Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Election poll: how are you voting in the General Election?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,283 ✭✭✭✭Scofflaw

oscarBravo wrote: »
    Over-thinking STV is similar to over-thinking CAO preferences.

Who would you most like to see elected? Give them your number 1. Who would your second preference be? Give them number 2. And so on. If you would rather not see someone elected, don't give them a preference. It really is that simple.

Well, it depends on whether you have a preference among the people you'd rather not see elected - you might not be keen on candidate A being elected, but you'd rather him than candidate B. In that case you should still give A a preference, because your vote would still elect A over B even if none of the people you want elected make it.

As long as you have a preference, you should use it.

cordially,
    Scofflaw

• Registered Users Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭SarahBM

I genuinely cannot make up my mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

Apologies, it may have been posted earlier but what time are polling stations open tomorrow?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭Jack Killian

FalconGirl wrote: »
    Apologies, it may have been posted earlier but what time are polling stations open tomorrow?

Think it's 7am

• Registered Users Posts: 15,220 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

FalconGirl wrote: »

From 7 am until 10 pm. No excuse for you not to vote early and often :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,986 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

I wish I could be at home to vote for this.

Just don't make a balls of it lads.

Gintonious wrote: »

What would you view "making a balls of it" as ?

Fianna Fail doing well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,362 ✭✭✭mojesius

I would vote SD if they had a candidate running here. So 1st preference is SF, then green party. That's it.

Fianna Fail doing well.

Never, EVER, thought I'd be saying this (and I don't believe it enough to give them a vote, and even then I couldn't vote for their local candidate) but at least there's a small chance that FF have learnt their lesson. FG get more obnoxious and arrogant and deluded every time they're on TV or radio.

Would still prefer a Dáil - yes, a whole Dáil, not just government - with only SDs, Ind Alliance and some of the better independents, with NONE of the main 4 in sight.

By my reckoning we'd have maybe one TD for every county if we only kept the decent ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,620 ✭✭✭Grudaire

mojesius wrote:
    I would vote SD if they had a candidate running here. So 1st preference is SF, then green party. That's it.

For what it's worth unless you're somewhere that the Green candidate is in contention your vote would do more as #1 Green, #2 Sinn Féin because the greens need every #1 to get funding. Your #2 will still go to the Shinner (this argument doesn't work everywhere)

I certainly will not.

I will be voting to do as much damage as I possibly can to both FG and Labour.

You could even look on it wiyh you not being home to vote as a double whammy :)

charlie14 wrote: »
    I certainly will not.

I will be voting to do as much damage as I possibly can to both FG and Labour.

You could even look on it wiyh you not being home to vote as a double whammy :)

Great way to vote.

He's just returning the favour

No need to return favours, thanks.

Great way to vote.

Works for me :D

Hopefully the poll with this thread represents tomorrows voting a bit. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Grudaire wrote: »
    For what it's worth unless you're somewhere that the Green candidate is in contention your vote would do more as #1 Green, #2 Sinn Féin because the greens need every #1 to get funding. Your #2 will still go to the Shinner (this argument doesn't work everywhere)

Was listening to the Irish Times podcast and they made a point that voting by giving a "no hoper" a 1 and continuing on is better than giving a poll topper one as your vote will definitely get transferred. That's the way I voted last time and it worked well, I didn't give Pearse Doherty a transfer because I knew he'd top the poll anyway, if it was tighter I would.

There's probably only 3 candidates I actually want to vote for but I'll try to transfer strategically as best I can. Green, Shiels Independent and 1 FF candidate. After that I'm not pushed much at all!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

With Greens on almost 8% ?

Representative poll alright :D

With Greens on almost 8% ?

Representative poll alright :D

Sorry, I was referring to how FF are doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Hopefully not as we'll be back here again in a couple of months!

Greens and SD's over represented with FF way under and SF slightly under as well surprisingly enough. SD seems to be taking the softer left vote.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Sorry, I was referring to how FF are doing.

Not worried about how FF are doing.

If you believe this poll has any accuracy you cannot be to happy with a combined FG/Lab vote of 37% ?

Gonna be a fair few seats short on that.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,248 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

I'll be unashamedly voting FG #1, Labour #2, FG #3 and FG #4. That's it. Happy with the current lot and believe they deserve another term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,362 ✭✭✭mojesius

Interesting point, thanks. In Dublin West and honestly, i really can't tell how this one's going to play out. From what i've been reading O'Gorman (greens) has an outside chance.

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭Centaur

I know someone who once gave their #1 vote to a no hoper to help them get their deposit back. They ended up getting elected.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

Centaur wrote: »
    I know someone who once gave their #1 vote to a no hoper to help them get their deposit back. They ended up getting elected.

I suppose that's why s/he said it only works if the Green candidate isn't in with a chance, which is the vast majority I'd say.

mojesius wrote:
    Interesting point, thanks. In Dublin West and honestly, i really can't tell how this one's going to play out. From what i've been reading O'Gorman (greens) has an outside chance.

Sure Donnolly is totally safe - O'Gorman needs the votes more :)

But yeah my logic wouldn't apply here :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

mojesius wrote: »
    If I lived in Dublin West I'd give O'Gorman my #1. I am acquainted with him personally (although not well) and he seems like a very nice guy, PhD in EU law as well... so very intelligent and seems well-meaning. No pushover from what I understand... with him in opposition it wouldn't be a waste IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 505 ✭✭✭inocybe

Well I arrived at my polling station to be handed a list of candidates I'd never heard of - apparently the geography of the county has been changed and I'm in a different constituency. Very pissed off as i didn't know what anyone stood for so I voted green. Next time I won't waste my petrol voting for somewhere I don't feel part of.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭323

Didn't expect to be home , but job fell through so may actually vote for the first time in a general election.
    Still confused as ever. If I do bother to vote, will try make sure no transfer can end up with FG, FF or SF. Number of independents I guess.

