Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How did you score in your last round...2016?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Played the open at Portsalon this morning, love that course but conditions were horrific for the first 9 holes, never seen so much water on a links course that normally stands up to the rain very well.
    Started very steady, but on the 7th tee the wind and rain got even worse, made the turn with double, blank, double. Conditions faired from then on but just wasn't able to capitalise. Putting felt good all day but would go from holing a 12ft'er to missing a 2ft'er on the next hole, inconsistency is killing me. Finished with 34pts off 11hcp.

2 games last weekend in the spring league.

18 points for 9 on Saturday and 21&19 on Sunday.

Sunday was probably tougher conditions but hit the ball solid. +2 for the front 9 with no birdies and +3 for the back 9 with 2 birdies. Wasn't as focused on B9 hitting a drive OB and missing a 2ft putt but happy with how I'm playing.

Work I put in last year with lessons lead to handicap drifting out to 8.5 but feels like they are well bedded in now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭lester76

35pts in tramore open comp this morning. Steady front 9 for 18pts & some poor putting on the bck cost me a really good score. Still game ok all considered..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭ballyk

22 points for 12 holes in Ballykisteen today. Could have been better too as lipped out with putts on 2 or 3 holes. Winter league starts next week so it was good to get a bit of a warm-up in today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭WheresMyPar

Played Friday started with double shanked second and third shot,
    Good par on second, up and down out of bunker game was starting to settle, recovering from a few shanks from previous game,
    Ball striking came good but putter went cold missed a couple birdie chances but finished round well,
    Finished level for back 9 and 6 over for round,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭mafc

Gross 79 today +8

11 pars
    6 bogey's
    1 double
    Played ok chipping & putting very good, got up & down a good few times. Driver okish, irons inconsistent but not far off. Short game is on the ball, early days but hope the form stays with me to get back to single figures again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

mafc wrote: »
    Gross 79 today +8

11 pars
    6 bogey's
    1 double
    Played ok chipping & putting very good, got up & down a good few times. Driver okish, irons inconsistent but not far off. Short game is on the ball, early days but hope the form stays with me to get back to single figures again.

Great round this time of year, mafc.

Went to course but was too windy to play - range instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭mafc

Great round this time of year, mafc.

Went to course but was too windy to play - range instead.

Yeah was tough alright, cross wind which made club selection difficult, however placing everywhere makes it a bit easier.
    Misty rain for some of the round didn't help either but good quality wet gear takes care of that.
    Happy with where I am and I know better scores aren't too far away.

35pts off 11 today

1 Birdie
    9 pars
    5 bogies
    3 blanks

Happy enough considering the 3 blanks, getting used to playing this water polo game!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭Senecio

77 yesterday for 35pts at home in Roganstown. Was pretty happy with that in the conditions. Even had a little flurry of snowfall during the first tee shot of the day. Out in 36 and home in 41. Played just as well tee to green on the back nine as I did on the front but the putter went cold after the turn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,742 ✭✭✭✭Wichita Lineman

13 hole comp yesterday in Moate, 23pts. Was a bit rusty after missing a couple of weeks.

Had the day off for golf and played - crazy stuff.

Was a gale - I don't mean a gale metaphorically - it was a real gale. (lol)

Decided to go inland to try get away from it - and went to Luttrellstown. Was placing everywhere - I wouldn't be that familiar with winter parkland golf - but the first few holes were in poor enough condition - unreal number of divots not replaced, fairways patchy. But , in fairness weather has been unreal - greens were amazing , very good , very very fast and great fun.

Is a great course (as we know) - good holes like 1, 2, 3, 5, - brilliant holes like 4, 10, 12, 13, 14. 17, 18.

Decided If I broke 90 it would be a good score - and no shame in saying I had an 88. Made a few daft choices like going for 12 in 2.
    Had about 6 - 3 putts - but most of that was the wind and speed of greens with the wind.

The conditions on the last were hilarious and almost got the par, just ground conditions on apron got me. (many long approach balls were not going onto green from apron, too soft)

The shower after was much needed - food and a coffee - 3 hours was great going.

It is amazing the clubhouse, you feel like a lord with the place to yourself - wonder how the place is doing ? or how it is being run.

I actually enjoyed it - maybe the 18th was a bit nuts, temperature just collapsed.

