Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tralee thread

• Registered Users Posts: 86,365 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

10th to 14th April is the peak according to HSE

Any update on Michael Prendergast?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Panda Killa

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    10th to 14th April is the peak according to HSE

Any update on Michael Prendergast?

That's a best guess...If everyone stayed indoors and doesn't do anything they shouldn't...and we already know that isn't going to happen...may into June is where the numbers will ramp up....
    The minister for health in the UK said best case scenario...they have 20,000 deaths.....that's best case.... or to put it so we understand....Tralee wiped off the map

• Registered Users Posts: 5,805 ✭✭✭An Ciarraioch

• Registered Users Posts: 86,365 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

That's a best guess...If everyone stayed indoors and doesn't do anything they shouldn't...and we already know that isn't going to happen...may into June is where the numbers will ramp up....
    The minister for health in the UK said best case scenario...they have 20,000 deaths.....that's best case.... or to put it so we understand....Tralee wiped off the map

I do think the lockdown will go on longer than 12th of April likely into May

• Registered Users Posts: 702 ✭✭✭JonathonS

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    I do think the lockdown will go on longer than 12th of April likely into May
    For sure. By 12 April we will probably be at 2,000+ new cases per day, and that's very much on the low side of projections. As Panda K pointed out above - we need a vaccine.

This point was also made in an RTE piece on what we can learn from South Korea: https://www.rte.ie/news/2020/0329/1127023-what-south-korea-can-teach-ireland/

Quote:
    But some experts don't believe life in Korea will truly return to normality until there is a viable vaccine that is proven to be effective against Covid-19.

Dr Kim, himself a vaccine specialist, said a vaccine is likely to be at least a year to 18 months away. Until then some restrictions are likely to remain in place.

"Really if you want to return to the way things were, going out at night, going to concerts, to pubs, or going out to dinner, you really need to have a vaccine," he said.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 9,367 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ciarrai76

I'm sure a lot of people Would be interested to know how many cases in Tralee. It's a pity that information isn't available.

Presumably when the HSE case app launches, all will become clearer in that regard.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,867 ✭✭✭kn

Presumably when the HSE case app launches, all will become clearer in that regard.

Although I think that app is necessary will it really have the detail of the Korean one when you consider Data Protection etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

kn wrote: »
    Although I think that app is necessary will it really have the detail of the Korean one when you consider Data Protection etc.

Considering tests are being cancelled or just never authorised, we'll never have reliable figures

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 9,367 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ciarrai76

Considering tests are being cancelled or just never authorised, we'll never have reliable figures

did you get your test yet?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Ciarrai76 wrote: »
    I'm sure a lot of people Would be interested to know how many cases in Tralee. It's a pity that information isn't available.

As the goalposts are always moving, as in the tallies are days behind due to the length of time it takes to get a test you will never know the true answer to that.
    The longer it goes on, the harder it will be for society as we knew it to get back to what ‘normal’ actually was.

• Registered Users Posts: 586 ✭✭✭g1983d

kn wrote: »

Ive no knowledge if the South Korean app but if something is in the public interest the GDPR rules are not as stringent

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭pickled101

Is there a list of restaurants open for take-away?

Was trying to cheer up the kids and take a break from the endless cooking.

Found Pizza Time was open and rang in my order, collected it 15 minutes later.

Nice treat for everyone!

I was the only customer in the shop at that time so felt very safe.

Hats off to Ballyseedy garden centre for allowing the meals on wheels service use their kitchens while they are closed

pickled101 wrote: »

Nice treat for everyone!

Hats off to Ballyseedy garden centre for allowing the meals on wheels service use their kitchens while they are closed

Just eat app is the best Idea...pizza time is my go to spot for gluten-free pizza for my little one.

Lana were open for collections, but they have closed as of last night unfortunately. Kaleli Kebabs is reopening today for collections only. I’m not sure what else is open. I guess the Just eat app will show if open or closed.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

pickled101 wrote: »

Nice treat for everyone!

I'm not one bit surprised that they are doing something so honorable, I always found them a pleasure to deal with and never pass the place without stopping in.

We need to highlight all the positive news in these dark times.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users Posts: 163 ✭✭mcgrath1992

Hey all With these new lockdown regulations I just have a quick question. I'm from tralee but my friend in killarney is in urgent need to move out asap. I know we are only allowed to go past 2km to food shop but would anything be said by the guards if I helped her move just her and few belongings from Killarney to Castleisland? Would the guards understand if I explained the situation to them if stopped? If this post doesn't belong here my apologies a mod can move it to an appropriate thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭pickled101

I don't think anyone here would be able to answer that question..

I assume a taxi is out due to cost?

The only exceptions to the stay-at-home rule is for travel to health, social care or other essential work, shopping for food and takeaways, medical appointments and for “vital family reasons” such as providing care.

it would all depend on the Guard you meet, would you consider phoning the station and asking?

Hey all With these new lockdown regulations I just have a quick question. I'm from tralee but my friend in killarney is in urgent need to move out asap. I know we are only allowed to go past 2km to food shop but would anything be said by the guards if I helped her move just her and few belongings from Killarney to Castleisland? Would the guards understand if I explained the situation to them if stopped? If this post doesn't belong here my apologies a mod can move it to an appropriate thread.

Technically you are not meant to visit anyone, including family (unless in an emergency I think), so going to your friends house even if it is to help them move isn't advised.

I would call the Gardaí to find out.

• Registered Users Posts: 163 ✭✭mcgrath1992

Technically you are not mean to visit anyone, including family (unless in an emergency I think), so going to your friends house even if it is to help them move isn't advised.

I would call the Gardaí to find out.

Well I wouldn't be going in like I'd be parked at the gate while she throws in 3/4 suitcases of belongings but yeah you're right this was probably a stupid question anyway. Thanks for the input I'll just ask the Gardaí.

Its not a stupid question, a lot of this can be confusing. Just double check with the Gardaí if its only to move some cases without contact, then it may be ok. But travel wise, you are better off to clarify with them. I'd also say ensure you bring your ID with you as they are requesting people do this if they need to travel.

• Registered Users Posts: 645 ✭✭✭amadain

PM sent

It may be an issue as someone I know needed a bed moved to another house today and the gardai wouldn't even let them go to the house to pick it up! Definitely call them to see.

60 Kerry cases now (+6)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

did you get your test yet?

Mine got cancelled last Thursday evening. I was supposed to be tested Friday.
    We'll never know

• Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 5,775 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quackster

We'll never know

Hopefully, sooner or later, you'll be able to have an antibody test, which would confirm whether you've had the virus or not.

We'll never know

Same as someone else I know of. Their test was also cancelled. It would be good to know! Hopefully you are feeling ok though?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Quackster wrote: »
    Hopefully, sooner or later, you'll be able to have an antibody test, which would confirm whether you've had the virus or not.

And by this, if by having it makes you immune to further infection and you can prove you have had the virus with the antibody test, will it make it easer for you to travel.

Will have to dig to find it... but some of.the Chinese research was saying that people were being reinfected with the virus....it could be as high as 14%...or as low as 5%..
    Still early stages so they couldn't firm the figures... I'll try to find the study

• Registered Users Posts: 135 ✭✭Eamonn8448