Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you wear clothing and footwear with Union Jack tags?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

I've read plenty of your posts. You may not post as regularly as some of the other culprits on the forum, but when you do your view is as biased as the rest.

Assumptions and leaps? The very thing you were engaging in only one or two posts ago?

Everything represents something different for everyone. Cutting off a UJ may be archaic to you, but some associate it with something more sinister and they have very good reason to. If they enjoy other aspects of British culture then fair play, it's not hypocritical as they are in no way related, just as ethos and ideals of Bohemians FC is in no way related to the Irish establishment etc.
    I agree - symbols are what you imbue them with. I can't understand why you'd deem me like the usual suspects who go on about how we should doff our caps to the British establishment and we were better off under British rule and shur the troubles were all the IRA - I despise those kinds of posts and regularly challenge them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Nodin wrote: »
    many go under the impression the Empire was a good thing - some sort of benevolent mission.

Like he who called you an 'old fart' there who you'd think fell out of 19th Century Punch Magazine and landed in the 21st Century.

'YouGov found 44 per cent were proud of Britain’s history of colonialism'. That includes mass murder, slavery, concentration camps, policies that caused millions of deaths by famines, theft or resources, theft of precious artefacts etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

Azalea wrote: »
    I agree - symbols are what you imbue them with. I can't understand why you'd deem me like the usual suspects who go on about how we should doff our caps to the British establishment and we were better off under British rule and shur the troubles were all the IRA - I despise those kinds of posts and regularly challenge them.

Well from what I can remember of you posting on similar topics it certainly seemed that way, but if it's not the case then fair enough. But as for this thread, you were certainly trying to convey some hypocrisy of following an English team and having a dislike for the UJ. Why bother, if you claim you despise the sentiment the OP was clearing engaging in, instead of taking issue with that stereotypical puerile?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

I would sooner walk around with a swastika on me than the union flag. No self-respecting Irishman would dress himself in the butcher's apron.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I would sooner walk around with a swastika on me than the union flag.

I bet you would...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭Hamhide

I bought my brother a really nice hoodie for xmas a few years back from txmaxx. he opened his prezzie, huge smiles and thanks, opened it to wear and had a union jack on the inside, unnoticeable if u wear in as it was on the inside back. never seen him wear it ever.

Well from what I can remember of you posting on similar topics it certainly seemed that way, but if it's not the case then fair enough.
    No I think you might have me confused with someone else.
    But as for this thread, you were certainly trying to convey some hypocrisy of following an English team and having a dislike for the UJ. Why bother, if you claim you despise the sentiment the OP was clearing engaging in, instead of taking issue with that stereotypical puerile?
    I don't simply mean not liking the union flag, I mean the likes of buying British jeans no problem, but then cutting off the tiny union flags. It doesn't mean I also subscribe to the self loathing, neo unionist stuff.

I didn't even take notice of the OP as they were obviously just trolling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Like he who called you an 'old fart' there who you'd think fell out of 19th Century Punch Magazine and landed in the 21st Century.

'YouGov found 44 per cent were proud of Britain’s history of colonialism'. That includes mass murder, slavery, concentration camps, policies that caused millions of deaths by famines, theft or resources, theft of precious artefacts etc etc.

Birds of a feather

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

I would sooner walk around with a swastika on me than the union flag. No self-respecting Irishman would dress himself in the butcher's apron.

Simultaneously the most idiotic and depressing statement I've read on these boards all year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

davedanon wrote: »
    Simultaneously the most idiotic and depressing statement I've read on these boards all year.

You should see his other posts...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,219 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

Wouldn't wear any item of clothing with a Union Jack or American flag on it.

Those flags purport to be symbols of freedom but have brought nothing but death and destruction to millions of people in countries they've invaded.

Not for me, but if other folk want to wear it then that's their choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,271 ✭✭✭TireeTerror

Wouldn't wear any item of clothing with a Union Jack or American flag on it.

Those flags purport to be symbols of freedom but have brought nothing but death and destruction to millions of people in countries they've invaded.

Not for me, but if other folk want to wear it then that's their choice.

I wouldnt wear anything with the tri-colour on it, every time I see one of those horrid vile flags I want to tear it down. I can hardly sleep at night worrying about it.

I have often had friends round and we burn the tri-colour and stamp on it and sometimes we even spit on it.