Will go back in summer. Still one of the best in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,730 ✭✭✭dan_ep82

Played Knightsbrook this morning.

A little wet in one or two places but over all the driest I've played on in a long time.

Played it once before but forgot just how long it plays so I happy with how I played ( 80 over 17holes) even though I scratched one with two pulled drives ( just out) on the fourth.

Gamegolf round - http://www.gamegolf.com/player/DanCarolan/round/727667

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭fearruanua

dan_ep82 wrote: »
    Played Knightsbrook this morning.

A little wet in one or two places but over all the driest I've played on in a long time.

Played it once before but forgot just how long it plays so I happy with how I played ( 80 over 17holes) even though I scratched one with two pulled drives ( just out) on the fourth.

Gamegolf round - http://www.gamegolf.com/player/DanCarolan/round/727667

80 over after 17 holes. must have been playing extremely long dan???
    :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

fearruanua wrote: »
    80 over after 17 holes. must have been playing extremely long dan???
    :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Ha, meant 80 strokes total over the 17holes :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,742 ✭✭✭✭Wichita Lineman

23pts in 13 hole competition in Moate this morning. It was quite cold!

8 over around Corballis - was good golf in conditions.

Got the par on 3 into a horrible wind - lipped out for a bird , would have been some bird today.

Was the coldest I played in this year - 5 layers - yes 5 layers on top. Had a great front 9 of 1 over - but a combination of wind rain and cold got me at turn.

Out for a qualifying competition in morning. Would like to get mid 30s , even a buffer would be good going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭dar_cool

76 gross(+3) around st margarets today, was happy with my play apart from 2x 3 putts . Played with Rollotomassi off here who shot a super round of 71(-2 gross) for 42 points. Flawless golf which should have been easily 3/4 better!!!

dar_cool wrote: »
    76 gross(+3) around st margarets today, was happy with my play apart from 2x 3 putts . Played with Rollotomassi off here who shot a super round of 71(-2 gross) for 42 points. Flawless golf which should have been easily 3/4 better!!!

Amazing stuff - glad I didn't play along with ye now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

Fantastic scoring lads, hats off - Rollo finally getting the type of scores that lovely swing deserves :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭rollotomasi

Fantastic scoring lads, hats off - Rollo finally getting the type of scores that lovely swing deserves :P

Really pleased with the round and the first win of the year.
    St. Margarets in superb condition especially considering recent weather and the greens running very true.

Really pleased with the round and the first win of the year.
    St. Margarets in superb condition especially considering recent weather and the greens running very true.

Rollo - blow by blow, we don't get many in the 60s - modesty is great and all but :)

Going down last up there for a round in 60s , must have been something else. Being with the calming influence of daddy dar must have helped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭rollotomasi

Rollo - blow by blow, we don't get many in the 60s - modesty is great and all but :)

Going down last up there for a round in 60s , must have been something else. Being with the calming influence of daddy dar must have helped.

Unfortunately, it was not a round in the 60’s, St. M is a par 73.
    It didn't really feel like a low round but driving was solid and made most of the makable putts.
    Went bogey-double bogey on 4 and 5 to go to +2 after 5 before coming home from there in -4.
    Certainly having Dar there getting his fair share of birdies helped the cause!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Savage shooting from the both of you especially for this time of year. I initially misread you had played St. Anne so presumed it would be qualifying and you'd be in for a substantial cut. Presume St. Margarets had relief in the rough given the appalling winter so no qualifying. Were tees very forward or anything else us to console us hackers as to why we can't shoot near those scores.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Dublin Spur

top quality - well played both !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

wow! got a photo of the scorecards?

Savage shooting from the both of you especially for this time of year. I initially misread you had played St. Anne so presumed it would be qualifying and you'd be in for a substantial cut. Presume St. Margarets had relief in the rough given the appalling winter so no qualifying. Were tees very forward or anything else us to console us hackers as to why we can't shoot near those scores.

Haha they were actually very far back. As far back on most except for 1 or 2, they were "Blue tees", alot of low irons and woods into greens
    Heres an online version of his score card
    http://www.masterscoreboard.co.uk/results/Scorecard.php?CWID=4352&Competition=3819&Player=1731

Played Knightsbrook Friday. 23 Over.

Didn't play great but felt it was nearly there. Putter was stone cold and some silly mistakes cost me alot of strokes.

Course was in great condition.

