Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

4fm encouraging disrespect of our country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 FluffyMcCardy

I have very bad news for you OP. The union flag was flown over the GPO on at least two separate occasions in recent years. Once to mark the visit of the British postmaster general. Secondly during the filming of a TV series made by and you might want to sit down for this, the BRITISH Broadcasting Corporation. Shocking altogether!

It's worth pointing out that this stunt was carried out by an IRISH reporter for an IRISH radio station not by a squad of SAS. So whining about the British isn't relevant. In any case the stunt is clearly designed to draw out and expose people like you living in your republican timewarp. In that they succeeded.

Why don't you just move on and live with the rest of us in the 21st century? The rest of Europe managed it after two terrible wars. Why can't you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

Saying the Union flag shouldn't be flown from an Irish monument due to past aggression would be like saying the Irish, Dutch, German, Iraqi, Afghan, Japanese, French, Spanish, Russian, Italian, Austrian, South African, Cambodian, Argentinian and US flag shouldn't be flown on a UK monument for a similar reason.

Sure these wars and atrocities may be centuries past and centuries or decades of friendship and cooperation has existed since, but as someone still gets offended it should be banned.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 178 ✭✭BenedrylPete

seachto7 wrote: »
    OP, Noel Gallagher's Union Jack guitar must have really peed you off! What a sell out!

Well not really no.

Pathetic comment by the way. Try harder.

Im on a phone and cant really address those who had actual good pertinent points right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Back to the point of the thread on a radio forum, it shouldn't be a surprise that this would be on Niall Boylan. It's that type of show, and you reacted just as he would have wanted to OP. It's entertaining more than anything to me.

I would think it's provocative to walk down Moore St and outside the GPO and actually wave the flag, as opposed to walking down with the flag draped over your jacket if you were on the way to a football match for example. It's not excuse for boxing the head off someone though.

But if a bunch of English football or rugby supporters were on their way to a match and walked down Moore street, would you also be offended?

Are no English or British flags ever allowed to be flown around Ireland?

The Moore st protestors were on Boylan a few weeks back and one of them called Heather Humphreys an orange woman. Is that just because she's Protestant? Do Protestant's not fit into their narrative? I don't think she's in the orange order....

It also seems to be SF republican types who take the moral high ground and tell the rest of us what is and isn't allowed and tell us how Irish or not Irish we are. :rolleyes: West Brits, as they like to call us.

They'll never have an expert on to discuss this. There are plenty of people who could be on the show. I'm not sure if Niall or the producers are aware, but they could have referred to the flag protests in Belfast and what a flag means to someone in the 6 counties.
    Boylan could have mentioned plenty of other British symbols still on building here.

I often wonder is he clued in about it himself. He didn't seem knowledgeable of the wider issue of symbols on the island of Ireland.

When we always say "shur I don't know why they're getting all bothered over these things up north", maybe there is something similar down here for some people with the union flag. Though, in the north, any concessions to any kind of symbols could be seen as a kind of defeat.

There are plenty of British symbols still left on building around Ireland along with "Royal...." clubs, (RNLI). Look at the flag that flies on the Royal College of Surgeons for example. It seems to be the obvious thing like the union flag that drives some people mad though.

What about the union flag as part of a ceremonial remembrance of the reality if history? It wasn't offensive when the queen herself was at the garden of remembrance in that picture above. Why would it necessarily be offensive. Do you think foreign flags can only be used to cause offence?

2 corrections to your quote above: 1 the queen wasn't just a woman when she was at the garden of remembrance, she was there in capacity of head of state. It was the British state paying respect to the insurgents.
    2, while she didn't say 'sorry' it was most definitely an apology. Diplomacy works in subtlety. The queen paying respect to people who killed British servicemen, is a flat out apology in diplomatic terms. She acknowledged that her state had acted wrongly in the speech at Dublin castle. I accept that might not satisfy the bloodlust of a moron who is stuck in the past.

I know that Britain was a tyrannical empire (Inn the past). We both accept that Britain was a sh1tty colonial power (Inn the past). Why be so angry about it now? We're you personally offended by Britain's rule of Ireland?

