Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Embarrassing fashion trends from your youth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I wore everything from suede brothel creeper shoes with leopard print on the uppers, ridiculously wide (at the top) trousers which tapered to ankle tight at the bottom, ripped jumpers, 14 hole doc marten boots (outside my trousers) zipped bondage trousers and mohair jumpers and I have to say I'm not embarrassed by any of them even though my family We're mortified to be seen anywhere near me in public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭the_sonandmoon

Medusa22 wrote: »
    I think bell bottoms look amazing :D

*waiting for flares to come back into fashion

Im with you. I had them in the 90s, when they briefly came back into fashion, and everyone else was wearing x-works and eclipse. Held onto them for years - I loved them.

I still pick up any wide-bottomed jeans I come across.

Im currently prowling the internet for maternity flares, but to no joy.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,248 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Bell bottoms? Kill it with fire. Horrendous looking yokes. I hated them first time around and I was only a kid and they still looked daft.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Remember the NAFF 54 jackets,every kid seemed to have them during the early 90s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

I wore everything from suede brothel creeper shoes with leopard print on the uppers, ridiculously wide (at the top) trousers which tapered to ankle tight at the bottom, ripped jumpers, 14 hole doc marten boots (outside my trousers) zipped bondage trousers and mohair jumpers and I have to say I'm not embarrassed by any of them even though my family We're mortified to be seen anywhere near me in public.
    I still have a DESTROY cheesecloth bondage shirt from No Romance in The Dandelion Market circa 1978 :D :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭BUBBLES1978

naff naff jackets polo shirts and white jeans with beige tan boots god i thought i was the coolest raver on the planet

then lovely way to big for me army boots with stripey tights and a long skirt i made out of my aunties bridesmaid dress from the 70's (total stun hun then!!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Im currently prowling the internet for maternity flares, but to no joy.
    You're about 6 months too late! There were a few around last summer, I got a pair for £15 in the Next sale online in August.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭drake70

In the late 80's I wanted to be a "thrasher" even though I was a very innocent well spoken young teenager with short hair. Didn't stop me getting a jacket and covering it with patches - Anthrax, Metallica, Slayer etc - and wearing with tight black jeans and white runner boots. I thought I looked deadly going into the Sound Cellar. With my short hair. And my mum beside me. :)

Wore these in the late 80's early 90's, used to buy them in Asha (Liffey Street then Stephen's Green centre). Wore them tucked into 18 hole docs and black (of course) thrash band t-shirt. Even to work (civil service)

Actually everything I wore at that time was black

Edit: currently wearing a black Fear Factory t-shirt. Some things never change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭haminka

I must have been around 14 when I thought that putting on that greasy eye-shadow stick in light blue, blue mascara and bright pink shimmering lipstick will make me look cool.
    Same went for my aunt's oversized blue jacket with huge shoulder pads. I felt ultra in.
    I resisted my Mum's attempts to book me for a perm (she hated my thick unmanageable long hair) though but hey, I'm happy I didn't destroy it.
    Later on, it was all lumberjack shirts (stolen from my Dad), t-shirts worn over a roll-neck, long hair split in the middle, long skirts, oversized jumpers and boots. God, those were the best times ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Remember the NAFF 54 jackets,every kid seemed to have them during the early 90s

I was in a cinema towards the end of last summer (in the UK) and when walking out I noticed the lad in front of me had a NAFF 54 jacket on, looked brand spanking new.
    Didn't know if I should have been impressed, jealous or disgusted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

I shudder when I see duffel coats (are they still called this?) in shops now.
    Had one all during secondary school and I can still remember the smell of it when it got wet ( think wet dog smell):(
    My biggest trend was..................................wearing whatever my sister had grown out of and usually I would have already had the same outfit so if I didnt like it I was going to be wearing it for a long time anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Fila top with Champion trackies (or shorts if it was summer)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Jelly shoes anyone?

I went through a phase of wearing them with really ugly Levi's that my mum bought for me. Or basically with anything. A coveted wardrobe piece. Hands down the worst one for me.

Also up there: flared cord trousers with platform sketchers, electric blue mascara, tie dyed t shirts, that shocking "sun in" bleach, BRAIDS...I went to the Gaeltacht with braids for three weeks when I was 15 and I'm still living it down...and a black velvet hat with a bow in it from Penneys that literally every girl at school had to have or else you'd be ostracised for not looking cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

beks101 wrote: »
    Jelly shoes anyone?

