Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 15/16

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

mosstin wrote: »
    At this. U21s 1-0 up. **** match. ****ing cold.

Meant to go to this but the time change scuppered it. Don't get home from work till 6:30 and it's an hours drive to Sligo. Your post has cheered me up no end :D

Fair play to the fans that walked out and fair play to FSG for listening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭mikeym

Delighted for those who walked out on the 77th.

And a big HA HA to those who thought that walking out was a bad idea.

You get nothing for being spineless!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,490 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Fair play to FSG for listening.

FYP

I still believe it didn't need a walkout. It didn't need those fans to disrupt a game we were leading 2-0. For those fans to call owners '' greedy basstards''
    I would like to think they would of listened regardless.

FYP

I still believe it didn't need a walkout. It didn't need those fans to disrupt a game we were leading 2-0. For those fans to call owners '' greedy basstards''
    I would like to think they would of listened regardless.

They were in consultations with fan groups for 13 months and it seems they weren't listening. They pricked up their ears when people walked out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,710 ✭✭✭54and56

5starpool wrote: »
    People criticising the likes of SOS for some of their more 'ambitious' requests are really missing the point of all the good things they do for matchday fans both home and away sets.
    If that's aimed at me let me retort. I am not criticising the good things SOS do for travelling fans at all unless by not referring to it at all you are somehow implying I am critical of it? :confused:

I disagree with their stated socialist agenda and criticised how they push that agenda by anointing themselves as the moral conscience of the fan base and the body who hold the owners to account. They have a tiny membership relative to the total global fanbase despite their efforts to open branches internationally.

I totally accept SOS contributed to the recent ticket price protest along with LFCSC, Spion Cup 1906 and thousands of fans who are not members of any formal group. They all deserve credit.

End of story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,188 ✭✭✭mosstin

FT Pool U21s 2 Sligo Rovers 1.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Power To The People!!! Well done as always SOS. Very proud of everyone involved, and proud of everyone who walked last Saturday. All we ever want to do is love & support our club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,490 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

They were in consultations with fan groups for 13 months and it seems they weren't listening. They pricked up their ears when people walked out.

I think the consultations with those fans went well . The prices were based on those consultations and other factors.
    It was not those fans who had a problem. FSG consulted with them for a reason. Little did they know that the people in the cheap seats cared so much for the rich kids who would have to pay 77.00 a seat for one of only 200 seats at that price.
    Can't wait for new stadium, for the rich kids in suits to be sitting there in their fancy seats, sipping champagne and flicking the ends of their cigarettes on to the peasants below who got them their seats cheaper.

JK!:D

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

If that's aimed at me let me retort. I am not criticising the good things SOS do for travelling fans at all unless by not referring to it at all you are somehow implying I am critical of it? :confused:

I disagree with their stated socialist agenda and criticised how they push that agenda by anointing themselves as the moral conscience of the fan base and the body who hold the owners to account. They have a tiny membership relative to the total global fanbase despite their efforts to open branches internationally.

I totally accept SOS contributed to the recent ticket price protest along with LFCSC, Spion Cup 1906 and thousands of fans who are not members of any formal group. They all deserve credit.

End of story.

Not specifically aimed at you, no. If I had to say it was aimed at any one person (although it was more a general thing than that) it would be Mike Harry who has been never short of a derogatory remark for them whenever they come up in the thread, but there are quite a few on here who have a similar attitude whenever they are brought up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,188 ✭✭✭mosstin

Almost like Machiavellian plot, hatched in Boston, this original ticket price announcement. Get a reaction from the fans, lots of media coverage throughout the week and then a well written PR document reversing the original price increases, freezing season ticket prices and air-brushing the categorisation of games from the ticket allocation list. Club suddenly becomes the ticketing model for others to follow - fans matter.

Chapeau FSG. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Not specifically aimed at you, no. If I had to say it was aimed at any one person (although it was more a general thing than that) it would be Mike Harry who has been never short of a derogatory remark for them whenever they come up in the thread, but there are quite a few on here who have a similar attitude whenever they are brought up.

