Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

LOI Talk, Rumours, Gossip, Transfers etc 2018

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

I'm going to guess around 23 or 24.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,798 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

I'm going to guess around 23 or 24.

He's 22 I believe.

Edit: 23.

http://www.transfermarkt.com/daniel-devine/profil/spieler/226015

• Registered Users Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭Awesomeness

Is there any chance a LOI club might be able to tempt Robbie Keane back for a year not he is leaving LA

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,798 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Is there any chance a LOI club might be able to tempt Robbie Keane back for a year not he is leaving LA

It's likely he'll stay in MLS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

I reckon he could still get another big contract out foreign somewhere, so very doubtful IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

And the awards keep coming in for the best team in the country. Just a few days after it was announced that the club had won programme of the year for the seventh successive time comes the news that Dundalk are the 2016 Fair Play Champions. Playing the opposition off the park in a fair and sporting manner. Some fcuking team! That's another €4000 in to the coffers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭damemcd

Pigs Head and the local intermediate team bit there....would he not be better of going out and digging up the plastic at Oriel instead of casting asparagus on other league teams from his lofty heights

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Corry and Connolly are good signings. Put a decent striker in front of them and they'll do ok this year.

damemcd wrote: »
    Pigs Head and the local intermediate team bit there....would he not be better of going out and digging up the plastic at Oriel instead of casting asparagus on other league teams from his lofty heights
    What the fcuk does asparagus have to do with anything you turnip?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 8,576 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wilberto

irish_goat wrote:
    Robbie Keane leaving LA Galaxy and taking some time out before deciding where to go. What's the chances of him coming home?

The report I heard on the radio was that he wanted to continue on in th MLS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Conor McCormack to us (Cork) just announced.

How was he at Derry last year? Always liked him as a player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭damemcd

Great to see Drogheda back up again.......they were flyin high a few yearsago, but didnt lose the run of themselves in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Gael85

Leslie91 wrote: »
    Danny Devine.... Belfast native?....... just watched his interview on the Facebook page and sure sounded like a Dub anybody know who he is/where he has come from?, was he at Villa at one stage?

Was he playing LSL? Cherry Orchard I think

• Registered Users Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

Corholio wrote: »

Very good at Derry. He is better than Morrisey and Buckley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,012 ✭✭✭uch

Gael85 wrote: »
    Was he playing LSL? Cherry Orchard I think

Firhouse Clover

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

damemcd wrote: »
    Great to see Drogheda back up again.......they were flyin high a few yearsago, but didnt lose the run of themselves in fairness.
    They absolutely lost the run of themselves. They were paying transfer fees to other loi clubs..

They were just lucky that the arse fell out of it before they managed to get in for too much.

Still, glad to see them back. Nice fans, pub outside the ground. Their away section, while basic, has always been one of my favorites.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Loves getting wound up and losing the head Vs us, gets plenty of abuse as he is a local sort of, from Bulluergan just outside Dundalk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭kksaints

He wasn't particularly great with us in 2014 and the first half of 2015. Tended to play more as a right back rather than a midfielder. Seemed to play a fair bit better with Derry so is probably more a midfielder than right back.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭White Horse

Not sure about McCormack and Bolger in the same midfield. McCormack is hardly going to Cork to be a squad player. is this a sign that Bolger is on his way?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,254 ✭✭✭joeysoap

Bolger and McCormack at City = lots of yellows and a few reds. Both useful players though, I do think JC is adding useful players bit to an already fairly useful outfit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,989 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Not transfer news but Joe Gamble has returned to Limerick as Strength and Conditioning coach.

https://mobile.twitter.com/LimerickFCie/status/799691524049092608

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭sligolad1

Rovers have re-signed Leahy and Russell

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Roberto Lopes, Paul Corry, Ryan Connolly & Daniel Devine all announced for Rovers. Stephen Rice also announced as U.17s head coach. They tried to do a live stream on facebook but it failed miserably, for all of the talk of Rovers looking to build something special and become an alternative to England for elite young players, part of me thinks it is going to fail miserably. Not sure if any of those signings will help bridge the gap between Rovers and the top 2.

I wouldn't be going over the top like that, not every signing can be Messi or Twigg. A key part of the end of last season was an inexperienced side with inexperienced options off the bench.

Whatever about no x factor (I would consider Lopes for example to be an enthusiastic battler, if limited) at least Lopes and Connolly - and Corry previously - are reasonably experienced and young-ish players.

dfx- wrote: »
    I wouldn't be going over the top like that, not every signing can be Messi or Twigg. A key part of the end of last season was an inexperienced side with inexperienced options off the bench.

Whatever about no x factor (I would consider Lopes for example to be an enthusiastic battler, if limited) at least Lopes and Connolly - and Corry previously - are reasonably experienced and young-ish players.

Maybe I was being overly critical, I just feel as if Rovers will need to bring in another 4 or 5 players on top of them if they are to progress. A goalscorer is badly needed but I assume they will be on the look out for another striker. Question about the 5 or 6 youth team players who came into the first team, will they be considered first team players this season or will they primarily be playing for the u.19s again? Presumably they will be in and around the first team squad but having that many youngsters in your first team is a risky strategy.

