Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Tipperary GAA (Club and Intercounty) Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,145 ✭✭✭Rosita

Tipp have won 5 all Irelands in 50 years because of an arrogance in tipp built up from incredible success in 50s

What a load of nonsense. A scan through the records shows that Tipperary won just one All Ireland in ten years between 1951 & '61. That is hardly "incredible success". Anyway it's far far too long ago to have any relevance nowadays.

robbiezero wrote: »
    What has arrogance got to do with winning and losing All-Irelands?
    Kerry are the most arrogant of all and yet are far more successful than we are. When they put together good teams, they win All-Irelands.
    And I think football has to have an impact, how much hurling is played in Clonmel, imagine if hurling had as much influence in the town as it does in Thurles.

Kerry generally throw caution to the wind. If there is a famine (86-97 being an example), they do a root and branch review to see where they are going wrong and how they can resolve it and their underage coaching is absolutely top top drawer. Kerry fans may be arrogant (and when your players are as good as their crop why not) but Kerry players are well prepared.

Its all about efficiency. Tipp became inefficient, lazy and sloppy and fell behind and when they were behind there was alot of head scratching. No one had a clue how to get us out of the slumber we were in. Until Sheedy, O'Shea, and Mick Ryan came on board for 2008 and brought new professionalism we were going through the motions and hoping for the best. Tbf to Len Gaynor and Nicky English we had decent teams from 96-02 and both men brought alot to the table but in terms of keeping up with Brian Cody there is probably only so far they could go. We have still currently only one all ireland but we have been competitive and will get over that line again in the not too distant future. We have appeared in four finals in seven seasons. Arguably should have won in 2009 barring PJ Ryan being in the form of his life, won in 10, 11 was a disaster and dont mention the war that was 12. 13 we got a rough draw early on and 14 we came within an inch or two of landing the crown. We have been competitive. Compared to our famine from 71-89 we went a long time without winning a game in Munster.

You did hit on something with the Clonmel/Thurles comparison. While Tipp have used players from all over the county at some stage or another there is attitudes toward certain small clubs and assumptions. Perhaps its even subconscious, but in a county of our size its strange we have never addressed the code imbalances throughout the county and put a plan into action to get the weaker clubs hurling at the highest level. Combo clubs and better schools coaching would be some methods of doing this.

A couple of small clubs in Cork voted for Gerard McCarthy to step down back in 2009 because things had reached all time toxic point down there and Babs Keating was quoted as saying - You wouldn't see the likes of Ballyporeen or Newcastle 'interfering' in county matters in Tipp' as if they didnt have the right to an opinion :rolleyes: Coming from a highly opinionated man from Ballybacon its a bit rich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Maybe people would prefer if we went back to the days of the ban and did a Christy Ring on any ball that wasn't sliotar sized in Tipperary (handball would be allowed as it is obviously beneficial for hurling skills).

But we don't have that tradition and never have. If people in Clonmel and other parts of the south have a football tradition, why should that change or why should anyone feel guilty that's the way it is? There's room for both codes whatever way anybody wants to spin it and if football getting stronger means hurling has to work even harder to maintain its position, then so be it.

But as people alluded to earlier, football is not the reason Tipp have underachieved for the past 40-50 years, for all we get the impression people want to hold it responsible. And there was no football in Kilkenny before Cody came along either and yet they never dominated in those years like they do now. Saying they're dominating because they don't play football is just way too simplistic an analysis. It's a relatively minor factor at best. I believe young players want to play different sports, in Tipp anyway, because that makes life more interesting and probably makes them more rounded athletes and people as well. It may be ok making them choose once they hit 17/18 but totally wrong forcing that choice upon them any earlier imho.

And Kerry while overwhelmingly football dominated does have pockets of hurling and has a lot of good soccer players right now. They won the Kennedy Cup only last year, the equivalent of the All Ireland under-16 championship. They are a strong soccer county.