I'm not a fan of self appointed Soviets who presume to have ownership of an issue or a support base - I'd have been a terrible NAZI or Communist (or trade union member)

I see a "clap on 77" is starting to spread about....
    mosstin wrote: »
    Almost like Machiavellian plot, hatched in Boston, this original ticket price announcement. Get a reaction from the fans, lots of media coverage throughout the week and then a well written PR document reversing the original price increases, freezing season ticket prices and air-brushing the categorisation of games from the ticket allocation list. Club suddenly becomes the ticketing model for others to follow - fans matter.

Chapeau FSG. ;)

I thought about myself - but nah as much as I enjoy the X-Files it requires far too much planning and competence to pull that sort of thing off.

1zybtb7.jpg

Hope yer OK hun pm me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,931 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Lets hope FSG can now freeze Sturridge's injuries for 2 seasons as well.

I'm not a fan of self appointed Soviets who presume to have ownership of an issue or a support base - I'd have been a terrible NAZI or Communist (or trade union member)

The SOS by its very nature is a very democratic organization. Who do you think speaks for the fans...? Or maybe you don't think we should have a voice, your one of them I am all right jack people and look down on lads why stand up for what they believe in.

How the price freeze and removal of game categorisation will look for next season. Cat A a bit cheaper,, Cat B a bit dearer probably, Cat C dearer.

Ca4qMlOWcAUcw6B.png:large

Lets hope FSG can now freeze Sturridge's injuries for 2 seasons as well.

Siomn_inbetweeners_thumbs_up.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

It's great and all that they didn't decide to raise the price but I don't like how the media are saying Liverpool have set an example now.

They'd be setting an example if they reduced prices!

If you have the red button for BBC the FA Cup highlights are on a loop this evening - they are showing the WBA/Posh match as I type so WHU/LFC will follow.

edit that - they are just reshowing the whole Baggies match again...what's the point of that? :p
    Jonathan Harding
    @JonBloggs66

When it comes to Schalke, Hassan is my man. So when he says Matip has long signed a deal at #LFC, I believe him. https://twitter.com/
    thisisHCtv/status/697488273527214080 …
    6:44 PM - 10 Feb 2016

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,688 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

monkey9 wrote: »
    I agree. My only gripe with what happened on Saturday was some fans outside chanting 'Get out of our club' towards FSG. I didn't like that at all.

But fair play to the protesters. They shed a positive light on the club these past few days for standing up for what they believe, hopefully fans of others clubs will follow suit.

Fair play to FSG as well for listening to the fans. A good PR exercise.

Yeah I wasn't too happy with that chant but in fairness it was only a handful of fans. I'm impressed with the FSG turnaround and their actions today solidifies my feeling that they are the best owners we could have. I'm still in awe of them at how they handled the Rodgers to Klopp transition. It was all done and dusted in less than 10 days. I remember back then some people were mentioning Gary Monk as a possible replacement, under different owners thats probably what we would have ended up with. IMO FSG share the ambitions and expectations of the fans, both of us want success for our club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,548 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

From what I read now, CAT B & C have gone up and they would form the majority of games, surely that's better then the £77 for only a few seats that they were looking for.

Am I reading that wrong?

Either way glad they tackled it straight away, don't want protests gathering steam and creating bad blood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,038 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

murpho999 wrote: »
    From what I read now, CAT B & C have gone up and they would form the majority of games, surely that's better then the £77 for only a few seats that they were looking for.

Am I reading that wrong?

Either way glad they tackled it straight away, don't want protests gathering steam and creating bad blood.

It was 77 for only a few but 75 for most of the main stand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,044 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

To be honest, I don't mind the idea of part of the main stand - centre pitch area - being around the 77 mark, as long as that's an obvious exceptional area and the bulk of the stadium is affordable. Basically a small section for private box kind of price range people, who don't actually want to be in a private box. They'll easily sell them, and any time you raise money from one area its an opportunity to lower the cost elsewhere.

I don't think there's a problem with catering to different financial demographics to an extent, as long as the working class still get the bulk of the tickets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,217 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

The working class stopped getting the bulk of tickets a long time ago.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

The working class stopped getting the bulk of tickets a long time ago.

Absolutely, and if upping the prices in certain specific part of the ground allows more regular punters to go, then I'm fine with it.

I'd love to see 60+% of the ground under 30 quid. It's unlikely to happen, but if ever there was a time to make it happen, this is it with the new tv deal.

Make it so the noise coming from Anfield on match day stands above the others, which can only serve to help Liverpool as a worldwide brand anyway (horrible sentiment I know, but it benefits everyone). We're a far cry from that now (both literally and figuratively).

