Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC Pickem: Boards league 2016

• Registered Users Posts: 850 ✭✭✭lougal88

I fancy Tate by decision in the co-main.
    Think she will dodge Holly's power shots, get the takedowns and make it a dour fight. Her wrestling will dictate the fight.

Can't bet against McGregor in the main. Won't be 13 seconds though.
    TKO round 3.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Feck it anyways, got distracted earlier and didnt lock in my picks. Missed the first few fights as a result grrr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

John_D80 wrote: »
    raw

Wouldn't be the first time you've made a mistake. Just saying like. ;-)

Those times I completely forgot to pick at all, never had the forgot to save thing happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭finglashoop

Had diaz sub round 2

I went for round 4 I think :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

Traitors!

Shocker of a night for me worst in a long time.

jimmii wrote: »
    Traitors!

Shocker of a night for me worst in a long time.

I still had a crap night.

Better than the nights I forgot about and got zero points for!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

Had diaz sub round 2

Went for round 3, in fairness I only changed when rest of card didn't do me any favours :(

Thought I had a shocker but I guess everybody did.

Finished top for this event :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

It was a crazy event for picks and the scores were flying all over the place. Just as an example, I myself was out in front after 5 fights and ended up coming in a miserable 27th. We only had one player get 8 correct picks which was unusually low. The lead changed dramatically after almost every fight and there was no way of predicting a winner.

But a winner we have in the form of lougal88. In only his first week in the league!

***Comin' in here, like he owns the place, stealin our trophies. Grrrrr***

:p

Well done man.

the_best_trophy.jpg

The more observant will note that 2 other players , jcd5971 and Necrominus tied with the winning score, but as they did not make the full amount of picks they come in 2nd and 3rd respectively.

Sorry lads it a tough call but its the systems rules, not ours. Well done all the same though.

Next event is UFC fight night 85 (Hunt vs Mir). Date is 19/20 March depending what part of the world you are in!!

It was a crazy event for picks and the scores were flying all over the place. Just as an example, I myself was out in front after 5 fights and ended up coming in a miserable 27th. We only had one player get 8 correct picks which was unusually low. The lead changed dramatically after almost every fight and there was no way of predicting a winner.

But a winner we have in the form of lougal88. In only his first week in the league!

***Comin' in here, like he owns the place, stealin our trophies. Grrrrr***

:p

Well done man.

the_best_trophy.jpg

The more observant will note that 2 other players , jcd5971 and Necrominus tied with the winning score, but as they did not make the full amount of picks they come in 2nd and 3rd respectively.

Sorry lads it a tough call but its the systems rules, not ours. Well done all the same though.

Next event is UFC fight night 85 (Hunt vs Mir). Date is 19/20 March depending what part of the world you are in!!

Cheers man!!

Just to note, I wasn't gloating. Rather the opposite, I was pointing out that it was such a crazy week that I actually did quite well despite feeling that I got quite a few wrong.

Nonetheless, I'll take any win I get considering I have started so late I will never catch anybody near the top of this league. When did it actually start?
    I wish I had found it before now as it honestly made the event far more exciting, in particular the prelim fights. Which is why I picked all 12, I guess a few people had their picks in late.

Anybody who correctly predicted the main event should have got a massive bonus for such an underdog. Didn't see it going to the ground and certainly didn't think it'd be Conor attempting to take it there lol.

Anyway, looking forward to the next event now.
    Mir with the Sub win for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,518 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Don't forget to make your picks for tomorrow lads.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Picks locked in, not missing another event or half my picks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭stephenl15

6 for 6 now :D 3 perfects.

Edit: and I'm only 6th in boards league for the event. High standard here :P

stephenl15 wrote: »
    6 for 6 now :D 3 perfects.

Edit: and I'm only 6th in boards league for the event. High standard here :P

Nice view up here ;)

FFS I got distracted by herself this weekend and just remembered to pick em now. Got the last 3 fights tonight. Raging.

I thought I did pretty well with her 8/12 3 bonus and 4 perfect some insane scoring in our league last night!

FFS I got distracted by herself this weekend and just remembered to pick em now. Got the last 3 fights tonight. Raging.

