Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Girlfriend just moved in, rent divide

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

I'll be honest and say that if I lived there and moved in with two other single lads, I'd not want more money for your girlfriend moving in. Instead I'd simply object to it.

In my (admittedly limited) experience of this kinda thing, once there's a 'couple' in the house, the whole dynamic of the house changes (not for the better). I'd say they're right in asking for the rent to be divided in four now.

Sod that, just make a written agreement along the line of what the OP is saying he does now. Stay out of the livingroom and you still only get 1/3 of the fridge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,066 ✭✭✭Firewalkwithme

TheBully wrote: »
    We have shared finances, joint account!!

Ok then, the reduction in rent you will benefit from by her moving in will partially offset her portion of the rent won't it.

I can see how this went, move in with me love, I'll just keep paying for my room of you pay for a quarter of the bills. Get over it man, she should pay her way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Kensington

No, they now want half the monthly rent which is 625 a month, iv said I will pay more rent but I'm not going paying half.
    Myself and my girlfriend have shared finances if you are wondering so it is us paying the rent not just me

What's your landlord's thoughts on there being an extra tennent in the house...?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Just leave, the housemates don't really want you both there. Nobody ever wants a couple in a house share.

• Registered Users Posts: 876 ✭✭✭TheBully

Ok then, the reduction in rent you will benefit from by her moving in will partially offset her portion of the rent won't it.

I can see how this went, move in with me love, I'll just keep paying for my room of you pay for a quarter of the bills. Get over it man, she should pay her way.

I'm not objecting to that, that's why I came on here tonight, to get a fair percentage payment, we have agreed to pay more, did u not read post

• Registered Users Posts: 18,485 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Maybe we make up half people living but I only take up 1/3 of bedrooms and iv offered to pay more for having her living there but half is too much

The rent isn't for the bedrooms, its for the house. It isn't enough to just say you don't use the full house, you have the use of it all whether you actually use the living room or not. Maybe the other lads should pick rooms they don't want and try to pay less rent on the back of it...

There are four people living in the house, the amount each person pays needs to reflect that.

Kensington wrote: »
    What's your landlord's thoughts on there being an extra tennent in the house...?

The landlord knows and does not mind as long as rent is paid

I'm not objecting to that, that's why I came on here tonight, to get a fair percentage payment, we have agreed to pay more, did u not read post

I've read it all.

25% for each person is fair but you don't agree and you only came here hoping to find people would agree with your position.

As you can see, most people don't.

hardCopy wrote: »
    Just leave, the housemates don't really want you both there. Nobody ever wants a couple in a house share.

Actually I'd call the bluff there. €375 a month for a house with only one other person using the living area or the possibility of Jed the unwashed boyo from the country moving in with his German porn collection and chain smoking woodbines...

The rent isn't for the bedrooms, its for the house. It isn't enough to just say you don't use the full house, you have the use of it all whether you actually use the living room or not. Maybe the other lads should pick rooms they don't want and try to pay less rent on the back of it...

There are four people living in the house, the amount each person pays needs to reflect that.

That's exactly what the OP is suggesting tbh. The difference is he's simply asking for it to also reflect that two of them are using one bedroom.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Shelga

I think your offer of 466 is fair OP. Any time I've heard of a couple sharing with singles, they pay more but not that much more.

I'd tell them you're only willing to pay 466 as they were fine with everything until after she'd moved in. You might have to consider moving though if the atmosphere gets a bit ugly though, annoying and inconvenient but that's life.

Do you not have a lease or input from a landlord to get these things written down on paper?

Actually I'd call the bluff there. €375 a month for a house with only one other person using the living area or the possibility of Jed the unwashed boyo from the country moving in with his German porn collection and chain smoking woodbines...

Hahaha.... Jed wandering around in his undies drinking their milk out of the carton

They do get to choose who move in you know and I'm pretty sure that after this experience they would be very careful not to let another tenant move his or her partner in.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,356 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Splitting it 4-ways: €312.50 each, or €625 for the couple. This is unfair on the couple, and the two lands are getting a room each for the same money. Would the lads agree to that if they were twin-sharing a room, with two other people in their own rooms. Obviously not.

Splitting it 3-ways: €416 per bedroom is unfair too. In this case the two lads are paying more for an equal share of the living areas. Why should that be the case.

The most logically to resolve the those extremes is to split the difference. Halfway between €625 and €416 is €520, that's what the couple should pay, which leaves €365 each for the lads.

Consider the rent as being split in two halves (€625 each), with one being split 3 ways for the rooms, and the other being split 4 ways for the living areas.

Shelga wrote: »
    I think your offer of 466 is fair OP. Any time I've heard of a couple sharing with singles, they pay more but not that much more.

I'd tell them you're only willing to pay 466 as they were fine with everything until after she'd moved in. You might have to consider moving though if the atmosphere gets a bit ugly though, annoying and inconvenient but that's life.

Do you not have a lease or input from a landlord to get these things written down on paper?

No the lease is just for the 1250, nothing about tenant or anything, the landlord has taken a back seat and is very easy as long as rent is paid, I'm gonna stick with 466, it's unreasonable to be expected to pay 625 imo, but that's why I came here for advise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

If you object, you're probably going to fall out with the other lads in the house anyway. I think you'll find that they're far less fine with sharing with a couple than you think they are. An extra person will mean extra use of the water in the house. Extra use of the washing machine and tumble drier. ESB in the kitchen. Less space in the fridge. Noise at night. It's obvious that you're the one who's in a loved-up couple if you can't accept that couples are a pain in the backside to share with.

