Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

10 Round Numbers - How Many Can You Run in 2016?

• 01-01-2016 6:33pm
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭

OK..I'm making the call. If anyone wants to start other round numbers in other threads for separate challenges. Go ahead.

Despite there being a separate 'ladies' thread, it would be great to see some ladies who make these times whacking them into this thread. :)

PLEASE give some info on the race/your training/how you felt/next target etc when posting your times, so we don't end up with a boring thread of tables.

The times are:

400m - 1 minute
    800m- 150 seconds
    1 mile - 5 mins
    3k - 10 mins
    5k - 20 mins
    5miles - 30 mins
    10k - 40 mins
    10miles - 1 hour
    Half Marathon - 90 mins
    Marathon - 3 hours.

Name|400m<60 secs|800m<150 seconds|1 mile<5 min|3k<10min|5k<20min|5mile<30min|10k<40m|10miles<1hr|Half Marathon<90mins|Marathon<3hrs

NAME||||||||||

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Can somebody be as so kind to stick me in for 19.41 on the 5k column pls? Cant edit the table from my MacBook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

tang1 wrote: »
    Can somebody be as so kind to stick me in for 19.41 on the 5k column pls? Cant edit the table from my MacBook.

Nice start tang :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,491 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Name|400m<60 secs|800m<150 seconds|1 mile<5 min|3k<10min|5k<20min|5mile<30min|10k<40m|10miles<1hr|Half Marathon<90mins|Marathon<3hrs

tang1|||||19:41|||||

Great run, Barry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,858 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

OK..I'm making the call. If anyone wants to start other round numbers in other threads for separate challenges. Go ahead.

Despite there being a separate 'ladies' thread, it would be great to see some ladies who make these times whacking them into this thread. :)

PLEASE give some info on the race/your training/how you felt/next target etc when posting your times, so we don't end up with a boring thread of tables.

The times are:

400m - 1 minute
    800m- 150 seconds
    1 mile - 5 mins
    3k - 10 mins
    5k - 20 mins
    5miles - 30 mins
    10k - 40 mins
    10miles - 1 hour
    Half Marathon - 90 mins
    Marathon - 3 hours.

NAME||||||||||

All looks good, except the 5k is soft compare to the others. A sub 19 be more equal to the other standards.

That's why they call it the "round numbers". ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,858 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Murph_D wrote: »
    That's why they call it the "round numbers". ;)

Very good point.

pac_man wrote: »
    @tang1 Did you do that run in the park?

You were the DBRC man in the black tights and t-shirt, I passed you on Chesterfield and you came back and handed me my ass on the finishing straight?

Ah jaysus, B, surely you weren't beaten by a guy in tights? :pac:

Murph_D wrote: »
    Ah jaysus, B, surely you weren't beaten by a guy in tights? :pac:

Yip I was and not ashamed in anyway, he was better today. He's still a girl for wearing tights though!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

I started running fairly recently. Happy with the progress I have made so far..best 5k effort is 22:34 and 10K around 48mins.

Hopefully will post back here later this year with sub 20 for the 5 and sub 40 for the 10k but don't see it just yet :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 591 ✭✭✭Cona

So far I have hit the 5k, 10k and half marathon times...the rest will require a serious jump in improvement BUT that is why I'm posting here now...am going to give this a right lash this year see how fa/close I can come to some of the shorter times...marathon will be next year I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

"OK..I'm making the call. If anyone wants to start other round numbers in other threads for separate challenges. Go ahead."
    ^^ quote from OP

This:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057543402
    And this:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057543183

Are "separate challenges". One is confined to "ladies" and the other "open to all"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    "OK..I'm making the call. If anyone wants to start other round numbers in other threads for separate challenges. Go ahead."
    ^^ quote from OP

This:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057543402
    And this:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057543183

Are "separate challenges". One is confined to "ladies" and the other "open to all"...

2 tables with same targets is pointless. It appears that the 2 have been merged and titled changed to reflect that.

