Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kerry candidates in GE 2016

• Registered Users Posts: 627 ✭✭✭kerryked

Danny gaining 3000 votes from michael, this really is amazing to watch

Fair play to them, they've played a blinder alright, the cute hoors :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

So that is Danny Healy Rae elected with 13,826 votes

Michael Healy Rae IND – 20,378 (elected 1st count)

Danny Healy Rae IND – 13,826 (+3,835 )(elected 2nd count)

Brendan Griffin FG– 10,381 (+707 )

Martin Ferris SF – 10,098 (+640)

John Brassil FF – 8,642(+486)

Jimmy Deenihan FG– 6,827 (+338)

Arthur Spring LAB- 5,011 (+198)

Norma Moriarty FF– 4,893 (+545)

Michael Pixie O’Gorman IND– 1,364 (+128)

Michael Fitzgerald GP– 1,050 (+39)

Brian Finucane PBP/AAA – 1,046 (+65)

Grace O’Donnell FG – 817 (+41)

Donal Corcoran RENUA- 769 (+53)

Mary Fitzgibbon IND – 690 (+55)

Kevin Murphy IND –491 (+27)

Henry Gaynor IND – 155 (+8)

If it finishes up the way its panning out at the moment, with 2HRs, Griffin, Ferris and Brassil, I don't think any of the losers can have any complaints.

As was mentioned previously, the other parties failed to react quickly enough when Danny announced his intention to run.

Think Arthur Spring vote was affected by a poor party performance nationally, Joan was very poor in the debates and in general.

Deenihan (probably) rested on his laurels a little bit. Hadn't seen him around canvassing at all, others have also said even his performance in listowel was very poor.

Will be interesting to see how it does pan it though, Deenihan isn't dead and buried just yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,113 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

kerryked wrote: »
    If it finishes up the way its panning out at the moment, with 2HRs, Griffin, Ferris and Brassil, I don't think any of the losers can have any complaints.

As was mentioned previously, the other parties failed to react quickly enough when Danny announced his intention to run.

Think Arthur Spring vote was affected by a poor party performance nationally, Joan was very poor in the debates and in general.

Deenihan (probably) rested on his laurels a little bit. Hadn't seen him around canvassing at all, others have also said even his performance in listowel was very poor.

Will be interesting to see how it does pan it though, Deenihan isn't dead and buried just yet.

Deenihan is dead and buried. None of the candidates who are going to get eliminated are going to transfer to him (or have sufficient numbers - O'Donnell) to enable him to catch the 3 ahead of him. Only thing of interest is what order the 3 of Brasil, Ferris and Griffin get accross the line.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭cyning

If Norma Moriarty is eliminated before Arthur Spring you would imagine Brassil will get in before Ferris. He should pick up massive transfers from her you would think.

1. Brendan Griffin FG– 10,520 (+139)

2. Martin Ferris SF – 10,214 (+116)

3. John Brassil FF – 8,719 (+77)

4. Jimmy Deenihan FG– 6,872 (+45)

5. Arthur Spring LAB- 5,036 (+25)

6. Norma Moriarty FF– 5,012(+119)

7. Michael Pixie O’Gorman IND– 1,380 (+16)

8. Michael Fitzgerald GP– 1,059 (+9)

9. Brian Finucane PBP/AAA – 1,058 (+12)

10. Grace O’Donnell FG – 827(+10)

11. Donal Corcoran RENUA- 780(+11)

12. Mary Fitzgibbon IND – 707 (+17)

13. Kevin Murphy IND – 505(+14)

14. Henry Gaynor IND – 158 (+3)

Returning Officer Padraig Burke has now announced he will eliminate Kevin Murphy and Henry Gaynor and this will make up count 4.
    This consists of 663 votes.

Following count five the remainder of the candidates stand as follows:
    After count five here is how the field stands:

1. Brendan Griffin FG– (+) 53 10661

2. Martin Ferris SF – (+) 43 10364

3. John Brassil FF – (+)193 8957

4. Jimmy Deenihan FG– (+) 43 6944

5. Arthur Spring LAB- (+) 26 5093

6. Norma Moriarty FF– (+) 49 5081

7. Michael Pixie O’Gorman IND– (+)42 1529

8. Brian Finucane PBP/AAA – (+)32 1161

9. Michael Fitzgerald GP– (+)38 1123

10. Donal Corcoran RENUA- (+) 85 886

11. Grace O’Donnell FG – (+) 18 854

Following count seven the remainder of the candidates stand as follows:
    After count seven – here is how the field stands….