They do get to choose who move in you know and I'm pretty sure that after this experience they would be very careful not to let another tenant move his or her partner in.

It seems to me that they've been the underhanded ones. It seems that they were quite happy to let the OP move her in with an agreement to split the bills 4 ways but only hit him with the rent issue post move.

To be frank there is probably very little they can do about it. If they all signed a lease then none of them can move out so tough titties. When you're sharing always get everything in writing before you do anything. Business is business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Kensington

The landlord knows and does not mind as long as rent is paid

That's fair enough.

It sounds like you're not going to get anywhere with the 2 lads unfortunately.

You want to change the agreement the 3 of you originally entered into so they hold the upper hand to an extent.

You're going to have to either pay up or move out...

That's exactly what the OP is suggesting tbh. The difference is he's simply asking for it to also reflect that two of them are using one bedroom.

The OP is trying to claim that the other lads aren't actually living in a house that now has 4 people in it.

I wouldn't have been happy with moving her into the house in the first place, it would only make it worse to know that 2 of the 4 people in the house are paying significantly less rent per person than the other 2.

But if the rent is split 4 ways now surely you are paying less each month OP?

You were paying 400 something yea? Now you should be paying 300 something?
    Your girlfriend also pays 300 something? Most probably less / equal to what she would be paying somewhere else?
    So ye both pay less rent.
    What's the problem?
    You are actually 2 people you know, not one single entity because you're a couple.
    Rent should be split 4 ways, or else find somewhere else for ye both, would be my opinion.

The OP is trying to claim that the other lads aren't actually living in a house that now has 4 people in it.

I wouldn't have been happy with moving her into the house in the first place, it would only make it worse to know that 2 of the 4 people in the house are paying significantly less rent per person than the other 2.

If the OP was 'I want to move my bird in and the other lads told me to feck off' I'd be with you and the lads requiring the feck offery. That's not what happened here.

If you object, you're probably going to fall out with the other lads in the house anyway. I think you'll find that they're far less fine with sharing with a couple than you think they are. An extra person will mean extra use of the water in the house. Extra use of the washing machine and tumble drier. ESB in the kitchen. Less space in the fridge. Noise at night. It's obvious that you're the one who's in a loved-up couple if you can't accept that couples are a pain in the backside to share with.

Bills are split 4 ways, I can understand people not wanting to live with a couple, hence me paying more rent but ur argument about ESB and tumble drier is irrelevant as bills ar by 4

No the lease is just for the 1250, nothing about tenant or anything, the landlord has taken a back seat and is very easy as long as rent is paid, I'm gonna stick with 466, it's unreasonable to be expected to pay 625 imo, but that's why I came here for advise

You parked your girlfriend into a 3 person houseshare, now you are going to dictate to them what is fair or not, your username sounds apt.

I hope they call your bluff and tell her to sling her hoop.

bubblypop wrote: »
    But if the rent is split 4 ways now surely you are paying less each month OP?

You were paying 400 something yea? Now you should be paying 300 something?
    Your girlfriend also pays 300 something? Most probably less / equal to what she would be paying somewhere else?
    So ye both pay less rent.
    What's the problem?
    You are actually 2 people you know, not one single entity because you're a couple.
    Rent should be split 4 ways, or else find somewhere else for ye both, would be my opinion.

So everyone's rent/mortgage should be based on the number of people in a property then? I must get on to my tenants and double their rent as there are two of them!

It seems to me that they've been the underhanded ones. It seems that they were quite happy to let the OP move her in with an agreement to split the bills 4 ways but only hit him with the rent issue post move.

To be frank there is probably very little they can do about it. If they all signed a lease then none of them can move out so tough titties. When you're sharing always get everything in writing before you do anything. Business is business.

I don't know if I would say underhanded, more like they didn't think it through and now they are feeling like they have been taken for fools.

The problem the OP and his girlfriend could find themselves in if they don't cooperate may be worse. What if the other lads said feck this and moved out when the lease is up? He could refuse to pay more, the atmosphere will be terrible and nobody will be happy.

My feeling is that if you don't want this hassle then get your own place or pay up.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,642 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

bubblypop wrote: »
    Rent should be split 4 ways.

That doesn't sound very reasonable. You're suggesting someone with half a twin-room pays as much as someone who gets their own room.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,459 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Hi OP, essentially your GF is living there for free. So the bills have been split four ways. So that means the two lads in the house now pay a few euro less than they were before for bills. It's hardly worth having another person in the house for, especially as that other person is part of a couple...which they didn't sign up for.

I think it would be "fair" if she contributed to the rent of the house...id be damn annoyed if I was paying for a room in a house and the person in the next room wasn't. Having said that I don't believe it should be at the same rate. Something like €50 a week and for her to keep paying 1/4 of the bills would seem fair to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 967 ✭✭✭highly1111

I'd say 40% of rent and 50% of bills is fair enough. I think that 50% rent is excessive.

That's not what happened here.
    You don't actually know what happened here, we haven't been told. The OP may have had the girlfriend "staying over" for months before being called on it for all we know, there isn't enough info on how she came to be there.
    Bills are split 4 ways, I can understand people not wanting to live with a couple, hence me paying more rent but ur argument about ESB and tumble drier is irrelevant as bills ar by 4

There is more to the shared use of space and appliances than just the bills you know.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭martinsvi

if OP has to pay for half of the house, he should get half of the house - but in this example he's not getting it. It's not fair that 2 people sharing bedroom get to pay the same amount each than these lads separately whilst getting a full room for themselves. I think OP's proposed split is the fairest and if they're not happy with that, move out