Chivito550 wrote: »
    2 tables with same targets is pointless. It appears that the 2 have been merged and titled changed to reflect that.

Ok. Cross posting maybe. Fair enough. I still object to the title. Surely the old 'survival of the fittest thread' approach be employed here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

I'm going to have a real crack at this year by at least giving every distance a shot. Finding an actual mile race could be challenging enough around here as it's all 1500m at the gradeds and championship races so might have to find one on the road. Hope to tick off at least more than half the table anyway and it would be a good enough year for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,084 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

I'm going to have a real crack at this year by at least giving every distance a shot. Finding an actual mile race could be challenging enough around here as it's all 1500m at the gradeds and championship races so might have to find one on the road. Hope to tick off at least more than half the table anyway and it would be a good enough year for me.

Normally a few on in Charlesland over the summer, BHAA sometimes include a few (not sure if I seen them last year) and I think the did have 1-2 at the DAC gradeds and up in Louth also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

Considering it but not yet committed myself to these targets. You are right about the mile races being hard to find around the country. I thought about trying to get agreement on a 1500m equivalent but with recent controversy I'll give it a pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

There's a some mile races in ALSAA in February and April:
    http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057499371/1

pac_man|||||19:38|||||
    Dubgal72|||||19:44|||||

Parkrun this morning. Didn't wear my racing flats because of slip-risk so v happy with this on a 'not PB' course. Looks like training is sharpening up nicely enough for the nationals next week :) Where were you tang, woulda been nice to draft off ye ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

TFBubendorfer|||||18:15||39:13|||

Depending on how it goes I might actually have a few columns filled in by the end of the year for a change.

10k was on new Year's Day, 5k was this morning. There's room for improvement on all fronts!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭skeleton_boy

skeleton_boy|||||||36.01|||

Off the board for the year. No marathon planned so I won't be ticking all the boxes but I'd hope to go close to hitting all the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,534 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Krusty_Clown||||9:25|15:52|27:12||||

A mixed bag of results so far:

Raheny 5 Mile: 27:12 - Having ran 26:4x at the same race last year, I was very disappointed with this result. I didn't give myself enough time to get far enough up in the starting corral, and so started some 400-500 people back form the start. I weaved through these runners fairly quickly, but had already missed the opportunity to latch onto the groups I should have been running with, and instead ran most of the windy sections on my own and did some damage. Thankfully over the last mile, a runner pushed ahead and I latched onto him to the finish, or the result would have been even more poor.

Armagh International 5K: 15:52 - What an incredible experience. I'd advise any serious runner to head to armagh and enjoy one of the best road racing experiences you can have, whether that's as a participant or as spectator. The men's 5k race has a sub 17 minute qualification requirement, which means that the field is both fast and competitive. It';s not too often that I find myself intentionally heading to the back of the starting group, and joining an equally nervous-looking group of sub 16 minute 5k runners, wondering if we're out of our depth. Thankfully, once the gun went, I felt perfectly at home, and worked my way from last position, from group to group, and felt strong throughout. Didn't know my time until I hit the finishing straight, and was delighted to see 15:52 (just 5 seconds off my PB). Given that all of my recent efforts have been focussed on base-building (high mileage/tempo/no speed-work), I wasn't sure if I could get the legs to turn over at sub-16 pace, so was well chuffed with the result (even if my 107th place finish out of 130 runners, firmly re-established my place in this running world!). I am however self-awarding myself the masters title, as I seem to have been the only non-senior in the race. :P

Wicklow Race series 3K: 9:25 - A bit of an unusual one, as the legs have been tired since the race in Armagh just a week ago. A 35 minute split tempo session on Tuesday and being in the midst of a 100 mile week threatened to derail any plans t have a good run, but thankfully Timmaay was there to lead the charge at the fast course in Wicklow town. Timmaay forged ahead over the course of the first lap, and I took the lead for the slightly shorter second lap, and with 400 to go, I could hear his footsteps approaching. He flew past at a serious clip, putting all of his speed to good use. After 200m I closed the gap a little, but with the finish line rapidly approaching, Timmay had the strength to open a well-earned three second gap. Still, a 5 second PB in the midst of a heavy mileage week is a positive sign, particularly as I head into the more speed-oriented section of my training.