“Follow the trend lines, not the headlines,”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,945 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

323 wrote:
    Didn't expect to be home , but job fell through so may actually vote for the first time in a general election. Still confused as ever. If I do bother to vote, will try make sure no transfer can end up with FG, FF or SF. Number of independents I guess.

Welcome to the world of voting. Best of luck with your choices and please do keep it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

inocybe wrote: »
    Well I arrived at my polling station to be handed a list of candidates I'd never heard of - apparently the geography of the county has been changed and I'm in a different constituency. Very pissed off as i didn't know what anyone stood for so I voted green. Next time I won't waste my petrol voting for somewhere I don't feel part of.

What constituency are you in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Galway West

1. Naughton (FG)
    2. Kyne (FG)
    3. O'Mahoney (FG)
    4. Grealish (IND)
    5. Daveron (Renua)
    6. Nolan (Lab)

No one else will get anything from me.

I really am trying to drum a bit of support up for the present government, especially in light of FG being expected to do poorly. I am stunned at the Fianna Fáil surge. These people cannot be allowed back into government - they will bankrupt the country!

One could say the same about fg to I'm afraid

• Registered Users Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

Just voted as follows in Wexford:

Wallace 1
    Lloyd (DDI) 2
    Foxe (Ind) 3
    Moloney (Ind) 4
    Green candidate 5
    SD Kelly 6
    Carthy (Ind) 7
    Dwyer (Ind ex SF) 8

Done here

1. SD
    2. Ind
    3. AAA
    4. Green

5 - 11 no preference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭MajorMax

OK So here goes. I'll be voting Fine Gael because there's no viable alternative

Fianna FAIL have brought this country to it’s knees twice in my lifetime, they should be branded as a criminal organisation and outlawed.

Sinn Fein are a populist party who’s policies change to reflect whatever they think will make them more popular. Their fiscal policy is laughable. They’re in power in the North, they get £5 billion a year from the British Government and they st...ill can’t balance the books

Renua. Their policies are taken directly from the 1950s. They’d like to return us to Develara’s vision of a nation of comely wenches dancing at the crossroads

Labour. There’s a lot to admire about Labour, they made tough decisions knowing full well that they would bear the brunt of the public backlash. They sacrificed their safe seats for the good of the country. But I probably won’t vote for them because I think they’ll be pretty much wiped out

AAA. Champagne socialists who are very vocal in what they oppose but haven’t offered any realistic alternatives, except that if we “eat the rich” everything will be better

Social Democrats. I honestly don’t know enough about this party to comment

Independents. A waste of a voye. Pure gombeen politics with their eyes fixed firmly on what they can wangle for their area at the expense of everyone else. Parish pump politicians

• Registered Users Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Walter H Price

First in the polling station at 7 am on the button this morning.

1st Molloy, Renua - Dublin Fingal

2nd and 3rd preferences to Reilly and Farrell Fine Gael

No preferences to Sinn Fein (IRA) or any of the loony Left, Anti Profit, we wont pay for anything brigade.

MajorMax wrote: »
    ....there's no viable alternative....

theres always alternatives! i really wish thatcherism went to the grave with herself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

1. Brendan Griffin - FG
    2. Jimmy Deenihan - FG
    3. Kevin Murphy - Ind
    4. Arthur Spring - Labour
    5. Brian Finucane - PBP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Green no hoper, fg no hoper, labour could get in, local fg, remote fg, local ind, other sane ind, ff no hoper, ff sure thing

nothing for sf, aaa, catholic lunacy party, or various crackpots

MajorMax wrote: »
    OK So here goes. I'll be voting Fine Gael because there's no viable alternative

:
    :

Social Democrats. I honestly don’t know enough about this party to comment

Oh the irony..... :rolleyes:
    Independents. A waste of a voye. Pure gombeen politics with their eyes fixed firmly on what they can wangle for their area at the expense of everyone else. Parish pump politicians

Horrible over-generalisation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

Done here

1. SD
    2. Ind
    3. AAA
    4. Green

5 - 11 no preference

Might well be a wasted vote.

Godge wrote: »

no vote is a wasted vote

Godge wrote: »

Trademark FG arrogance; even more obvious by the fact that "your party" got a vote and yet you still sneered at it.

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭Centaur

Macha wrote: »
    I suppose that's why s/he said it only works if the Green candidate isn't in with a chance, which is the vast majority I'd say.

You never can tell. Nobody outside of his own party gave this guy much of a chance. Roger Garland ended up being the first Green TD elected to Dáil Éireann.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,189 ✭✭✭✭josip

Why are FF doing so poorly in this poll, yet were in the mid 20's nationally earlier this month?
    Are FF voters less likely to be boards members?

Centaur wrote:
    You never can tell. Nobody outside of his own party gave this guy much of a chance. Roger Garland ended up being the first Green TD elected to Dáil Éireann.

Fair point, although I can offer good odds against a lot of Green candidates around the country. :D
    Many green candidates are running to offer an alternative option with no expectation of winning.

It's important that people can demonstrate that they want a party that cares about the planet with their first preference but also not waste the vote like in first past the post systems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭hytrogen

1 indy
    2 FG
    3 Greens
    4 FG
    5 indy
    6 lab
    ... that's all folks, I was about to say no Lab but thought Alex White needed the wooden spoon over the New Nuns, SF or Mary White which, btw, she was spotted within the 100m limit of the polling station...
    Time for a fishy Friday supper now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭sjb25

1 Indy
    2FG
    3indy
    4 I went a FF for the simple reason I could not bring myself to vote for the other FG candidate who is from that area