I don't see anyone saying football should be got rid of in Tipp. It's a factor, probably a fairly minor factor in hurling not being as strong as it could be.
    I certainly take pride in our achievements at football and I will be cheering them on in Croke Park Sunday. They are a super bunch working as hard as they do with minimal support. I'll never forget being at a qualifier in Ardfinnan vs Westmeath and the Tipp support outnumbered 3/1 by the Westmeath support.
    But hurling for me is easily my number 1 and I would have an emotional attachment to the hurling team that would far exceed that of the football team.

There's room for both codes whatever way anybody wants to spin it

But as people alluded to earlier, football is not the reason Tipp have underachieved for the past 40-50 years, for all we get the impression people want to hold it responsible. And there was no football in Kilkenny before Cody came along either and yet they never dominated in those years like they do now. Saying they're dominating because they don't play football is just way too simplistic an analysis. It's a relatively minor factor at best.

There may be room for both codes but it is naive to suggest that people (or counties) who specialise in one sport do not have an advantage in that sport. If a youngster did not become a better player by dedicating themselves to one particular sport then coaches would not encourage them to do so. Kilkenny produce more good hurlers because they do not promote football and have large population centres such as Clonmel where football is so strong. Likewise Kerry do not have the likes of Killarney and Tralee as hurling towns and the fact that footballers specialise from a young age makes them better stands to reason.

Yes, Kilkenny's dominance & Tipperary's inadequacy might invite a more complex explanation but dismissing the idea that one county utterly specialising across the board in that sport while the other is happy to talk vaguely about producing "well rounded athletes" many of whom will always lack the innate knackiness and craft of a guy who specialises in hurling from a young age is part of the discussion is foolish. It's impossible to measure but it is there. Take any dual county you like and they would certainly be stronger with all their resources directed at one sport. How could it be otherwise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

robbiezero wrote: »
    I don't see anyone saying football should be got rid of in Tipp. It's a factor, probably a fairly minor factor in hurling not being as strong as it could be.
    I certainly take pride in our achievements at football and I will be cheering them on in Croke Park Sunday. They are a super bunch working as hard as they do with minimal support. I'll never forget being at a qualifier in Ardfinnan vs Westmeath and the Tipp support outnumbered 3/1 by the Westmeath support.
    But hurling for me is easily my number 1 and I would have an emotional attachment to the hurling team that would far exceed that of the football team.

Yeah same here, I'm a hurling fan first and foremost, like the majority of the county, but I have the utmost respect (even more so) for those flying the flag for football and keeping it going against all the odds. I think what they are doing is a remarkable story and one I'd be proud of as a Tipp man even though I'd absolutely nothing to do with it even as a supporter.

I wasn't suggesting you or anybody else said we should just abolish football by the way, it's just a general observation. I think people quite like the novelty of having a good football team, but there's an undercurrent of resentment there too. It may only be a small and fairly mild one, but I suspect it's there nonetheless. The very fact we're having these sort of debates on the eve of an All Ireland quarter final is proof enough for me.

Rosita wrote: »
    There may be room for both codes but it is naive to suggest that people (or counties) who specialise in one sport do not have an advantage in that sport. If a youngster did not become a better player by dedicating themselves to one particular sport then coaches would not encourage them to do so. Kilkenny produce more good hurlers because they do not promote football and have large population centres such as Clonmel where football is so strong. Likewise Kerry do not have the likes of Killarney and Tralee as hurling towns and the fact that footballers specialise from a young age makes them better stands to reason.

Yes, Kilkenny's dominance & Tipperary's inadequacy might invite a more complex explanation but dismissing the idea that one county utterly specialising across the board in that sport while the other is happy to talk vaguely about producing "well rounded athletes" many of whom will always lack the innate knackiness and craft of a guy who specialises in hurling from a young age is part of the discussion is foolish. It's impossible to measure but it is there. Take any dual county you like and they would certainly be stronger with all their resources directed at one sport. How could it be otherwise?

