Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kerry candidates in GE 2016

• Registered Users Posts: 790 ✭✭✭phater phagan

MHR, Ferris, Brassil, Spring, Griffin on Drivetime with Mary Wilson earlier turned into cacophony of useless sloganising and bs. Ferris apologised ( sort of ) for picking up the killer of Detective McCabe and then tried to blame the Department of Justice by implying it was at their insistence. When he was pushed on it by Mary Wilson he admitted only that he had informed them that he was doing it.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,021 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I'm at the other end of the country, but I listened to the debate on RTE. I assumed that Martin Ferris was safe for a seat but I took a look at the betting. Paddy Power seems to show that he could be in a bit of trouble, but Ladbrokes see it differently. Although it is very close. What is the feeling in Kerry? Two Healy Raes and Ferris? Two FG or only one?

https://sports.ladbrokes.com/en-ie/betting/politics/irish/2016-irish-general-election-constituency-betting/221609346/

http://www.paddypower.com/bet/politics/other-politics/irish-constituencies?ev_oc_grp_ids=2228258

• Registered Users Posts: 627 ✭✭✭kerryked

Has anyone taken any notice of the poor quality of the Fianna Fail posters around? They look like they've had white paint thrown over them but the posters are actually being stripped by the wind.. noticed it at home in north Kerry and thought it might have been paint but saw the same thing happening in Tralee..Thought it was very strange to have so much money being spent on posters for such poor quality..

Missed the Drivetime debate, just listening back now..Jesus MHR really does act the gombeen, a cute hoor I'd say though :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭cyning

I think in terms of seats it will be:
    1. Michael Healy Rae
    2. Jimmy Deenihan
    3. John Brassil
    4. Martin Ferris
    5. Probably Brendan Griffin.

I think Griffin will just edge it. But only just. And purely because he's South Kerry and not Danny. But it will be close: I just can't see Arthur Spring getting there unless the Sinn Fein vote completely collapses. I also think a lot of the Brian Finucane/ Pixie O Gorman/ other random independent vote will transfer to SF.

Anyone who buys that MHR gombeens act is really really dense. Honestly they are extremely successful business men. They aren't stupid.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

cyning wrote: »
    Anyone who buys that MHR gombeens act is really really dense. Honestly they are extremely successful business men. They aren't stupid.

He isn't known as Millionaire Mike down Kilgarvan country for nothing, between the two brothers you would be looking at one of the richest political dynasty's in Ireland.

Their combined family fortunes would stretch into the tens of millions at this stage, just look at the register of Dail members interests. And then they'd lead us to believe they are some sort of socialists and ordinary men who has their dinner in the middle of the day.

• Registered Users Posts: 426 ✭✭The_Mac

I really thought Toireasa Ferris would go for this election now. I'd say she would've got a lot more support than Martin.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭oeb

I have only had one person canvassing show up on my doorstep in Tralee, some bloke canvassing for Arthur Spring (Arthur himself did not appear to be about himself). My mailbox has been flooded with junk mail from every politician about though.

When I was living in Killarney (Back when we still had Kerry South), I used to have most of the candidates show up at one stage or another.

Is it usual that they don't call to you in Tralee? Or is this since they joined the constituencies? (e.g. bigger campaign area, so they don't bother)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,365 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

I think in terms of seats it will be:
    1. Michael Healy Rae
    2. Jimmy Deenihan
    3. John Brassil
    4. Martin Ferris
    5. Probably Brendan Griffin.

I think Griffin will just edge it. But only just. And purely because he's South Kerry and not Danny. But it will be close: I just can't see Arthur Spring getting there unless the Sinn Fein vote completely collapses. I also think a lot of the Brian Finucane/ Pixie O Gorman/ other random independent vote will transfer to SF.

Paddypower currently has:

1. MHR (1/80)
    2. Deenihan (1/8)
    3. DHR (1/8)
    4. Brassil (1/7)
    5. Griffin (1/5)

with Ferris (8/15) and Spring (13/8) being the only other viable candidates.

If it ends up this way, i'm becoming a Dub. Depressing doesn't come close to describing it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,113 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Paddypower currently has:

1. MHR (1/80)
    2. Deenihan (1/8)
    3. DHR (1/8)
    4. Brassil (1/7)
    5. Griffin (1/5)

with Ferris (8/15) and Spring (13/8) being the only other viable candidates.

If it ends up this way, i'm becoming a Dub. Depressing doesn't come close to describing it.

