Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

LOI Talk, Rumours, Gossip, Transfers etc 2018

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Oat23 wrote: »
    Adam Morgan is the player. Playing in the conference north at the minute. Ex-Liverpool youth & England U19 player.

Back in the UK now.

Jaysis, that'd be a very good signing for Sligo.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,254 ✭✭✭joeysoap

doncarlos wrote: »
    Would be a fantastic signing for Sligo. Strong, pacy, physical striker that can also play on the wing.
    Should have got a lot more game time with Dundalk. Far superior to Kilduff

IMO both the O'Connor brothers are better than Kilduff and Ciaran is better than Michael (who is going to Sheff Utd) very sorry to see him go. I'm beginning to think that clubs like Pats, City, Dundalk etc are basically wasting their time developing U19 players and then passing them by for established players. The loss of both O'Connors is big.

Heard Gannon is going to stay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭red sean

monkey9 wrote: »
    Jaysis, that'd be a very good signing for Sligo.
    He's going through clubs very fast for someone so young. Could be another Djilali who can't settle anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

red sean wrote: »
    He's going through clubs very fast for someone so young. Could be another Djilali who can't settle anywhere.

That would be the worry. 6 clubs in 2 years is a bit much for a 22 year old. But certainly worth a shot, no doubt he can score goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,281 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

red sean wrote: »

Dropping the league tiers in England like a stone too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

A good interview with Morgan from last month.

http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/former-liverpool-striker-adam-morgan-12181788

Had a tough time since leaving Liverpool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,224 ✭✭✭overshoot

We are being linked with Ruairi Higgins & Johnny Bonner, latter sounds done as we can offer part time premier.
    Paddy McCourt released by Glenavon due to personal/family circumstances. From the article I read he is returning to Derry although I dont know if circumstances will allow him to play for them or elsewhere nearby (us/stute)

overshoot wrote: »
    We are being linked with Ruairi Higgins & Johnny Bonner, latter sounds done as we can offer part time premier.
    Paddy McCourt released by Glenavon due to personal/family circumstances. From the article I read he is returning to Derry although I dont know if circumstances will allow him to play for them or elsewhere nearby (us/stute)

Ruairi had a very good year with Dundalk in 2014. He left for Coleraine in 2015 to nearer home, but also possibly because Dundalk signed Finn to replace Towell, but Towell didn't leave so midfield was tight. Lovely footballer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

He did absolutely nothing at Bohs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,224 ✭✭✭overshoot

Should have added, he was released by mutual consent, 'injury plagued' spell according to bbc. Rumour first appeared on our forum today through the Sun so may be crap. He would be useful to us, lack wingers and we have chances on injury prone players, Rafter didnt pay off, Houston did though... although different levels of injury there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭UnleashTheBeast

It would be two strange signings by Finn Harps. A number of Premier Division clubs are after Johnny Bonner, he has another year of college in Carlow IT, it would make no sense for him to return to Finn Harps from a travel and financial standpoint.

Ruaidhri Higgins you should give a wide berth to (pun intended). He's at least two stone overweight and a complete crock. Even during his best years at Derry City he was always on the heavy side. Admittedly he was a very talented player, but now he's on the wrong side of 30 and his injury history should ensure that any manager that is clued in at all will steer clear.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭White Horse

It would be two strange signings by Finn Harps. A number of Premier Division clubs are after Johnny Bonner, he has another year of college in Carlow IT, it would make no sense for him to return to Finn Harps from a travel and financial standpoint.

Ruaidhri Higgins you should give a wide berth to (pun intended). He's at least two stone overweight and a complete crock. Even during his best years at Derry City he was always on the heavy side. Admittedly he was a very talented player, but now he's on the wrong side of 30 and his injury history should ensure that any manager that is clued in at all will steer clear.

Ruaidhri Higgins was excellent for Dundalk in 2014. That may have been two seasons ago. It took him a while to get his fitness levels right, but when he did, he was very good.

We had him signed up for the 2015 season but Richie Towell unexpectedly re-signed for another season after we have hired his replacement (Finn). Ruaidhri choose to have his contract cancelled as game time would have been limited.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,989 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Galway away or Cork at home would be a good opening fixture.

By my reckoning Dundalk will be home twice this year to Limerick, Bray, Bohs, Pats, Rovers and Drogheda. Away twice to Cork, Derry, Sligo, FH, and Galway.

The 33 match league is nonsense,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭CHealy

joeysoap wrote: »
    By my reckoning Dundalk will be home twice this year to Limerick, Bray, Bohs, Pats, Rovers and Drogheda. Away twice to Cork, Derry, Sligo, FH, and Galway.

