Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boards outage megathread

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,617 ✭✭✭Farmer Ed

Well,

How we doing?

How did you survive without boards.ie to vent or chat with people?

Any difference in your lifestyle :P

Also, If I was an admin, id check the prison and dispute forums to see who got pissed off!

I heard of a couple of Latvian Guys down around the cork area who used to boast after a few drinks about their exploits at hacking and the like. They even boasted about getting a visit from the Guards, but nothing was ever proven. Maybe it was just the drink talking? But last I heard they were working with an IT company that does a bit of work for some pretty big businesses.

I'm not saying it might be them, but It seems like a very strange thing to go boasting about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭ponzook

Boards should really invest in their I.T. Ddos attacks should be picked up their systems by default, blocked and not affect the site whatever. Or a decent system administrator would have it fixed in 5 minute. It's an everyday occurance for most companies.

• Registered Users Posts: 632 ✭✭✭VampiricPadraig

py2006 wrote: »
    All work and no Boards makes py2006 something something something...

Go crazy?

(Also having the Cloud2Butt extension install and then seeing the CloudFlare page makes you seem like a 15 yo)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,847 ✭✭✭py2006

Go crazy?

Don't mind if I dooooo

• Registered Users Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I traveled the world, learnt 10 new languages, wrote a novel and got married!!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,160 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

I only realised something was wrong this morning, and by that time it was basically over tbh.

Feel like I missed out, but it was one hell of a weekend!

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Threadz about the great outage of Jan 2016 have been merged.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

I blame the Manitowoc sheriff dept

• Registered Users Posts: 761 ✭✭✭youreadthat

Can I stop masturbating yet?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

• Registered Users Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭hairyslug

You'll see a bump in the number of children born in 9 months time

• Registered Users Posts: 488 ✭✭The Sun King

Obvious false flag is obvious. Open your eyes people. Planet Nibiru is almost here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Slow but working. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

RayM wrote: »
    I was really bored clicking F5 all day, so I started taking heroin. Turns out it's not addictive at all. Or dangerous. I mean, if it was dangerous, they'd put a health warning on it. It stops the baby crawling across the ceiling.

Thanks, ddossers!

Even though Boards is back, I don't think I'll bother quitting the heroin. I stopped taking it for a while there, but I felt really shaky and sick. As soon as I took some more, I felt grand again. It's clearly good for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,700 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

Still very dodgy for me. It's something at least.

I missed boards, had nothing but Facebook to wallow in procrastination.
    Reddit looks so confusing, and populated by bitter outcasts, at least on that boards thread. Can't figure the rest, I can't make out what's just links, what's discussion, where is what and what the hell is there.

Can't use boards at work though, so didn't affect my productivity.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

#jesuisboards

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,868 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Using Boards over the last few days feels like I've been transported 20+ years into the past back to my old dial-up days.

".... connecting.... connecting...." etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,847 ✭✭✭py2006

• Registered Users Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Well at least I had the twitter site to keep me entertained the last couple of days.

Still slow enough though on my Windows Phone and Android Tablet. Will the authentication page be a new feature when first opening the site?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭misstearheus

Dipping in and out of the Twitter page for the past couple of days I now wonder what ye'all look like. :o:o:D

I can just about tolerate something being down because, sh1t happens, and well, really there's no choice in the matter. But what I'm having difficulty with is the snail-pace-loading, I just have zero zero patience for it. Ya get so spoiled when something loads real fast real good. I'd nearly prefer the Site to be closed down fully for a whole week or something and get fixed right sorted fully in 1 fell swoop, but the World would probably end if the Site was closed down for a few days. :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :pac: :pac:

/fcukhackersanyway

• Registered Users Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Dubl07

Dipping in and out of the Twitter page for the past couple of days I now wonder what ye'all look like. :o:o:D

I can just about tolerate something being down because, sh1t happens, and well, really there's no choice in the matter. But what I'm having difficulty with is the snail-pace-loading, I just have zero zero patience for it. Ya get so spoiled when something loads real fast real good. I'd nearly prefer the Site to be closed down fully for a whole week or something and get fixed right sorted fully in 1 fell swoop, but the World would probably end if the Site was closed down for a few days. :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :pac: :pac:

/fcukhackersanyway

Yep. 5 seconds per the message is nonsense. It's more like 25 if I'm lucky and given that I currently seem to have the attention span of a gnat I'll have navigated away well before the new page comes up. Excruciatingly slow. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Boards is getting all fancy, they had a bouncer on the door when I tried to get in earlier. The fecker wouldn't let me in, so I had to climb in the jacks window.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

*smells the fresh paint

• Registered Users Posts: 29,204 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Not only slow on initial opening..... is anyone else finding it glacially slooooowwwww trying to load any page or open a thread?

Think I preferred it when it was down altogether, this is going to give me a stress heart attack before long!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭pudzey101

just goes to show how much you should all appreciate boards :( half of you wouldn't panic as much if pornhub was down ha ha ha ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

and INHALING.

Ahhhh.......:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

It's blazin' fast for me; faster than before Armageddon.

Could ye all stay off boards for the foreseeable future.
    Thank You

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

We shall recover and create new threads!

Release the Kneemos!!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,976 ✭✭✭dodzy

Slowly....but surely......it's happening 🚀

• Registered Users Posts: 9,068 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Still very dodgy for me. It's something at least.

I missed boards, had nothing but Facebook to wallow in procrastination.
    Reddit looks so confusing, and populated by bitter outcasts, at least on that boards thread. Can't figure the rest, I can't make out what's just links, what's discussion, where is what and what the hell is there.

Can't use boards at work though, so didn't affect my productivity.

Reddit is probably the best site around.