Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chris Gayle Controversy Was this Sexist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,770 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

The woman was doing her job, she was treated the way she was because she is a woman and is not bad looking. Both were in a work environment, so it could be viewed as sexual harassment, he did say he mention about being happy to do the interview knowing who was doing it. This did make it sexist as he wouldn't have done the same to a male interviewer.
    They were both in a work environment, not out on the town and socialising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭The_Captain

The only people calling him sexist are racists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,770 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

The only people calling him sexist are racists

That must be it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭Mysterypunter

It was. Andrew Flintoff put it well. He said something like Chris looks like a bit of a chop. He does too. Storm in a teacup probably. Made an idiot of himself. Great Player though, should stick to batting, suits him better. Raises the profile of Mel reporter though. Never heard of the woman before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Damn she's hot. Is she really a lesbian?

Also - I don't see anything sexist or particularly shocking about it. He saw a beautiful woman and chanced his arm, we've all done it (in my case usually with much the same results!:()

He made a bit of a tit of himself and his chat up lines are cringey to say the least but no real harm done (except to his own ego)

psinno wrote: »
    Hardly my fault you can't just say it isn't sexist. Saying it isn't needed is basically the same as being open to calling non sexist things sexist if it is needed.

You're either hopping mad about third wave feminism...or you're agin us!

I haven't said it's not sexist, not racist, not ageist and so on and so forth...

Mass rape and sexual assault of German women by immigrants in Cologne, Stuttgart and Hamburg: feminist are silent.

Guy ask a woman out on live tv: feminist outrage.

50,000 Muslims raped in Bosnia. You and other posters "arra twas grand...sure twas during a war...what complaining had they".

1 woman raped in Cologne. You and other posters "coming over here, rapin' the white women, send 'em back".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

50,000 Muslims raped in Bosnia.

If you got that number from the Wikipedia page you are fairly radically misquoting it.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,994 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

Mass rape and sexual assault of German women by immigrants in Cologne, Stuttgart and Hamburg: feminist are silent.

You don't see any possible connection between the two behaviours? Or how laughing off the less serious incidents and calling it "banter" allows the men who would do worse things to feel okay about what they do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,523 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

The other journalists list a whole pile of things that they have to deal with on a regular basis. Sports is a male dominated world on and off the pitch/field/court. Women trying to make a career in it have to work twice as hard to even be taken seriously, never mind treated well.

In my opinion it doesn't matter if it happens on camera or not. The point is it's incredibly hard for a woman to do almost any job in male dominated sports anyway and behaviour like this makes it even more difficult. She's there to do a job and shouldn't have to worry about what a man is going to say to her while she's trying to do it.

At the end of the day it doesn't really matter if you or I think it's sexist or harassment or not. That woman is clearly uncomfortable and the women ABC talked to say that Chris Gayle is known for this kind of thing, so much so that she's already uncomfortable before he even makes the comments. That tells me it's a problem and not just him attempting to be funny and being misinterpreted.

I don't think journalists have a right to be comfortable. They frequently ask uncomfortable questions. Entering a male dominated field like this and then moaning about laddish behaviour comes across as expecting it to change for you. They are not colleagues and would get more respect by showing some tolerance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

That's pretty much it.

People are mad to jump on any story and shriek about third wave feminism and feminazis and men are victims and so on. The simple fact is that it doesn't need to be defined in terms of sexism, it's simply inappropriate for a cricket player to be talking about dates in a cricket interview, and his employers have told him as much.
    Yip. It was totally inappropriate in a professional setting, gender doesn't even need to be mentioned. But... woman and man, better go on about feminists.

psinno wrote: »
    If you got that number from the Wikipedia page you are fairly radically misquoting it.

Nope, estimates given during and soon after the conflict itself.

Do you need to refer to Wikipedia to recall the atrocities of the Bosnian Wars? Oh to be young!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I would identify strongly as a feminist- I don't consider his behavior to be sexist, just sleazy and incredibly unprofessional. It's already hard enough to be a woman in sports journalism, he's certainly not making it any easier on her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,769 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

50,000 Muslims raped in Bosnia. You and other posters "arra twas grand...sure twas during a war...what complaining had they".

1 woman raped in Cologne. You and other posters "coming over here, rapin' the white women, send 'em back".

Mod:

Completely off-topic. Don't go down this route any further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,863 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

"You got nice eyes" > meh...
    "Go out with me" > meh...