Nobody is saying we should forget the insurgents. They fought and died to change the circumstances in the country. They made it possible for us to create out own future as a sovereign nation. That's a massive goal and is worthy of remembrance and commeration. They did not fight perpetuate hate against the British flag. What a trivial thing think. You cheapen their sacrifice by thinking that they were morons, fighting against a flag or that they wouldn't recognise that the flag no longer represents a threat of tyranny. Thru would have loved the idea that we are equals with the sovereign nations. We can fly any flag anywhere in the country because we are in control of our own country.

As I said already, I have no desire to fly a union jack anywhere. I resent the idea that you think there's justification for banning flying it anywhere just because you're more fond of the past than present reality.

Exactly. We can choose to be involved in mutual respect or choose to stay in the past where we were Britain's Bitch. Some people have trouble accepting the reality that we won that battle and now we have modern day problems to deal with. Problems we solved on the last century should stay in the last century

I think waving the union flag at the GPO on a casual basis is disrespect. Much as Im sure the waving of the German bundeswehr at the cenotaph might be seen as an act of disrespect.

In both instances men died there fighting that flag.
    To use, or to threaten to use, those sites as a means of trolling your political rivals on air or as a means to attract publicity takes things past the marketing by offence game, and into real world consequence.

If theres a govt official, head of state or film crew and theres significant cost, logistics and reasons involved I can live with that on rare ocassion...makes for a different context.

Im limited to my phone lately when it comes to boards. But I did manage to start a thread elsewhere questioning whether its appropriate to put a bundeswehr cross on a ww2/blitz memorial, or a communist flag on a Polish memorial.

So far the concensus is along the lines of 'why the hell would you do that' 'thats a douchebag thing to do' 'that might get you arrested' and so forth.
    Cant say I disagree with them.

It was nice of those people to provide a straight answer and sometimes an explanation without resorting to moronic name calling. Seachto.

It was good that they even had the guts to answer unlike some slippery sophists. Duderino.

So tell me, next time Im in London should I bring along a Bundeswehr flag for the monuments marking the 10's of thousands who died from Luftwaffe bombing in the blitz.

Or would that simply be inappropriate, regardless of how right on and modern the relations between Germany and Britain are in this new modern and forward looking age.

I think waving the union flag at the GPO on a casual basis is disrespect. Much as Im sure the waving of the German bundeswehr at the cenotaph might be seen as an act of disrespect.

In both instances men died there fighting that flag.
    To use, or to threaten to use, those sites as a means of trolling your political rivals on air or as a means to attract publicity takes things past the marketing by offence game, and into real world consequence.

I agree with you here. It's a real life equivalent of trolling. It's also context which adds to the provocation. It's not like there was a bunch of English fans on the way to a football match, and they happened to walk past the GPO unaware of where they were.

I don't think it's an excuse for violence either. I remember wearing an English rugby top years ago and getting dogs abuse off people in pubs. I used to reply in an English accent "what's the problem mate? I'm English" to see what their reactions would be.

No English person should feel nervous about wearing an English national jersey around any town or city in Ireland.

The Bundeswehr is the term used to describe the modern German military. I'm not entirely sure why flying their flag should offend anyone?

Also I've been to Vietnam, they don't hate the Americans or their flag. They're over it. In fact they were very nice to us when they thought we were Americans. When we explained we were Irish. They never heard of the place.

Might want to use better examples in your crusade against a piece of colourful cloth.

The Bundeswehr is the term used to describe the modern German military. I'm not entirely sure why flying their flag should offend anyone?

The EDL crowd could burn it before abusing some muslims on their way home.

Also I've been to Vietnam, they don't hate the Americans or their flag. They're over it. In fact they were very nice to us when they thought we were Americans. When we explained we were Irish. They never heard of the place.

Might want to use better examples in your crusade against a piece of colourful cloth.

Right Bundeswehr - cross - .

Your pedantry has been both highly relevant and insightful. Your story was also very intetesting.

Well done to you sir.

Despite your masters in Vietnamese culture and politics something tells me that no the Vietnamese wouldnt appreciate the US flag on a Hanoi war memorial.
    Knuckledraggers that they are.

