Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

LOI Talk, Rumours, Gossip, Transfers etc 2018

• Registered Users Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭Awesomeness

Sam byrne got a hat trick for Dundalk in a friendly last night and looked good playing in central midfield. Will be interesting to see if he gets some more game time in the coming weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Sam byrne got a hat trick for Dundalk in a friendly last night and looked good playing in central midfield. Will be interesting to see if he gets some more game time in the coming weeks
    King Kenny was asked about him last night and he indicated that he was more one for the future. Seems to be intent on getting him up to full fitness before giving him a run in the team. Probably won't see too much of him in the league over the next couple of months.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭D14Rugby

Pighead wrote: »
    King Kenny was asked about him last night and he indicated that he was more one for the future. Seems to be intent on getting him up to full fitness before giving him a run in the team. Probably won't see too much of him in the league over the next couple of months.

Bit of a weird one bringing in "one for the future" on loan, someone else's future maybe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Speaking of passion - injury time winners... Sickened I was away, long time since we've won a game in injury time!

DYrIKAqWAAAWJz1.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭s3rtvdbwfj81ch

Speaking of passion - injury time winners... Sickened I was away, long time since we've won a game in injury time!

you missed a good one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,838 ✭✭✭doncarlos

Corholio wrote: »
    This is the point where a City fan responds and then gets blamed for the 'City Dundalk ****e' on here.

Anyway, a Dundalk fan going out of his way to say that OTHER managers moan about things is quite surreal really.

Eh???? You do realise that the same Cork fan that liked your post had a dig at Kenny five posts prior to your post so drop the persecution complex.

To be honest both managers moan as they are both given the media attention that provides a platform to do so and controversial sound bites are a lot more interesting than spouting the usual football cliches. They are both passionate men and sometimes they let the passion get the better of them, Kenny in particular last season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

doncarlos wrote: »
    Eh???? You do realise that the same Cork fan that liked your post had a dig at Kenny five posts prior to your post so drop the persecution complex.

To be honest both managers moan as they are both given the media attention that provides a platform to do so and controversial sound bites are a lot more interesting than spouting the usual football cliches. They are both passionate men and sometimes they let the passion get the better of them, Kenny in particular last season.

Eh I think you misunderstood my point. My point was that anytime theres a bit of City-Dundalk back and forth it gets dubbed as something despite all teams having some rivalry. If a City fan made the first post, just swap in 'Dundalk' in my post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,481 ✭✭✭pgj2015

this thread is good apart from the constant bitching between rival club fans. no one wants to read that $hit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,481 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Patww79 wrote: »

I don't get it, I love football but cant see the point in hating other teams and fighting with rival fans, life is too short for that. we should be more united seeing as the domestic game here is so under supported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭bot43

pgj2015 wrote: »
    I don't get it, I love football but cant see the point in hating other teams and fighting with rival fans, life is too short for that. we should be more united seeing as the domestic game here is so under supported.

Oh dear.

Let’s all hold hands and give each other sly **** while we are at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,953 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

bot43 wrote: »
    Oh dear.

Let’s all hold hands and give each other sly **** while we are at it.

They were meant to be sly?

Ah, crap. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

pgj2015 wrote: »
    this thread is good apart from the constant bitching between Dundalk/Cork fans. no one wants to read that $hit.

Changed it ;)

A sign of the times and strength of both teams , wasn't so long ago Bohs and Rovers fans were clawing each others eyes out on here....oh to bring back them days :(

• Registered Users Posts: 6,254 ✭✭✭joeysoap

major bill wrote: »
    Changed it ;)

A sign of the times and strength of both teams , wasn't so long ago Bohs and Rovers fans were clawing each others eyes out on here....oh to bring back them days :(

No don’t, it’s grand the way it is.I’m happy to let it sit, I’d say the City lads are too . :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,050 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Derry City's Hale brothers got a goal each tonight for Ireland U21.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,989 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Ronan Curtis grabbing the assists for the first two goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭Smell the glove

Game against rovers tonight will be a sell out. Great to see.

How in gods green earth is that a card. Ridiculous decision

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Ridiculous decision or not, I have not been impressed with Gilchrist on any occasion I've seen him this season. Lopes is much better. Looks like a sell out in the RSC!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭justshane

Great game on tv!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,404 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Rovers defenders and keeper are rubbish tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭White Horse

Shamrock Rovers need a goalkeeper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭justshane

Bohs needed that win, I feel Bray are gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭Smell the glove

Lovely win for Waterford in front of the tv cameras. Hope the atmosphere came across well. Rovers fans going home depressed on their buses......a smashing thought after the way they acted tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,279 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Lovely win for Waterford in front of the tv cameras. Hope the atmosphere came across well. Rovers fans going home depressed on their buses......a smashing thought after the way they acted tonight.

