Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Attempted murder.

• Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭outdoors247

Could be worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Surprised the Garda drove off in a car after removing the foam without checking everything else first .

Lucky it wasn't a pipebomb

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 260 ✭✭Jimlh86

Would you really expect the brakes to be tampered with?

Lucky it wasn't a pipebomb

That's a very valid point! Thankfully that way of thinking hasn't really made it's way across the border, although threats to Gaurds homes/ private cars is becoming very common!

Well if some one tried to flood me house and tamperd with the exhaust of both cars and I was a guard I'd be checking the car over .Id emagine whoever done it probably new he was a guard so that would be reason enough to check everything over

Countdown to someone justifying this with mention of water protests

Plenty of pipe bomb attacks down here just a matter of time until a guard gets targeted just depends on whatever criminal they deal with

Countdown to someone justifying this with mention of water protests

It will probably come at some point alright! Look it's not the most horrific thing to happen a policeman ever considering what members of some forces endure, but still to be targeted because of the job you do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,366 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Who ever did it watches too much movies.
    Brakes would of worked a bit still
    Plus the hand brake
    He would notice brakes not working pulling out of drive.
    Weird
    Attempted murder LOL
    More of a prank

Christmas morning sounds like an unusual day to carry out this act - imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭TotallyEpic

Plus the hand brake
    Weird
    Attempted murder LOL
    More of a prank

I'd say it's a little more severe than a prank to be honest...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭TotallyEpic

Quiet streets, probably when least expected.

Plus the hand brake
    Weird
    Attempted murder LOL
    More of a prank

Hold on now a second! A prank? Really? I wonder if you would see it that way if this was your car or your wife's car? Obviously he stopped the car without incident but what if his wife hadn't? What if she didn't use the brakes until she had reached a high enough speed to hurt herself? Egging a house = prank cutting someone's brake = intent on doing harm

Yep
    I would look at guard in question
    And also his wife
    Looks very suspect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,284 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

The Sunday World is basically a comic.

Cutting brakes would require tools and a basic understanding of brakes, it would leave brake fluid around the wheels and unless the garda lived on a hill he would notice almost immediately that brakes were gone.

Jimlh86 wrote: »
    Hold on now a second! A prank? Really? I wonder if you would see it that way if this was your car or your wife's car? Obviously he stopped the car without incident but what if his wife hadn't? What if she didn't use the brakes until she had reached a high enough speed to hurt herself? Egging a house = prank cutting someone's brake = intent on doing harm

Simply not possible to get up to speed without first noticing the brake have failed. Like I said pulling out of drive is where one would first notice that there is no brakes. You would need to be on the start line on a drag strip to get up to speed without noticing one has no brakes

Why is that? What if the car was facing out if the drive? Christmas morning not much on the road why couldn't you build up speed?

Maybe he was on the naughty list ha

I still see cutting of the brake as an inconvenience to them
    Not a murder attempt
    It was an act of vandalism
    Like the banana in the tail pipe

I still see cutting of the brake as an inconvenience to them
    Not a murder attempt
    It was an act of vandalism
    Like the banana in the tail pipe

Granted murder attempt is strong. But if I was a mate of yours I'd hate to be on the receiving end of your pranks!

Gardai can't be forced to live in the area where they work says Roche

Now we know why this was said last week :

http://www.independent.ie/regionals/newrossstandard/news/gardai-cant-be-forced-to-live-in-the-area-where-they-work-says-roche-34318951.html

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,532 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Well if some one tried to flood me house and tamperd with the exhaust of both cars and I was a guard I'd be checking the car over .Id emagine whoever done it probably new he was a guard so that would be reason enough to check everything over

?

Cutting someones breaklines is not so bad if you assume that they are gonna carry out a full service before setting off, with no information as to his expertise as a car mechanic?

Victim blame much?

In fairness he said vandalism not prank

I think in an earlier post he refered to it as a prank

Just read back ya he did say prank sorry

Jimlh86 wrote: »
    Granted murder attempt is strong. But if I was a mate of yours I'd hate to be on the receiving end of your pranks!

The guards should also know that by describing it as a murder attempt puts the husband and wife as the prime suspects. It's basic math that is backed up by years of police work world wide.
    So it's a strange statement to come out with.

Just read back ya he did say prank sorry

We won't fall out over it! I should probably change the title it was a poor choice but in still think it's a dirty thing to do to anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Pocaide

The guards should also know that by describing it as a murder attempt puts the husband and wife as the prime suspects. It's basic math that is backed up by years of police work world wide.
    So it's a strange statement to come out with.

Does this come from your years of police experience.

It is a bad thing to do aright but sure no one got hurt