Dub13 wrote: »
    Who do you think speaks for the fans...?
    The LFC Supporters Committee are the organisation who speak on behalf of the fans, see http://www.liverpoolfc.com/fans/supporters-committee/home

All other groups are speaking exclusively for their own little group of like minded members and their own specific agenda and any who claim otherwise are just deluding themselves and their followers. The degree to which they reflect the millions of LFC fans worldwide is reflected in their tiny membership numbers.

The phenomenon of self appointed importance was highlighted best with this clip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,296 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

New ticket breakdown

7668__2055__match_day_prices_new2_990px-01.jpg

5603__3858__2016-17_new_tier_stadium_map_ver_3-01.jpg

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    To be honest, I don't mind the idea of part of the main stand - centre pitch area - being around the 77 mark, as long as that's an obvious exceptional area and the bulk of the stadium is affordable. Basically a small section for private box kind of price range people, who don't actually want to be in a private box. They'll easily sell them, and any time you raise money from one area its an opportunity to lower the cost elsewhere.

I don't think there's a problem with catering to different financial demographics to an extent, as long as the working class still get the bulk of the tickets.

The entire middle tier of the main stand (even now) is hospitality seating, which will be significantly dearer than £77 per seat.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

Now the fans should do a walk-out in protest to the transfer committee!

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Now the fans should do a walk-out in protest to the transfer committee!

after 38 million minutes in protest of the Teixera deal

• Registered Users Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭ronjo

Is it true that they changed it also so that all games will now be at highest category or is that bull?

ronjo wrote: »
    Is it true that they changed it also so that all games will now be at highest category or is that bull?

This place would go into melt down if they did that!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭ronjo

This place would go into melt down if they did that!!

Thats what I figured but I have seen it reported (not officially of course)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Willian commenting on the failed bid by Liverpool to buy Teixeira

“They prefer to sell to small clubs that can afford a higher fee than selling them to traditional clubs that wouldn’t pay the same amount of money,” he told Squawka. “That’s the case for Teixeira, and it has also happened with me.
    Read more at http://www.squawka.com/news/willian-shakhtar-donetsk-have-harmed-alex-teixeiras-international-prospects-by-refusing-to-sell-him-to-liverpool/595448#Tm37lZOPAdpg1ATU.99

Note to Liverpool - never try and do business with Shaktar or any Ukrainian money club again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭dogbert27

Note to Liverpool - never try and do business with Shaktar or any Ukrainian money club again.

Although at this stage I'd say Brazilian footballers will stop going to the Ukraine and head straight to China.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Magico Gonzalez

dogbert27 wrote: »
    Although at this stage I'd say Brazilian footballers will stop going to the Ukraine and head straight to China.

Only the ones who realise they wont get a shot at playing for the national team. The other go because they know the Champs League is big news, it gets plenty of TV coverage in South America.

I watch ESPN LatAm, for a champs league night between them & Fox I usually have a choice of between 6 to 8 games. UEFA usually between 2 to 4 games.

Chinese league. Yeah, not so much.

The money is there, the product is not and the exposure is definitely not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭dogbert27

Only the ones who realise they wont get a shot at playing for the national team. The other go because they know the Champs League is big news, it gets plenty of TV coverage in South America.

I watch ESPN LatAm, for a champs league night between them & Fox I usually have a choice of between 6 to 8 games. UEFA usually between 2 to 4 games.

Chinese league. Yeah, not so much.

The money is there, the product is not and the exposure is definitely not.

But he was with Shakhtar for 6 years and didn't get a call to the national team.

The same for Willian, he only started getting called when he moved to Chelsea.

It will be interesting to see if Ramires still gets picked. If he does then China is a place for Brazilians to go to make money and still have a chance at the national team.

The LFC Supporters Committee are the organisation who speak on behalf of the fans, see http://www.liverpoolfc.com/fans/supporters-committee/home

All other groups are speaking exclusively for their own little group of like minded members and their own specific agenda and any who claim otherwise are just deluding themselves and their followers. The degree to which they reflect the millions of LFC fans worldwide is reflected in their tiny membership numbers.