Game Golf Round - http://www.gamegolf.com/player/DanCarolan/round/734170

Then played Moor Park today. 8 Over.

Played better, putting was good and hitting greens well. The only thing is it's a very short course so can't take as much from the score.

Course was wet. Placing was a must where as Knightsbrook it wasn't really

Game Golf Round - http://www.gamegolf.com/player/DanCarolan/round/735275

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

16 holes around a wet Nenagh today. 30 points but too many 1 pointers and 3 blanks. Happy to get out and get the year up and running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭thelostboys23

33 points in a 14 hole comp at the weekend and good enough for 3rd place(lost to the other two scores of 33 on a countback).
    7 pars
    5 bogeys
    1 double
    1 scratch

First ever cut, even if it is a temporary winter one.

Haha they were actually very far back. As far back on most except for 1 or 2, they were "Blue tees", alot of low irons and woods into greens
    Heres an online version of his score card
    http://www.masterscoreboard.co.uk/results/Scorecard.php?CWID=4352&Competition=3819&Player=1731

14 a nice bird!

Pity about the par 3 5th. That's got teeth. Feels different each time I play it. Go over tree on the right half of green or aim over the stream left and try to fade it back in.

Great round - with a 9 on a par 5 :eek:
    Basically got a flyer into the wind OB.

Probably no harm as my points would have been embarrassing :D

Played perfect golf for 17 holes - got lucky on 1 hole , but beside that it was my best round in competition. (considering wind)

41 pts - (2 over)
    4 birds - finishing the round 3,3,3 was nice with pressure on.

Will be my lowest ever handicap after that.

Not sure where that round came from , I guess work pays off at some stage.

someone please take him out for pints before tomorrow's board outing :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Ben1977

Great round - with a 9 on a par 5 :eek:
    Basically got a flyer into the wind OB.

Probably no harm as my points would have been embarrassing :D

Played perfect golf for 17 holes - got lucky on 1 hole , but beside that it was my best round in competition. (considering wind)

41 pts - (2 over)
    4 birds - finishing the round 3,3,3 was nice with pressure on.

Will be my lowest ever handicap after that.

Not sure where that round came from , I guess work pays off at some stage.

Great score Fixde, now that calls for a drink. A nice bottle of red should hit the spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭Felexicon

41 pts - (2 over) 4 birds - finishing the round 3,3,3 was nice with pressure on.

In Corballis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭cgh

had 31 points for 12 holes yesterday in Portarlington
    first decent round in a long time.
    everything worked well,
    2 birdies,
    6 pars,
    4 bogies.

Play an open comp yesterday seen it was such a nice day, decided to carry the bag and just had 7 clubs, forgot my gps too so wasn't expecting much.
    41 points off 11hcp. My best round on my home course since I joined and my first comp win there, pity it's non qualifying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭benny79

Senna wrote: »
    Play an open comp yesterday seen it was such a nice day, decided to carry the bag and just had 7 clubs, forgot my gps too so wasn't expecting much.
    41 points off 11hcp. My best round on my home course since I joined and my first comp win there, pity it's non qualifying.

Can I ask what 7 clubs you brought? :)

Id say cause you weren't expecting much you were nice and relaxed and the golf just flowed.... Good shooting..

benny79 wrote: »
    Can I ask what 7 clubs you brought? :)

Id say cause you weren't expecting much you were nice and relaxed and the golf just flowed.... Good shooting..

Definitely, I was just so glad to be getting out on a sunny day that I didn't really expect anything, there's a little side game between 15-20 people on a Tuesday if you make it out for 1pm, so having a bit of craic in it was all I was thinking about.

Driver
    18 hybrid
    5i
    7i
    8i
    Gw
    Putter

Carrying is brilliant this time of year with the ropes around the greens, but if I carry next time I might put in a pw, really missed it, but the clubs I picked was for usual shots. But I hit the driver really well and needed the pw more than normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭SEORG

29 pts off 8 for 14 holes yesterday.

Big improvement in my driving, irons not so bad, putting/short game needs work. Putting let me down a little but not too worried about it.

