Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Embarrassing fashion trends from your youth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

Jesus do people remember all the girls dying their hair that purple/plumb colour ?

My hair is still plum coloured :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

TG1 wrote: »
    Or that awful dip dye trend, where just the ends were pink... I may or may not have done that...

Haha that reminds me of a day in art class. We were in 1st year and our art teacher was also the senior cycles home ec teacher. So we are all in class and some of the lca girls had some project or exam and had run down to our class to speak to the teacher for a minute. She had blonde hair, with the ends dip dyed black. She clearly thought she was the ****.

Anyway, when she was leaving the teacher said "be careful you don't burn anything" haha and one of the girls yelled out "she already did miss! Look at her hair!!" :D:D:D

Never took the dip die seriously after that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Nearly broke my bloody ankle on platform runners when I was 13.

Got into this phase in my mid teens then where I'd be all 'urgh everyone's wearing skechers and O Neills, what a bunch of sheep, I'm really individual and smart and I'm going to express that by looking as much like Avril Lavigne trying to look like Amanda Palmer as possible' :o spent the next few years cutting holes in things and cropping things and putting badges on things and having a face that was more black eyeliner and bright pink eyeshadow than actual face.

I am so, so, so glad there wasn't the level of social media and selfie-ing and what have you that there is nowadays. I was actually one of the early adopters of the selfie, where you hold the camera above your head, pull a sad face and get that shít right the fcuk up on myspace beside your Dresden Dolls lyrics and pictures of little dolls stabbing each other or whatever the actual fcuk. The early 2000s were weird and stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Anesthetize

God that brings it all flooding back.. I remember wearing stuff like this..

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/originals/86/8f/fc/868ffc7ab1dcf6105369d6e0641dee24.jpg
    Those German army shirts were all the rage in the early 00's. Combine it with ridiciously baggy jeans/cords, skate shoes and a band t-shirt and you have a good idea of how I used to dress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Los Lobos

razorblunt wrote: »
    House of Pain baggy jumper
    Eclipse and Xworks jeans.

Still have me house of pain jumper, with the bulldog!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,974 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

In the early 00s when black chunky shoes with platform soles and thick heels were cool I had a pair. They were very obviously shiny black plastic and hideous but between the platform sole and monster thick heel they lent me 6 inches in height,a feat I could not achieve in any other shoes. Unfortunately bringing two phone books and standing on them wouldve created an equally elegant silhouette. When I see pictures of myself they stick out a mile in their disgustingness but yet there was not a special occasion that I did not get them out for!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Bomber jackets around 1992 - typically stonewashed grey or plain green (with reversible orange insides).

Oxblood or steel-capped Doc Martens (bought from Peggy in Dublin City Centre)

Dubarry deck shoes

Stepped haircuts

LA Gear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

I'm 43. The 80s were awful, awful, awful.

I had a white blazer with really wide shoulder pads and gold buttons, I wore it with my long flowing black skirt, and a little black hat (hair spiked over it). Or classic, with a frilly blouse (real frilly), pastel blue skirt, and a brooch at the collar of the blouse. (like girl there)

I dressed like Cindy Lauper at one stage, was doing my make up like her, purple and green checkers on the eyes and orange lipstick, blue suede mini skirt, red tights, luminous yellow polka dot scarf... I went to secondary school (college, in France) like that, nobody minded, except for the hats and berets, we had to take them off during class, and later when ripped jeans came in, the ripping had to be reasonable.

I had this hairstyle for a thankfully short time. (minus the pony tail and pink highlights) http://sophienettejc.thedeadone.net/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/bad-hair_homorazzi.com_.jpg
    But I did have The Perm for ages, and we had to spike our fringe or "get a bit (****load) of volume" around the face. Think this.

The 80s have been so glamorized it's hard to find pics to illustrate the horror of fashion then.
    But we loved it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭LittleMuppet

Oh Jesus. I could write a novel.

For my confirmation, I wanted platforms. I got these platforms and good lord, I thought these were the ****. I was so besotted I wore them everywhere, even to school. They might as well have been welded to my feet. I still remember the day the sole started to come away from the shoe, I was absolutely inconsolable. They were my favourite shoes ever. Looking back on old pics, of which there are many considering I wore them so much, they were an absolute travesty. What was my mother even thinking? They smacked of "nobody loves you enough to tell you how stupid you look". :(

Then onto those skater pants with all those string things hanging out of them. Aww man. Those plastic choker necklaces, those nope hoodies with the cat on them, gap hoodies, I had them in practically every colour. Those awful pants, had those in practically every colour. Those tops that look like fishnets. And those adidas superstar runners. Who dat sexy bitch?! Ugh. I also convinced my mom to come sign a consent form for me to get my belly button pierced in around that phase. She did. My father hit the roof. He was so angry I honestly thought he was going to throw her out of the house when he found out she signed the consent form. Bad times.