I went through a phase of wearing them with really ugly Levi's that my mum bought for me. Or basically with anything. A coveted wardrobe piece. Hands down the worst one for me.

Also up there: flared cord trousers with platform sketchers, electric blue mascara, tie dyed t shirts, that shocking "sun in" bleach, BRAIDS...I went to the Gaeltacht with braids for three weeks when I was 15 and I'm still living it down...and a black velvet hat with a bow in it from Penneys that literally every girl at school had to have or else you'd be ostracised for not looking cool.

I always wanted to have jelly shoes but my mum wouldn't let me have a pair, it was the same for those runners that light up. Oh the childhood trauma :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Not a horrific trend but jumpsuits. I had one that wasn't zip up, so to use the toilet in the nightclub, you'd end up being stark naked in the cubicle just to pee. And by the time you'd be dressed again you'd probably need to pee again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

baggy jeans, deftones tshirt, greasy hair, greasier skin.

Form an orderly queue, ladies!

I am fairly sure I still have a white pony Tshirt in the press somewhere.

The late 80's/early 90's version of Snorkel(er) jackets were another one. The outside was always some shade of grey/green shiny material that if you rubbed together fast enough would most likely go up in flames. Inside was always bright orange, and the hood was a furry health hazard that extended about a foot out over your face completely cutting off your peripheral vision. They'd be banned today due to kids getting knocked down while wearing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Canadel

Not a horrific trend but jumpsuits. I had one that wasn't zip up, so to use the toilet in the nightclub, you'd end up being stark naked in the cubicle just to pee. And by the time you'd be dressed again you'd probably need to pee again.
    Tell me more about this trend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,258 ✭✭✭appledrop

Oh god too many to mention. When I was a child in the 80's I had those hideous shell suit tracksuits in a range of colours and those ski pants with the elastic that went under your shoes and a lovely pair of ear muffs! I blame my mother for those choices, but in fairness when I started picking my own clothes in the 90's it got even worse!

Eclipse and X Work jeans.

Adidas tracksuit bottoms with the poppers all the way up the side.

Naff jacket

Plastic Chokers or a big plastic dummy necklace around your neck(WTF were we thinking)

A bottle of Sun- In that you thought would make your hair look amazing instead it looked yellow/orange

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭whatismyname

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 jcdwass

The white ones would have been Clarks Magic Steps (had a key in the heel).

The ones with the game in the sole were Clarks Hectik Tok!

(I had both :-) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭em_cat

Ahh Docs, I’m still wearing the ones I got as a tween from my Grand Parents. Those things have been with me since secondary school and I still wear them today. They truly are vintage at this stage. I even knit specific boot socks and cuffs that go with them.

Cant say I can remember embarrassing fashion faux pas, mostly bc I couldn’t care less what others wore or what’s in fashion.

The most embarrassing ones are photos of me as a baby. They used to leave me with my grandmother, a woman who *loved* to knit. There are photos of me looking like a child of the 1940s, with kitted cardigan, knitted trousers, knitted hat with ear muffs and some horrible looking sandals and so many layers of clothes I looked like I could have been rolled down a hill.

Oh god, that was such a flashback, I was living in France in the late ‘80s to mid ‘90s, totally skipped me, not my classmates tho.

Cheesecloth blouse and ridiculously wide legged jeans and 6 inch platform boots. All under a long sheepskin coat. Height of 70’s fashion!

This, a few of the knitters in one of my knitting groups would be like that, they’ll show us all the jumpers, bonnets, pants, nappy covers, cardigans along with the obligatory blankets, I feign amazement, and quietly ask are they for several nieces, nephews, grandchild but no it’s usually for 1 poor child who’s mum probably didn’t ask for them.

I’m a selfish knitter, I knit for myself and only things I will get use out of. I do knit socks for my OH too, but he asks for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,017 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Yeah me too . Light blue brushed denim flares from Dunnes with thick black wedge platforms . And hair that my mother said made me look like an Afghan hound with bangs, and the Flick , do you remember that style á la Charlie's Angels ? Oh and topped off with a stripey knitted tank top over a blouse with a long open collar and puffy sleeves.

Thought I was so cool at my first disco !

The following year it was drainpipe jeans ( had to be navy blue Levi's) and big blue grandfather's shirts , with Adidas runners ,which was a massive improvement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,017 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Post edited by Goldengirl on

Have a defibrillator on hand should you ever wish to replace your Doc's!!!!!! You'll need it when you see the price. I was looking get a pair recently, seems there are 2 kinds now. The ones made in the UK and ones made in Asia that don't have the wood in the sole and don't last nearly as long as the good old ones used to to. I really **** want a pair now.