We have superb technical hurlers. There is no shortage of them at present. Our technical level and craft isnt the issue and never really was. Its not a lack of skill that has been losing us all irelands of late but perhaps a lack of steel, a lack of courage, a lack of practical planning in the case of Decky and Tommy and even a lack of lady luck. Something has always been lacking at a vital time when we look to be kicking in the door. Id definately prefer the place that Tipperary hurling has been since 2008 or 06 if you want to factor in the minor all ireland wins in 06 and 07 than the sorry affair it was for nearly two decades long and for the best part of the noughties.

Go back to the 90s John Leahy played football and hurling for the county and while it increased his risk of burnout judging from his two or three cruciate injuries, his hurling skills never relinquished. Brendan Cummins played football and was arguably one of the finest goalkeepers of the modern era alongside Damien Fitzhenry.

Fair enough. I'd say it's naive to think there is absolutely no advantage in concentrating all your resources into one sport which is why I never said it. Or dismissed the idea in any shape or form. It stands to reason. I think we can all agree on that.

I do not believe it is the main factor in why we have been trailing Kilkenny over the past 10-15 years or even more. A contributory factor, sure, but not an insurmountable one in the larger scheme of things. Football is strong in parts of Tipp for a reason, there's a century and more of tradition to explain it. It isn't a conspiracy or something that happened overnight or within the past few years. I don't get people seeing this as a problem or what they are suggesting should be done about it.

But maybe I'm just not as big a hurling obsessive as others here, as much as I think I love the game, there are limits to what I'd like to see done to achieve success. I went to a GAA only school as a kid and resented it, even though I loved playing GAA. If it works for Kilkenny fine, but it's not an ethos I'd like to see introduced. Maybe I'm in the minnority.

We have superb technical hurlers. There is no shortage of them at present. Our technical level and craft isnt the issue and never really was. Its not a lack of skill that has been losing us all irelands of late but perhaps a lack of steel, a lack of courage, a lack of practical planning in the case of Decky and Tommy and even a lack of lady luck. Something has always been lacking at a vital time when we look to be kicking in the door. Id definately prefer the place that Tipperary hurling has been since 2008 or 06 if you want to factor in the minor all ireland wins in 06 and 07 than the sorry affair it was for nearly two decades long and for the best part of the noughties.

Go back to the 90s John Leahy played football and hurling for the county and while it increased his risk of burnout judging from his two or three cruciate injuries, his hurling skills never relinquished. Brendan Cummins played football and was arguably one of the finest goalkeepers of the modern era alongside Damien Fitzhenry.

Doesn't seem to have done John McGrath much harm either or the likes of his brother Noel or Seamus Kennedy. I get the point that fellas might benefit if it's all hurling hurling hurling from the age of 5 or 6, but then there's every chance they'd get sick of it too. Maybe playing other sports actually helps in terms of giving them a break and a chance to see a different scene and different people for a while. I dont know to be honest but it's entirely possible to my mind.

I think Jake Morris is one of our outstanding minors this year and I believe he's had trials or offers for trials with one or two soccer clubs across the pond. Doesn't seem to be doing him much harm either.

1) We have superb technical hurlers.

2) Go back to the 90s John Leahy played football and hurling for the county and while it increased his risk of burnout

1) Logic suggests you would have more of them and greater competition if the concentration was on one sport. Why is it that a large town like Clonmel has provided just two senior championship hurlers for Tipperary in 45 years?

2) I am more interested in the broader topic than specific cases to be honest but for the record John Leahy played ONE senior football championship match for Tipperary in his life. That would hardly burn him out.

Doesn't seem to have done John McGrath much harm either or the likes of his brother Noel or Seamus Kennedy. I get the point that fellas might benefit if it's all hurling hurling hurling from the age of 5 or 6, but then there's every chance they'd get sick of it too. Maybe playing other sports actually helps in terms of giving them a break and a chance to see a different scene and different people for a while. I dont know to be honest but it's entirely possible to my mind.

I think Jake Morris is one of our outstanding minors this year and I believe he's had trials or offers for trials with one or two soccer clubs across the pond. Doesn't seem to be doing him much harm either.

But I'm not talking about the McGraths. I'm talking about young lads in Clonmel, Cahir, Tipperary town and wherever else who never devoted sufficient time to hurling growing up and might have had the potential to have been excellent inter county hurlers. People like the McGraths, Shane Lomg etc. are outliers. I am talking about untapped potential that counties who concentrate on just the one sport would have access to routinely.