Alas, the belly button piercing only lasted about 5 months. I got an infection and was afraid to tell anyone incase they made me take it out. I loved it almost as much as those platforms back in the day. Anyway, I ended up having it cut out of my tummy, with a big abysses on it. Manky. Remember the nurse in the hospital telling me not to pierce it again because the same thing would happen.
    Undeterred, I went along and had my tongue pierced next, praying to god they wouldn't cut that out of me too. In for a penny tho, in for a pound.

Next, it was all blue black hair, magenta pink and lots of bleach in my hair, my new BFF was black kohl eyeliner, collection 2000 if you don't mind. Stashed in my pencil case as well as my locker for when our makeup got confiscated in the mornings during uniform inspection. It was those skater jeans that were about 3 times too big, lots of deep pockets, and those long key chains that looped on my belt loop and you could see loads of chain before it was stuck in my pocket.

I had one of those key chains on my uniform pants too, with my tiny little locker key on the end of it.

I grew out of most of it, except the wild hair and the love of my tongue piercing, which I have over 10 years and love more and more.

This. Are you sure you're not me, Lexie? Lol

Before this, I had eclipse jeans, those stripy giorgio tops, runners with pumps in the tongue, Nike air max, scanda jackets, gold hoopy earrings, sovereign rings. I was CLASSY :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭La.de.da

Shell tracksuits. The horror. ......
    Kids wearing one of the most highly flammable materials.

Boot runners with white 'slouchy' socks.

Sponge flares... frickin loved them.

Maxfactor panstick.... ( oompa loompa)

Naff jackets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭FURET

"2 blade with a cow's lick", 1996

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Girls wearing gel in their hair in the 90's. Going by LittleMuppet's description I'd say she was one of them :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Umbro jumper - I still have one :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

kfallon wrote: »
    Umbro jumper - I still have one :o
    Pm NOT sent:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Ruu wrote: »
    My brother was the first one in town with desert boots. 30 years on, his nickname is still 'boots'. :D

They call him that because he sells prescription medication mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nunu

Petro Motion jeans. Probably already come up numerous times? What were we thinking?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Colser wrote: »
    Pm NOT sent:P

Tough titty you're getting one now..... :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,312 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

You know your past it when the thread is dominated by....

Early.....

00s

Grandeeod wrote: »
    You know your past it when the thread is dominated by....

Early.....

00s
    Yeah it's gas init ?

smash wrote: »
    Girls wearing gel in their hair in the 90's. Going by LittleMuppet's description I'd say she was one of them :P

Oh God smash! Did you have to remind me? My hair used to be like a rock. Pink gel bought from the pound shop in huge tubs lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Oh God smash! Did you have to remind me? My hair used to be like a rock. Pink gel bought from the pound shop in huge tubs lol

The thoughts of that is making me feel itchy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Runners with springs in them in place of an air bubble(93/94-ish). They were called SPX. But then again, aren't Nike Shox the same ****?

Hair perfectly parted in the middle.

Moustache-less goatee...common in the early 2000s...not a bad beard on the right person, just out of fashion now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭The Raptor

Denim jackets

Does anyone wear them anymore

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Black slip on shoes with white socks.

Skinny jeans. Parka coats. Auld lad cromby coats.

When I was small - big plastic dummy necklaces, tie died short dungarees, t-shirts that change colour when you blow on them (and many many hand-me-downs, being the youngest of 4 in the 80s).

Omg yes

Remember those hideous slip on shoes with tassels?

I always hated the abominations, but lots of boyos used to wear them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

t-shirts that change colour when you blow on them !

I would wear the **** out of one of those. I never had them!

A family member did, I thought it was the coolest thing ever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Men of an age, I give you.......Paisley Shirts :eek:

Smidge wrote: »
    Are they them things that what Alfie Moon wears in the East End?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Smidge wrote: »

I was that victim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

Jeans ripped , look ,i,m so cool my jeans are ripped at the knees .it
    doe,s not mean i am poor .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,974 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

I actually must have had this one weill repressed as it hasn't come back to haunt me for a long time...Double denim! In my class jeans and denim shirts worn together were very much the choice of the stylish young lady and I if course followed suit. Even my mum despaired of that particular look but I was undeterred in my quest to look like a bargain basement clone of the popular girls sporting their branded denim while I rocked my St Bernard blues.
    W were 11 maybe 12 and it was my first brush with intense peer pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭whitey1

Stonewashed jeans, Guns n Roses t shirt or denim shirt.