My gang of burglars specifically target any property flying a tri-colour, we feel the inhabitants deserve to suffer.

Birds of a feather

You and Lordsutch is it Fred?

Anything at all critical to say about the brutal past the of British empire?

No?

Nah, didn't think so.

You should count yourself lucky your country isn't bankrupt from paying reparations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I wouldnt wear anything with the tri-colour on it, every time I see one of those horrid vile flags I want to tear it down. I can hardly sleep at night worrying about it.

I have often had friends round and we burn the tri-colour and stamp on it and sometimes we even spit on it.

My gang of burglars specifically target any property flying a tri-colour, we feel the inhabitants deserve to suffer.

Why?

You need help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Pink Fairy

You need help.

No, there's quite a few in his gang, he doesn't need any more joiners. You could always start your own gang of burglars and target a different area.
    Ye could meet up and plan heists and compare who has the biggest collection of stolen tricolours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,876 ✭✭✭✭bear1

And how is the shankill road these days?

Btw you're talking some amount of bollocks that id nearly ask you to to apply as the character of Richie in a new reformed bottom type show.

We all live in the British Isles. ANyway having a problem with the Union Jack on a piece of clothing, such as Reebok, is a complete and utter moron.

A flag actually represents nothing worthwhile. Its just a symbol of division between humanity.

Evening feeling national pride is encouraging division.

Having said all that Im Scottish and I made sure I have Scottish flags on my number plate and I have a Saltire flying high too!

You just beat yourself in your own argument.

National pride doesn't encourage division. Why would bring proud of being Irish cause a problem between me and say Botswanans?

Being 'pro' one thing doesn't make you 'anti' another.

moleyv wrote: »
    It's the union flag (not jack), unless displayed on a boat.
    And anyway, can't the Union Jack only be worn at sea? :pac:
    LordSutch wrote: »
    You are correct.

I was totally aware of the terminology (union Jack Vs Union flag), but for the purposes of this thread I chose to use Union Jack, simply because the majority of posters on here wouldn't even know or care about such things :))

This distinction is a myth, which for some reason is widely propagated by the John Bull types who feel a rush of erudition when they tell us their amazing "fact". The 'Union Jack' is a correct term for the flag, on both land and sea. Please read:

Union Jack or Union Flag

And a recent letter to The Irish Times correcting some guy who claimed the term "Union Jack" in only correctly used at sea:

Protest over flags

"The use of both designations – “Union Jack” and “Union Flag” – for our national flag afloat and ashore is now so well-established that the two terms must be considered as interchangeable.
    The Flag Institute is clear that “Union Jack” and “Union Flag” enjoy equal validity as designations of the national flag of the United Kingdom afloat and ashore in both formal and informal contexts."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Dante

Fairly sure its on my Rangers jersey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

It's probably just below the Swastika on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

It's probably just below the Swastika on it.

And to the left of the horns.

That'll be an antique soon and worth a few quid seeing as the club folded and the tribute act are now taking their place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Anesthetize

I have a Stone Roses t-shirt with a Union Jack design on it. Nobody has ever said a thing to me.

A lot of people also tend to forget that Ireland is represented on the flag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Darkest Horse

I have a Stone Roses t-shirt with a Union Jack design on it. Nobody has ever said a thing to me.

That's fine, it doesn't mean it stands for anything Irish. The Protestant community is represented through the orange colour on the tri colour but I don't see that appeasing any northern unionists.

No, but it is funny when you see Orange Order-hating idiots waving the tricolour :)

The Orange Order are a hate filled sectarian and anti-Irish organisation similar in nature to the likes of the KKK.

They're a bunch of pompous cunts alright. Wannabe 'RA boys are just as bad though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,744 ✭✭✭kleefarr

The orange order (which deserves to be hated - after all, that's what it does) does not recognise the tricolour as being in any way representative of itself, so I don't see any irony.

Azalea wrote: »
    The orange order.

A bunch of trolls if ever there was one. When the Dublin and Wicklow L.O.L. laid a poppy wreath at Mount Street Bridge they couldn't just be quietly dignified about it - nope they had to fling their **** all over the place using it as an opportunity to attack the memory and legacy of the rebels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,854 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    The same idiots getting on to probably wearing a Liverpool or Man United jersey.

The same old tired and ****e argument.