The idea of playing other sports to give people a break doesn't stack up. No top sportsperson is recommended by coaches to divide their time between sports. Anyone wishing to be the best at what they do specialises and that applies outside sport too. I am not talking about bringing up well rounded young people with varied interests (of course that's a good thing). I am referring to elite level where specialisation is necessary and those who specialise earlier and in greater numbers should, logically, have the greater outcomes.

If there's every chance a young lad doing "hurling, hurling, hurling from the age of five/six would get sick of it" how come Kilkenny have a team at all? How do they get around this problem?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,015 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

On the cusp of making the semi finals of both codes and we're still at the football v hurling nonsense - unreal.

1) Logic suggests you would have more of them and greater competition if the concentration was on one sport. Why is it that a large town like Clonmel has provided just two senior championship hurlers for Tipperary in 45 years?

2) I am more interested in the broader topic than specific cases to be honest but for the record John Leahy played ONE senior football championship match for Tipperary in his life. That would hardly burn him out.

I see where you are coming from but the reason clonmel/cahir/tipp town have a dearth of intercounty hurlers could be due to poor schools hurling programmes and a bit of snobbery through the years from those running the county panels. My own school was within one of the stronger hurling parishes in the south and yet many lads who went for county trials were shown no interest when they got there. How hard must it have been for someone from cahir?

Eoin Kelly being too much of a standout talent to be ignored.

Yes, the threat of other sports is a factor but it's no different in Kilkenny who have a thriving athletics, rugby and soccer and boxing scene. Look at Darragh Joyce who landed an afl contract this week.

Are many heading up to Dublin tomorrow? looking forward to it myself. Hopefully Clare can give Kerry a bit of a game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭solerina

I really don't understand why people feel hurling loses out due to people playing football, when its quite obvious that no one ever picks football over hurling in Tipp. I wouldn't sacrifice any match that the footballers win to beat KK more often, I am from Tipp, I am a genuine follower, that means following both codes and all grades...not just following the senior hurlers during the championship, which is what so many people do. I am going tomorrow and I am looking forward to it immensely !!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Xenophile

Today is the biggest day in Tipperary Football in our life time, lets wish the team all the best !

The Tipperary team lines out as follows-

1. Evan Comerford – Kilsheelan-Kilcash
    2. Colm O’Shaughnessy – Ardfinnan
    3. Alan Campbell – Moyle Rovers
    4. Ciarán Mc Donald – Aherlow
    5. Bill Maher – Kilsheelan-Kilcash
    6. Robbie Kiely – Carbery Rangers
    7. Jimmy Feehan – Killenaule
    8. Peter Acheson (Capt.) – Moyle Rovers
    9. George Hannigan – Shannon Rovers
    10. Josh Keane – Golden-Kilfeacle
    11. Kevin O’Halloran – Portroe
    12. Brian Fox – Éire Óg Annacarty
    13. Philip Austin – Borrisokane
    14. Michael Quinlivan – Clonmel Commercials
    15. Conor Sweeney – Ballyporeen

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,880 ✭✭✭✭klose

Josh Keane played the full game in the u21 game against Waterford Wednesday, hope he's still as sharp today lad has some engine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,495 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Good luck to the footballers, be great to see them get there.

Hopeful of a good showing today. A few of these guys have been to Croke Park with the minors, several more came within inches of landing an under-21 All Ireland last year. They know what winning big matches feels like. Could do with a decent turn-out, yesterdays was a bit sparse and lacking in atmosphere. Hopefully the sizeable Tipp community in the capital turns out in force at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,114 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

solerina wrote: »
    I really don't understand why people feel hurling loses out due to people playing football, when its quite obvious that no one ever picks football over hurling in Tipp !!

