Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Star Wars Episode VIII - The Last Jedi *spoilers from Post 2857*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

Falthyron wrote: »
    I never said seeing a film multiple times is stupid. I saw The Two Towers five times in cinema for the Battle of Helm's Deep alone! I said, if it takes you multiple times (in this case, sixteen) to 'get it' or 'understand what it is trying to say' then its either a bad film (in terms of design/structure) or you are pretty thick. Most films are designed to be understood relatively easily, particularly kids films. Star Wars is a kids film, as you have argued. This new trilogy is for the next, emerging generation of kids. If it took an educated adult (he can certainly write quite well) sixteen times to 'get' The Last Jedi, particularly Luke's arc, then I have serious reservations about his opinion. My guess is that he convinced himself he got it, for whatever reason - brand loyalty, hits on a website for an article he wrote, group mentality, whatever. It doesn't change the fact that an apparently educated person struggled to enjoy something that he wanted to enjoy and was created for kids.

The key surface level questions being asked by the audience in a Star Wars film are pretty basic. Who is Luke's father? Who is his mother? Who are Rey's parents? Where did Han meet Chewie? Who is the Emperor? Etc., etc. When Star Wars tries to go too deep it starts asking 12 year olds to discuss the merits of a trade blockade on a planet and how that might impact on Galactic relations and raises implications on what constitutes war/violence. When that happens, the film gets slammed for being ridiculous. See what I am getting at? Star Wars can't be for kids and deal with complex issues in depth. It doesn't gel. Kids don't care about trade disputes. A complex dense film, imo, is one where someone can put forward an argument as to how you can interpret the film.

Now, this is what I think of as ways and means of interpretation and getting people to think about a film:

That’s all totally valid but it’s not wrong or invalid to not like a film the first time and to take a few more views to appreciate it. I hated TLJ up until my third.
    I wasn’t trying to convince myself of anything or be mindless about it. It was a piece of art in a world I love and it almost broke me cos it didn’t do what I expected and challenged and then threw away all my expectations and did it’s own thing totally and I came to appreciate that.

That’s not invalid or somehow me brainwashing myself. Generally speaking I think any kind of art or entertainment that challenges your demands and expectations is far more worthy and ‘nutirtious’ Over a longer period than something you get first time. The marvel films are mostly good fun popcorn romps and enjoyable but you’re not going Back to them repeatedly cos they’re low on sustenance to carry the analogy forward and aren’t really at the Star Wars / repeat viewing worthy kind of level. And they aren’t trying to be. In fact most blockbusters aren’t.

Here though we have a developed universe with endless threads and inbuilt story arcs and it’s enjoyable just as a popcorn watch or as a deep a dive as you like if you’re a big fan. There’s whole armies of people obsessed with Mandalorians and Jedi and Rebel story arcs and history.

The more you dig the more you find. Obviously you don’t think this is a good movie. I think it’s a great one and a great Star Wars movie and it’s packed with stuff once you get into it and start peeling back layers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,428 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

There's a massive difference between watching a film a few times over a period of years, then coming around to it and watching something in quick succession til you've forced yourself to like it.

However, it's remarkable just how many excuses Star Wars fans are willing to make for the films though. We saw all the same beats with the prequels and now nearly 20 years later, most folk will admit that they're pretty shit films, even if they contain some elements that could be considered good - great, even. People were even trying to excuse Jar Jar Binks as a character of worth. Today, he's almost universally reviled and resides at the top of most people's "worst character ever" list. He's an embarrassing stain - like the prequel trilogy in general.

With this new trilogy - even if they are better than the prequels - there's the same line of excuses being made, although they're aimed at slightly different elements this time round. The likes of Jar Jar's slapstick was excused as "It's for the kids", now that's used to excuse leaden Yo momma jokes, and Finn's sillier antics. "You don't get it" was levelled at fans who thought trade disputes were a wonky set up, now it's brought out when people pick out the numerous logic failures that exist in the sequel's poorly written scripts. "It's so dense" was and is used to gloss over awful writing, paper thin characters and careless plotting.