Any word on what type of pitch ye'll be playing on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

CHealy wrote: »
    Any word on what type of pitch ye'll be playing on?
    No word yet. According to general manager Martin Connolly there was a bit of debate at boardroom level as to which surface to opt for with a couple of differing opinions. They've got the feasibility study report back and have had the pitch specialists around so all the info they need so you'd imagine a decision is imminent. Going by what Connolly has said over the last couple of months I'm guessing it will be an artificial surface once more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Well Limerick "replace" Longford, and Drogs "replace" Wexford. So whatever ye had last time will be the opposite this time.

I think thats how it works anyway. If you played someone twice at home thuis seaosn, its once at home next?

Anyway, hopefully we (CCFC) get a home start and finish this season. Unlikely I knmow.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Be interesting to see who the opposition for the last fixture in the old Dalymount will be. Hope it's the final game of the season.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭CHealy

Pighead wrote: »
    No word yet. According to general manager Martin Connolly there was a bit of debate at boardroom level as to which surface to opt for with a couple of differing opinions. They've got the feasibility study report back and have had the pitch specialists around so all the info they need so you'd imagine a decision is imminent. Going by what Connolly has said over the last couple of months I'm guessing it will be an artificial surface once more.

Im suprised I have to say, its clear a well kept grass pitch suit yer style much better than the black pebble mess that ye have now.

CHealy wrote: »
    Im suprised I have to say, its clear a well kept grass pitch suit yer style much better than the black pebble mess that ye have now.
    I agree. Grass pitch would be the ideal solution but in fairness to the board they have to look at the fact that U19s, U17s and from next season U15s as well as women will all be playing on the pitch. Hard to keep a grass pitch well maintained with all those games scheduled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

I agree. Grass pitch would be the ideal solution but in fairness to the board they have to look at the fact that U19s, U17s and from next season U15s as well as women will all be playing on the pitch. Hard to keep a grass pitch well maintained with all those games scheduled.

Don't let them play there. Have them play else where.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

fixtures are out
    Fri. 24 February Bohemians v Derry City Dalymount Park 7.45 pm
    Fri. 24 February Dundalk v Shamrock Rovers Oriel Park 7.45 pm
    Fri. 24 February Galway United v Drogheda United Eamonn Deacy Park 7.45 pm
    Fri. 24 February St. Patrick’s Athletic v Bray Wanderers Richmond Park 7.45 pm
    Fri. 24 February Finn Harps v Cork City Finn Park 8.00 pm
    Sat. 25 February Limerick v Sligo Rovers Markets Field 6.30 pm

http://www.sseairtricityleague.ie/images/2017_Season_SSE_Airtricity_League_Premier_Division_Fixture_List.pdf

Hopefully Dundalk vs Rovers creates good hype as an opening game. Surely will be on RTE.

Derry playing games at 2.30 PM on a sunday in Donegal. Will be a very tough place to get points for away teams with such a long travel & an early KO time.
    I think Derry could be challengers for the title alot of very good young players & have Timlin back too.

peteeeed wrote: »
    fixtures are out
    Fri. 24 February Bohemians v Derry City Dalymount Park 7.45 pm
    Fri. 24 February Dundalk v Shamrock Rovers Oriel Park 7.45 pm
    Fri. 24 February Galway United v Drogheda United Eamonn Deacy Park 7.45 pm
    Fri. 24 February St. Patrick’s Athletic v Bray Wanderers Richmond Park 7.45 pm
    Fri. 24 February Finn Harps v Cork City Finn Park 8.00 pm
    Sat. 25 February Limerick v Sligo Rovers Markets Field 6.30 pm

http://www.sseairtricityleague.ie/images/2017_Season_SSE_Airtricity_League_Premier_Division_Fixture_List.pdf
    FAI also confirm that we're heading for a ten team league from 2018. Bottom three automatically relegated next season. Poor Drogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

FAI also confirm that we're heading for a ten team league from 2018. Bottom three automatically relegated next season. Poor Drogs.

never let the rules worry you , we at bray never minded too much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Are Shels playing in Tolka again in 2017?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Away to Harps first day is the LOI equivalent of getting a toy for Christmas and your Santa forgot the batteries.

At least we are at home for the last day.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Are Shels playing in Tolka again in 2017?

They'll be there until Dalymount is ready, likely 2020

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

I`ve seen videos of a training pitch directly in front of Oriel. I`m pretty sure its grass but 100k to turn it into an astro turf would be money well spent to facilitate those 4 teams.
    Also, what exactly is the YDC? is there not an indoor pitch in it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

gimmick wrote: »
    Away to Harps first day is the LOI equivalent of getting a toy for Christmas and your Santa forgot the batteries.

At least we are at home for the last day.