I'll be tackling the 10 mile next, then the 10K (the focus of my training), and then will hopefully have a pop at the shorter of the distances in early summer in the Dublin graded meets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Sacksian

Sacksian||2:03.43|||||||||||

800m in the national indoor league. A poor race tactically, but nice to run a relatively good time (for me!) in the circumstances and without much specific 800m training, hopefully improve on that this summer.

Not sure if I'll be able to have a proper go at all of the 10 round numbers in 2016, but would like to improve mile, 3k and 5k pbs at some point this year.

Training is fragmented at the moment so, unfortunately, probably skipping indoor for the rest of the season. However, thinking of aiming for a 5k pb in May or June and then working down through the distances over the summer.

BeepBeep67||||9:58||||||

Chilly night, still under the weather, happy to under 10 without any real speed work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

Still nothing to report on this thread but PLEASE let a sub-20 5k happen soon! I've run 20.03 twice recently!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭skeleton_boy

skeleton_boy|||||16.29||36.01|||

First PB of 2016 :D. Mallow 10 up next

Krusty_Clown||||9:25|15:52|27:12||54:48||

10 Mile: 54:48 in Ballycotton. While I was hoping to run a PB, I'm happy with this performance, as despite being 20 seconds slower than last year, I feel it was a far better performance, as last year, I ran most of the race in a pretty strong group, but on this occasion, had to run much of the race on my own, into a slight breeze. Started off well (for a change) and hit the first mile (downhill) in ~5:10. Latched onto the back of a strong group of runners, but towards the end of the second mile, I found myself drifting off the back of the pack. I wasn't suffering unduly, but just found the physical challenge of maintaining the pace too much and I was over-striding as a consequence. Thankfully I was joined by RC and we ran shoulder to shoulder up to the half way point (27:00 - actually 12 seconds faster than I ran in Raheny). At the mid-point, RC failed to grab a water bottle and had to slow, and didn't get back on pace, so I was on my own, with the next runner some 40-50m ahead. Hit 10k in around 33:40, but with no-one to run with or against, I kind of lost focus after that and with the slight head wind, the next few splits unknowingly suffered a little.

Hit the 8 mile mark just as a lad in a white singlet passed me and glancing at the watch I was pretty disgusted to see 5:37. Took the opportunity of the passing runner to pick up the pace and have him drag me along, and surprisingly enough, the change in pace was comfortable enough. Hit the hill just as we approached three runners who were slowing a little, and passed them over the final mile (still chasing the white singlet). Hung on for the final 800 and picked it up as much as possible in the hope that a PB was on the cards, so was a little disappointed to see 54:48. Still, in hindsight, it was a lot easier last year, being pulled along amidst a strong pack of runners, so I'm going to award myself some credit for doing this one largely on my own. A few lessons learned about digging in a little more (HR suggests that effort levels were perceived rather than real). Still a decent ending to my base training and just in time for some more 10k-specific work.

dna_leri|56.28||||||||||||

Results from Leinster Indoors are finally in so I get my first mark on the board for this year. I stepped down to M40 to avoid splitting the M45s into 2 heats but ended up in lane 1 for my generosity. I got out hard to avoid the crush at the break after the second turn. As I crossed the line with a good lead at 200m I saw the clock turn from 25 to 26s - a bit fast.

I knew I was being caught on the second lap so kept it going as best as possible. I was working hard but finally got passed in the last 50m by another guest runner. The clock stopped for him at 55.7s so I hoped I would be under 56s as well but happy enough with 56.28 which is an indoor PB, bettered only by an once-in-a-blue-moon 55.08 outdoors. The splits were dreadful 26/30 but the last lap felt like the finish of an 800m so maybe good practice.