You said, Dave, that 'The Last Jedi' would be very divisive and that was correct. But, I don't think anybody thought that that division would come about due to the careless abandon that Rian Johnson engaged in when he wrote his story. Stuff like Luke running away to Ach-To. That would be ok, if he'd had a valid reason for doing so. Wanting to kill his sister's only son and then pussying out when his nephew flips on the dark side switch was rubbish writing, no matter how it's cut, and it makes 'The Last Jedi' Luke irreconcilable to the Luke we knew before. He ran away...to die! WTF? He didn't do it to regroup, to plan for the future. He did it to die.

That's divisive alright. Because it's bloody awful reasoning.

Divisiveness also occurs with the sheer ineptitude displayed by nearly every character in the story. I know the "theme" of the film in "failure", but it's failure due to stupidity. It seems that one side can only win due to the stupidity of the other. Logic breaks down from the first reel and lasts throughout the film. It's terrible stuff.

'The Last Jedi', and 'The Force Awakens' certainly are divisive. But not because they story elements are challenging. But, because some people can't make enough excuses for the films in order to truly enjoy them as a whole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 591 ✭✭✭Saruhashi

david75 wrote: »
    I can see this going down really well here :)

HOW THE LAST JEDI GOT LUKE SKYWALKER RIGHT
    https://t.co/Jl2wGh9CSY

Woah. 16 times! That's 40.5 hours spent just watching the film! Probably around 240 dollars spent too.

I think it's fair to say that this person has invested A LOT in this movie.

As much as people will have a go at negative opinions for "caring too much about a kids movie" you have to wonder if the same rules apply to this dude who obviously cares just as much. Maybe more.

I doubt I'll ever spend 40 hours watching The Last Jedi, or any single movie, in my lifetime. It feels weird that my opinions are dismissed because I "care too much" about it but this guys opinions are held up as a good example despite the fact that he has invested an insane amount of time in the movie.

Someone shares a Youtube video that has negative opinions on the movie and the response is "pffft I'm not going to listen to some guy on Youtube". Then someone else shares a Twitter thread or blog that has a positive take on the movie and there is a suddenly willingness to push the opinions of "some guy".

Would love to watch it With you two :)
    There’s a question. Are you gonna watch it again ?

That’s all totally valid but it’s not wrong or invalid to not like a film the first time and to take a few more views to appreciate it. I hated TLJ up until my third.

What do you mean when you say you "hated" it? Which parts did you hate specifically and how did those change from viewing 1 to 2 to 3? Do you think you were just desensitized to it?

When we meet Rose she is mourning the loss of her sister. Yet we never see Luke mourning the loss of Han at all. Two characters the audience doesn't even know vs two characters the audience is familiar with (assuming this is seen as episode 8 in a series of 9).

This doesn't seem "off" to you?

OK, so next she is zapping deserters. Which kind of feels like a villain thing to do? Are we saying that nobody can ever leave the resistance because people within it are willing to imprison you for trying?

This doesn't make you think that the writing is poor?

So Rose and Finn call Maz and Maz knows a guy who can break the code. So we would assume that they will meet this guy and say "Maz sent us" and he will say "MAZ! Wow, OK I will help you". Instead they are turfed into prison where they meet a guy who can do the thing anyway so it's all good.

Then they free the animals but not the slave children. Wreck the casino, a mess that will be cleaned up by the slave kids I assume. That's a win for the good guys somehow. We annoyed those rich people so bad they'll probably beat their child slaves twice as hard tonight and round up the escaped animals in the morning. Go team!

This all seems like good writing to you? Or do you just ignore it?

Here is an issue I am having. People appear to be saying that the movie is good once you can ignore all the bad bits.

Or they are saying that it's a kids movie so who cares.