What were they at this time?

Good win for us against a poor Cobh. Good to be back in Tolka!

You know the cameras were right on the rovers fans the whole game and bar a 10 second thing nothing happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

D14Rugby wrote: »
    You know the cameras were right on the rovers fans the whole game and bar a 10 second thing nothing happened.

What “ten second thing” happened?

Look out for Ian Morris belting in a cracker of an equalizer against Bray when they show it on Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Chip Whitley

To be fair, I was sat close to the Rovers fans and bar the odd one or two Green Street wannabes the majority weren't too bad. A flare was thrown and hit a steward and the culprit was removed straight away by Gardaí. After the first Blues goal there was some goading on both sides and one Rovers fan took it too far and tried to have a go at a Blues fan and he was promptly escorted away too. After that there was a few distasteful chants at Izzy Akinade but the majority of the fans seemed OK to me.

Great game overall, delighted with the result of course but was really impressed with how Rovers kept the ball, particularly when they only had 10 men for most of the match.

Definitely feels like something special is happening at the RSC, players seem to have a good bond (judging by their social media) the fans are fully on board, old, new and returning lapsed fans (myself included) and the owner is putting a lot of structure in place that really adds to the professional atmosphere around the club. Hopefully this great start can continue even with our smallish squad. Fletch was a miss tonight.

Omackeral wrote: »
    What “ten second thing” happened?

Look out for Ian Morris belting in a cracker of an equalizer against Bray when they show it on Monday.

Dont know really, commentators just said "and there's something happened in the Rovers end but stewards and gardai have stopped it now" didnt look like anything major really, was just after Waterford scored so at a guess id say a waterford fan was giving it the ol arms wide goading the away fans and some idiot tried to go towards them. That is pure speculation though, believe one fan was taken away anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Mahony0509

I thought Waterford were lucky tonight. Both goals went through Chenchinski's legs, who in all fairness, is an awful goalkeeper. If it were Cork or Dundalk, the results would be the opposite.

To be fair, I was sat close to the Rovers fans and bar the odd one or two Green Street wannabes the majority weren't too bad. A flare was thrown and hit a steward and the culprit was removed straight away by Gardaí. After the first Blues goal there was some goading on both sides and one Rovers fan took it too far and tried to have a go at a Blues fan and he was promptly escorted away too. After that there was a few distasteful chants at Izzy Akinade but the majority of the fans seemed OK to me.

Great game overall, delighted with the result of course but was really impressed with how Rovers kept the ball, particularly when they only had 10 men for most of the match.

Definitely feels like something special is happening at the RSC, players seem to have a good bond (judging by their social media) the fans are fully on board, old, new and returning lapsed fans (myself included) and the owner is putting a lot of structure in place that really adds to the professional atmosphere around the club. Hopefully this great start can continue even with our smallish squad. Fletch was a miss tonight.

Yeah what i thought pretty much. To be honest Akinade deserves everything thats said to him once it's not racist, etc.

Thought we played well too and maybe with 11 on the pitch could have flipped the scoreline. That lad that scored twice looks the business.

Nice to see waterford up to old heights but, in the nicest way possible, as long as Akinade is at the club I hope yous win nothing, once he leaves I wish yous all the best.

EDIT: Just hearing that a Waterford fan was actually the person taken away at the incident after Waterfords second goal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Chip Whitley

Didn't hear of an incident after the second Waterford goal to be honest. EDIT: Just read on Facebook that yes, a Blues fan was led away by Gardaí during the celebrations for the second goal.

It was definitely a Rovers fan taken away after the first goal anyway as I actually know the local lad he was getting into the row with and he was just told to go back to his seat, ha ha!

Hopefully there will have been a few new fans of LOI made after seeing a decent game well presented on the TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭10green bottles

for a loi telly match this one was a cracker.
    Gilchrist's 2 yellows in no doubt,1st yellow was a straight red imo and the tap tackle for the 2nd after was just an an u-14 bit of stupidness.
    The Rovers gk is terrible.reference back to how awful he was v Dundalk at Tallaght last year in the FAIcup sf!? How he's still going for them is to other teams relief.
    Waterford's gk looks the real deal,solid defence in front of him but they look thin for quality subs to replace them when called.
    Waterford are on the up and fair play to them and about time.Rovers are like them,3/4 players away from cutting it with the big lads.
    Good match as i said and went down well with the tv audience i'd say.