Fairways - 75%
    GIR - 43%
    25 putts (2 three putts)

2 birdies
    4 pars
    8 bogeys

Was nice to play without the wet gear on. Practice is beginning to pay off with the driver/irons, short game practice to kick in now...More work on 140yds in. Looking forward to the year ahead and chasing down my goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Hoof Hearted2

Definitely, I was just so glad to be getting out on a sunny day that I didn't really expect anything, there's a little side game between 15-20 people on a Tuesday if you make it out for 1pm, so having a bit of craic in it was all I was thinking about.

Driver
    18 hybrid
    5i
    7i
    8i
    Gw
    Putter

Carrying is brilliant this time of year with the ropes around the greens, but if I carry next time I might put in a pw, really missed it, but the clubs I picked was for usual shots. But I hit the driver really well and needed the pw more than normal.
    Strange club gapping given you only had a half set, the conventional wisdom is that you pick alternate clubs when playing a half set.
    Also where does it say the ropes around greens are only in place to redirect players with trolleys only?, FYI the ropes are there to redirect all traffic.

Strange club gapping given you only had a half set, the conventional wisdom is that you pick alternate clubs when playing a half set.
    Also where does it say the ropes around greens are only in place to redirect players with trolleys only?, FYI the ropes are there to redirect all traffic.

And when your balls lands there you just leave it I suppose?

What an oddly negative post to a positive experience

dan_ep82 wrote: »
    And when your balls lands there you just leave it I suppose?

What an oddly negative post to a positive experience

Ah c'mon Dan don't be so stupid, of course when your ball lands there you play it, but other than that you follow and respect the greens keepers instruction.

Those clubs suited my course better, if it was a course I didn't play before I would definitely have more standard gapping, but as said I really missed my wedge and my 4 wood was missed too.
    Ah c'mon Dan don't be so stupid, of course when your ball lands there you play it, but other than that you follow and respect the greens keepers instruction.

But the green keepers instructions are no trolleys or club cars past the ropes. The club encourages people to carry during winter, less damage to course. You can carry past the ropes, as per green keepers instructions.

Played European club today in bizarrely little wind. Mad start with 3 birdies on the first 3 holes. Sitting at -3 I was happy out but Euro club has teeth and ended up with a dissapointing 77 for 34 points. Greens were truely a joy to put on. Best greens I've putted on in a long long time

That is a brilliant score around there - must hit it and try break 85 on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭pinkdoubleeagle

That is serious shooting out there

Those clubs suited my course better, if it was a course I didn't play before I would definitely have more standard gapping, but as said I really missed my wedge and my 4 wood was missed too.
    Thought you might say that, but ideally it didn't suit as you missed your PW, carrying a 9i instead of an 8i would have been the way to go and if you needed the 8i just grip down on the 7i and for your PW just grip down on the 9i and narrow your stance.
    But the green keepers instructions are no trolleys or club cars past the ropes. The club encourages people to carry during winter, less damage to course. You can carry past the ropes, as per green keepers instructions.

If that's your clubs policy then fair enough, but it's not a given that that is the case. The default is and should be to avoid unnecessary traffic.

Thought you might say that, but ideally it didn't suit as you missed your PW, carrying a 9i instead of an 8i would have been the way to go and if you needed the 8i just grip down on the 7i and for your PW just grip down on the 9i and narrow your stance.

Not really sure why you are questioning my decision, did you miss the part where I shot my lowest score and won the competition.
    I said I missed my pw because I was driving the ball better (longer maybe due to course drying out) than normal, usual round I would stick with the club choices I made AS THEY SUIT MY USUAL GAME ON MY HOME COURSE!!
    If that's your clubs policy then fair enough, but it's not a given that that is the case. The default is and should be to avoid unnecessary traffic.

You have to walk to your ball, how is that unnecessary traffic, I'm walking there no mater what bag I have. What do you think I do, walk past the rope and start dancing.

Not really sure why you are questioning my decision, did you miss the part where I shot my lowest score and won the competition.
    I said I missed my pw because I was driving the ball better (longer maybe due to course drying out) than normal, usual round I would stick with the club choices I made AS THEY SUIT MY USUAL GAME ON MY HOME COURSE!!
    Relax no one is questioning you, you can choose to play whatever clubs you like and however you please, it's just an odd gapping, that is all.

You have to walk to your ball, how is that unnecessary traffic, I'm walking there no mater what bag I have. What do you think I do, walk past the rope and start dancing
    It's about respect and knowing that the greenskeeper knows what he is doing is in the best interest of the care of the course, but there is always some who believe they know better:pac::pac:.