Or they are becoming the writers of the movie themselves, in a sense, to write fan-fiction that fills in the blanks. Leia is able to fly through space because in my "head canon" she was training with Luke over the years.

Luke became the way he is because <insert fan fiction here>.

On the other hand maybe I am saying that the movie isn't good because when you tell me what you thought was a good bit I am saying "no way that's a bad bit"?

What can we agree on? You admitted that you hated the movie the first 2 times. So there are definitely things that you changed opinions on.

How did you feel about the bomber ships that are deadly enough to destroy a dreadnought but slow and flimsy enough that they could be blown up by a single stray TIE fighter? Did you come around to that idea?

The premise of the "chase" sequence is:

The First Order had a dreadnought that could wipe out the fleet but Poe destroyed it.
    The First Order can also track them through hyperspace.
    So Poe saved everyone by destroying the dreadnought.
    Leia is somehow not happy with this.
    TFO sends fighters to kill the rest of the fleet.
    They take out the leadership but are then called back because although a single Resistance Fighter can disable a First Order dreadnought and single First Order Fighter cannot disable a Resistance ship without coverage.
    Then we learn that the Resistance ships are fast enough to stay out of range of the First Order but not fast enough to open a larger gap between them.
    So both parties are happy to trundle along within sight of each other until it's time to wrap up the movie.

This was OK with you the first time? Second time?

I have few more kind of personal questions that I want to ask.

Do you feel pressure to "like" the movie because of the American political discussions that surround the film? (you know, people naming the "alt-right" etc when talking about people who didn't like it)

Do you feel like if you stuck to your initial reaction that you "hated" the movie then people would see you in a negative light if you openly expressed that opinion?

Do you feel like you invested so much time into watching the movie repeatedly that not liking it would be a waste of that time?

Would love to watch it With you two :)
    There’s a question. Are you gonna watch it again ?

I was going to watch it again. I fully intended to.

Then you had that whole bunch of articles that were, in my opinion, attacks on people who didn't like the movie and I thought actually I'm not going to give them any more of my money.

The first Star Wars film EVER that I haven't seen multiple times in the cinema.

When it's out on Sky I will watch it again where I have the ability to pause it, have a rant, and then move on to the next bit. Expect a massive post whenever I get round to that.

Gotta be honest though. The whole conversation around this movie probably leads me to conclude that you are right when you say maybe Star Wars just isn't for me anymore.

It's likely that the walls of text from me are just my frustration that new Star Wars films might be something that I just can't enjoy. I don't know.

I think there were a lot of problems with the movie. I don't think I can let those go.

Like even just "the Jedi have to end". So I get that the Jedi aren't perfect but they were fighting against the mass murdering, power hungry Sith. "Lads, we aren't perfect so let's give up and let the Sith win". I can't just shrug that off. Why is Luke so stupid in this?

• Registered Users Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Wedwood

Best way to look at TLJ (and TFA) is it's an average Star Wars movie. Not as good as the originals, better than the prequels.

George Lucas said after ROTS if there was ever to be a sequel trilogy, it would be something 'made up' and that the story ends with ROTJ. That's exactly how these new movies feel.

They're a bit like Queen touring without Freddie Mercury - Yes there's members of the original line-up there and its great to hear them sing the old songs again, but Queen really ended in 1991.

(The Prequels were a bad cover band who didn't sound anything like Queen)

Saruhashi wrote: »
    What do you mean when you say you "hated" it? Which parts did you hate specifically and how did those change from viewing 1 to 2 to 3? Do you think you were just desensitized to it?

When we meet Rose she is mourning the loss of her sister. Yet we never see Luke mourning the loss of Han at all. Two characters the audience doesn't even know vs two characters the audience is familiar with (assuming this is seen as episode 8 in a series of 9).

This doesn't seem "off" to you?

Not really no. Luke has a lot of guilt about how he failed Han and Leia. It’s all the way through the film.