• Registered Users Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Salmon Leap

Hearing Pat Cregg has gone to St Pats. Disappointed he's left us if confirmed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭kksaints

Hearing Pat Cregg has gone to St Pats. Disappointed he's left us if confirmed.

Have seen that rumour on our side too.We've definitely signed Peers from Sligo. Bermingham, Barker and Conan Byrne have also re-signed for next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,404 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

gimmick wrote: »
    I reckon he could still get another big contract out foreign somewhere, so very doubtful IMO.

Are you saying he could come home then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Are you saying he could come home then?

Yes. That's exactly what I'm saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,373 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Sad to see Peers go. Still has something to offer even though he was never the same after his knee injury.

Right up there alongside Ndo. 10 years is a long time for someone who isn't a local to spend at a club and he's been there for it all. Good luck to him next season.

Rovers announcing more new signings on Monday afternoon. I'm going to take a guess at Sean Hoare and Christy Fagan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Rovers announcing more new signings on Monday afternoon. I'm going to take a guess at Sean Hoare and Christy Fagan.

Fagan? That'd be a surprise one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,518 ✭✭✭✭DvB

Hoare the likely announcement along with some re-signings I suspect.
    The other 2 signings I know have happened can't be confirmed until their season finishes.
    "I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year" - Charles Dickens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭justshane

DvB wrote: »
    Hoare the likely announcement along with some re-signings I suspect.
    The other 2 signings I know have happened can't be confirmed until their season finishes.
    So basically you're trying to say they've signed two Dundalk players.

justshane wrote: »
    So basically you're trying to say they've signed two Dundalk players.

Sorry, yep, two of the current Dundalk squad have signed up for next year according to one of our board members.

Thought that was obvious, wasn't trying to be smart.
    "I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year" - Charles Dickens

• Registered Users Posts: 6,254 ✭✭✭joeysoap

Meenan is one, who is the other? I like Meenan, 32 assists in 2014 but sort of out of favour now. By all accounts only himself to blame. SK apparently said at a function the other night that if players wanted to leave that was ok, no worries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭CHealy

UCC new main sponsors of Cork City so no more pudding or sausages on the front of our jersey. Heard the sponsorship deal is massive aswell so good times for the club. Event taking place in UCC as we speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,838 ✭✭✭doncarlos

CHealy wrote: »
    UCC new main sponsors of Cork City so no more pudding or sausages on the front of our jersey. Heard the sponsorship deal is massive aswell so good times for the club. Event taking place in UCC as we speak.

Great to see universities involved with LOI clubs. Quite a few have link ups now. With the sharing of facilities and scholarships etc those without some sort of formal link could see themselves being left behind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,838 ✭✭✭doncarlos

joeysoap wrote: »
    Meenan is one, who is the other? I like Meenan, 32 assists in 2014 but sort of out of favour now. By all accounts only himself to blame. SK apparently said at a function the other night that if players wanted to leave that was ok, no worries.

Meenan has definitely signed. Have heard Rogers could be gone too. Two year deal with a coaching gig. It's an area where Dundalk need to strengthen so would suit all parties

doncarlos wrote: »
    Meenan has definitely signed. Have heard Rogers could be gone too. Two year deal with a coaching gig. It's an area where Dundalk need to strengthen so would suit all parties

Meenan turned up to training Hungover in the summer and hasn't had a look in since

CHealy wrote: »

A strange way to use money. Would UCC not be better off reducing fees to students or expanding access to education.

Meenan signing & Simon Madden re-signing announced by Rovers.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

doncarlos wrote: »

Yep, Meenan and Madden.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

http://www.dundalkfc.com/statement-dundalk-fc-resolve-legal-issues/

"Dundalk Football Club are delighted to confirm that we have concluded the process to resolve all of the long-standing legal problems surrounding the lease of Oriel Park. As a result of this process, Dundalk Football Club have taken full ownership of the lease of Oriel Park and the YDC building.

Dundalk FC have already been visited by pitch specialists in order to move forward with a new playing surface that we hope will be in place for the start of the 2017 season."

• Registered Users Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

Poor out of Shamrock Rovers to announce Meenan, days before the AZ game with the player still under contract

http://www.dundalkfc.com/statement-d...-legal-issues/

"Dundalk Football Club are delighted to confirm that we have concluded the process to resolve all of the long-standing legal problems surrounding the lease of Oriel Park. As a result of this process, Dundalk Football Club have taken full ownership of the lease of Oriel Park and the YDC building.

Dundalk FC have already been visited by pitch specialists in order to move forward with a new playing surface that we hope will be in place for the start of the 2017 season."

Jaysus, they didn't hold back on poor old Gerry! Lots of bad blood there. James Rogers from the Argus may need to climb the fence next season as well if he wants to continue covering the team!

wadacrack wrote: »
    Poor out of Shamrock Rovers to announce Meenan, days before the AZ game with the player still under contract

Not really as I'm led to believe he won't be involved in the last 2 games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

http://www.dundalkfc.com/statement-d...-legal-issues/

Page is down

• Registered Users Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭Awesomeness

With the lease back how much work can the club do? It is still owned by the Casey family so are they free to upgrade the stands as well to try to get it up to european standards and not have to use tallaght again?