Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Star Wars Episode VIII - The Last Jedi *spoilers from Post 2857*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,436 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

I can’t remember the exact quote but Snoke himself refers to Hux’ general incompetence/ stupidity as being a useful asset to him (although i’m not 100% sure why it actually is / was)

Yeh, but it's all ramped up to 11. It's just awful stuff really and it eliminates any buy in for that character or the situations he finds himself in.

It's not funny, it just comes across as uncomfortable. Takes the viewer out of the film completely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭server down

Incredible opening weekend for TLJ.

https://editorial.rottentomatoes.com/article/box-office-colossal-450m-global-launch-for-last-jedi/

Looks like it has legs too. Obviously the post Christmas season is a good time to see a blockbuster.

So great critic reviews and bums on seats. A very successful mid triology by all accounts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭gflood

*************** SPOILERS BELOW ************

TLJ was a nonsensical mess, even for Star Wars. Sure it was popcorn entertainment but this is Star Wars, we expect more than that. The chase was ridiculous, why not warp a few Star destroyers forward and then warp back again for block the fleet from escaping, just one example of how the story was just plain awful and felt like they were making it up as they went along. Walker scene was pointless, I was expecting at least some battle involving them and the speeders, even if it mimicked Empire. And seriously, no Light Saber battles at all? Problem was it was forgettable ... which it should not be. Rogue One was fantastic I thought, a rell gritty adn realistic Star Wars story which contained much of the lore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

Makes me angry people saying they loved the force awakens. It was total absolute f**kin rubbish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭falinn merking

gflood wrote: »
    *************** SPOILERS BELOW ************

TLJ was a nonsensical mess, even for Star Wars. Sure it was popcorn entertainment but this is Star Wars, we expect more than that. The chase was ridiculous, why not warp a few Star destroyers forward and then warp back again for block the fleet from escaping, just one example of how the story was just plain awful and felt like they were making it up as they went along. Walker scene was pointless, I was expecting at least some battle involving them and the speeders, even if it mimicked Empire. And seriously, no Light Saber battles at all? Problem was it was forgettable ... which it should not be. Rogue One was fantastic I thought, a rell gritty adn realistic Star Wars story which contained much of the lore.

Will you be buying the regular or deluxe Blu Ray set then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭gflood

Incredible opening weekend for TLJ.

https://editorial.rottentomatoes.com/article/box-office-colossal-450m-global-launch-for-last-jedi/

Looks like it has legs too. Obviously the post Christmas season is a good time to see a blockbuster.

So great critic reviews and bums on seats. A very successful mid triology by all accounts.

Because folks haven't realized how much of a disappointment is is yet, the user score is around 50%.

Makes me angry people saying they loved the force awakens. It was total absolute f**kin rubbish

I agree with everything except the angry there are only movies.:)

1980 review from the New York Times.
    “The Empire Strikes Back is not a truly terrible movie. It’s a nice movie. It’s not, by any means, as nice as Star Wars. It’s not as fresh and funny and surprising and witty, but it is nice and inoffensive and, in a way that no one associated with it need be ashamed of, it’s also silly. Attending to it is a lot like reading the middle of a comic book. It is amusing in fitful patches but you’re likely to find more beauty, suspense, discipline, craft and art when watching a New York harbor pilot bring the Queen Elizabeth 2 into her Hudson River berth, which is what The Empire Strikes Back most reminds me of. It’s a big, expensive, time-consuming, essentially mechanical operation. The Empire Strikes Back is about as personal as a Christmas card from a bank.”/QUOTE]

• Registered Users Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

I was torn on it leaving the cinema, but the more I think about it the more I think
    that it took a big steaming dump on the original trilogy. The original trilogy is the Skywalker saga of redeeming a tragic character and saving the galaxy. That was ultimately the Skywalker legacy. If you look at it across the previous 6 films especially the Skywalker saga was one that helped to root out and destroy the Sith, saving the galaxy while Luke saved his father. A hopeful, albeit tragic tale. A pretty classic format in that regard.

Now however the legacy seems to be that they helped create the First Order, undoing all the good work that they had done in the original trilogy and leaving the galaxy in a worse state than ever before. With the only surviving Skywalker (you’d have to assume they’ll kill Leia off) being the main villain in the galaxy.