• Registered Users Posts: 137 ✭✭kentoccfc

Bohs badly needed that win. Pressure cooker of a game - probably deserved the late winner. Bray must be sickened.

Is Bradley already under a bit of pressure? Two reds in the last two games, haven't managed to click away from Tallaght yet. Fair enough, it's early in the year, but from what I've seen of them, their defence has not improved on last year (particularly the goalkeeping situation)

After that there was a few distasteful chants at Izzy Akinade..

But were they inaccurate?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,254 ✭✭✭joeysoap

5 Sligo Rovers booked.? Referee book mad or did Sligo deserve the bookings?

joeysoap wrote: »
    5 Sligo Rovers booked.? Referee book mad or did Sligo deserve the bookings?

He was actually quite lenient with some of the Sligo players.

They were told or decided to match Dundalk physically. That is difficult to do when you are so much smaller and slighter in comparison.

So they were throwing themselves into tackles, quite reckless but nothing dirty or designed to injure.

It was men versus boys at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭brianregan09

Whats the deal with Akinade why don't people like him

• Registered Users Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Whats the deal with Akinade why don't people like him

Found guilty of rape and likes joking about it in twitter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

dan1895 wrote: »

Which is why Waterford fans chanting their "No one like Akinade" song is so offensive.

A live game on TV, the possibility of the young girl's family watching, and they sing that!

Irish football and the media should take a long look at themselves as to how they have contrived to protect the criminal and abandon the victim.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Ah but he scores a few goals so its grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

Which is why Waterford fans chanting their "No one like Akinade" song is so offensive.

A live game on TV, the possibility of the young girl's family watching, and they sing that!

Irish football and the media should take a long look at themselves as to how they have contrived to protect the criminal and abandon the victim.

It’s a joke. Bohs lied to fans about him and couldn’t even acknowledge fans who contacted the club to show disapproval.

He is a disgrace.

EDIT: he pleaded guilty.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,442 ✭✭✭Charliebull

He was actually quite lenient with some of the Sligo players.

They were told or decided to match Dundalk physically. That is difficult to do when you are so much smaller and slighter in comparison.

So they were throwing themselves into tackles, quite reckless but nothing dirty or designed to injure.

It was men versus boys at times.

God I'm not too sure about that,
    Yes a couple of bookings were deserved, but the ref was shocking and gave Dundalk quite a bit,
    Dundalk were physically stronger and were better team but apart from two sligo mistakes for the goals, (one of which was so bad it was nearly funny) Dundalk did not have many clear cut chances, in fact sligo probably had better chances and also hit the woodwork at 1-0
    Better team won but it was far from a dirty game,
    2500 fans and we are second bottom,
    God I long for the Paul Cook days again,
    I envy Dundalk being able to watch good football every week,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

God I'm not too sure about that,
    Yes a couple of bookings were deserved, but the ref was shocking and gave Dundalk quite a bit,
    Dundalk were physically stronger and were better team but apart from two sligo mistakes for the goals, (one of which was so bad it was nearly funny) Dundalk did not have many clear cut chances, in fact sligo probably had better chances and also hit the woodwork at 1-0
    Better team won but it was far from a dirty game,
    2500 fans and we are second bottom,
    God I long for the Paul Cook days again,
    I envy Dundalk being able to watch good football every week,

I was listening to the Ocean FM commentary of the game so obviously there was a Sligo bias to it, but there was an incident where a Sligo player (can't remember who) was booked for a dive from a Chris Shields tackle and the commentators were saying even Shields was expecting and accepting the yellow for his challenge when the ref instead showed the yellow to the Sligo lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,224 ✭✭✭overshoot

Few Articles on Harps today
    42 article on Kevin McHugh's career (good read), really in depth and looks at his whole career up to running our academy & u15 sides now.

Indo article: Effort in First Division travelling around the country etc. I'd say most of us already know that one though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,050 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

dan1895 wrote: »

Did he serve any time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭diusmr8a504cvk

Question:

What will happen first in your opinion: a team will leave or a team will join the League of Ireland and which team?

NIMAN wrote: »
    Did he serve any time?

Susp sentence with two others.