A bunch of trolls if ever there was one. When the Dublin and Wicklow L.O.L. laid a poppy wreath at Mount Street Bridge they couldn't just be quietly dignified about it - nope they had to fling their **** all over the place using it as an opportunity to attack the memory and legacy of the rebels.
    Man, there is some deliverance sh-t going on there...

You and Lordsutch is it Fred?

Anything at all critical to say about the brutal past the of British empire?

No?

Nah, didn't think so.

You should count yourself lucky your country isn't bankrupt from paying reparations.

This is a thread about the union flag appearing on articles of clothing, but as usual, any mention of Britain and you and the other little irelander come out with your usual bollocks.

That is some serious chip on your shoulder there.

Yep, I'm the one with a chip on my shoulder yet you're the Englishman who'd like to see Ireland back under British rule. Remarkable levels of psychological projection, and cognitive dissonance really.

This is a thread about the union flag appearing on articles of clothing, but as usual, any mention of Britain and you and the other little irelander come out with your usual bollocks.

No it's not. It's clearly aimed at sneering at "little irelanders". Did you even read the opening post or do you just read what you want to read? And as usual, your post is dripping with irony

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

In fairness most British people are ashamed of the colonial past but the people on mainland Britain aren't the ones responsible.

steddyeddy wrote: »
    In fairness most British people are ashamed of the colonial past but the people on mainland Britain aren't the ones responsible.

Who said they were?

A few people have chastised me for donning such apparel. I honestly have no idea why.

So what if my Reebok shoes and jacket have a little UJ flag on them? Who cares?

People have actually got aggressive over it! I've been called a Tan cnut and been told to fcuk off back to England and suckle on the queen's titties.

Any other people deal with such morons?:rolleyes:

I'm not a boat, so no can not display the Union Jack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Who said they were?

I live here and most educated people I know think it was something to leave behind. I think too many people take the unionists views as somehow the norm for Britain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,271 ✭✭✭TireeTerror

That'll be an antique soon and worth a few quid seeing as the club folded and the tribute act are now taking their place.

In only a few months they will be smashing the granny out of your mob just like Ross County did! hoho what a shower of useless goons.

steddyeddy wrote: »
    I live here and most educated people I know think it was something to leave behind. I think too many people take the unionists views as somehow the norm for Britain.

What was "something to leave behind"?

I don't think any person takes the view that the unionist voice is representative of the views of the common man in Britain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Whitewinged

The union jack is a mixture of three flags St George for England, St Andrew for Scotland and St Patrick for Ireland. It was meant to symbolise 3 countries under 1 sovereign. That is why many people would find it offensive as Ireland did not wish to be represented or recognised under this soverign.

Someone mentioned the Irish Flag. The green represents older gaelic and anglo norman and the orange represents the protestant supporters of william of orange. The white stands for a "lasting truce between the orange and the green" so basically the white stands for peace.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Niemoj

Bear the flag of a foreign nation?

Definitely not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,223 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

We should all adorn the Union flag during the 1916 commemorations to show the world how we have moved on as a nation.

Yep, I'm the one with a chip on my shoulder yet you're the Englishman who'd like to see Ireland back under British rule. Remarkable levels of psychological projection, and cognitive dissonance really.

More chips than an entire Intel factory.

And there's me thinking that you "don't care what some Brit says".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,761 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Classic stuff lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

duckcfc wrote: »
    Bought 3 pairs of Lee cooper combats for work from sports direct. Cheap as chips, good fit and not bad quality and perfect for work. Soon as they arrived, noticed the tag on the back inside had a union jack. Got the scissors out, snipped of and threw in the fire. It was a choice between the fire or bin!

That's just plain weird. Did you give the lee coopers (jeans) a damn fine thrashing as well? (I'm picturing you basil faulty style thrashing his car)

Anyway noticed the better half bought some Irish cheddar cheese with a small tricolour on the packaging. I'm leaving work early today to go home and attack that cheese with a baseball bat. That cheese obviously represents the ra. ;-) You have inspired me......

You do find the union flag on some fashion items as it is a pretty nice flag to look at. I can see that some wouldn't want a massive Union flag across their chest on a tshirt but making a show of yourself over a wee tag on the label of a pair of lee coopers is frankly ridiculous.

I'm not a boat, so no can not display the Union Jack

Wrong