Sorry if I don't think groups who are made sign up to confidentiality agreements, so the club will talk to them but they can't be transparent with what goes on. Of course the SOS would not sign an agreement like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭8-10

dogbert27 wrote: »
    It will be interesting to see if Ramires still gets picked. If he does then China is a place for Brazilians to go to make money and still have a chance at the national team.

If they poach them at a young enough age they could end up playing for the Chinese national team. I remember Alex playing for Japan in the 2002 World Cup. Moved over from Brazil at 16.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

“They prefer to sell to small clubs that can afford a higher fee than selling them to traditional clubs that wouldn’t pay the same amount of money,” he told Squawka. “That’s the case for Teixeira, and it has also happened with me.
    Read more at http://www.squawka.com/news/willian-shakhtar-donetsk-have-harmed-alex-teixeiras-international-prospects-by-refusing-to-sell-him-to-liverpool/595448#Tm37lZOPAdpg1ATU.99

Unlucky for Will.I.An that both Shaktar and Anzi did it to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭price690

Jaysus you would swear the bloke was forced to go to China against his will.

Hes not too fussed i'd imagine, the paycheck will soften the blow.

I've a feeling we will see a raft of these clubs letting go of their star signings in a season or 2 though, theres something very dodgy about it.

I'd imagine Teixeira will end up in a bigger European league league in the near future with a nice big pay off when his new league decide to pull the plug on their investments.

The entire middle tier of the main stand (even now) is hospitality seating, which will be significantly dearer than £77 per seat.

Oh I know, sorry, badly explained on my part. What I was talking about was a more expensive part of the actual Stand for people who'd rather be out there than in hospitality seating. Never been in hospitality seating Anfield, but was there at Croke Park, and it's a bloody awful place to be if you're actually interested in the game.

I just mean that i'm totally fine with a higher end limited section of the Main Stand - the ones that would have been 77 - if it's balanced by an equal dropping of prices elsewhere. So if those 200 tickets, at 18 pounds more than the current price point of 59, instead went to 77, and 400 tickets elsewhere were lowered by 9 pounds each.

price690 wrote: »

I've a feeling we will see a raft of these clubs letting go of their star signings in a season or 2 though, theres something very dodgy about it.

I'd imagine Teixeira will end up in a bigger European league league in the near future with a nice big pay off when his new league decide to pull the plug on their investments.

Yeah, im guessing this has to be a key part of their deal when they join. A reasonable release clause or something. Could see players effectively putting their careers on hold for a year or two in exchange for insane wages, as long as there was a way out at that stage.

I daresay if you're stuck there for your entire 4 or 5 year contract, the benefits of excessive money get outweighed by the negative of a decent portion of your life spent living where you don't want to, given that the 70-100k a week you'll earn in Europe doesn't exactly leave you short either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

price690 wrote: »

We dodged a bullet with that lad if you ask me. No ambition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Maybe the back ar*e of China has more appeal than Liverpool? I know where I'd rather live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,280 ✭✭✭Glico Man

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Maybe the back ar*e of China has more appeal than Liverpool? I know where I'd rather live.

Up your own arse apparently

J Mysterio wrote: »
    We dodged a bullet with that lad if you ask me. No ambition.

I don't know....that's quite a sweeping statement on a guy we know next to nothing about.

It's bound to be an immensely difficult decision. Like every Brazilian kid, he's doubtless spent his entire career thus far praying to get into the national squad. When he's at his closest, with a move to a bigger european team almost guaranteed in the next 6 months, an offer comes in that more than quadruples what he's on now, and doubles whatever he's likely to get elsewhere.

What do you do? On the one hand, you really want to play football for your country. On the other, taking the money ensures the security of your family for generations. I mean, lets look at this from entirely his own POV - in his career he's earning more money than he could ever spend in his lifetime anyway, so going to China for a few years is almost entirely negative. But the longterm security it brings for his family - collage education for grandchildren, and maybe even their grandchildren.

You could easily look at it and say the selfish thing to do is to take his European move in the summer, get into the Brazil squad and achieve all his footballing ambitions. Instead, after being stuck in the Ukraine, he's now going to be stuck in China, but with generations of financial security.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,145 ✭✭✭Augme

Oranage2 wrote: »

Given how restricted people's internet access is in China we all wished you lived there as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Augme wrote: »
    Given how restricted people's internet access is in China we all wished you lived there as well.

Boards is still available in China.