Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chasing times

Options
  • 20-01-2016 3:47pm
    Registered Users Posts: 4

Long time lurker here. I've been following a few of the training logs with interest and feel like I could really benefit from having one of my own.

My big goal at the moment is a sub 20 5k.
    My current PB is close but I feel like I'm stuck in a rut and haven't seen much improvements in the past 6 months or so.

Background
    30 year old female runner, I've been running regularly for about 4 years and joined the local club about 2 years ago. I've noticed some big improvements since I joined the club and started doing regular speed sessions but the improvements have stalled in the past few months.

Current PBs
    1 mile 5:59
    5k 20:20
    10k 44:05
    HM 1:47:10
    Marathon 3:59:20

Training
    I currently run about 20-25 mpw, comprising:
    An interval session with the club
    A tempo run (3 x 1 mile or 20 mins continuous or similar)
    A long slow run (8 miles)
    Two easy runs of 40 mins, one with 4 x 15 second hill reps

Based on my current PBs I think I'm lacking in endurance so will try and increase my mileage.
    I would appreciate any other advice in relation to my training and how to improve my 5k time.
    I really want to crack the sub 20 this year! :)

Thanks for reading.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Best of luck with the log R^2 2016. The only thing that strikes me is what you pointed out yourself.....the tail off. Perhaps there is a tale in the Marathon time.

Enjoy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b