Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Star Wars Episode VIII - The Last Jedi *spoilers from Post 2857*

• Registered Users Posts: 408 ✭✭Defunkd

I've lost interest in those red letter media review. I wonder do those lads enjoy anything.
    On yt, the angrier the review the more hits it gets. Mauler did an unbridled rage (swearing for the whole clip basically) and it skyrocketed his views and subs. Wasn't even that good a review. He did a clean, 3-part review that is longer than the film itself and it has less views.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,287 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

nix wrote: »
    Those scenes that were cut from the movie were soooo bad, that guy with the hillbilly accent spanking his ass. How did that even make it passed imagination? Nevermind to script/storyboard/camera :confused:

My jaw hit the ground when that came up. :eek:

I couldn't believe something like that would even be considered for a Star Wars film, let alone filmed with the intent to put it in. I suppose I shouldn't be too surprised, because of the inane efforts at forcing a laugh that did make it in. That kind of shit is fine in Robot Chicken. But in an actual Star Wars movie. Fucking hell. :rolleyes:

Goes to show that Johnson fundamentally got it wrong on so many levels, character, pacing, plot, etc, and that RLM video, despite the annoying Plinkett voice, shows very well just how wrong it all was.

I've said it before, Star Wars is not comedy and shouldn't be treated as such. When you try to jam jokes into something like this, you rian ruin it.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Tony EH wrote: »
    When you try to jam jokes into something like this, you rian ruin it.

:pac: :pac: :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Sal Butamol

Rian Johnson doesn't understand Star Wars. None of it.

The resulting mess that is the Last Jedi proves this, over and over.

Rian Johnson doesn't understand Star Wars. None of it.

The resulting mess that is the Last Jedi proves this, over and over.

I don't think anyone currently at the controls understands what they have or where to go with it. Not Kennedy, not Abrams, not Johnson, not Hidaglo...none of them.

And TBH, wouldn't bet that hard on the likes of Kennedy or Johnson. She has a good track record in production (but is clearly not a creative) and he has a couple of films under his belt that were quite good. Abrams, though, I think is one of the worst things to happen to movies in 20 years. I liked 'Cloverfield' though. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 250 ✭✭DrWu

Abrams, though, I think is one of the worst things to happen to movies in 20 years. I liked 'Cloverfield' though. :pac:

I have a lot of issues with Abrams.

He is of the anti-Ford (John not Harrison) school of filmmaking where you get a stupid amount of footage and let the editors splice something coherent together. And sometimes even the editors can't make it work.If you look at the conversation between Han and Leia in the rebel control room it's jarring, with lots of o/s shots to make up for bad direction.

Second, the man can't hold a shot for more than 2 seconds without cutting away. Its like filmmaking epilepsy. Frame a shot FFS!

Third. Mid-shots please. There are precious few wide shots but at least they are there. Abrams spends far too much time up the nostrils of every character. It's claustrophobic and with the manic cutting it ends up giving me a headache.

Dialogue is functional but that's about it. There's no flair. Arndt would have brought some nice zip to the dialogue imo but we'll never know.

All in all, I find Abrams irritating. I wonder how much he relies on the talents of those around him to constantly rescue him. But I've yet to see a JJ movie I can rewatch. That's always the litmus test for me.

He's pure copycat. He learned from the school of Spielberg and has emulated that, but has none of his talent as a filmmaker, but has made a few bob as a reboot doctor, where he doesn't have to try too hard.

There's been nothing truly original in him and even his reboot efforts have been quite poor.

I thought he did a great job with the Star Trek reboot.

But really, with Star Wars it's always been about the characters and the story. In VII, we had no damn luke for the entire film. It's like following up the Godfather trilogy by not having Al Pacino in the first one. In VIII, he's there, but he's denounces the Jedi!! It's like we are being massively trolled.

Never mind that Han was a poor father and is now dead by his sons hand and Leia is a magic floaty princess who will also be written out.

What a wasted opportunity!

• Registered Users Posts: 305 ✭✭Smertrius

since this star wars only takes a year to make is always terrible

I'm crap at posting Youtube vids but this one is great.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MBTa2njC-mc

DrWu wrote: »
    I'm crap at posting Youtube vids but this one is great.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MBTa2njC-mc

Just add brackets (without spaces)
    [ youtube ] link [ /youtube ]

Video is absolute nonsense. Who is this prick making vlogs in a feckin garage with his Lambo.