Next up is 800m at National Indoor Masters on March 20. Going sub 2:30 should not be a problem as long as I avoid a DQ or DNF.

After that I would like to do a mile race, but they are hard to find. I think there is an ALSAA mile on 12 April which I was hoping to do but at the moment I have a work conflict on that day. I see there are none planned for the Dublin Graded Meets - anyone know of any other mile races in the near future?

Great result dna_leri. How did you fare in the the M45 national title race, or did you relinquish involvement by stepping down to the M40 race?

Isn't there an IMC meet in Greystones at the end of April? Not sure if there's a mile race, but it'd be a little ironic if one didn't feature as part of the meet. Also I believe (and I may be off the mark here) there may be a Wicklow race series with a mile track race (same track in Greystones), but nothing confirmed at this stage.

Great result dna_leri. How did you fare in the the M45 national title race, or did you relinquish involvement by stepping down to the M40 race?

Isn't there an IMC meet in Greystones at the end of April? Not sure if there's a mile race, but it'd be a little ironic if one didn't feature as part of the meet. Also I believe (and I may be off the mark here) there may be a Wicklow race series with a mile track race (same track in Greystones), but nothing confirmed at this stage.

No national titles on the line yet, that's next week but competition will be tough.

I'll check out Greystones, thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Chivito550

dna_leri wrote: »
    No national titles on the line yet, that's next week but competition will be tough.

I'll check out Greystones, thanks.

Yeh I assume you were guesting in Leinsters, so no medals on the line, hence the move to M40.

Great time from lane 1. There is a significant advantage being in lanes 4, 5 and 6 in the 400m.

With mile races sadly starting to disappear off the calendar is it time to double it up with a 1500 equivalent?
    Sub 4:40 maybe to keep it round, although that probably includes 2-3 secs grace?

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    With mile races sadly starting to disappear off the calendar is it time to double it up with a 1500 equivalent?
    Sub 4:40 maybe to keep it round, although that probably includes 2-3 secs grace?

Was thinking the same, McMillan gives a 4:38 equivalent for 1500m.
    As a round number 4:30 fits but is more challenging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

Its ironic but unfortunately true. They never have mile races as part of the IMC meets. They do an IMC Vs BMC as part of the Morton Mile meet but naturally enough the standard is pretty high on that one. There tends to be an invitational mile in Greystones but its more of a mid summer thing. The BHAA used do a mile in Irishtown but it was a bit of a joke as they had staggered starts depending on your standard, which are based on I don't know what. They also used do a grass mile in Trinity but replaced it with a 1200m/2000m combo last year. Hopefully they bring it back this year. Would love to give it a lash. Beer mile in the summer too but a bit more challenging to hit the sub 5 :D.

Sub 5 mile was a great target. Not sure the 1500m equivalent would have the same impact. Should organise a Boards Mile over the summer. Would be good craic.

If there's going to be a 1500m time, 4:30 is probably the most obvious round target.

But if you want to keep it to a mile, there might be enough possibilities if you include road miles. As well as the track miles at ALSAA & Greystones mentioned above, Raheny run a series of miles around now - next Wednesday, and also the 30th and the 13th April, a few days before the relays. And I think if you run sub 5 on the mile leg there, it should probably count for the table given that it's a little long.

I don't think the Leevale T&F meet has a mile but the UL Thomond Games might (they've had a DMR and steeplechase in the past) if it's on this year. Also, worth keeping an eye out for the other Open t&f meets that are held from now until autumn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

I imagine the DDAC meets will have at least 1 mile race, they usually do. The standard is not as high as you get in the Dublin Meets but it's not bad either.

Hello,

there are 3 one-mile races coming up in Raheny over the next month. On the roads. All welcome.