"Aww, dont blush, baby" > vomit, skin crawling, cringe.

That is what that interview did to me

("meh" in this case meaning: Got no place in that interview but not worth the uproar)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,779 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

It's sexist because he never asked out any male interviewer before!

I'm not sure what he did was sexist, but it certainly was really stupid and really inappropriate. She was live on air and put in a very uncomfortable situation. Sports interviewers are often in uncomfortable situations, but this isn't one they should really have to deal with.

As usual though, we get some of the 'what, complimenting a woman is wrong now?' style garbage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭Utdfan20titles

He just made himself look a knob. She comes out of it well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

His only crime was, as a black man asking a white woman out on Australian national tv.

mad muffin wrote: »
    His only crime was, as a black man asking a white woman out on Australian national tv.

No. His only crime is putting a reporter doing her job in an awkward position, by being sleazy and unprofessional.

Candie wrote: »
    No. His only crime is putting a reporter doing her job in an awkward position, by being sleazy and unprofessional.

A reporter worth their salt does not feel like that.

Sure, yeah. It's her that's at fault here.

Bull. He was out of line and embarrassed a person doing their job on national tv.

He behaved inappropriately on and anyone who doesn't see that, well then they just don't want to see that.

He's not a blameless little victim of the PC Brigade or the offenderatti, he's at best a bad-mannered knob and at worst a sleazebag.

Candie wrote: »
    Sure, yeah. It's her that's at fault here.

Bull. He was out of line and embarrassed a person doing their job on national tv.

He behaved inappropriately on and anyone who doesn't see that, well then they just don't want to see that.

He's not a blameless little victim of the PC Brigade or the offenderatti, he's at best a bad-mannered knob and at worst a sleazebag.

All she had to say was, "Not bloody likely!"

And then to get fined $10,000?! It's not as if he told her "I want to fûck you right in the pussy!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,524 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

And then to get fined $10,000?! It's not as if he told her "I want to fûck you right in the pussy!!"

Do you think a professional sports player should have no responsibility for how they conduct themselves?

His club do, hence the fine.

That would have been odd beyond belief and a career ender.

These things need not be absolutes. He said something inappropriate and got fined what to him is peanuts. It's not as if he just spoke about cricket, and on the other hand it's not your "I want to fûck you right in the pussy!!" either.

It was just a bit of cheeky banter. You know, they do have Nandos in Australia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

It's not as if he told her "I want to fûck you right in the pussy!!"

So everything else is fair game to say? What an odd argument you make

Dodge wrote: »
    So everything else is fair game to say? What an odd argument you make

I bet if it was Shane Warne she'd be all like, "I gotta change my moist panties!!"

But because it was a nigga from da hood, she be like, "I don't want no scrubs!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,779 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

WTF is wrong with you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Q: What sort of moron thinks hitting on someone on live TV is a good idea?

A: This sort of moron.

In conclusion the guy's a moron.

Can you imagine hitting on Marty Morrissey after a match in Croke Park? No! Because GAA players are smarter than that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 61 ✭✭Freak Midget

Yes comparing a warzone in the Balkans with a city in Germany and sure the women were only 'groped' as you put it yourself. Sure mass sexual assault of native women is a small price to pay for mass immigration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,748 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Nothing wrong with what he did, other than to make the girl uncomfortable. It was extremely stupid to ask her out on camera. Didn't do his chances any good

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

I bet if it was Shane Warne she'd be all like, "I gotta change my moist panties!!"

But because it was a nigga from da hood, she be like, "I don't want no scrubs!!"

Give over, mad muffin. That's at best baseless speculation and at worst off-topic trolling. Any further posts like that will face moderator action.

Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Inappropriate behaviour for sure. She's accepted his apology and I think he realises he was stupid.

I'm not sure if his actions warrant such a hefty fine but that's the club's business I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I dunno, I think both could be true.

1.Gayle was unprofessional and therefore was fined.

2.Australia is recognised as being quite racist so perhaps he received more attention than a white guy making the same mistake would have.

I don't think thats a particularly unreasonable piece of speculation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

She was clearly uncomfortable, looking away and at the ground and he should have stopped it at that. Not sure if the laugh at the end was at her, or to cover up his own issues but would make me very embarrassed if I was the reporter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

I think the fine was a bit harsh. Maybe if he'd made a $10k donation to charity it would sit better with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,524 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

ken wrote: »
    I think the fine was a bit harsh. Maybe if he'd made a $10k donation to charity it would sit better with me.

