Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The age of the criminal 'protester'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Why not spend the money on purchasing those actual houses that are already there instead of turning an area into a ghetto with temporary housing that's not even all that cheap anyway?

Free houses for everyone lads yay!

There has to be some point where you cant just make getting a free house so easy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

JustTheOne wrote: »

There has to be some point where you cant just make getting a free house so easy.

Who gives out free houses? I'll have one if there's one spare. I'll even give up my council apartment, sure I have to pay rent here. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

RayM wrote: »
    It will be very difficult for the state to prove (in accordance with the Non-Fatal Offences against the Person Act) that those charged knowingly intended to detain her in the car - especially with so many Gardai present (who could have removed the sit-down protesters, but chose not to).

If the Guards had moved in and started "cracking heads" they would have had a full scale riot on their hands and you know it. It was great policing. The "protesters"that day were just too stupid to realise what they were actually doing. Hopefully the courts will deal with these cretins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,981 ✭✭✭KomradeBishop

But, who owns those vacant houses? You can't just walk in and take over someone elses property.
    You mean like the way they took the co-op owners property? Or wait: They're probably relatively poor and politically disconnected - seeing as they've been waiting years for help with a loan to fund building the co-op - thus they can be fúcked over much more easily than other more wealthy property owners...

Why not spend the money on purchasing those actual houses that are already there instead of turning an area into a ghetto with temporary housing that's not even all that cheap anyway?

Maybe the houses are not for sale. There could be any number of reasons why houses are empty.
    I agree that permanent houses would be ideal, but what is on offer is better than nothing and cheaper than hotels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Flint Fredstone

JustTheOne wrote: »

We are paying for them to stay in hotels and we are paying for them to stay in modular homes when there are empty houses all over the country that we could be paying for them to stay in.
    Or is it all about them not having a place like yours for cheaper than you are paying? It's OK so long as they aren't too comfortable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,076 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

If the Guards had moved in and started "cracking heads" they would have had a full scale riot on their hands and you know it. It was great policing. The "protesters"that day were just too stupid to realise what they were actually doing. Hopefully the courts will deal with these cretins.

Great police wouldn't allow a heap of gear to be taken from them and subsequently used in robberies
    All they had to do was reach in and take the equipment from our belts.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/pepper-spray-stolen-from-gardai-is-linked-to-raids-30825764.html

You mean like the way they took the co-op owners property? Or wait: They're probably relatively poor and politically disconnected - seeing as they've been waiting years for help with a loan to fund building the co-op - thus they can be fúcked over much more easily than other more wealthy property owners...

I'm sure you understand what you wrote, cos I sure don't!

The Indo making up stories about protesters?

I'm shocked. Shocked I tells ya!

Well not that shocked

It wasn't just the Indo. It was the same story on Irish Times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,981 ✭✭✭KomradeBishop

I'm sure you understand what you wrote, cos I sure don't!
    The co-op the council just took a dump on, had planning permission to build properties - with a deposit invested - and have been waiting on help with a loan from the council since 2010; now the council have screwed them, and are taking the land reserved for the co-op houses, deposit and all.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/ballymun-co-op-seeks-200-000-back-from-city-council-1.2448189

The co-op the council just took a dump on, had planning permission to build properties - with a deposit invested - and have been waiting on help with a loan from the council since 2010; now the council have screwed them, and are taking the land reserved for the co-op houses, deposit and all.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/ballymun-co-op-seeks-200-000-back-from-city-council-1.2448189

Gotcha. Thanks for clarifying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Great police wouldn't allow a heap of gear to be taken from them and subsequently used in robberies

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/pepper-spray-stolen-from-gardai-is-linked-to-raids-30825764.html

That just shows the kind of thugs that were present that day. But, yeah, peaceful protesters.