Ladbrokes odds as a comparison

Michael Healy-Rae - Independent 1/50
    Jimmy Deenihan - Fine Gael 1/16
    Martin Ferris - Sinn Féin 1/8
    Brendan Griffin - Fine Gael 1/8
    John Brassil - Fianna Fáil 1/5
    Danny Healy-Rae - Independent 1/5
    Arthur Spring - Labour Party 2/1

Everyone else bar.

kerryked wrote: »
    Has anyone taken any notice of the poor quality of the Fianna Fail posters around? They look like they've had white paint thrown over them but the posters are actually being stripped by the wind.. noticed it at home in north Kerry and thought it might have been paint but saw the same thing happening in Tralee..Thought it was very strange to have so much money being spent on posters for such poor quality.

I read this last night: I would have sworn it wasn't true. But out driving today it was all I could see! John Brassil is missing part of his head in most of them :D

I was going to Abbeyfeale and Niall Collins posters look much better in comparison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I read this last night: I would have sworn it wasn't true. But out driving today it was all I could see! John Brassil is missing part of his head in most of them :D

I was going to Abbeyfeale and Niall Collins posters look much better in comparison.
    I think it's called going bald...

To be fair, poor ole John has a big white cable tie right in the centre of his forehead in most of the posters..once you see it, you can't unsee it :pac:

Okay aside from the baldness and the big cable ties he's still losing his head in most of them :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 982 ✭✭✭VincePP

Boom__Boom wrote: »
    Ladbrokes odds as a comparison

Michael Healy-Rae - Independent 1/50
    Jimmy Deenihan - Fine Gael 1/16
    Martin Ferris - Sinn Féin 1/8
    Brendan Griffin - Fine Gael 1/8
    John Brassil - Fianna Fáil 1/5
    Danny Healy-Rae - Independent 1/5
    Arthur Spring - Labour Party 2/1

Everyone else bar.
    Ladbrokes lost £50m last year

PP operating profit circa €180million

:) follow the money.

Okay aside from the baldness and the big cable ties he's still losing his head in most of them :D

it's equal parts hilarious and infuriating..

using taxpayers money for the posters and half a face being stripped off them by the wind, can't stand not getting good value for money :rolleyes:

just tuning into the RTE debate late, catching up on the Boards thread, anyone get me up to date on what happened with "the creak"? :confused: seems to be the highlight so far anyway :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 808 ✭✭✭amdaley28

kerryked wrote: »
    it's equal parts hilarious and infuriating..

using taxpayers money for the posters and half a face being stripped off them by the wind, can't stand not getting good value for money :rolleyes:

just tuning into the RTE debate late, catching up on the Boards thread, anyone get me up to date on what happened with "the creak"? :confused: seems to be the highlight so far anyway :pac:

The creak was the best bit. I think it was Gerry's war wound.
    Woeful stuff.
    Not a leader among them.:o

• Registered Users Posts: 2,555 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

It'll be a big coup for FG if they get Griffin in. Well have to wait and see.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

May please an inexperienced voter ask a question without risking ridicule? Thank you! This proportional representation. I chatted with my landlord, as i had read the Citizens info page on it; totally new to me is this system. I had read that you do not have to fill in all the boxes.. He thought you did. He went away then came back saying all the old wans fill in all the boxes as they are afraid if they do not someone else will! There are people standing I do not wish to support in any way but can i leave boxes blank please? Seems many here do not think you can safely!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Graces7 wrote: »
    May please an inexperienced voter ask a question without risking ridicule? Thank you! This proportional representation. I chatted with my landlord, as i had read the Citizens info page on it; totally new to me is this system. I had read that you do not have to fill in all the boxes.. He thought you did. He went away then came back saying all the old wans fill in all the boxes as they are afraid if they do not someone else will! There are people standing I do not wish to support in any way but can i leave boxes blank please? Seems many here do not think you can safely!
    You can vote for as many candidates as you wish.

Put a clear 1 in the box for your preferred candidate.
    Put a clear 2 in the box for your next preferred candidate.

And so on. Or just put 1 in only one box for one candidate only and leave the rest.

Nobody can put any votes on your ballot paper only you, it is extremely well supervised.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 9,367 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ciarrai76

Graces7 wrote: »

You don't have to fill in every box. If there is only 1 person you want to vote for, you write in 1 in the box next to their name & that's it. If there's another person who you feel I've you want to vote for on that list out in 2, if that's what you want. No one has to fill in every box!

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Ciarrai76 wrote: »
    You don't have to fill in every box. If there is only 1 person you want to vote for, you write in 1 in the box next to their name & that's it. If there's another person who you feel I've you want to vote for on that list out in 2, if that's what you want. No one has to fill in every box!

oh THANK you!That is what I understood but my landlord and his friends all fill in all the boxes every time. So I can put THE LIST away now!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,113 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

You can vote for as many candidates as you wish.

Put a clear 1 in the box for your preferred candidate.
    Put a clear 2 in the box for your next preferred candidate.

And so on. Or just put 1 in only one box for one candidate only and leave the rest.