I know, I popped into the Doc store on Grafton St recently, whist wearing mine & the sales staff couldn’t believe how old they are & you could see the quality difference of mine compared to the ones I was looking at. Mine had been a pressie from my grandparents. My nana always sewed a name tag inside them with their land line in Scotland should I ever lose them, the left one still has the last one in although a wee bit faded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,334 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I was given a navy shorts, jacket and waistcoat combo with a cream shirt to wear to my older cousins wedding when I was about 7… the material was beyond itchy, warm and horrible… rediscovery of the photo happened a few weeks back and I look as uncomfortable and ridiculous as I felt. Haircut didn’t help.

had a pair of docs in second year, they were indestructible and pretty comfy.

i remember not much from my teams that was too naff. A lot of Levi’s, Fred Perry, and Caterpillar shirts, downstairs in Arnotts used to have decent stuff.

I once spent 320 euro on a pair of black Hugo Boss shoes which looking back were just like a 5 year old's shoes with velcro straps.

I used to pair them with Diesel 'distressed' jeans and a striped shirt when I was hitting the discos in the 2000's.

Absolute cringe. To top it all off I had bleached "frosted tips" in my hair as well. Basically I was Louis Walsh's wet dream incarnate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭BaywatchHQ

I never followed fashion trends not that the 2000s had any extravagant trends anyway. Although I do remember in 2005 getting a tri colour rubber wrist band, I actually got it in a unionist town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭Dramatik

Wore these to school for many years (shudders)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,422 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Still fashionable in parts of Cavan and Leitrim if paired with a German army parka.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

double denim, denim jackets with jeans, in 10 years time will people be laughing at people who wear jeans with large holes in them,

mullet hairstyles .

https://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2020/oct/27/pat-sharp-my-mullet-was-cool-but-i-couldnt-have-it-now-id-look-like-joe-exotic

Bell bottomed plaid pants with the brown patches on the knees.And those thick brown framed glasses.

Denim with patches. My favourite was an embroidered toilet with the caption “Full of Bull…”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭babyducklings1

Loads . The thing is old hat stuff comes back into fashion again. It’s all cyclical. If you keep your old clothes for long enough they’ll become fashionable again, if they still fit!! Plus if you have the space to store them.

Baby, Tis some years since my 70’s garb fitted! Age and gravity has taken its toll😢😤🥰

You mean the Deirdre’s! After a certain Corrie star 🤓

I think most of 80s clothes styles will never come back in fashion

,most women nowadays will not wear Doc Martin boots ,

Im not a fashion expert but I find it strange how many women wear high heels when it's uncomfortable painful and there's plenty of cool comfortable sneakers available in penny's or jdsports

I think high heels for women is like a middle class status symbol or else they think it' looks sexy eg or it shows I work in an office I don't do physical labour there's no logical reason for high heels to exist

If you work in a factory you will not be allowed to wear high heels

But the idea of fashion is constant change ,eg every 6 months you are supposed to buy new styles to keep shops in business

I think lots of old styles will never come back. Heavy metal hair styles on men flared jeans. platform boots for men glam rock style. Alot of 70s fashion looks weird now. Will army surplus jackets ever come back in style when new clothes from dunnes or pennys are so cheap.

Will rock stars ever go.back to wearing leather trousers

I doubt it

Post edited by riclad on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭xxxxxxl

harry styles seems to be wearing the glam rock catsuit.

i think harry styles is in the 1 per cent, famous popular popstar,he does,nt represent what the average male is wearing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,850 ✭✭✭Floppybits

I thought that about the Mullet but its making a come back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,784 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Bootcut jeans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,334 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,012 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭Apiarist

You are right, high heels have almost disappeared following the pandemic, and are only worn for special occasions mostly by 30+s. I think there is a bit of a resurgence of chunky boot wearing (of different colours). And everyone is wearing sneakers of all shapes and colours now.

Back to the topic, as a youth in the 90s, I worn torn washed out jeans and funny/heavy metal tshirts, or plain trousers + shirt for formal occasions. Nothing too embarrassing, though I would not wear jeans with holes exposing my knees now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,850 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Going out in the early 90's you wouldn't be let in a nightclub in jeans or runners, you'd be run from the door.