Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Eurovision Song Contest 2016

• Registered Users Posts: 312 ✭✭JuanJose

Caoimhgh1n wrote: »
    Wasn't the Young Eurovision thing in Irish this year?

Last year and this year, thanks to TG4. :);)

It'll probably be a while before RTE sends another song as Gaeilge, though...

Might be no harm letting TG4 look after our act for the actual Eurovision for a year or two.

No, I'm not joking. After all, they couldn't make a bigger bags of it than RTE have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,356 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Petra to host every year :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

ProudDUB wrote: »
    My sister is watching it in Seattle with her friends. You have no idea how many WTF messages have popped up in our WhatsApp group. :D

Love it! Bless them for joining in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Vote for tongue girl

Vote early
    Vote often

IMG_20160514_224012.jpg

Have to say, this is probably the best-hosted Eurovision I've ever seen. Mans and Petra have done a brilliant job. Nice to know that the Swedes have a great sense of humour. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

The Dana International School. Hah!
    Only teardrops ear drops.

In the name of the Lordi :)

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,802 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

They kept the best one till last :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭Lunger

ProudDUB wrote: »
    My sister is watching it in Seattle with her friends. You have no idea how many WTF messages have popped up in our WhatsApp group. :D

Tell them Welcome to Eurovision and they are behind in the drinking game. Finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,842 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

I have been watching ESC for years, when i was about 6 I used to be playing football in the street and I used to have to beg my parents to call me in to watch ESC on the TV... we didnt even have a TV - but anyway I think this is the Best ESC ever!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭duridian

this is gas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Sweden are fast catching up with Ireland in terms of Eurovision wins.

*runs for cover*

1 behind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

I'm actually delighted I stayed in tonight.

The Swedes...a great bunch of lads.

Have to say, this is probably the best-hosted Eurovision I've ever seen. Mans and Petra have done a brilliant job. Nice to know that the Swedes have a great sense of humour. :D

Has Russia got a similar sense of humour?

*tumbleweed*

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,538 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Always find it really difficult to make predictions on the night of the grand final.. but I'll give it a go:

1. Russia
    2. Australia
    3. Ukraine
    4. France
    5. Armenia

Italy, Bulgaria, Sweden, Latvia & Spain to take position 6-10, although I'm not going to try and speculate in what order. My own personal top three would probably be Bulgaria, France and Russia in 1st, 2nd and 3rd respectively, but that's blatantly not going to happen. All I really want from tonight is for Bulgaris and France not to disgrace themselves. Here's to hoping!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,499 ✭✭✭✭Caoimhgh1n

FINALLY!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,398 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

She is counting kind of fast... :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

"Come on! Come on! VOTE VOTE VOTE!"

*GONG*

"Voting ends."

:D:D;);)

Marty's Eurovision job over in 5...4...3...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

MARTY!

SHUT THE F*CK UP FOR F*CK SAKE YOU F*CKING TWAT!

NICKY. DID. NOT. DESERVE. TO. GO. THROUGH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

I have been watching ESC for years, when i was about 6 I used to be playing football in the street and I used to have to beg my parents to call me in to watch ESC on the TV... we didnt even have a TV - but anyway I think this is the Best ESC ever!!
    Makes up for the songs

• Registered Users Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

Could ye imagine we won some year, the state of the job we would do hosting compared to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Petra sounding very like Frau Farbissine from Austin Powers during the countdown there...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Rossi IRL wrote: »
    Could ye imagine we won some year, the state of the job we would do hosting compared to this.
    Just let TG4 do it.

Uh, classically, we put this at the start lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭BlondeMoment

This has been a brilliant Eurovision!

• Registered Users Posts: 177 ✭✭Jessme

Did Petra or Mans speak any Swedish yet? I missed the start. It'd be nice if they did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,099 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

I didn't realise they were on hoverboards and I instantly thought of the Gentlemen from Buffy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Considering RTE would be managing the production, it would be bleak.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭SarahBM

Interval act was brilliant.

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    MARTY!

Marty always behaves like he's explaining this to 94-year-old nuns with hearing problems.

*shakes head*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

In all the years I watched Eurovision 84-14 & 16 this was the best presented - JT excepted

"Come on! Come on! VOTE VOTE VOTE!"

*GONG*

"Voting ends."

:D:D;);)

Like your man used to do it on Banzai on Channel 4

BET! BET! BET NOW!

NO MORE BETS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

A few years ago they had this, Swedish Smörgåsbord, which was brilliant. Great hosts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,174 ✭✭✭screamer

MARTY!

Yep what was the song called? Oh yeh SOMESH!TE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭duridian

We could end up in a situation where people end up just voting for Sweden because we all want them to host the show again every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

If Sweden were to send Mans again with a halfway decent song they'd likely win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Lackey

I didn't realise they were on hoverboards and I instantly thought of the Gentlemen from Buffy.

One of the best Buffy episodes

Considering RTE would be managing the production, it would be bleak.

Ryan Tubridy to interview every contestant, asking them about their mental health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

I still absolutely f***ing love Heroes!

Sweden to win! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭Gru

Ryan Tubridy to interview every contestant, asking them about their mental health.

With ray darcy by his side.

MARTY!

You're an Award Winning Radio Presenter, could you not go into RTE and sort them out? :)

Love the show!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

Just let TG4 do it.

Seán Bán Breathnach might be a pretty good host, actually... :D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,033 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I hear the auld AutoTune is getting a good workout in this one. :o

Death has this much to be said for it:
    You don’t have to get out of bed for it.
    Wherever you happen to be
    They bring it to you—free.

— Kingsley Amis

Ha if you want to see some really cool stuff on wee scooters check this out

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,802 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

It's not the same without that army of matchstick men :(

I can see this song doing well if it entered Eurovision...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,099 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

"And how did you feel when you're grandmother's family was deported to Asia after world war 2?"

I think he might be miming.