Nobody can put any votes on your ballot paper only you, it is extremely well supervised.

Also there's a bit more here about the whole thing

http://jasonomahony.ie/how-to-vote-properly/

Important bit is -
    If you fill in preferences, your second, third choices, your vote will keep going until it either helps elect someone or your preferences or the number of seats to be filled run out.

This means that if you are considering an independent or someone from a small party who is extremely unlikely to get elected you can give them a number 1 preference safe in the knowledge that you won't be wasting your vote, as when they get eliminated your vote will be transferred to your 2nd preference candidate.

You 100% don't have to fill out all the boxes and you really don't need to worry about anyone interfering with your vote. They are kept under lock and key

• Registered Users Posts: 3,877 ✭✭✭acequion

Hi. A still undecided voter here.What do people think about Brian Finnucane? I quite like the idea of supporting the AAA /PBP but I know absolutely nothing about this candidate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

I've met and listened to him a few times. He seems genuine in his desire to actually help people and he doesn't appear to be as militant or handcuff-ourselves-to-radiators-as-the-first-course-of-action as other supporters of AAA/PBP but he was involved somehow at the protest at KCC buildings in Tralee, 2(?) years ago.
    I liked him; he spoke sense and seems to have a balanced approach that doesn't involve blaming people with money for the problems of those who don't. I can't recall the solutions he offered to raise the finances but I don't think he was just 'get rid of this...get rid of that'. I don't think AAA/PBP deserve power (or would know what to do with it) but BF seemed like a guy who'd help if he could.

I'm not endorsing him or encouraging you to give him a vote but I'm just saying that he seemed reasonable and level-headed when I heard him.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,877 ✭✭✭acequion

I've met and listened to him a few times. He seems genuine in his desire to actually help people and he doesn't appear to be as militant or handcuff-ourselves-to-radiators-as-the-first-course-of-action as other supporters of AAA/PBP but he was involved somehow at the protest at KCC buildings in Tralee, 2(?) years ago.
    I liked him; he spoke sense and seems to have a balanced approach that doesn't involve blaming people with money for the problems of those who don't. I can't recall the solutions he offered to raise the finances but I don't think he was just 'get rid of this...get rid of that'. I don't think AAA/PBP deserve power (or would know what to do with it) but BF seemed like a guy who'd help if he could.

I'm not endorsing him or encouraging you to give him a vote but I'm just saying that he seemed reasonable and level-headed when I heard him.

Thanks a lot for that info lazybones32, it's very helpful. Not sure I agree though about them not deserving power. While I wouldn't be a rabid left and like to hear that BF is a reasonable person, I would like to see alternative thinkers getting a chance, because the traditional parties have in no way proved themselves deserving. My opinion.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

The most fundamental issue for any candidate in Kerry should be job creation yet it is so rarely spoke about-all each candidate focuses on is talking about increasing the dole/free stuff for people.
    Do even one of them even have a coherent/realistic plan for attracting any jobs into the county?

*long term jobs- not the few short term jobs that will be created (and given to the favourable contractors) when upgrading a road, etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

The most fundamental issue for any candidate in Kerry should be job creation yet it is so rarely spoke about-all each candidate focuses on is talking about increasing the dole/free stuff for people.
    Do even one of them even have a coherent/realistic plan for attracting any jobs into the county?

*long term jobs- not the few short term jobs that will be created (and given to the favourable contractors) when upgrading a road, etc

Jimmy Deenihan said there will be a factory coming to Tralee (only if we vote FG though?) next year and it will create 400 jobs and produce sunshine.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Jimmy Deenihan said there will be a factory coming to Tralee (only if we vote FG though?) next year and it will create 400 jobs and produce sunshine.

I think all that Jimmy has done for Kerry is played football

He used the line "A vote for me is a vote for North Kerry having a minister" in the last election,well that went well.

Apparently he was stuck in getting Star Wars to Kerry,maybe he might get them to open a factory in Tralee making Star War's action figures along with the sunshine :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

Yeah- so in reality noone!
    A collection of fairly awful candidates but I'd be more tempted to roll the dice with a member of one of the established parties.

On job creation- if we vote in 2 Healy Raes and Ferris then you might aswell forget it! Imagine the CEO/investor relations manager of a large multinational company attempting to do business with those boys- its very unliely to happen

• Registered Users Posts: 790 ✭✭✭phater phagan

I agree Poor Old - the only jobs that they seem interested in creating is their own. Roads in Kerry are awful, Public Services are sub-standard and you have to pay for most of them, property taxes are not being applied to improve conditions at all levels, and they only seem to be interested in their constituents whenever there is an election. They all have slogans - however, their slogan for one and all of them appears to be " We don't care, because we don't have to". But people keep electing them. That's Democracy, and I think that it is the best system, but we are all poorly served by them.