I think the stat that clonmel (one of the biggest towns in Ireland) have only produced 2 tipp hurlers in 45 years answers this.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Best of luck to the footballers, very much capable of beating Galway. Won't make it to croker today but managed to watch them training yesterday and looked very focused.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

Tyson Fury wrote:
    I think the stat that clonmel (one of the biggest towns in Ireland) have only produced 2 tipp hurlers in 45 years answers this.

And if the two in question are Mossy and Bomber Carroll, sure weren't they Limerick men.
    Or are you referring to two others?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

And if the two in question are Mossy and Bomber Carroll, sure weren't they Limerick men.
    Or are you referring to two others?

Donncha Fahy and Seamus Kennedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Massive, massive congrats to the new Brazil of GAA football. That was an absolute joy to watch !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Massive, massive congrats to the new Brazil of GAA football. That was an absolute joy to watch !

I'm echoing this sentiment.

Wonderful performance.

Enjoyed every second.

Well done. Looking forward to that day out in Croker.

Unreal

#isittoolatetojumponthebandwagon?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Well done lads. You're a credit to the game. It just goes to show what can be done with the proper underage structures and playing football the right way.

Hope some more of ye jump on the bandwagon now for the semi final. This is a special group of players. Great feeling to be there to witness it today

Incredible stuff today...my god I have to tip my hat off to the management and team on a truly incredible performance. As if last week's heroics wasn't enough we go and bazooka Galway off the field. A team littered with talent who won all Ireland u21s. Josh keane is an animal. Talk about the bonnar Maher... 3 games in 8 days and god only knows how much km he ran. Harsh to single out any one player though. A truly remarkable crop of lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Might stuff in Croke today. The better team by far from pillar to post. Played lovely football too. A day that will long in the memory.

Hope some more of ye jump on the bandwagon now for the semi final. This is a special group of players. Great feeling to be there to witness it today

I'm tinged with guilt for not supporting this crop more. I do what I can whenever I can but I'm out of work at the moment and it's not easy. I prefer hurling as a sport and I attend all the hurling games and I find that tough enough as it is. I'm tempted to go up and shout for the boys against Mayo/Tyrone. For football as a spectacle (perhaps also for us) I'm hoping for Mayo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

I'm tinged with guilt for not supporting this crop more. I do what I can whenever I can but I'm out of work at the moment and it's not easy. I prefer hurling as a sport and I attend all the hurling games and I find that tough enough as it is. I'm tempted to go up and shout for the boys against Mayo/Tyrone. For football as a spectacle (perhaps also for us) I'm hoping for Mayo

Don't even dream of feeling guilt for this.

And don't even be tempted to get up. Get yer arse up here for the day out. No matter who ye will be playing you'll have a great day. The Mayo and Tyrone crowd are some of the best. You'll love it. Plus you'll unlikely meet them in your small ball days out.

I'll even be heading along anyway as I always do.

I remember for years (you're talking about 10 years ago) not going to our hurling matches because I felt like a blow in and charkastan. Misguided idiocy on my part.

Get on the bandwagon. It may never happen again.

Regret is a terrible thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭reap-a-rat

Galway fan here. Disappointed to bow out playing like that but credit to tipp- pleasure to watch. I hope the bandwagon gets properly jumped on because the lads really deserve the support. Lovely football on show. Some great talent. Unreal that the underage structures are finally starting to yield results at senior level. Great credit to those in the county who must have struggled to keep interest up when the hurlers were going well.

Delighted for the fans that were there today. Were really gracious and really could see it meant so much to them.

I'm also a Mayo fan. Hope Mayo beat Tyrone. I think Tipperary v Mayo would be a serious football game. Hon Tipp though for today. Drink it in, today is well and truly yer day and hopefully it'll continue and also into next year and beyond.

As for the hurlers, boo! :)

reap-a-rat wrote: »
    Galway fan here. Disappointed to bow out playing like that but credit to tipp- pleasure to watch. I hope the bandwagon gets properly jumped on because the lads really deserve the support. Lovely football on show. Some great talent. Unreal that the underage structures are finally starting to yield results at senior level. Great credit to those in the county who must have struggled to keep interest up when the hurlers were going well.

Delighted for the fans that were there today. Were really gracious and really could see it meant so much to them.

