Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Eurovision Song Contest 2016

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,356 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Here's the table of odds at the moment...

http://m.eurovisionworld.com/?odds=eurovision

Joe and Jake could prove an upset.

*tumbleweed*

*crickets*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Ben Gadot

I never watch Eurovision on RTE, I much prefer BBC and Graham.
    If anyone was to replace Marty on RTE, it would be Daithi or Panti.
    I will be voting for Bulgaria tonight.

Panti would be good craic live in a club but she's never presented before as far as I'm aware. It'd be a big ask to do what Norton and Whelan do in an isolated boot/seat/whatever as her first gig.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 256 ✭✭100cent

As it stands, bookies have Russia favourites to win.

Although - gulp - Australia could be the dark horse.

I'm cheering on Croatia. I don't know of anyone else who has praised it. But I think its really special. I also love the Croatian people. :P

Would be funny if Ukraine win, beating Russia by one point :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Ben Gadot

I didn't think there was anything special about Russia's entry so couldn't understand why they were so short in the betting.

But I was listening to sky news earlier and apparently this bloke is a superstar in eastern europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Well, I'm all set to go here.

Homemade bacon-cheese-jalepeno poppers, chicken goujons, a lovely garlic dip, big bag of minstrels, copious amounts of Coke, popcorn awaiting in the microwave for later, pizza on the way, projector fired up to give me a 90" display...

This gonna be gooood! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

My dad threw a euro on an each-way bet on Poland. I told him I'm sure even the Polish people aren't betting on that fella. :pac:

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Well, I'm all set to go here.

Homemade bacon-cheese-jalepeno poppers, chicken goujons, a lovely garlic dip, big bag of minstrels, copious amounts of Coke, popcorn awaiting in the microwave for later, pizza on the way, projector fired up to give me a 90" display...

This gonna be gooood! :D

Enjoy. Can I come around for a slice of pizza? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

He has hosted Winning Streak, the country's biggest game show, for seven years. Does that not count as a "proper chance"?

I still think it might not be a bad idea for RTE to give someone else a go. I don't think anything should be stopping them - it certainly wouldn't cost them a packet, anyway. And nothing would be stopping them from bringing Marty back if the worse came to the worst... ;)

eh, not really. Its a simple game show where he asks the guests where they come from, who do you have with you and makes a few small silly jokes . Where the general age demographic is an older generation. Hardly that entertaining!!! I certainly wouldn't watch it for the entertainment! Hardly the most glamorous gig!

What i am saying is it is not easy to do what he does, sitting on his own in an isolated room without any backup interaction for a few hours three times a week, you need to have a certain personality.
    I guess we have different opinions so lets agree to disagree! :) Fair?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Well I'm #TeamCzechia

My money on Czech Republic and Australia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

How long has Marty been commentating on Eurovision, btw?

Since 2000, according to Wikipedia.

Pat Kenny did it before him, while Larry Gogan did it on the radio.

100cent wrote: »
    Enjoy. Can I come around for a slice of pizza? :)

The more the merrier! (Though you'll have to put up with the sound of three separate post-exam house parties on the street :P)

How long has Marty been commentating on Eurovision, btw?

Since 2000, according to Wikipedia.

Pat Kenny did it before him, while Larry Gogan did it on the radio.

Pat Kenny?!

I'm yawning just thinking about it!

Pat Kenny?!

I'm yawning just thinking about it!

He was awful in 88

Now begins my hammering of F5 on RTE Player to try and get the stream to start...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Now begins my hammering of F5 on RTE Player to try and get the stream to start...
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=no1v1-2HZ6g

Stocked up on Rioja!

H E R E

W E

G O

• Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Really looking forward to this.

I am not sure who I am supporting but will judge it on tonight's performances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

It's showtime!

C'mon Irel- oh wait.

• Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭Lunger

Stocked up on Rioja!

H E R E

W E

G O

Guinness and bourbon here.

Ahhh the Eurovision Intro...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,099 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

Do ye think Marty will be hosting much longer after this year? He sounded completely fed up on Thursday.

Love the EBU anthem, they tried a new one but it didn't catch on

snubbleste wrote: »

Cheers! But for once, RTE actually had the stream started a few seconds before they went on air, so I didn't miss the start!

Ladies and gentlemen...DERELIQUE!!!!

Do ye think Marty will be hosting much longer after this year? He sounded completely fed up on Thursday.

Well, if Ireland keep on failing to progress from the semis... ;)

Evening, Azerbaijan :)

I hope he'll be around for a few more years anyway...

I shudder to think about who's going to take over, and I just can't stand Norton...

Only a matter of time before the USA are in the Eurovision.

Az er by jan in ja inn

Nicky Byrne would have walked out carrying a stool

Didn't take long for the "What am I looking at?" to kick in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,367 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

The Italian lady is a beauty.

Ah god, are they going to pause after every 5 acts? Were going to be here all fecking night.

Go Bulgaria!!

Still can't believe Weird Al got in.

Where's Pyramid Head?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Haven't paid any attention to EuroVision so far this year (didn't even hear Ireland's entry, only found out it was Nicky Byrne on the day he sang).

However I find myself at a loose end with a bottle of wine tonight, so this thread is now my Saturday night entertainment.

Evening all!

So much paper shreddings

All the yanks watching live on Logo TV this morning!

I get a good feeling.

LOVEEEEEE that tune!!!!

100cent wrote: »
    I get a good feeling.
    LOVEEEEEE that tune!!!!
    so 90s

Was the toilet paper parade really necessary for introducing the acts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭duridian

Bon soir, guten Abend, good evening Europe (g'mornin' Oz)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭Cina

"All the time spent in the gym ... and that's what he's doing."

Yep, I'm sticking with you Graham.

Was the toilet paper parade really necessary for introducing the acts?
    the Swedish paper industry needs all the help it can get

I'm putting my sunglasses on to dim it a bit when Georgia come on.

No boos for Russia or Ukraine, anyway... :D;)

Hellooooo, Malta :)

duridian wrote: »
    Bon soir, guten Abend, good evening Europe (g'mornin' Oz)

And Golly Gee Hi to USA