From the BBC article in the second or third post there -

The A$10,000 fine will be donated to the McGrath Foundation, a breast cancer charity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

From the BBC article in the second or third post there -

The A$10,000 fine will be donated to the McGrath Foundation, a breast cancer charity.

My bad, I didn't read the whole article.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

BattleCorp wrote: »
    And if she said yes, the rest of the world would be saying "awwww, sweet".

But that's the thing, from about two seconds after he started talking he should have known to STFU from her reaction. And what did he do instead, said 'don't blush baby' and returned to the subject after she'd changed it. That's what's creepy about it to me.

I see men trying to push this thing where the rules of chatting up women without being creepy are 1: be attractive and 2: don't be unattractive, and this is a very good example of how that's horsecrap. That's an attractive man, presumably well off, but the way he's chatting her up makes him into a creep.

The fine seems pretty OTT, but it's at the club's discretion, and may well be intended as a response to an ongoing issue that finally went too far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

As far as i can see he embarrassed her, that was it.

He was being a bit of a sh1t. She didn't handle it very well, the real crappy thing is that is probably a black mark against her with regards to renewing her contract or in pay negotiations for her next gig.

I wonder was it deliberate attempt on his part to harm her career.

As for being sleezy, he is entitled to be as sleazy as he wants to once he does not break the law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

I see men trying to push this thing where the rules of chatting up women without being creepy are 1: be attractive and 2: don't be unattractive, and this is a very good example of how that's horsecrap. That's an attractive man, presumably well off, but the way he's chatting her up makes him into a creep.
    It's doubly annoying for guys that don't go about that too, because it makes good looking women more likely to have their 'b*tch shields' up more often, and from videos like that you can see why. The irony is, I would be willing to bet that the type of person defending Gayle's comment is also likely to be one of the first to complain about women's b*tch shields, without thinking as to why they are there.

I'm apparently pretty decent looking (toot toot, baby!) and don't enjoy going to the George with gay friends because it's packed with the gay equivalent (it's basically the gay Coppers in my opinion, and I despise that place), and it's just not a comfortable position to be in (there's a post on the taxi thread that's kinda similar about a guy going to Donnybrook/Donnycarney). Really p*sses me off these days seeing lads at that, and to be honest it's not even in some "knight in white armor" way, it's because that woman's probably now going to be completely off limits for the next long while.

Gobsh*tes! :mad:

On the other hand, the Dragon is a class spot! :pac:

sheesh wrote: »
    As for being sleezy, he is entitled to be as sleazy as he wants to once he does not break the law.

Presumably there are some conditions in his contract governing his conduct when playing, so while he may not be liable to any criminal sanction, and he wasn't, he may be fined, as he was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

But that's the thing, from about two seconds after he started talking he should have known to STFU from her reaction. And what did he do instead, said 'don't blush baby' and returned to the subject after she'd changed it. That's what's creepy about it to me.

The fine seems pretty OTT, but it's at the club's discretion, and may well be intended as a response to an ongoing issue that finally went too far
    Great post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

Presumably there are some conditions in his contract governing his conduct when playing, so while he may not be liable to any criminal sanction, and he wasn't, he may be fined, as he was.

your right, but it was so unprofessional and just weird. I think in situations like that the interviewer should be allowed to tell the individual to 'f*ck off just and answer the questions please'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭MarkY91

So chatting up a woman is sexist? This PC crap is pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

wadacrack wrote: »
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lnLHUr60HK0

Was this a joke too far??

Seems more odd than Sexist tbh

Hmmm.... Sexist? I don't think so.. Though a little more tact on his side would have gone a long way.. I mean, could he not have waited till the cameras were off? He made a bit of a gobdhite of himself, nothing harmful. A nudge to cop on by all means but a few grand of a fine? That's a bit much..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

MarkY91 wrote: »
    So chatting up a woman is sexist? This PC crap is pathetic.

So you'd be grand with a gay lad sleazing on to you over and over, even after you made it clear you weren't interested?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Billy86 wrote: »
    So you'd be grand with a gay lad sleazing on to you over and over, even after you made it clear you weren't interested?

I'm dying to hear what's sexist about this scenario.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 820 ✭✭✭BunkMoreland

She wouldn't have the job if she was a munter. Her only purpose is to be eye candy for the duration of the mindless interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

She wouldn't have the job if she was a munter. Her only purpose is to be eye candy for the duration of the mindless interview.

What's this relevant to?