A nice warm sunny evening hopefully for the opener

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,989 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Home to Sligo ain't too bad but followed by Derry and Dundalk away means a win against Sligo is a must me thinks. Derry away at 2.30pm on a Sunday is a load of bollix though, you'd wanna be travelling up Saturday night and camping out.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,811 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

Half our matches are listed as a Friday and half are Sunday afternoon. I honestly don't think the club themselves know.

Buncrana is a nice wee town anyway, one big main street with a good load of bars and Maginn Park is a 3 min walk from there. Not a wile pile of accommodation there though, you'd probably be best staying in Derry if you're up on the Saturday.

Monday 13th March. WTF is that about? Tuesday the 23rd May, even better. :(

Back to rumour mill now, had a pre Christmas lunch out today (accompanied by a little liquid, so in theory anyway it was lunch)

And, as you do, we got talking football. Started with the frivolous stuff, was Pep as good as City thought, would 'no dandruff' Hart go to Liverpool etc. Then we got serious. LOI talk. If what my friends say is true, Finn got a very nice deal from Rovers. €2k a week for 3 years, a new car, his wife employed by Rovers and Finn himself getting employment in what he is qualified for. McMillan offered €3k a week by (an unnamed) Scandinavian club. Rovers telling O'Donnell go back out the door he came in, Michael O'Connor definitely leaving Oriel.
    AZ Alkmar loaning two fringe players to Dundalk to get experience, Jamie McGrath on the shopping list, SK looking at a NI player as well as UK players.

It was a very enjoyable lunch but how to distinguish fact from fiction would be a job worthy of Sherlock.

I`ve seen videos of a training pitch directly in front of Oriel. I`m pretty sure its grass but 100k to turn it into an astro turf would be money well spent to facilitate those 4 teams.
    Also, what exactly is the YDC? is there not an indoor pitch in it?

Called Hiney park after a previous chairman (sadly killed in a RTA), it's grass.
    The YDC is a white elephant, built by the previous owner of DFC and which accumulated debts of €440,000 to the local council between planning permission and rates. It's directly behind the shed.

http://talkofthetown.ie/youth-development-centre-at-oriel-park-to-close-this-weekend/

Personally I would prefer a state of the art artificial pitch. Grass pitches take a lot of maintenance to keep right, plastic pitches not do much but expect are expensive to replace. Swings and roundabouts. Dundalk would have replaced that clapped out excuse for a pitch long ago but for the long drawn out lease saga. Dundalk were lucky that they had 17 away matches last season. Hopefully now they will press on and develop Oriel into a proper stadium. SK was talking about a 7,000 + all seater in his interview.

Called Hiney park after a previous chairman (sadly killed in a RTA), it's grass.
    The YDC is a white elephant, built by the previous owner of DFC and which accumulated debts of €440,000 to the local council between planning permission and rates. It's directly behind the shed.
    No longer a white elephant though now. I understand that Dundalk paid the fees/made a settlement with Louth CO.CO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,373 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Shels have the smallest budget in the FD and Owen Heary as manager. Why are they concerned about there only being 1 promotion spot? :D

https://twitter.com/shelsfc/status/811944375190192128

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭red sean

Shels have the smallest budget in the FD and Owen Heary as manager. Why are they concerned about there only being 1 promotion spot? :D

Probably why!

I reckon we're still bottom of the bag on that score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,373 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

I reckon we're still bottom of the bag on that score.

ㅑ I forgot you lot went down :(

That sounds like fun, I'd watch it

• Registered Users Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

That sounds like fun, I'd watch it
    Its just teams from Scottish lower leagues( Championship, League 1 and 2 . No Premiership sides)

I think it'd be an interesting watch, maybe it's just me :)

wadacrack wrote: »

Should be told where to stick it. Playing lower league Scottish sides/SPL U23 sides might be appealing to the Nordies and Welsh clubs but id like to think we`re at a higher level than any of those. Greenock Morton V Sligo Rovers wouldn't appeal to me in the slightest and would only do reputational damage to the league.
    Only way it would appeal to me is if the LOI could put their U19s in it and get a decent prize money return/all expenses covered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

*2nd smallest according to Heary

Also a planned boycott of home games this season.

2017 could be the death of Shelbourne FC as we know them, the only thing keeping them going will be the liquidation of Accolade Ltd which makes Shels debt free in the next 6-8 months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

When does that Scottish cup run? If it was during our pre-season there might be some benefit to teams. Other than that though doesnt seem worth it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,838 ✭✭✭doncarlos

wadacrack wrote: »
    Its just teams from Scottish lower leagues( Championship, League 1 and 2 . No Premiership sides)

Might be worthwhile if we can play an under 23 side also. Give a run out to fringe and youth players