Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Joan Burton fell out of a boat in Kilkenny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭Baggy Trousers

Irish water has certainly sunk Labour!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭The Raptor

Everyone else in ankle depth water and she needed to be pulled by boat. Were those poor lads her regular driver. Seriously, it wasn't that bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

This is the best present I got all year hahaha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 368 ✭✭xband

Who decided to put the taniste into what looks like a canoe / kayak ?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

ds_15037_04_16x9.jpg?quality=0.85&width=341&height=191&crop=true

Same guys who did that kind of thing ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭saltsun

Was this an RTE remake of Titanic? "Water protester dead ahead!"

Filmed in SmartPhone

• Registered Users Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

'Let them eat cake' said the woman of the people.....had to laugh reading about the extra 25 quid a week she's giving to pensioners (for votes) .....meanwhile when her time comes she'll pocket 150k a year like the rest of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Leave Joan Alone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

xband wrote: »
    Who decided to put the taniste into what looks like a canoe / kayak ?!

One of her many advisers probably

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/tanaiste-joan-burton-staff-salaries-up-to-52k-more-than-pay-cap-373782.html

• Registered Users Posts: 33,757 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

It would have made international news (Sky News), if the hotel in Dubai has avoided going up in flames.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,674 ✭✭✭✭Calahonda52

Joan of Ark?

“I can’t pay my staff or mortgage with instagram likes”.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

LordSutch wrote: »
    Maybe you're confusing her with the SF vice pres?

Jaysus. You're obsessed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

Great end to a brilliant year. Where was joans lifejacket? Its the law.

Oops i forgot, its one law for them and another for us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Pink Fairy

falan wrote: »
    Great end to a brilliant year. Where was joans lifejacket? Its the law.

Oops i forgot, its one law for them and another for us.

She wasn't on a waterway, on a public road, no lifejacket needed

Pink Fairy wrote: »

If it was flooding from a River it would be a waterway actually.

No, it wouldn't, its a public road, if there's a heavy fall of snow upon it, doesn't make it a ski slope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,872 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

She should have worn a seatbelt so.

No, it wouldn't, its a public road, if there's a heavy fall of snow upon it, doesn't make it a ski slope

Please explain to the rest of the class if it was from the river how part of the river is not part of the river ??

Look at the OS map, that'll give you a little hint, if you need a bigger hint, ask your local county council on Monday. Here endeth the lesson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

She was in an open craft, under 7M in length, in this case a canoe. I only wish it had been deeper.

http://afloat.ie/item/21568-wearing-a-lifejacket-rules-in-ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

I want one of those "Joan Burton canoe tours" T shirts.

XL please :o

falan wrote: »
    She was in an open craft, under 7M in length, in this case a canoe. I only wish it had been deeper.

http://afloat.ie/item/21568-wearing-a-lifejacket-rules-in-ireland

Maritime law doesn't apply to public roads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Bonzo Delaney

In all honesty and said before here what was the idea of putting her is a canoe to be pulled around like that
    At the end of the day it's embarrassing to watch it
    It'd be different if her guide was also in a canoe to show her around the affected areas
    But when he's able to walk around in a pair of waders and the rest had waders on including the taniste no reason why they couldn't walk around together and show some cop on and respect for the people affected in those areas
    Tbh it just makes a joke of the hardship people are dealing with
    It looks like a comedy sketch with her lady muck pulled around by the village idiot
    I honestly tought they had more between their ears than that
    Sorry for the rant just find it more embarrassing than funny.

Maritime law doesn't apply to public roads

She was on water would be a bit funny using a boat on a road would it not. The law does black and white not sense. Why do you see people being rescued here and in the UK with life jackets on in similar water ??

Its not just the law that doesn't make sense here

Point/link to the legislation that says otherwise ?

I can't find anything in maritime law that applies to roads, If you find it put it up here for us

She was on water..... You are mistaking the law of the land to distinguish between water and water...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭moleyv

She made the mistake of sitting in a canoe rather than kneeling.... It was never going to end well.

She was on water..... You are mistaking the law of the land to distinguish between water and water...

So thats a no to maritime law then, thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

This is our Lusitania.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

No doubt someone will be along to tell us Paul Murphy was seen around the area wearing sub-aqua gear.

http://i584.photobucket.com/albums/ss282/truthisfree2_photos/Jboat_zps1culkyrz.jpg

You're welcome.

He claims he was only there to help with the flood relief efforts until the local super refused him permission to fill his bucket :D

So thats a no to maritime law then, thanks

You still have not linked to it saying otherwise. Not mentioning roads does not count in Court. it would be down to water and water only. One is under the illusion of laws being sensible.

Case in point a Romanian guy got of penalty points due to not being offered the information in “Irish” does not matter if he did not speak Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Corpus Twisty

Her ar5e got wet - she is now being treated for water on the brain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,124 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

I hope someone in Thomastown flushed a nasty bout of diarrhoea down the toilet sometime this morning!

• Registered Users Posts: 33,757 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

So one has to wear a lifejacket if they put on a bath and forget to turn off the tap and the house floods....?

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,694 ✭✭✭An Riabhach

Siúl leat, siúl leat, le dóchas i do chroí, is ní shiúlfaidh tú i d'aonar go deo.

• Registered Users Posts: 650 ✭✭✭csallmighty

Is the boat ok?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Is the boat ok?

was arrested and is under investigation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,985 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

She should have paddled her own canoe

• Registered Users Posts: 814 ✭✭✭kazamo

c_man wrote: »
    This is our Lusitania.

Pity it wasn't the Marie Celeste and then the bore would be gone forever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,175 ✭✭✭screamer

Literally up sh!t creek without a paddle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Seen some comments on social media saying if only she drowned.

Some nasty filth in this country.

JustTheOne wrote: »
    Seen some comments on social media saying if only she drowned.

Some nasty filth in this country.

You mean just like elected representatives telling people to top themselves ?

I would hardly call social media trolls serious...

Unlike our elected representative that told people to kill themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,124 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

You mean just like elected representatives telling people to top themselves ?

I would hardly call social media trolls serious...

Unlike our elected representative that told people to kill themselves.

That was Vincent Browne if I remember correctly.

Gael23 wrote: »
    That was Vincent Browne if I remember correctly.

Nope a Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,116 ✭✭✭Mech1

she would get a better view of the flooding from a helicopter, better luck next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,171 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

No Gael23 is correct