Aha! Thank you! :-)

[QUOTE=J [[/Youtube]

Video is absolute nonsense. Who is this prick making vlogs in a feckin garage with his Lambo.[/QUOTE]

Bet it's a kit car. He may be a bit of a knob but I agree with most of what he's saying. Kennedy's "force is female" nonsense and all that SJW crap they poured into SW is completely unnecessary.

DrWu wrote: »
    Bet it's a kit car. He may be a bit of a knob but I agree with most of what he's saying. Kennedy's "force is female" nonsense and all that SJW crap they poured into SW is completely unnecessary.

Well I agree with how you phrase it. I could only cope with watching half of what the lad had to say, even if he had a good point.

The other thing that springs to mind on the topic was the wholly unnecessary casino planet spiel leading up to the Asian girls cringey monologue. That whole part was garbage, as was the lads plan to infiltrate the enemy ship. Just bad writing.

• Registered Users Posts: 305 ✭✭Smertrius

i love idea female lead nothing wrong there it lacks of progress going into these new star wars movies, they seem similar to previous movies in the episode 4 5 and 6 with nothing new except for new order and female lead. for example expisode 7 was similar to episode 4 and episode 8 was similar to episode 5 , 6 and 4 with some difference

Smertrius wrote: »
    i love idea female lead nothing wrong there it lacks of progress going into these new star wars movies, they seem similar to previous movies in the episode 4 5 and 6 with nothing new except for new order and female lead. for example expisode 7 was similar to episode 4 and episode 8 was similar to episode 5 , 6 and 4 with some difference

The difference being a story, rounded characters and an idea of where they are going (not to mind understanding where they came from)

The whole thing is a Disney con job.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,454 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

I think the key here is women “characters” the women in Star Wars currently have ZERO character. I don’t blame the actors although Ridley is a bit wooden but they’re just horrendously written characters. That purple haired woman, Rey, the Asian one, old 70 silk cut purple a day Leia. All terrible terrible characters.

Holdo had character to be fair to her. Bit of a bitch(!), but she had character.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,454 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

J Mysterio wrote: »
    Holdo had character to be fair to her. Bit of a bitch(!), but she had character.

She served as one whopper of a plot hole, that's all.

Has Ridley acted in anything of note before TFA? One reviewer on yt highlighted how often her character is wide-eyed and mouth agape in that film. Not great writing, direction or acting.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

Defunkd wrote: »
    Has Ridley acted in anything of note before TFA? One reviewer on yt highlighted how often her character is wide-eyed and mouth agape in that film. Not great writing, direction or acting.

https://www.imdb.com/name/nm5397459/

Mostly TV shows and voice work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I think to be fair Daisy Ridley is quite good and very likable, it's just her narrative that's off, going from 0 - 100mph without anything in the way of plausible explanation or personal journey. Maybe it'll pay off in X, maybe not, but I think she's done as good a job with the material as would be expected.

The original trilogy had their far share of wood from Ford, Hamill and Fischer as well, but it only really added to the charm of it all.

I think to be fair Daisy Ridley is quite good and very likable, it's just her narrative that's off, going from 0 - 100mph without anything in the way of plausible explanation or personal journey. Maybe it'll pay off in X, maybe not, but I think she's done as good a job with the material as would be expected.

The original trilogy had their far share of wood from Ford, Hamill and Fischer as well, but it only really added to the charm of it all.
    What would you say is "likeable" about her? Her perfection?☺

• Registered Users Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Wedwood

Final thoughts (hopefully) on this thread:

Most of the current reviews (critics or audience) for this movie won't matter in the long run. Have a look at some of the original reviews for Star Wars and you'll see the true assessment of the movie comes in the years ahead https://ew.com/article/2015/12/17/original-star-wars-reviews/

Hopefully when Episode 9 is released, it'll make Last Jedi less jarring by providing good resolutions for the characters.

These movies are now a bit like the Bond movies in that the originals were easily the best and what follows will struggle between maintaining the old formula and breaking new ground to stay relevant.

