Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General MMA Chat/News mk2

• Registered Users Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Gamebred wrote: »
    Norman Parke posted on FB hes been cut by the ufc,said its no april fools joke,bad move by the ufc I think hes a good journeyman to have around.

He's been unlucky.

He's a bit of twat outside the octagon, but in fairness to the bloke he should have been 6-1 at one stage as he has been on the wrong end of two complete robberies in Brazil (vs Trinaldo and Santos).

That said, the record books show he's 1-3 in his last four fights so the way the UFC are making cuts in stacked divisions it's no surprise to see him get his papers. His fights are never that great to watch either with 8 of his 9 UFC fights going the distance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

TBH as the only UFC fighter from the north I wanted to like him but always found it a bit difficult. I think it was from TUF when he cried like a little child because he thought he was getting booted for using a phone. I never really enjoyed watching his fights either and more recently the ticket touting...sorry selling for a friend of his, crap just made me think he was a bit of a tool.

I thought he came across well enough in interviews and stuff but I always got the impression he wasn't overly liked by other fighters/ufc staff

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Im indifferent on it,I know divisions are stacked but you'd think they'd keep him round to fill undercard slots,with rosholt gone maybe their targeting boring fighters now I enjoyed his fight in Dublin,Bamma will be delighted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Im indifferent on it,I know divisions are stacked but you'd think they'd keep him round to fill undercard slots,with rosholt gone maybe their targeting boring fighters now I enjoyed his fight in Dublin,Bamma will be delighted.

I'd say it will be Cage Warriors or WSOF.

I know cagewarriors is coming back but ill believe it when It with my own eyes,bamma in june in dublin would suit him.

Lads, do ya remember way back in this topic before Jon Jones got busted and jailed for drag racing, before there were any UFC 200 announcments and before when Stormin Norman still had a job this was the topic .....
    Depp wrote: »
    agreed! more pictures of Miesha and PVZ
    I vote for more Miesha.

well ahem...

https://twitter.com/BESTFlGHTS/status/715985827029991425

• Registered Users Posts: 5,885 ✭✭✭stephenl15

So Parke gets released while cheating Gleison Tibau fights on in the UFC. Not impressed

• Registered Users Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

weemcd wrote: »
    Pettis v Barboza

Of course it's this.

Barboza is my favourite fighter at the mo (other than Rumble)

His fight with Paul Felder was probably my top fight of 2015.

CONFIRMED

The great bj penn social media spammer is reporting Cormier is out injured of the Jones fight,says its not an april fools joke,

https://twitter.com/arielhelwani/status/716090066238619648

• Registered Users Posts: 39,382 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

My bet is he was celebrating MMA being legalised in New York and slipped a banana skin.
    They won't know how long he is out injured until they've set a date for NYC.

Mellor wrote: »
    My bet is he was celebrating MMA being legalised in New York and slipped a banana skin.
    They won't know how long he is out injured until they've set a date for NYC.

I predicted an ''injury'' then a move to ufc 200 a few weeks ago,one of us will be right,kind of hope rumble steps in.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

callaway92 wrote: »
    Of course it's this.

Barboza is my favourite fighter at the mo (other than Rumble)

His fight with Paul Felder was probably my top fight of 2015.

Had the pleasure of seeing him fight El Cucey live. Amazing fight.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,735 ✭✭✭ASOT

I actually really really dislike Cormier, and this just ruined my Saturday. Rumble v Jones or Gus/Jones 2 please.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

Depends on how bad the injury is, but I don't think they'll find a replacement and will simply move the fight to 200. It would be some addition to that card and unless DC is out for a long time, the MSG card is too long a wait.

The longer they wait the more the chance of Jones ending up behind bars.

ASOT wrote: »
    I actually really really dislike Cormier, and this just ruined my Saturday. Rumble v Jones or Gus/Jones 2 please.

I don't think a Rumble or Gus match will take place. Jones is not renouned for taking late notice replacements and I really can't see him taking a fight against anyone but DC to get his belt back.

BBBBBBBOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO DC BBBBOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

An "injury" to make sure he keeps his paper belt a bit longer :mad:

Devastator wrote: »
    I don't think a Rumble or Gus match will take place. Jones is not renouned for taking late notice replacements and I really can't see him taking a fight against anyone but DC to get his belt back.

BBBBBBBOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO DC BBBBOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

An "injury" to make sure he keeps his paper belt a bit longer :mad:

Yeah I compleatly agree, I suppose I was just being hopeful :( I'm fairly relieved now I'm in Vegas the weekend after this we were originally going to move our flights back a week for it thank **** we didn't.

Jones/Cormier but it would be a toss up with Wonderboy/Rory.... The appeal of seeing Cormier lose "his" belt & cry is to much to miss.

Sorry lads I jinxed it :(

Yeah I compleatly agree, I suppose I was just being hopeful :( I'm fairly relieved now I'm in Vegas the weekend after this we were originally going to move our flights back a week for it thank **** we didn't.
    Sorry lads I jinxed it :(

nothing wrong with wishful thinking dude....who wouldn't want to see another Jones Gus war? Lucky over your holiday, that would have been a major sickner if you had have changed and then this happens.

At least you're admitting your own downfalls and on behalf of the forum and DC haters everywhere......

BBBBBBBBBBBBBOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO ASOT BBBBBBBOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO :pac:

nothing wrong with wishful thinking dude....who wouldn't want to see another Jones Gus war? Lucky over your holiday, that would have been a major sickner if you had have changed and then this happens.

At least you're admitting your own downfalls and on behalf of the forum and DC haters everywhere......

BBBBBBBBBBBBBOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO ASOT BBBBBBBOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO :pac:

Right in the middle of ufc 197 and Kahn/Canelo, staying in the MGM so hopefully bump into a few fighters somewhere.

Jones still hasn't been officially pulled from the card so hopefully he gets a fight.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

Right in the middle of ufc 197 and Kahn/Canelo, staying in the MGM so hopefully bump into a few fighters somewhere.

Jones still hasn't been officially pulled from the card so hopefully he gets a fight.

Anyone who takes that fight on such short notice like that must have a death wish.

Are you a Tyson fan? He's been doing his undisputed show in a comedy club in the MGM. Its on various dates over a month or two. I went to see it when I was over at ufc196. Its good, bit wacky and weird but if you've seen the dvd(think it was out few years ago) its probably mostly the same show. This is a pic I took that night, I was sitting about 10 feet away from him but 1/2 stuck behind a pillar which blocked off part of the stage :rolleyes:

12803285_1152521111425937_7632357420627590879_n.jpg?oh=050281a3981b77be7381cebf7743a879&oe=5778FCF5

• Registered Users Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

John_D80 wrote: »
    Anyone who takes that fight on such short notice like that must have a death wish.

I'd take it in a flash and my rib is still fecked! The cut would suck to make LW though I might have to get Jones to move up to HW.

Are you a Tyson fan? He's been doing his undisputed show in a comedy club in the MGM. Its on various dates over a month or two. I went to see it when I was over at ufc196. Its good, bit wacky and weird but if you've seen the dvd(think it was out few years ago) its probably mostly the same show. This is a pic I took that night, I was sitting about 10 feet away from him but 1/2 stuck behind a pillar which blocked off part of the stage :rolleyes:

12803285_1152521111425937_7632357420627590879_n.jpg?oh=050281a3981b77be7381cebf7743a879&oe=5778FCF5

Gonna check it out I love Tyson, cheers man!

I found tickets bought through mgm website directly were a bit cheaper than going through the ticketmaster direct link. The club is TINY so seats at the very back are probably no more than 40/50 feet from the stage and would have a great view. Most of the club is small 2 seater tables with some booth type tables around the back. On the seating chart it looks big but the seats at very back would still be great. I tried to get close to the stage & felt bit screwed by the pillar.

Sorted cheers, there's 16 of us going I'm sure a few will want to go, il be going anyway. 59$ isn't to steep either.

Anyone any other suggestions of things out of the ordinary or the best places to go? Iv never been before.

Sorted cheers, there's 16 of us going I'm sure a few will want to go, il be going anyway. 59$ isn't to steep either.

Anyone any other suggestions of things out of the ordinary or the best places to go? Iv never been before.

16 of you? I should be looking some comission of Tyson now :pac:

There is so much to do its hard to even think where to start. Its a mad place with so many weird and wonderful things going on. As I was over for UFC I spent most of my time doing fight related things but when I was there in Dec I ended up 1 of the nights at a playboy modelling contest(not participating :P) which ended with some country &western gig with apparently some big C&W star. Completely unexpected and out of the blue :D

Jones/Cormier but it would be a toss up with Wonderboy/Rory.... The appeal of seeing Cormier lose "his" belt & cry is to much to miss.

Magpie jinxing it :pac:

DC clinging onto that fake belt,he tried to get him locked up for revving his engine now hes faking and injury Ha

• Registered Users Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

Vegas is unreal. I'm gonna head back there for UFC 200 hopefully.

It really is like a different city everytime you go because of the huge differences in the weather and there is so much to do and so many of the main attractions change constantly.

As a general rule though, if its for show's and attractions, you wanna be around the strip, but if you're partying and wanna go wild head downtown around Fremont Street. Downtown casino's are way more laid back as well if you are really keen on spending time gambling.

Firing ranges are great craic during the day if ye dont wanna hammer the beer early on. For a group of guys that size, ye would get some serious discounts from the shooting ranges if thats yere thing! Tell them ye are a stag party and at least one of ye will get to shoot for free.

16 of you? I should be looking some comission of Tyson now :pac:

There is so much to do its hard to even think where to start. Its a mad place with so many weird and wonderful things going on. As I was over for UFC I spent most of my time doing fight related things but when I was there in Dec I ended up 1 of the nights at a playboy modelling contest(not participating :P) which ended with some country &western gig with apparently some big C&W star. Completely unexpected and out of the blue :D

Yeah I'm one of these random people I'm actually afraid of what il get up to, il have a wander off and end up back two days later haha absolutely dying to go! Staying in the Signature, the mgm condos got the hotel and flights for 886e which wasn't bad at all.
    Magpie jinxing it :pac:

DC clinging onto that fake belt,he tried to get him locked up for revving his engine now hes faking and injury Ha

If Wonderboy/Rory fails somehow there's going to be a warrant out for yourself.