When they eventually destroy the First Order what will have been achieved? Rey will be a Jedi but several planets and billions of lives will have been lost in the process. And feck all else. At least in the previous films the Sith already existed before Anakins fall and so that was a threat that needed addressing. Which made the sacrifices worth it. But if we go back now and watch ROTJ we’re left thinking “that’s not really a happy and hopeful ending because Luke is just going make a balls of it and billions more are going to die”.

So for me it’s just not working the way it should. There were excellent elements to film as a stand alone peice, but the more I look at the new trilogy in the context of the series the less I think it works.

And that Guardians of the Halaxy scene with Leia was ridiculous. As was Holdos keeping her plan secret from Poe, and the ensuing Finn storyline. Most of the stuff involving Luke, Rey and Kylo was excellent. Although I really don’t get how Luke could be so willing to risk his life to turn his mass murdering father back to the light but was then willing to murder his innocent but troubled nephew without ever really attempting to save him. Far too much of the story was set up to work for the new characters and didn’t make enough effort to work for the existing characters at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,784 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

I'M SO MAD, PEOPLE HAVE DIFFERENT TASTE TO ME

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

These points may have been mentioned already but here are my general thoughts:

- The main plot with Luke / Rey / Snoke / Ren is all great with very good dramatic storytelling

- The subplots are really subpar. I understand and appreciate the screenwriting ingenuity in having the "impossible mission" actually failing because those type of missions always succeed in this genre, but that didn't make the whole Finn/Rose subplot any less interesting to watch. They could have kept the same technique but with a much better written storyline. Those horse creature things looked straight out of Harry Potter and the CGI looked about 10 years old too.

- Donal Gleeson is a great actor, he's proven himself in many other films, but his performance here is dialed up to 11. Real panto villain performance. I can only assume it was direction. Ben Mendelsohn, with a similar role in Rogue One, was so much better and interesting to watch.

- The CGI for Snoke was really great.

- Why the hell didn't Holdo just tell Poe her plan to go to the planet? No need to keep it a secret only to create artificial conflict for the movie.

- Some of the visuals looked amazing

- Mark Hamill's performance was (surprisingly) good.

- If they cut the running time to 2 hours and written a leaner and better subplot for Finn and Poe, the film would have been a lot better. In fact, after The Force Awakens, it would have made much more sense to team up Finn and Poe together on a mission rather than creating this Rose character.

- Loved the return of goofy Yoda from the original trilogy after the super serious version in the prequals. I actually got quite emotional seeing Yoda giving advice to Luke after 34 years since Return of the Jedi, and I wouldn't even call myself a die hard Star Wars fan.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,600 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

The 'people having conversations' part of the Internet is a good 95% people yelling about how they're right and others are wrong.

This is particularly true about politics, video games and €200m franchise blockbusters ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 591 ✭✭✭Saruhashi

Pretty interesting to watch the trailers again given what we now know about the movie.

Trailer 1:

Trailer 2:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

And the MASSIVE coincidence of Finn and Rose being locked up with a guy who has the same apparently super rare hacking talent as the guy there were originally after was nonsense.

Buh buh but there were massive coincidences in the Original Trilogy too! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

kind of all over the place and conflicted about it. I did enjoy the movie but my god there where some stupid things in it, snoke, reys parentage, everything about luke. Its like the movie took everything that i wanted answers to from tfa and said meh, those questions dont matter, here have a finn rose rey love triangle.

This sentiment is weirdly common in this thread

Is it true though?

Wasn't the original Star Wars meant to be an anti-war movie, essentially a Vietnam protest?

I wouldn't be surprised at all if modern political sensibilities are guiding the new Star Wars movies.

Seems pretty natural.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

gflood wrote: »
    Because folks haven't realized how much of a disappointment is is yet, the user score is around 50%.

Can people seriously stop twisting this. One website has this.

IMDB have it at 8/10 and Cinema Score have it at an 'A'

Some fans are divided. Broader cinema audiences and critics are not.