March
    Wednesday 16th Raheny 8pm 1 Mile
    Wednesday 30th Raheny 8pm 1 Mile

April

Wednesday 6thHolland Cup Raheny7.30pm 3 Miles
    Wednesday 13th April Raheny Mile Raheny8pm1 Mile
    Sunday 17th AAI National Road Relays Raheny 2pm

HelenAnne wrote: »
    Hello,

there are 3 one-mile races coming up in Raheny over the next month. On the roads. All welcome.

March
    Wednesday 16th Raheny 8pm 1 Mile
    Wednesday 30th Raheny 8pm 1 Mile

April

Wednesday 6thHolland Cup Raheny7.30pm 3 Miles
    Wednesday 13th April Raheny Mile Raheny8pm1 Mile
    Sunday 17th AAI National Road Relays Raheny 2pm

Especially recommended for anyone competitive in need of Pifco (other brands also available) household appliances!

Sacksian wrote: »
    Especially recommended for anyone competitive in need of Pifco (other brands also available) household appliances!

There are many fine prizes available! I'd say the male winners are always disappointed not to get the hair straighteners and hair brushes etc that we women sometimes win!

(To be fair, my dad is delighted with the giant headphones I once won for him, and everyone loves the electronic can openers. That sounds like sarcasm, but isn't - they are actually great.)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Whats the general standard at these mile races like? I'm going to head up to Alsaa for a go at the paced mile, but these sound interesting to me too.

adrian522 wrote: »
    Whats the general standard at these mile races like? I'm going to head up to Alsaa for a go at the paced mile, but these sound interesting to me too.

The winners of the Raheny mile races could be in the 4:20s or 4:30s (especially for the Open Mile before the relays) but there'll be people finishing in 8 minutes too. Check out the results section on the club page.

http://www.rahenyshamrock.ie/

I think the Irish Runner event does a sub-5 paced mile too? Which may be separate to the ALSAA series though?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Thanks, I'd hope to be running under 6 mins by the end of the summer, so these sound good.

adrian522 wrote: »
    Thanks, I'd hope to be running under 6 mins by the end of the summer, so these sound good.

I'll be doing the three Raheny 1-mile races and you sound about my pace: I'd be aiming, but not guaranteed, to be just under 6 (if at all possible :)) so you'd definitely have company.

As Sacksian says, the Raheny Mile on 13 April will have a faster field than the other miles as all the speedsters come down to be selected for the Road Relays, but the rest of us will still be there too, so all welcome!

HelenAnne wrote: »
    I'll be doing the three Raheny 1-mile races and you sound about my pace: I'd be aiming, but not guaranteed, to be just under 6 (if at all possible :)) so you'd definitely have company.

As Sacksian says, the Raheny Mile on 13 April will have a faster field than the other miles as all the speedsters come down to be selected for the Road Relays, but the rest of us will still be there too, so all welcome!

Well, 6 mins would be a goal for the next few months I guess. Right now I'd say 6:40 or so would be realistic.

I'll certainly aim to get at least some of these in over the next few months.

BeepBeep67||||9:58|||||1:19:56|

The elusive sub 80 at the Mullingar half on Paddy's Day, nearly threw it away, but found enough to smack myself in the last mile and a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Coffee Fulled Runner

Not sure how to edit the table on my mobile but I've a 5km at 19:24 and 10km at 39:59 so far this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,019 ✭✭✭Itziger

Itziger|||||||36.49|||

Really hoping I don't screw this up. 10k PB today. Flat course, nice weather, good 'hares' including the women's winner. She beat me by a few seconds and as I didn't do any pacing, didn't deserve to beat her. Fairly happy, slight fade alright.

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/1092401997

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

Itziger|||||||36.49|||
    Myles Splitz|||||16.25|||||

And we are finally off the mark :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Itziger|||||||36.49|||
    Singer|||||19:32|||||

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Coffee Fulled Runner

Itziger|||||||36.49|||
    Singer|||||19:32|||||
    Coffee Fulled Runner|||||19.24||39.59|||

Still a bit to do to hit my sub 19 goal for the year.