OK, so next she is zapping deserters. Which kind of feels like a villain thing to do? Are we saying that nobody can ever leave the resistance because people within it are willing to imprison you for trying?

This doesn't make you think that the writing is poor?

It’s a subplot and part of her job. Don’t see the problem.

So Rose and Finn call Maz and Maz knows a guy who can break the code. So we would assume that they will meet this guy and say "Maz sent us" and he will say "MAZ! Wow, OK I will help you". Instead they are turfed into prison where they meet a guy who can do the thing anyway so it's all good.

Then they free the animals but not the slave children. Wreck the casino, a mess that will be cleaned up by the slave kids I assume. That's a win for the good guys somehow. We annoyed those rich people so bad they'll probably beat their child slaves twice as hard tonight and round up the escaped animals in the morning. Go team!

This all seems like good writing to you? Or do you just ignore it?

It’s Star Wars. There’s always a wacky element in almost every film. Luke’s ‘plan’ to rescue han in ROTJ isxeven more ridiculous.

Here is an issue I am having. People appear to be saying that the movie is good once you can ignore all the bad bits.

Or they are saying that it's a kids movie so who cares.

Or they are becoming the writers of the movie themselves, in a sense, to write fan-fiction that fills in the blanks. Leia is able to fly through space because in my "head canon" she was training with Luke over the years.

Luke became the way he is because <insert fan fiction here>.

On the other hand maybe I am saying that the movie isn't good because when you tell me what you thought was a good bit I am saying "no way that's a bad bit"?

What can we agree on? You admitted that you hated the movie the first 2 times. So there are definitely things that you changed opinions on.

How did you feel about the bomber ships that are deadly enough to destroy a dreadnought but slow and flimsy enough that they could be blown up by a single stray TIE fighter? Did you come around to that idea?

The premise of the "chase" sequence is:

The First Order had a dreadnought that could wipe out the fleet but Poe destroyed it.
    The First Order can also track them through hyperspace.
    So Poe saved everyone by destroying the dreadnought.
    Leia is somehow not happy with this.
    TFO sends fighters to kill the rest of the fleet.
    They take out the leadership but are then called back because although a single Resistance Fighter can disable a First Order dreadnought and single First Order Fighter cannot disable a Resistance ship without coverage.
    Then we learn that the Resistance ships are fast enough to stay out of range of the First Order but not fast enough to open a larger gap between them.
    So both parties are happy to trundle along within sight of each other until it's time to wrap up the movie.

This was OK with you the first time? Second time?

I have few more kind of personal questions that I want to ask.

Do you feel pressure to "like" the movie because of the American political discussions that surround the film? (you know, people naming the "alt-right" etc when talking about people who didn't like it)

Do you feel like if you stuck to your initial reaction that you "hated" the movie then people would see you in a negative light if you openly expressed that opinion?

Do you feel like you invested so much time into watching the movie repeatedly that not liking it would be a waste of that time?

Replies included within. On my phone forgive the brevity.
    Shock and awe disappates after a few viewings. Killing luke was unforgivable to me but I came to accept it needed to happen. That was my big thing. And I love how it happens. The face off with kylo and subsequent passing is the most truly Jedi thing he could have done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

Replies included within. On my phone forgive the brevity.
    Shock and awe disappates after a few viewings. Killing luke was unforgivable to me but I came to accept it needed to happen. That was my big thing. And I love how it happens. The face off with kylo and subsequent passing is the most truly Jedi thing he could have done.

You seem to just be convincing yourself to like this film.

It was utter sh!te and like others have said was the first SW film I haven't seen a second time in cinema, wouldn't give them another cent.

I'll watch it again for free at home, but opinion will not change.