Even reddit, where the comments are 50/50, the actual average of the poll is closer to 8/10.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

I can’t remember the exact quote but Snoke himself refers to Hux’ general incompetence/ stupidity as being a useful asset to him (although i’m not 100% sure why it actually is / was)

He calls Hux a rabid cur. But a rabid cur can’t be a sharp and deadly weapon if used correctly.

And he is using him well Hux has the resistance using hyperspace tracking. Something we heard about in Rogue One. Another nice tie for anyone unsure and thinks they’re just making these films up with no road map.

https://twitter.com/david75donovan/status/942653375459536896

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭Tom.D.BJJ

Saw it last night for the first time and really enjoyed it.  I think it will get better again with a few rewatches.

One scene i absolutely loved:  I took a rather large gulp when Luke was talking to R2 saying "There's nothing you can do that will make me..." and R2 shows him the message from Leia in ANH.

One of the few scenes i did not like (or didnt quite get):  The scene with Leia in space...

Oh..and i thought this movie gave the best explanation on what the force is in any movie.  Really well done to the director

PPS:  The Supreme leader is dead, Long live the Supreme leader!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

Its just that they will make more of it. That bloody idiot is directing episode 9 after all

• Registered Users Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭JackieChang

Worst film of 2017, and I absolutely loved Rogue One.

So many cheesy lines, dumb jokes, that casino plot was a waste of time (I nearly walked out). Finn and Rose were completely pointless characters, and they were also extremely annoying.

Just all round extremely boring. Couldn't wait for it to be over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,784 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Its just that they will make more of it. That bloody idiot is directing episode 9 after all

JJ is directing 9 actually.

Edit: NVM I remember the original post was actually about TFA :pac:

JJ is directing 9 actually.

Would be interesting to know if people who didn’t like TLJ will be happy with the news JJ is back for episode 9.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 233 ✭✭Hooks Golf Handicap

Saw it & was bitterly disappointed.

The 2 big death scenes seemed so wasteful of big characters.
    One dies without any backstory whatsoever.
    One of the greatest characters in the series then gives his life to save a raggle taggle bunch of about 6 survivors.

The whole sideplot with Finn & Rose should have remained on the cutting room floor.
    And then to think that Disney has entrusted the future of this franchise with the same director.

Bring back George Lucas, all is forgiven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Wibbs wrote: »
    TBH other than the cringey opening "holding for general Hux" exchange, which was pretty brutal, I didn't mind the rest of the humour. The milking thing was funny and humanising(I loved how the animal turned around to look at Rey, as if to say "yep, this is what he does. Every morning"), or Rey shouting something like "be careful!" when Luke, a Jedi master goes cliff fishing. Chewie getting carnivore guilt I thought funny, I even liked the island caretakers(though their sudden appearance in large numbers a bit jarring). The bit where Rey is all Jedi with the rock and it crashes into the caretakers wheelbarrow I laughed I must say. The Porg splatting against the windscreen of the Falcon was amusing too, as was Rey's scared reaction to Chewie flying a bit too close for comfort to the walls and Chewie's usual and general attitude of "be grand, like. Hey penguin, get of me controls you muppet". Luke's hut door being flung across the room was a nice little point. I immediately thought "ah here, Rey's gone all force on us", but no it was good old Wookie muscle kicking it in.

If anything and other than the frankly puzzling hold for call part, for me the humorous and "cute" touches in this were one of the better judged of the saga. I bloody hated Ewoks myself.

Speaking of that rock, is that really on the skelligs ? or was added ?

If it is I expect it to be fenced off soon from the 1000000s of fat Americans sitting on it for a selfie :(

Breaks my heart that the skelligs will be ruined because of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Enjoying reading both sides of the argument (bar the snowflake rubbish). I love the fact that early on Luke clearly tells you ‘This is not going to go the way you think.’

I think when all the dust settles on this 7-9 will be seen as 3 entertaining films rather than an entertaining trilogy. It has a good central story with Rey/Kylo but everything else that links the movies together is just lacking.

we know as much about the emperor at the end of return of the Jedi as we do at the start. Which is to say nothing at all. I think it works better to have Snoke be a mystery. Mystery works.

We know nothing of Yodas backstory. Not even his species or home planet. And he’s brilliant.
    Not everyone has to be given a backstory and explained. It ruins it. look at boba fetts shoehorned in backstory. Ruined the character.