An army jacket as well, anyone around the 40 age group will remember they were all the rage in school , everyone was wearing one.

I went to an all boys school down in Mayo and Id say conservatively 70% of lads wore the green army parkas. And when it rained they weighed a ton. And the zippers were always breaking, so then you had to rely on the buttons to fasten them

A handful of people somehow got hold of blue army parkas, but they were like hens teeth.

The thoughts of that is making me feel itchy

Pink pound shop gel = lovely crispy hair. I grew out of that phase after a few weeks, much to the relief of the mammy. I then became a Gwen Stefani wannabe :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

I had one, maybe even two, shirts along the lines of this muck - http://www.ebay.tv/sch/Mens-Clothing-/1059/i.html?_sop=39&_nkw=anime+button+shirt&_frs=1 - which still makes me shudder a little just to look at.

Can't say exactly when my hair went from 'perfect centre split' to 1 blade back and sides, 3 or 4 on top and some kind of 'flicked up' fringe that looked half like a spider was living on my forehead, and half like the worst bangs in the world.

Baggy jeans. Baggy baggy baggy baggy baggy baggy jeans.

Bleached highlights, think I meant to bleach the whole thing but my hair was too dark.

And I worse this thing more than any other item of clothing for maybe a year - http://www.sportsworldcards.com/ekmps/shops/sportsworld/images/manchester-united-peter-schmeichel-70-world-cup-1998-futera-1998-football-trading-card-50914-p.jpg

Sexy! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Abercrombie everything and frosted tips with the obligatory popped collar. Although I never did it the wearing of canterbury tracksuit bottoms and dubarry shoes was another howler. Was almost comical the big puffy trackies in contrast to how small dubarry shoes would make your feet look. Going further back massive baggie jeans and skater shoes. The weight of those jeans and the constant redoing of the belt just to hold them up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭The Raptor

riclad wrote: »
    Jeans ripped , look ,i,m so cool my jeans are ripped at the knees .it
    doe,s not mean i am poor .

I wish that was still the case. I've got holey arses in my jeans.

Ah shucks, the nostalgia, when I was a teenager I went out with this fella with frosted tips and I thought he was amazing :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

Bleaching the top of your hair and having the back and sides shaved.

Or better yet, bleaching just your fringe..

Done both..(:o)

Dunny wrote: »
    Bleaching the top of your hair and having the back and sides shaved.

Or better yet, bleaching just your fringe..

Done both..(:o)

I think most teenage lads in Dublin in the 90's had a bottle on Sun-In in their bedroom. Cringe...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I only ever really had the massive flares that soaked up water like a sponge and weighed a ton. And once I went on a night out dressed like an extra from Clueless. Only once though because my family rightly ripped the piss out of me.

Give it a few years and we'll see the current crop of cool young things lamenting that they were ever daft enough to wear jeans with massive holes in them; like half the front of the leg. Fecking ridiculous looking.

Reminds me of 'There's Something About Mary' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭the_sonandmoon

Anyone remember those leggings in the late 80s (maybe into the early 90s), with the elastic that went under your heel? Mine were part of a purple ensemble (with a purple and green woolly jumper) I wore to death!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Graceless

Anyone remember those leggings in the late 80s (maybe into the early 90s), with the elastic that went under your heel? Mine were part of a purple ensemble (with a purple and green woolly jumper) I wore to death!

Yes, they were called ski-pants!

Anyone remember those leggings in the late 80s

hey now... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Oh gods! Ski pants flashback!

kylith wrote: »
    Oh gods! Ski pants flashback!

God yeah ! I had a pair of black ones, wore them loads.

Well before that, early 80s (I must have been in Primary school) there were what we called the knickers in France, we used to get them in a shop called Pantashop. They were like cords that came just under the knee, with a little Velcro strap there to tighten them. http://souvenirsdelamodeenfantine.blogspot.ie/2013/12/les-annees-70-valerie-noel_10.html

Then we had the leg warmers too ! Actually, I wish that fashion came back, they were so cosy.

edit : Oops, knickers are the 70s... how time flies.