Whatever she was doing it must have been good :P

Despite picking Bosse by KO in round 1 (just don't rate Te Huna) continuing on from 196 poor night from me 6/12

lougal88 wrote: »
    Whatever she was doing it must have been good :P

It's her birthday on Monday so I'm on best partner in the world duty, I was over seas for it the last 4 years so lots of overtime to put in :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,739 ✭✭✭ASOT

What a mad event, 4 people with 10/12 correct picks with 4/5 perfects and 6 bonus each. 205 separated 4th from 1st with the bonus/perfects being the deciding factor, they all must have came in different fights. Quality stuff lads.

But a winner we have in the form of NicolasCage. Who edges it by 80 points. Well done man.

the_best_trophy.jpg

Massive well done to Craic, stephenl15 & Swashbuckler. So close to pipping top spot. All of you bar Swashbuckler getting the same picks and bonuses etc.

Next event is UFC fight night 86 (Rothwell v JDS). Date is 10th of April in beautiful Croatia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Im gutted. Haha. Thought I was a shoe in for top spot for that event. Crazy event with some mad scoring. Well done lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,668 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Woo! My picks weren't complete sh1t for once!

Don't forget to get your picks in before Sunday lads!!

Also, make sure you CLICK SAVE!! ;)

I'm still going for JDS anyway, even if I'm totally alone in that I'm a big fan.

We're back tomorrow evening after what feels like the longest gap ever between events.

it's one of those rare events that will start and finish at a reasonable hour for us to watch and get up for work on Monday. Prelims kicking off at 3pm tomorrow so get those picks in.

Edit: Ooops, missed the post above. Someone already put up a reminder before me.

Shaggin disaster so far Cannonier and Martins me only correct winners

also Entwistle jaysus :rolleyes:

GOD DAMNIT!

I thought this was a later card, missed the first few fights.

This is one of the few times where I haven't gone decision heavy.

1190 after 6.

GOD DAMNIT!

I thought this was a later card, missed the first few fights.

Same I just happened to click the event thread from the homepage not used to such an early start!

Meant to be packing right now... That'll have to wait though, there's scrapping to be watched.

Doubt many will be missing points on not making a pick on this one. Did anyone go against Darby?

Yeah I did, Cummings decision! Doing decent for a change. Only two I didn't get.

ASOT wrote: »
    Yeah I did, Cummings decision! Doing decent for a change. Only two I didn't get.

Fair play not many would have gone with that.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Fair play not many would have gone with that.

I did too ;)

I guess it was a close enough one.

Went against the grain with the romanian here.

Was just about to say I assume we all went Munoz here!

Gamble hasnt paid off for me anyway shes exhausted.

It looked like she might have got the knee for a second there. She seems to have found a bit of reserve energy now but she needs to find something else to get her through this round you would think.

csallmighty!!! What.......the.........fu*k.....Some score. Gained 1000 points on me in one event.

Very impressive picking today from

csallmighty

An unbelievable 13 correct picks from 13!!

the_best_trophy.jpg

Blew the competition clean outta the water.

Well bloody done and congrats. Hope you had a few bets on as well. Let us know where you came in the world rankings for this event.

Wow!

• Registered Users Posts: 650 ✭✭✭csallmighty

Very impressive picking today from

csallmighty

An unbelievable 13 correct picks from 13!!

the_best_trophy.jpg

Blew the competition clean outta the water.

Well bloody done and congrats. Hope you had a few bets on as well. Let us know where you came in the world rankings for this event.

Wow, what else can I say but I predict dese tings :P
    unfortunately I didn't make any bets, I didn't even get to see the card, I'm just home from work.
    Managed to finish 29th overall :D

Early prelims kicking off at 9 pm this evening. Get the picks in lads.

Ffffffffffffffffffffffuuuuuuccccccckkkkkkkkkkkkk sake

I picked it back up with graves and Dodson but still miles off

How the he'll did people pick the first four? How????

Stick a fork in me.......I'm done.............

If it makes you feel any better I'm somehow second now

Nope. That just makes me feel worse. Stupid league anyway. Never liked it 😆