No amount of years can fix bad storytelling

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,498 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Wedwood wrote: »
    Final thoughts (hopefully) on this thread:

Most of the current reviews (critics or audience) for this movie won't matter in the long run. Have a look at some of the original reviews for Star Wars and you'll see the true assessment of the movie comes in the years ahead https://ew.com/article/2015/12/17/original-star-wars-reviews/

Ack, the thread is resurrected ;)

For me, the Last Jedi was the straw that broke this particular camel's back when it came to internet fandom. The usual caveats apply that not all Star Wars fans - or folks here - are bad, and indeed the film itself has flaws (and that's coming from someone who liked the movie overall), but the outrage and reaction has been... well, kinda unpleasant in places. Hyperbolic, unearned and pretty sh*tty in places.

Since the Disney acquisition there has been an increasing bad-faith, self-entitled element within SW fandom that has, for want of better expression, ruined the fun and sense of happy community. The volume and presence of this demographic - whether it be ranting over black stormtroopers, SJWs or Mary Sues, hounding Kelly Marie Tran etc. - has made the whole experience a little toxic - to the point where the franchise feels a little tainted, and guilty by association.

Once upon a time 'ownership' of a franchise was an inclusive, welcoming concept that kept loved franchises alive and present within the zeitgeist - even while these IPs lay dormant. Dr. Who, Star Wars, Star Trek would be 3 bigger examples.

Rant over :D so yeah, I kinda guess once the fandom toxicity finally ebbs away, the Last Jedi might be 'safe' to discuss - for all its flaws - but for me Episode IX just doesn't feel like something to look forward to; rather that it's a powder keg waiting to go off all over again.

I find it remarkable that people who like this sequel trilogy have to constantly shit on the older films to try and elevate it.

Posting mixed reviews from 40 years ago, some of which are from reviewers that wouldn't have given a positive remark to a sci-fi movie if their lives depended on it, won't make 'The Last Jedi' any better...ever. The likes of Pauline Kael couldn't even bring herself to give '2001' a good word. A movie that was considered a masterpiece by most and is, rightly, today considered one of the greatest pictures of all time.

'The Last Jedi', on the other hand, is largely junk on it's lack of merit. It can't stand up to even slight scrutiny and falls apart at the seams very quickly. It's marred by a poor script, some terrible characters, awful (and unfocused) subplots and extremely bad choices all round. It's not only a bad Star Wars film, it's a bad film on its own ground. It looks nice on occasion and it can be mildly interesting in places, but over all, it just isn't very good. Into the bargain, it's dulled an awful lot of people's interest, not only in Ep.IX, but in the franchise as a whole. Enthusiasm for Star Wars, across the board, is fading and a lot of the reason for it has to do with 'The Last Jedi'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

At least Rian actually tried to do something involving his imagination.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

I find it remarkable that people who like this sequel trilogy have to constantly shit on the older films to try and elevate it.

Posting mixed reviews from 40 years ago, some of which are from reviewers that wouldn't have given a positive remark to a sci-fi movie if their lives depended on it, won't make 'The Last Jedi' any better...ever. The likes of Pauline Kael couldn't even bring herself to give '2001' a good word. A movie that was considered a masterpiece by most and is, rightly, today considered one of the greatest pictures of all time.

'The Last Jedi', on the other hand, is largely junk on it's lack of merit. It can't stand up to even slight scrutiny and falls apart at the seams very quickly. It's marred by a poor script, some terrible characters, awful (and unfocused) subplots and extremely bad choices all round. It's not only a bad Star Wars film, it's a bad film on its own ground. It looks nice on occasion and it can be mildly interesting in places, but over all, it just isn't very good. Into the bargain, it's dulled an awful lot of people's interest, not only in Ep.IX, but in the franchise as a whole. Enthusiasm for Star Wars, across the board, is fading and a lot of the reason for it has to do with 'The Last Jedi'.

Ah here, whatever TLJ's faults it's no Phantom Menace. And if that didn't kill SW fandom (which these days is at least as much about the animated series and the, what, 3 decades or so worth of games?) then neither will this. (Though as one who's never been all that fussed about SW, a retreat of some of the nostalgia-fuelled SW mania would be somewhat welcome....)

Time may not absolve TLJ of its faults but hopefully it will allow some of the hyperbolic butthurt to die down. Not liking it is fair enough; making statements like "It's killed Star Wars" is a bit silly, though :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭PhiloCypher

At least Rian actually tried to do something involving his imagination.

Did he tho. He made ESB minus the asteroid belt. Even his supposedly brave choice with Luke is him just giving Luke Yoda's arc from Empire. The only original things he did was making Rey a nobody and Killing Snoke a film early.