Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2016 PDC Premier League Thread

• 04-01-2016 11:47am
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,290 Mod ✭✭✭✭

So the final selections for the glorified exhibition tournament have been announced. I have to say it's exactly as I expected.

Here's the selections:

PDC Order of Merit Top Four
    Michael van Gerwen - 2013 Premier League champion
    Gary Anderson - 2011 & 2015 Premier League champion
    Adrian Lewis - 2011 Premier League finalist
    Phil Taylor - Six-time Premier League champion

Wildcard Selections
    Peter Wright - 2015 UK Open finalist
    James Wade - 2009 Premier League champion
    Robert Thornton - 2015 World Grand Prix champion
    Michael Smith - Premier League debutant, former World Youth Champion
    Raymond van Barneveld - 2014 Premier League champion
    Dave Chisnall - 2015 Premier League semi-finalist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,817 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

http://www.pdc.tv/news/article/1419fivczv2os12y84fs0bu35q/title/2016-betway-premier-league-fixtures

Night Three - February 18
    3Arena, Dublin

Peter Wright v James Wade
    Dave Chisnall v Michael Smith
    Phil Taylor v Gary Anderson
    Michael van Gerwen v Adrian Lewis
    Robert Thornton v Raymond van Barneveld

not a bad night in store for us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

John Part has signed up with Sportinglife.com to give his picks for the weekly PL games. You can read the first installment here..http://www.sportinglife.com/darts/news/article/2/10154101/john-parts-premier-league-darts-2016-betting-tips

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,123 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

Gary Anderson ruled out tonight through illness. Michael Smith will play twice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Jesus Peter Wright looks like a walking Rubic cube!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

Youth list has the likes of Ibe and Randall though.

Whatever about the tournament itself the darts can be great in this comp

Smith hasn't settled at all, had a chance to take out 70, but he could get a pasting here

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Some comeback and performance from Wade. Lovely finish to win the match.

monkey9 wrote: »
    Some comeback and performance from Wade. Lovely finish to win the match.

Yea. Delighted for Wade.

TbL

Chizzy usually lunges a bit on the last dart a bit like Richie Burnett but I noticed he was very steady tonight throwing it.
    Great display from him and never gave Thornton a chance.

Chizzy usually lunges a bit on the last dart a bit like Richie Burnett but I noticed he was very steady tonight throwing it.
    Great display from him and never gave Thornton a chance.

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭Bigal87

Tough night for Smith. Not how he would've wanted to start the Premier League at all. He's playing catch up already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Great to see John Part making the journey over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,123 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

Funny night besides Wade MVG all very one sided

similar to the 2014 dublin night (where robert thornton didnt play and we were treated to 2 wes newton games :o:o) will M Smith miss out on Dublin (18th Feb) because he played twice on opening night ???.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,500 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

PTH2009 wrote: »
    similar to the 2014 dublin night (where robert thornton didnt play and we were treated to 2 wes newton games :o:o) will M Smith miss out on Dublin (18th Feb) because he played twice on opening night ???.

It would make most sense to reschedule it for Week 7 as that is the night Smith was scheduled to play Lewis anyway. So putting Ando in there instead would minimize schedule changes.
    Whereas putting the Ando double on in Dublin would mean some other fixtures would need to changed as well.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 215 ✭✭ceecee14

Thornton pulled a Sickie for tonight so Wade plays twice, v smith and v Taylor

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭Bigal87

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,861 ✭✭✭statto25

Jaysus that was vintage Taylor. Massive performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭Jake The Fat Ma

I'm looking for a couple of tickets for Thursday night if anyone can help me out please.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 215 ✭✭ceecee14

I'm looking for a couple of tickets for Thursday night if anyone can help me out please.

Loads of them on donedeal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭Jake The Fat Ma

ceecee14 wrote: »
    Loads of them on donedeal

I know thanks. Some people are having a laugh with the price they want.

any car parks around the 3arena that will be open before 5pm. leaving waterford at 2.30 and want to be parked around the 3arena as early as possible. I knw theres the point village 13 euro car park but according to the website its only opens at 6pm

Enjoyable night In the 3arena last night some great games and the crowd were on full voice. 6.50 a can though and that ****ing toure song were the only annoyances of the night. Mite give the grand prix a miss dis year and go to the 2017 premier league Dublin nite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,280 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

World record TV average for mighty Mike. 123.4, missed double 18 for a 136 average.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

That was ridiculous darts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

Holy sh!tballs that was mind blowing , a double 18 away from 136 average, 123 is incredible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

astonishing really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Taylor and Chissy is an unreal game.

Just seen a replay of the MGV game.

Mind blowing darts

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

Well done to MVG, when he's in that form his opponent is just a spectator like the rest of us but he out done himself and everybody in the history of televised darts tonight, a pleasure to watch.

Taylor v Chizzy wasn't half bad either!