1. Brendan Griffin FG– 10,999 (+127)

2. Martin Ferris SF – 10,490 (+72)

3. John Brassil FF – 9,137 (+132)

4. Jimmy Deenihan FG– 7,257 (+89)

5. Arthur Spring LAB- 5,356 (+75)

6. Norma Moriarty FF– 5,172 (+58)

7. Michael Pixie O’Gorman IND– 1,589 (+53)

8. Brian Finucane PBP/AAA – 1,261 (+92)

9. Michael Fitzgerald GP– 1,222 (+87)

Returning Officer Padraig Burke has now announced he will eliminate Michael Fitzgerald and the distribution of his votes will make up count 8.
    1,222 votes are to be distributed.

• Registered Users Posts: 577 ✭✭✭theaceofspies

Never heard such nonsense from the Irish 'media'. You would swear that a new broom is in. All Paddy has done is re-elect Fianna Fail(ure).
    NOTHING has changed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Pink Fairy

Never heard such nonsense from the Irish 'media'. You would swear that a new broom is in. All Paddy has done is re-elect Fianna Fail(ure).
    NOTHING has changed.

Fianna Fáil weren't in power last time, so something has changed!

Pink Fairy wrote: »
    Fianna Fáil weren't in power last time, so something has changed!

FF or FG - not much difference between them. Shure they'll make for a Grand Alliance though.

Until there's a third party option I'm afraid that's what we have.
    Independents and the like may come into play, but that's your lot.

Pink Fairy wrote: »
    Until there's a third party option I'm afraid that's what we have.
    Independents and the like may come into play, but that's your lot.

Well said. Unfortunately we are still going to end up though with one/or both FG/FF as the boss:eek: but if one listens to the 'media' the Third Kind are holding sway. FG/FF are smarter than the ordinary punter assumes though and will look for another lamb to the slaughter as the junior partner e.g. Green Party, Labour. Their Media Miffs are already presenting this message.
    It's Groundhog Day all over again. Paddy went far but not nearly far enough.

Following count eight the remainder of the candidates stand as follows:
    After count eight – here is how the field stands….

1. Martin Ferris SF – 11,722 (+1,139)

2. Brendan Griffin FG– 11,396 (+173)

3. John Brassil FF – 9,495 (+253)

4. Jimmy Deenihan FG– 7,630 (+304)

5. Arthur Spring LAB- 5,877 (+276)

6. Norma Moriarty FF– 5,392 (+140)

Returning Officer Padraig Burke has now announced he will eliminate Norma Moriarty and distribute her votes for count 10
    5,392 votes are to be distributed.

Apparently the Healy Rae's are doing a celebratory lap of North Kerry atm
    200 cars convey

Wouldn't like to be stuck behind that :D

Should see John Brassil picking up a nice number of votes with Norma Moroartys transfers now.

200 cars convey

Just saw the video of it!

https://www.facebook.com/Independent.ie/videos/10153998556443470/

Latest count

Brendan Griffin 12,545

Martin Ferris 12,184

John Brassil 11,955

Jimmy Deenihan 7,849

Arthur Spring 6139

All comes down to Springs votes now,Brassil picked up over 2k votes off Moriarty so she has more then played her part as a running partner,she done very well in all fairness as did Michael Pixie O Gorman

She did fantastically. You'd wonder what way it would have gone if Danny hadn't joined the race!

Brendan Griffin is elected

Martin Ferris and John Brassil are also elected without reaching the quota

Finished up

Brendan Griffin 14050

Martin Ferris 12964

John Brassil 12792

Jimmy Deenihan 9779

So that's it,all over at last

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

200 cars convey
    I heard something a while ago...some megaphone on a car/jeep/van.
    Brendan Griffin is elected

Martin Ferris and John Brassil are also elected without reaching the quota

Finished up

Brendan Griffin 14050

Martin Ferris 12964

John Brassil 12792

Jimmy Deenihan 9779

So that's it,all over at last

Fair play to you for posting the tallies.

Maybe the Civil War politics will finally end with FG/FF having to enter some sort of coalition. Am surprised Renua got 0 (and the Greens got 2) but that's democracy.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 9,367 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ciarrai76

200 cars convey

They drove through Manor retail park with a Garda escort, beeping & music blaring! Then on through Tralee! :o

• Registered Users Posts: 1,607 ✭✭✭cms88

I heard something a while ago...some megaphone on a car/jeep/van.

Fair play to you for posting the tallies.

Maybe the Civil War politics will finally end with FG/FF having to enter some sort of coalition. Am surprised Renua got 0 (and the Greens got 2) but that's democracy.

Was always going to be tough for Renua having just started up. But at least they gave it a go. Greens did well in local elections so getting one seat isn't that big of a surpirse. They actually seemed to go quite well all over the country

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Sad day for Kerry politics, we remain the Alabama of Ireland, although Alabama is likely to support Donald Trump a man of substance and belief. We got 3 Fianna Fail TD's (Healy-Rae = Fianna Fail) and Brendan Griffin a good hard decent worker and Ferris another man who sticks to what he believes in.

Ferris and Griffin are the only two TD's who deserved a seat. Deenihan should have resigned and a young fresh Fine Gael TD candidate ran.

Either way watch Irish bond yields skyrocket during the week and we will be back in a second bailout before Christmas.

Today was possibly the worst day for Kerry politics since the first shots were fired in the Civil War here.

Ciarrai76 wrote: »
    They drove through Manor retail park with a Garda escort, beeping & music blaring! Then on through Tralee! :o

If any of the major parties ran the same strategy as the 2 Healy Raes.......

Stinicker wrote: »
    Sad day for Kerry politics, we remain the Alabama of Ireland, although Alabama is likely to support Donald Trump a man of substance and belief. We got 3 Fianna Fail TD's (Healy-Rae = Fianna Fail) and Brendan Griffin a good hard decent worker and Ferris another man who sticks to what he believes in.

Ferris and Griffin are the only two TD's who deserved a seat. Deenihan should have resigned and a young fresh Fine Gael TD candidate ran.

Either way watch Irish bond yields skyrocket during the week and we will be back in a second bailout before Christmas.

Today was possibly the worst day for Kerry politics since the first shots were fired in the Civil War here.

"The whole worl's in a terrible state o' chassis"

FF aren't evil you know! John Brassil is new like most of their new TDs. Thank god we are rid of McEllistrim. Jackie Healy Rae may have been FF, but Michael and Danny certainly are not. I'm not a massive fan of parish pump politics, I'd prefer one of them than two but that is democracy. I'd have preferred any other candidate to Martin Ferris. But that's democracy and the county and country have elected who they wanted.

I would love to see a strong female candidate emerge for the next election though.

Who's likely to be co-opted into the two council seats I wonder?

I'm also very sorry to see Jimmy Deenihan lose his seat this way. He has been a good TD for North Kerry and it's not nice that he lost his seat with losing 48% of his vote.

Jeez, waited 14 hours for the first count yesterday..stopped watching for about 2 hours today and they finished it!

Fair play to all elected, tough on Deenihan but that's the way it goes - he has given a lot to Kerry politics over the years but I'm sure hell be happy to live on his cosy pension stress free from now on, more power to him.

As I said earlier, I think Spring suffered from a poor performance on a national level by Labour, think the writing was on the wall for him from the outset though.

They can all take down the posters now and hope they're not back out putting them up in a few weeks/months time.

Also thanks to kerrydude for the constant updates - much appreciated.

All we can do now is sit back and wait for the new motorway, airport, university and regional hospital to open down in Kilgarvan ;);)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

Ah here! Chicken licken (the sky is falling down!!!) looks like an optimist compared to you.
    I'm really sick of this "what must people think of us?!" attitude. The H-R's were on RTE Sat. morning, I was told, and said that with all the talk of National problems, they are going to Dublin to fight the corner of the people who elected them and tonight, they are acknowledging those people. You might see it as shameful or uncivilised but that's democracy.