I'm also a Mayo fan. Hope Mayo beat Tyrone. I think Tipperary v Mayo would be a serious football game. Hon Tipp though for today. Drink it in, today is well and truly yer day and hopefully it'll continue and also into next year and beyond.

As for the hurlers, boo! :)

Fair play to you. All the best to Galway for the future....just not two weeks time though :)

Sure 95% of the county are in the same boat. Was at a couple of the under age games over past few years but last time I saw the Tipp seniors before today was god knows when. I wish I had a euro for the amount of times i've already heard the phrase today "i'm a hurling man but......"

Isn't it grand not just to have a team but a team who plays like that, and reminds us that, on its day, football can be some spectacle too? I'm delighted Tipp won, of course, and not at all shocked, but sad to see a Galway team playing in such a negative way. I grew up watching good Galway teams playing aventurous and attacking football, I always thought it was part of their DNA. I don't think playing this way suits them at all.

Anyone see the possession stats for the game? Tipp pretty much owned the football, must have had over 70%

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Massive congrats lad. Disasterous on our end but Quinlavan and Sweeney were a joy to watch. The ruthless way football should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Was at the game today, great stuff.

This was Tipp's last semi - back in 1935!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,246 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Fantastic results for ye. It was great to see ye win and play football while doing it.

Tipp have taken great strides foward in recent years and all the hard work has come to fruition.

Delighted ye won and I really hope Tipp do well in the semi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,354 ✭✭✭naughto

Great win today lads but your championship starts when ye play us (mayo)as we will take the red hands for a walk of a short cliff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭kala85

Who do tipp play next. Is it the winner of mayo and tyrone ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,612 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

naughto wrote: »
    Great win today lads but your championship starts when ye play us (mayo)as we will take the red hands for a walk of a short cliff

I admire your optimism :)

• Registered Users Posts: 419 ✭✭JesusRef

The Tipp footballers were fantastic today - as were their supporters afterwards.

Just incredible scenes!! Heartiest congratulations!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

goose2005 wrote: »

Thats great footage.

The kicking style of players is something you would see from a bad junior b player these days just throw the ball up real loosely and swing your foot rather aimlessly at the ball.Fair few dodgy hand passes I thought as well.Although I still think the day players stopped playing in flat caps the GAA died a little.

By the way I'm not having a pop at players from 80 years ago as obviously technique in all sports gets better over time just making an observation.

Thats great footage.

The kicking style of players is something you would see from a bad junior b player these days just throw the ball up real loosely and swing your foot rather aimlessly at the ball.Fair few dodgy hand passes I thought as well.Although I still think the day players stopped playing in flat caps the GAA died a little.

By the way I'm not having a pop at players from 80 years ago as obviously technique in all sports gets better over time just making an observation.

The ball was as hard as a rock back then and that's before it rained and absorbed water. They done well to get any elevation

naughto wrote: »

Hope ye do. I think the purist would love Tipp v Mayo. Mayo have serious artillery in AOS, Andy Moran, Cillian OConnor etc and play a positive game.

Great footage there, weird looking at a game knowing that probably everyone in it is now dead

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,119 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

today was in the making for some time now , i genually think ye will beat either mayo or tyrone the next day out , ye have it done at every other level up to now , slight improvement in terms of support but lets hope the next day there is huge support up for ye

i am one of the few foolish tonight that were compleatly against john kerins after the league , i suppose he is not so bad now , the way i would look at today is if tyrone or mayo beat galway in this manor today they would be at least 3rd favorites for the all ireland tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,119 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Tyson Fury wrote: »
    Great footage there, weird looking at a game knowing that probably everyone in it is now dead[/QUO

slightly different view , yes its a long time ago but i imagine the players of today would love to think there recordings will be watched in 100 years time , its the style of the game at the time that catches me out ,

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Yeah to echo all the other outsiders sentiments... Very well done,marvellous display.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

goose2005 wrote: »

That's brilliant. I love the commentators seriously plummy accent. Nearly as posh as Ger Canning ! :rolleyes: