Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool v Manchester United, k/o 14.05 Jan 17th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

It's a sad state of affairs when the best players people can offer up in a United and Liverpool thread have had average at best seasons and will not bein the running for POTY.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,948 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Peist2007 wrote: »
    Havent heard anything about that. He's the real deal. Look back on this game in 5 years and see where half of the numpties are from both sides. Martial will be right at the top, whether that is United or elsewhere. Apologies if that opinion has blown a little sand into your vagina, purely unintentional.

So you've changed your statement again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,502 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

blueser wrote: »
    "Rooney must be pulling his hair out"; a career on stage awaits you Mr Souness!

It's grand. He can afford more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Canadel

SeanJ09 wrote: »
    Been really disappointed with Herrera so far,he has given away the ball on so many occassions.
    He is lightweight, plain and simple. Said it after the Newcastle game too when there were complaints from Utd fans that he was taken off and Fellani kept on. He can't even impose himself on a game like this with arguably the best defensive mid in the league beside him in Schneiderlinn, and Fellani giving support. Luxury player just like his Spanish counterpart.
    8-10 wrote: »
    Lingard is struggling to get involved.
    Genuinely would not know he was playing. Didn't hear his name mentioned once after the first few minutes of the match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

I didnt say Martial is the best player on the pitch today. But he is clearly the best player on the pitch. Which is what is said.

Maybe I'm misinterpreting this. but you're effectively saying a guy with 23 career goals is a better player than one of the best goalkeepers in the world?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭MightyMandarin

Havent heard anything about that. He's the real deal. Look back on this game in 5 years and see where half of the numpties are from both sides. Martial will be right at the top, whether that is United or elsewhere. Apologies if that opinion has blown a little sand into your vagina, purely unintentional.

And there we have it folks, we've finally reached Liverpool v United level of ****posting. Great job Peist2007!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,217 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Lingard is too lightweight

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,480 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Second half will be amazing !
    Klopp will fix it
    Can see us going for them big time
    They're there for the taking

• Registered Users Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭passremarkable

Early 2nd half goal perhaps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,366 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Canadel wrote: »

Genuinely would not know he was playing. Didn't hear his name mentioned once after the first few minutes of the match.

Mata or Memphis for him is the obvious change

Lallana avoids situations due to fear
    Cowardly player
    Afraid to miss, so avoids getting in the box

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Hope the entertainment level increases a bit this half.
    Surely it can't get much worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭MightyMandarin

Lallana avoids situations due to fear
    Cowardly player
    Afraid to miss, so avoids getting in the box

I'd get Ibe on soon. At least he doesn't play with fear of making mistakes.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

We.re as bad taking corners as we are at defending them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Peist2007

monkey9 wrote: »
    This is one of the worst backtracks i've seen on Boards. :pac:

This is what i said
    Martial is the best player on the pitch by a distance

And here is me "backtracking"
    I didnt say Martial is the best player on the pitch today. But he is clearly the best player on the pitch. Which is what is said.

Worst "backtracks" ever you say. What a sheltered little life you lead ;)

Our crosses are weird

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

its quite simple,liverpool wil fcuk up and simply allow utd in with a easy chance

martyos121 wrote: »
    Haha this is properly funny tbh.

Heartwarming to find a United fan with a sense of humour.

Properly funny? Take a step back good man, our opinions differ. It is not a world shattering event.

Liverpool so weak
    They win ball back twice
    But they lose it before getting it under control with a tidy pass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Canadel

I have a feeling that people who don't support Man Utd couldn't really give a fiddlers about how they play.
    I disagree. They have become a burden to watch. Uninspiring, negative, tentative football -Nobody wants to watch that, no matter how satisfying it is for people to see Utd fall further and further in stature. It's as much the lack of quality of the players as it is the tactics of the manager. And considering the manager assembled the team entirely himself, the blame lies entirely with him. The post below is what I mean-
    As for Man U I'm enjoying their continued flat performances as much as any non fan so more of the same in the second half will do fine I suppose but some of their football borderline hurts the eyes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭ankles

United not a functioning unit at all. Back line pulled all over the place, might be better now with (shock horror!) a left back at left back and a right back at right back. No connection with the forward line, who are getting the occasional long ball punt.

But my god, the attacking players just seem to be playing not just on different wavelengths but different pitches. What do they work on in training? They just don't look like crafting a chance between them at all. Perhaps Martial could do something on his own to create or score but it's an awful display apart from that.

Interesting also that Van Gaal seems to have effectively abandoned the possession game. I know direct suits against Klopp's tactics but even so, this is miles away from the stagnant football of the last few months. Not better, just different rubbish. But it makes me wonder if LVG is just marking time til the summer/sack, whichever comes first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

This is what i said

And here is me "backtracking"

Worst "backtracks" ever you say. What a sheltered little life you lead ;)

Someone take the shovel off this fella.

Brilliant save from the best player on the pitch.

Good save, great burst by Can

Unlucky. de Gea spread himself well and it paid off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

its quite simple,liverpool wil fcuk up and simply allow utd in with a easy chance

They'll need to score an OG because that's the only way I can see United score here. Should have been 1-0 to Liverpool there.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭ParkRunner

Never fancy Rooney on a 1 on 1, his pace seems to be gone!

monkey9 wrote: »
    Someone take the shovel off this fella.

Basic. English.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Mental Kolo

He's forgetting which Toure he is!

Kolo you crazy fecker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,692 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Kolo is beast

Means nothing if we can't get a goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,363 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

None of this matters without a goal.

Toure's shot fierce but blocked within feet of it leaving his foot.
    Was on target too

I'd love to be able to approach life in the same manner that Kolo does football.

We are all over the place. Liverpool first to every ball and we can't get the pass the ball at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,388 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

We need a burst of the Kolo song after that :D

Weak cross Lallana

Unlucky and better from United

Well at least the game has livened up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Clattened.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭Ordinary man

How is lucas not booked yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

Well at least the game has livened up

Game was far from boring for the past 60min

This game needs Pirlo and Sterling Lite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,692 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Milner worst player on the pitch today (in case that wasn't implied) since young went off.

Another skyward shot.

What a tackle that was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Martial leading the case for the divers union.

Herrera should've been booked for that, blatant dive.