No responding to that really. How much do I owe you? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Wedwood wrote: »
    They're a bit like Queen touring without Freddie Mercury - Yes there's members of the original line-up there and its great to hear them sing the old songs again, but Queen really ended in 1991.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭uncleoswald

I would have thought there were two ways to go with this trilogy. Either end the Skywalker saga with an epic conclusion or concentrate on world building to set up the future of the Star Wars Brand TM (retch) but I can't help but feel they have done neither.

Sure the Skywalkers are present but they have been largely pushed to the side and what world building there has been is particularly bad with the current state of the First Order and the Resistance not holding up to much scrutiny at all. Rogue one arguably did a better job at world building.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,917 ✭✭✭nix

Been awhile, i wonder how the conversation is progressing in this thread...

zGHQb4O.gif

CAlling myself a hypocrite here but I stopped listening to Alice in chains and stone temple pilots once their respective singers died and yet the bands continued on without them. The main thing I liked about each band and was the best thing about them, was gone and I was angry at both bands continuing while using the same names. Change the name. It’s not the same thing as it used to be at all so stop lying and saying it is.

Can’t really apply that logic to Star Wars. It’s a far bigger part of our cultural fabric and to deny new filmmakers a chance to expand that world and play in it would be wrong and robbing ourselves. If Lucas had never sold Lucasfilm and the Star Wars franchise and yet never made anymore, there would probably have been a growing clamour for him to either sh!t or get off the pot and let other people carry it onwards. If he had continued on with 7 8 &9 I think we’d see a lot of the same complaints simply cos nobody trusts Him anymore and his outline for his 7 is pretty much what we got in 8 with regards to Luke.

I’d rather have controversial Star Wars that causes debate than no Star Wars at all. Certainly don’t take pleasure in anyone being upset cos they don’t like what’s being done especially as I relate to it with my own experience after Rogue One being such a let down. But I’ve only ever seen that 5 or 6 times and I loved it saw what it was doing the last time I watched.

It has huge film making and narrative problems but they’re overshadowed by what it’s bringing to the overrall Star Wars story and enhancing it. The last Jedi has a lot of the same problems particularly in film making but it doesn’t have in universe Star Wars problems. Luke seems to be people’s biggest gripe but I’ve seen far more people come around on him and what they did than are still complaining about it.
    I’d never say ‘i refuse to change my mind’ on anything, youre only making yourself a liar down the line. But if it simply isn’t for you anymore that’s cool too and a place a lot of people I know have come to on their own after the last few films.

Funny feeling this new tv series is gonna drag even the staunchest haters back in. They’re coming to replace game of thrones and if anything can do that and bring in a boatload of new fans on the new king of platforms, tv, Star Wars can.

Jaysis. Ramble off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,876 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

So, I'm late to the party I know but honestly, I found it was a struggle to finish :(

- The humor is just out of place. I read some of the initial reviews here and agree that it's more in the vein of the Marvel Avengers series than the original trilogy. Too many examples to list but too "wacky" for my tastes
    - It lurches along at a breakneck pace for the most part, giving you barely any time for the scenes to sink in. Not aided by the usual frantic disjointed action sequences common to movies like this these days
    - Leia surviving a vacuum and flying back to the ship Superman-style.. WTF?
    - Luke was decent though for the most part. About what I expected.
    - After spending the last film building up the mystery and power of Snoke, he was a throwaway in this one - wasted opportunity
    - Porgs.. meh! It's a movie that relies heavily on merchandising. Didn't love them, but didn't find them particularly offensive either
    - The whole idea of them having time to go off to Casino planet, finding the code-breaker, returning and doing their thing while the fleet limps along with the Order taking pot shots at them?? Er.. ok. Though why didn't the Order just jump a few destroyers ahead of them and box them in?? Why was the flagship the only one firing?
    - Finn is still annoying, only helped by less screen time this outing
    - Poe is better and actually grows a bit through the film
    - Rey I'm still pretty neutral on really. They played the suggestions of her turning in the trailer well though
    - Kylo... still too much the angry unpredictable Emo for me. He's definitely no Vader despite his power.

