have made.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭tigger123

Each to their own, and everyone enjoys it differently and that's cool, but I'll never understand the fun in playing as a sniper, I just don't get it. Its so remote and removed from the action.

Am much happier taking objectives and running the risk of getting killed at the same time.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,408 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

I'm a terrible sniper but played as one this weekend. Was actually a lot of fun. Was pushing up, using flares to spot enemies, trying to capture points (trying to get into tanks). Didn't get a truck load of sniper kills but the ones I did get were extremely satisfying.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

good to have the option, im sure there'll come a day where ive a few hundred hours clocked and id like to try that other class for a change

• Registered Users Posts: 8,798 ✭✭✭MiskyBoyy

• Registered Users Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

Looks like attackers are gettin a boost in Operation
    OPERATIONS CHANGES:
    Going forward we are addressing the balance issues with the Operations game mode. It’s clear that attackers need a boost. To increase the effectiveness of the attacking team, we are increasing the overall tickets for both Operations & Grand Operations. In addition, we are also making it somewhat easier to capture sectors as an attacker by reducing the amount of time it takes to capture a flags in Operations & Grand Operations. We’ve also increased the minimum tickets regained in grand operations to from 30 to 50, as well as increased the amount of tickets regained from killing retreating defenders. This will give more of a fighting chance to capture the next sector after previously capturing a sector while having very few tickets left.

Update patch notes

https://forums.battlefield.com/en-us/discussion/58616/battlefield-1-fall-update-notes-11152016#latest

New Suez layout.

nqTsYm5.png

• Registered Users Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

great stuff, theres a temptation to quit every time it got around to that map

IvoryTower wrote: »
    great stuff, theres a temptation to quit every time it got around to that map

Well if the map doesn't work out and if the urge to quit is still there you can now quit from the 'End of Round' screen rather than waiting for the next game to start, how it wasn't there from the beginning is baffling.

Only thing that spikes an eyebrow is that the British start has the longest distance to travel to C.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist