Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Star Wars Episode VIII - The Last Jedi *spoilers from Post 2857*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭johnpatrick81

Oh lordy, a quarter of the posts!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Right so I'm off to see this for the 2nd time tonight, I hope I find it has improved.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

I'll be honest, it's the Tony / David frenemy back and forth that keeps this and other threads entertaining. Have we ever seen them in the same room though??? ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭Falthyron

pixelburp wrote: »
    I'll be honest, it's the Tony / David frenemy back and forth that keeps this and other threads entertaining. Have we ever seen them in the same room though??? ;)

The immovable object versus the unstoppable force? Surely that would be the end of time itself? :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

Me : Tony. They’re onto us.
    Also me: Dammit. If it weren’t for those Pesky kids

To be fair Tony’s great fun to talk to about Star Wars especially cos we don’t see eye to eye on it. And we’re always respectful no digs given. Well almost none.

• Registered Users Posts: 883 ✭✭✭El Duda

Saw it at the BFI iMax on Saturday mornings Mexican Wave screening picard.gif

I really enjoyed it. It's not often that I watch a film and find myself not wanting it to end, even with the long running time it never really dragged for me. My initial reaction was that the first 90 mins was fairly hit and miss for Star Wars but the final 45 minutes or so was breathtaking. It's the most emotional i've been in the third act of any Star Wars film.

That said, all of the negatives seem all the worse after having had a day or two for the film to settle down. After paying all that money and seeing it at the iMax, it can be quite hard to fully admit to yourself just how bad some of the missteps are. The two worst elements for me are;

1) "I'll hold for Hux" - Miss-Fire!

One of the things that was a slight cause for concern from the initial critics reaction on twitter, was that so many of them were commenting on how funny it was. Funny? Almost everything about the marketing pointed towards a darker installment, from the use of Rey/Luke/Kylo on the posters to the red 'The Last Jedi' font. We were all set for a more serious tone, perhaps even shadowing Empires 'bleak second installment' template.

Unfortunately, the "I'll hold for Hux" segment reminded me a lot of the opening of Thor Ragnarok, where Hemsworth undermines the authority of the villain by asking him to 'hold' while he spins around.

Ragnarok was doing a brilliant job of setting the tone in a film where any acts of heroism or villainy are undercut with humour. That's what Waititi does best and that's why the entire film kept in with that tone throughout.

Star Wars has built its reputation on delivering dramatic revelations and character based humour whilst maintaining a heightened level of genuine threat. Here we see the snarling, red headed Hitler Hux of TFA reduced to little more than a punchline. I feel for Domnhall Gleeson as it seems like the character he was trying to build up has been disposed of to make way for a few cheap laughs.

2) Leia's force floating through space

I think my thought process went a little something like... Wow! This is the moment they kill her off! >>> Well that was a bit unceremonious >>> Oh no, they're cutting back to her dead body floating through space to give her a proper climactic shot >>>They're lingering on this shot for too long >>> Well this is a bit gratuitous/heavy handed >>> Oh god she's not gonna wake up is she? >>> Well that was awful.

The more I think about it, the worse it becomes. Beggars belief that this made it into the final edit let alone that it got past test screenings.

A lot of the other complaints that are being banded around seem to be hysterical and OTT.

The Casino planet detour didn't bother me much. People want to see the universe expand and this was an attempt to do so. I like Finn and am invested in his character and it seems Rose has really struck a chord with certain audiences as well

The Sea Cow milking scene was a fine. It was making the point that Luke was willing to endure that tripe just to stay off the grid. I like seeing weird creatures in Star Wars films so the more the merrier.

The Porgs were fine. It felt to me like a lot of their scenes were heavily edited to prevent the "They're just there to sell toys" backlash. The Chewie BBQ scene worked well for me.

Rey's parent reveal being an anticlimax? Not for me. I don't think we've heard the last of this. They're setting it up for the next one imo. Why is everyone taking Kylo's line about Rey's parents being nobodies as gospel? He was trying to break her/get into her head.

I bet the people who are complaining about Snoke's lack of back story are the same people that vehemently oppose the Solo spin off. Stating that "Things shouldn't always have to be explained. Some characters need some mystique." etc....

Luke force projecting himself at the end does seem very Iron Man 3 to me now I've had time to stew on it. It was, all in all, a fitting send off for Luke but I think they should've kept him alive.

I was convinced that Laura Dern's character was going to be a mole who was allowing the First Order to track them through light speed. Glad she wasn't in the end though. It would've been very cliché.

I thought Mark Hamill was brilliant, if slightly underwritten. Adam Driver is absolutely incredible and completely elevates the whole thing. He is a magnetic screen presence and by far the best new character. I think Kylo and Rey's are both fascinating characters and I can't wait to see more of them. Daisy Ridley's performance isn't quite as good as it was in TFA.
    The disparity between the critics and the general audience is the thing that is making this film really interesting. Struggling to think of another film of this scale that has been received like this?

Overall I thought it was superb. It did feel a little bit like they were trying too hard to subvert expectations and throwing a few too many twists and turns in there to keep us off guard. The end result is that things are a little messy at times but there's plenty of spectacle to make up for it. Luke and Leia's "moment" was beautifully done and it made for a very intense finale.

7.75 / 10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

I love this guys rant.

Someone’s pissed off they’ve been written out :) ‘it’s not my luke skywalker’
    So even though he didn’t agree with it he still brought it. Fair play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,432 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

/\

Well, that says a lot.

Even Luke Skywalker didn't think Luke Skywalker would have acted the way he did in TLJ.

Man, You really are the Keeper of the Whills when it comes to Star Wars aren't you David. Don't worry the thread will die off in a week or two and it will just be you and Tony squaring off again. Well at least until Solo comes out, then those annoying folks with opinions will decend upon you again . It's a hard life this Keeper of the Whills malarkey , I don't envy you .

Hardly. Have you read this thread? The only ones freaking out and overreacting and posting (repeatedly) are the ones saying they’re done with Star Wars and this film sucks. (But still posting about it).
    It’s of no matter to me either way and a total waste of time and energy to try convince anyone otherwise so I haven’t tried at any point. I just wanna talk about what’s in the film and what it means going forward for the story.
    No interest whatsoever at all the manufacturered hysterical outrage about it.

Knights of Ren are other kids from the Academy aren't they? He killed some of those training and others went with him.

Don’t know for sure yet but it’s probably safe to assume the KOR are his fellow classmates. Be cool to know how they went to Snoke or how he found them.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Holy sh*t David. Lol, seriously go post on something else for a spell :P

Hmm there's a small sense of disappointment that I'm not even in the top 10 there ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭fluke

I love this guys rant.

Love that video. That guy is right on just about everything.

Holy sh*t David. Lol, seriously go post on something else for a spell :P

Hmm there's a small sense of disappointment that I'm not even in the top 10 there ...

Haha:) wish I cared as much about other stuff.
    Do I win a prize? A bluray player would be cool.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭PhiloCypher

david75 wrote: »
    To be fair Tony’s great fun to talk to about Star Wars especially cos we don’t see eye to eye on it. And we’re always respectful no digs given. Well almost none.

I think what helps is you take Tonys views at face value because there's a mutual respect there fostered over the last few years due to how regularly you both post , where as you treat other people who have the exact same views as Tony as sheep just jumping on the negativity bandwagon.

not at all..just nothing productive comes of arguing about opinions on a thing or irrelevancies like reviews and scores..id rather not do that i just wanna talk about star wars, not feed some weird insecurity about 'everyone thinks its great and im right!' there's nothing cool or worthwhile about doing that or conversely looking for a weird validation through some flawed metrics to gain some sort of hard on cos people arent enjoying something..
    where's the joy in that? there is none.

Tony EH wrote: »
    /\

Well, that says a lot.

Even Luke Skywalker didn't think Luke Skywalker would have acted the way he did in TLJ.

hey tony..

betcha nobody told him he just has to watch it again :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Heard an interesting discussion about Rey’s backstory. If her parents were just drunk nobodies selling her off , then the scene in TFA where the kid is screaming at her parents leaving her is quite brutal!

I also heard that there is an interesting story for Luke’s fishing techniques. Oh and did people know that Yoda sort of became an apprentice to Qui Gon on degoba?

Drumpot wrote: »
    Heard an interesting discussion about Rey’s backstory. If her parents were just drunk nobodies selling her off , then the scene in TFA where the kid is screaming at her parents leaving her is quite brutal!

I also heard that there is an interesting story for Luke’s fishing techniques. Oh and did people know that Yoda sort of became an apprentice to Qui Gon on degoba?

yeah the spear fishing is from a really cool story called the tide, in the legends of luke book..

he goes to this water planet and studies with this native tribe their methods of using the force, which they call the tide..somewhere in that story he has to go fishing on this winged animal as a trial and spear fish with the force from high up in the air..it was cool to see it then brought into the film..cool nod.

yeah the spear fishing is from a really cool story called the tide, in the legends of luke book..

he goes to this water planet and studies with this native tribe their methods of using the force, which they call the tide..somewhere in that story he has to go fishing on this winged animal as a trial and spear fish with the force from high up in the air..it was cool to see it then brought into the film..cool nod.

Have you listened to “rebel force radio” podcast ?

I think you would enjoy the banter. They are very balanced in their feelings on the movie (the humour, Leia moments aren’t loved, they highlight “iffy” moments)but qualify their goal is to celebrate and focus on the aspects the movie instead of tearing it down.

They also share my sentiments that it can take effort and time to digest and accept the new aspects of the universe. (Like old disgruntled Luke)

Have you listened to “rebel force radio” podcast ?

I think you would enjoy the banter. They are very balanced in their feelings on the movie (the humour, Leia moments aren’t loved, they highlight “iffy” moments)but qualify their goal is to celebrate and focus on the aspects the movie instead of tearing it down.

They also share my sentiments that it can take effort and time to digest and accept the new aspects of the universe.

listened to it today yeah..theyre good but theres definitely better star wars pods out there by far..with no ads every ten effing minutes like these RFR guys have :)

Your mans Lando impression was great. I actually thought the actor was in the studio at the start !

Can you recommend some good ones? I just found it after TFA and didn’t bother looking for any others!

Your mans Lando impression was great. I actually thought the actor was in the studio at the start !

Can you recommend some good ones? I just found it after TFA and didn’t bother looking for any others!

my top 5 in no order

talk star wars(these lads are in the UK,great and totally divided almost always making for great discussion)
    https://t.co/InkYZkGjcc

tumbling saber- really cool banter and insightful convos always
    https://t.co/mC29YRhIv4

blue harvest
    https://itunes.apple.com/ie/podcast/blue-harvest-a-star-wars-podcast/id1009917662?mt=2&i=1000397398211

blast points=these guys are gas

https://itunes.apple.com/ie/podcast/blast-points-star-wars-podcast/id1072656897?mt=2https%3A%2F%2Fitunes.apple.com%2Fie%2Fpodcast%2Fblast-points-star-wars-podcast%2Fid1072656897%3Fmt

story and star wars-the coolest most thought provoking series of talks and lectures on all tuings star wars
    https://l.facebook.com/l.php?u=https%3A%2F%2Fitunes.apple.com%2Fie%2Fpodcast%2Fstory-and-star-wars%2Fid1041484891%3Fmt%3D2https%253A%252F%252Fitunes.apple.com%252Fie%252Fpodcast%252Fstory-and-star-wars%252Fid1041484891%253Fmt&h=ATO4dd-7JkEJWd07AhV0_K390Tv4cMFsT9wDABxan5GRY4lcCflZqyNOnKc_CFiGRGdKU0DAk-nRDhSfRdmqW1NLCIw4ieAyuz6Hp1po8IlX8YoVtcUPI5Tqk_qm8iEUtglbZA6FRA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Wedwood wrote: »
    Oh, just to add, that sequence of TLJ where the First Order were chasing down the last of the Resistance ships was brilliant.

A sequence with so many plotholes and contrivances can't be called brilliant, it just can't. You can't look at that wacky races chase and think, "this is great" when the first thing on most peoples minds is "why the hell is this even happening?"

Like, are they lighter and faster than the Imperial ships or not? Because it was said in the film that they were, and if they are, then they pull away from the chase. And if they aren't they get reeled in, thats just physics. So was that officer wrong and are all spaceships the same speed? Because there were a bunch of ships of all shapes and sizes, if the mammoth Snokeship was just keeping pace why weren't the smaller destroyers catching up?

And what about all the fighters? Kylo Ren caught up with them easily to begin with and even flew inside their damn ship to drop some bombs so why do we never see another Imperial fighter or bomber come near them ever again? He destroyed their hangers, he knows he did it, whats the problem?

And if the Imperials can't catch up, why not throw up a roadblock? They know the direction they're going so zip a few ships through hyperspace to a point ahead of them and trap them easily?

And how can Finn and Rose easily slip away from the chase and expect to rejoin it later, but everybody else is trapped and doomed? If Finn can leave so easily why haven't a bunch of others scattered long ago?

This isn't nitpicking, its basic questions that are immediately apparent on watching the scene happening in front of you, if that average viewer can so easily question the logic of the entire sequence then brilliant it ain't.
    El Duda wrote: »
    That said, all of the negatives seem all the worse after having had a day or two for the film to settle down.
    The more I think about it, the worse it becomes.

This is my experience with the film. Despite the obvious plotholes I enjoyed it to an extent in the cinema, but dear god it doesn't stand up to any reflection whatsoever, the more I think of it the less and less I like it. People can and will defend it right now if they wish, but I doubt history will be kind to this film at all.

thats all fair. but the same galaxy where a tiny one man fighter with the aid of magic blows up a small planet sized space station. real world physics has no place in star wars yet it seems that the massive ships in TLJ are following real world rules like super tankers do, of having to travel slower in order to shorten stopping distance given their mass?

i dunno. the chase was just annoying without even getting into the physics of it tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭geecee

Someone’s pissed off they’ve been written out :) ‘it’s not my luke skywalker’
    So even though he didn’t agree with it he still brought it. Fair play

Can't wait to see what Mark Hamill will say once he is out of contract with Lucasfilm (and of course when all his embargos have passed)

2 of the 3 main characters (Rey & Luke) have said they were not happy with the film... Would be interesting to also hear Adam Drivers opinions!

geecee wrote: »
    Can't wait to see what Mark Hamill will say once he is out of contract with Lucasfilm (and of course when all his embargos have passed)

2 of the 3 main characters (Rey & Luke) have said they were not happy with the film... Would be interesting to also hear Adam Drivers opinions!

they said theyre not happy with the film? got any links? id love to see that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭geecee

they said theyre not happy with the film? got any links? id love to see that

You are the one that posted the clip of Mark Hamill above where he is pretty vehemently unhappy

Daisy Ridley was non-committal in another clip that was posted earlier. If she was actually happy with the movie she would be gushing (human nature) instead she simply inferred that the movie was meh

geecee wrote: »
    You are the one that posted the clip of Mark Hamill above where he is pretty vehemently unhappy

Daisy Ridley was non-committal in another clip that was posted earlier. If she was actually happy with the movie she would be gushing (human nature) instead she simply inferred that the movie was meh

oh sorry, its just your post said that they said they were really unhappy with the film..so they didnt actually say it at all? right.