Overall I was disappointed. I know it's a new era of film-making expectations and standards, and obviously Disney plan to get more movies out of this franchise yet - but it was more bland generic superhero/fantasy movie with a skin than classic Star Wars for me.

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    So, I'm late to the party I know but honestly, I found it was a struggle to finish :(

- The humor is just out of place. I read some of the initial reviews here and agree that it's more in the vein of the Marvel Avengers series than the original trilogy. Too many examples to list but too "wacky" for my tastes
    - It lurches along at a breakneck pace for the most part, giving you barely any time for the scenes to sink in. Not aided by the usual frantic disjointed action sequences common to movies like this these days
    - Leia surviving a vacuum and flying back to the ship Superman-style.. WTF?
    - Luke was decent though for the most part. About what I expected.
    - After spending the last film building up the mystery and power of Snoke, he was a throwaway in this one - wasted opportunity
    - Porgs.. meh! It's a movie that relies heavily on merchandising. Didn't love them, but didn't find them particularly offensive either
    - The whole idea of them having time to go off to Casino planet, finding the code-breaker, returning and doing their thing while the fleet limps along with the Order taking pot shots at them?? Er.. ok. Though why didn't the Order just jump a few destroyers ahead of them and box them in?? Why was the flagship the only one firing?
    - Finn is still annoying, only helped by less screen time this outing
    - Poe is better and actually grows a bit through the film
    - Rey I'm still pretty neutral on really. They played the suggestions of her turning in the trailer well though
    - Kylo... still too much the angry unpredictable Emo for me. He's definitely no Vader despite his power.

Overall I was disappointed. I know it's a new era of film-making expectations and standards, and obviously Disney plan to get more movies out of this franchise yet - but it was more bland generic superhero/fantasy movie with a skin than classic Star Wars for me.

Give it another go. Its like Guinness. First pint is horrible. It’s way better second time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭tony stark

It’s more like smithwicks in fairness. Diluted Guinness for the mainstream who can’t handle Guinness. It’s also like cherry coke, poochie the dog etc etc. Saw it a 2nd time and again the already dated humour ruined it. Luke was decent in fairness but that was Hamill. Kylo and Rey were grand. Poor Gleeson was totally misdirected. Waste of a great actor. The rest was disappointing. If kids like it then great, doubt they’ll rewatch it umpteen times when they’re older thou. Funny how people who like it are so defensive almost......as......if .......they know.....it’s not very good!

tony stark wrote: »
    It’s more like smithwicks in fairness. Diluted Guinness for the mainstream who can’t handle Guinness. It’s also like cherry coke, poochie the dog etc etc. Saw it a 2nd time and again the already dated humour ruined it. Luke was decent in fairness but that was Hamill. Kylo and Rey were grand. Poor Gleeson was totally misdirected. Waste of a great actor. The rest was disappointing. If kids like it then great, doubt they’ll rewatch it umpteen times when they’re older thou. Funny how people who like it are so defensive almost......as......if .......they know.....it’s not very good!

It must be pretty good, you’ve been repeatedly using it as an analogy in mulitiple threads for the last month :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,582 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

tony stark wrote: »
    Funny how people who like it are so defensive almost......as......if .......they know.....it’s not very good!

Nah, for me it’s just pretty bloody great to be honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭PhiloCypher

I would have thought there were two ways to go with this trilogy. Either end the Skywalker saga with an epic conclusion or concentrate on world building to set up the future of the Star Wars Brand TM (retch) but I can't help but feel they have done neither.

Sure the Skywalkers are present but they have been largely pushed to the side and what world building there has been is particularly bad with the current state of the First Order and the Resistance not holding up to much scrutiny at all. Rogue one arguably did a better job at world building.

Thats my feeling too. My understanding was the OG cast were being benched to establish a new set of characters to carry the film series forward but by all a counts Daisy Ridley is done with Star Wars after the next one. So it kinda feels like they were sidelined for nothing. Ideally the way it should have worked was to have the original cast feature strongly in the first 2 films with Finn and Rey merely supporting characters, then bring them to the fore in the final film. That way the original cast would have gotten their proper due and we'd have been introduced to the characters that would carry the franchise foward.

Anyone want to buy me this? It’s only about €150

https://twitter.com/bigbadtoystore/status/959435546585018368

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭Relikk

Nice. The Palpatine and the TLJ Rey figures are amazing, I want those.

I have this Obi-Wan, though...

viOknJq.jpg

There's a switch in the arm socket that lights the saber and creates a really cool glow on his face. Looks amazing in the dark.

Relikk wrote: »
    Nice. The Palpatine and the TLJ Rey figures are amazing, I want those.

I have this Obi-Wan, though...

viOknJq.jpg

There's a switch in the arm socket that lights the saber and creates a really cool glow on his face. Looks amazing in the dark.

THats incredible!!

Which Sabres are they? Amazing!! Master replicas? I got a force efx Vader one a couple of months back for a steal and it’s beautiful!

They're customs. The Obi-Wan is a part for part replica of the one from Star Wars, made by Roman Props: http://romanprops.com/history/

The Luke ESB is from Parks Sabers and the Luke RotJ is from Saberforge. Or it's the other way around. I can't remember. :confused: I have a Vader ESB that's not in that picture, also. Loads of other little tidbits here and there, but the crown jewel of my collection is my Vader helmet made from the original Star Wars moulds.

They're customs. The Obi-Wan is a part for part replica of the one from Star Wars, made by Roman Props: http://romanprops.com/history/

The Luke ESB is from Parks Sabers and the Luke RotJ is from Saberforge. Or it's the other way around. I can't remember. :confused: I have a Vader ESB that's not in that picture, also. Loads of other little tidbits here and there, but the crown jewel of my collection is my Vader helmet made from the original Star Wars moulds.

That’s brilliant. The customs are a rabbit hole I can see myself going down. I only want Obi wans and Lukes/Skywalker saber.

Are they pricey to buy?

OK just looked at that site and want everything.

The hilts without electronics and LED's in them etc. are a couple of hundred each. You'd be looking at about €250-€300+ with electronics.

I stupidly went looking around. I shouldn’t have. You can buy ones that you can take apart and all the interiors and the kyber crystal n all are in there.

That original Kenobi saber though, and the entire list of parts.
    It’s delicious irony that it’s made up of machine gun parts and grenade parts.

‘Elegant weapon / more civilised age’ me hole :)

Watch this.

So basically Anakin is Eddie Vedder in 1992 and wants to meet his son again. Worlds. Collide.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭buried

Looking back after a while now, I think the whole thing would have been so much better if Episode 7 dealt with all the stuff that we see with the flashbacks in 'The Last Jedi'. Those flashback bits were very cool, that's what I wanted to see more of. Base the story in Episode 7 around Luke trying to train the Solo kid and his mates in the way of the force. See where that situation was going to lead maybe to some realm of conflict and further resolution.
    The problem is, the studio was so adamant in creating the look and aesthetic of the original trilogy in Ep 7, they had to have characters acting the way they did in Episodes 4-6, had to have the look of the old Empire, a total rehash. The fear of doing anything different, the look, the story. There was no need to resurrect the Empire in the look of the first order to be the main villain in Episode 7. They could have made the villain's The Hutts, p!ssed off with Luke and Leia and them lot killing Jabba, sending a army of Bounty Hunter killers to destroy and destabilise the New republic. Send them a Sith renegade to turn some of Luke's students.
    I dunno, they messed it up bigtime IMO, but the mess didn't start with 'The Last Jedi' the mess started with 'The Force Awakens'. I dunno, whats done is done, f**k all can be done now lol