Maybe the Chinese would prefer people didnt wave a Japanese flag on some Nanging memorial.
    Damn knuckledraggers again.

Lets tell them to move on.
    The Poles and Ukrainians too. Get that Russian flag up in maidan square Kiev you backward looking xenophobes.

Neither the Vietnamese or Chinese are knuckledraggers. Lovely peoples both. Not sure why you have a racist bigoted attitude towards them. But of course it's clear you are bigoted against the British and Irish who don't fulfil your particular agenda. Keep it up though. It really is fun! Just to remind you it's 2016. Imagine if you will what Michael Collins would think of you.

Ah boards.

Sometimes its so hard to tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,604 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

If theres a govt official, head of state or film crew and theres significant cost, logistics and reasons involved I can live with that on rare ocassion...makes for a different context.

So you finally agree that the context matters. Now you're getting it.

People didn't fight against flags (unless they were very stupid). They fought against the tyranny the flag represented in their time. Today, the flag doesn't represent a threat of tyranny so there's no need to get upset about it. Its about dealing with reality, on realities terms.
    It was good that they even had the guts to answer unlike some slippery sophists. Duderino.

What question have i not answered? Strikes me that you agree with my answer that context matters so what's the next big mystery that you need my help with?
    So tell me, next time Im in London should I bring along a Bundeswehr flag for the monuments marking the 10's of thousands who died from Luftwaffe bombing in the blitz.

You can if you like. You'll soon he in the company of some like minded EDL-type morons who would get upset. Same as in dublin you would soon be in the company of republican morons who would get updet. The normal people with jobs and present day problems, would pass by and take some amusement at both the flag waver moron and upset nationalist morons. I don't support your opinion that waving flags (or using flags as part of a ceremonial event) should be illegal.

So you finally agree that the context matters. Now you're getting it.

People didn't fight against flags (unless they were very stupid). They fought against the tyranny the flag represented in their time. Today, the flag doesn't represent a threat of tyranny so there's no need to get upset about it. Its about dealing with reality, on realities terms.

What question have i not answered? Strikes me that you agree with my answer that context matters so what's the next big mystery that you need my help with?

You can if you like. You'll soon he in the company of some like minded EDL-type morons who would get upset. Same as in dublin you would soon be in the company of republican morons who would get updet. The normal people with jobs and present day problems, would pass by and take some amusement at both the flag waver moron and upset nationalist morons. I don't support your opinion that waving flags (or using flags as part of a ceremonial event) should be illegal.

Well genius if you'd care to check you might find that Im the first to mention context in this thread.

Yes its very much related to context and symbology. Which are parts of communication.
    And while communication should be free it shouldnt be, and isnt, without consequence.

Doing certain otherwise benign and justifiable things in one context is fine while in another it just makes you a complete prick.

And its not just me who thinks that.
    Ive asked elsewhere online whether putting a communist flag on a Polish war site or a luftwaffe cross on a London blitz memorial might be appropriate behavior ... and funnily enough it was suggested that such might be an act of disrespect to the memories of the dead and that I could find myself arrested. (justifiably so).

Zero suggestion that my arrest would be a low minded action. Zero suggestion that objection would only be from cider scrotes or political hardliners.

The concensus was from about 10 people. And zero respondents found the action appropriate.

Maybe thats my fault.

I didnt go on to suggest to them that communism is a legitimate and morally justifiable philosophy which has a beneficial equality to society etc etc... and that Poland should learn to move on and embrace political differences.

I didnt explain to the British who answered that the iron cross is a proudly worn modern symbol of a nato ally and has a greater history than just ww2 and that as allies of Germany and its military British people should be forward looking and happy to see such a positive image on the grave of their dead.

Something tells me that regardless it would still be inappropriate. And that Id be told to take such transparent bullsht elsewhere.

Hiding behind the benign nature of the act or trying to cover it up with a friendly positive right on message doesnt change the message of your action.

For example:
    Playing the aids song from southpark when in the company of friends at home: acceptable behavior.

Playing the aids song from southpark in a clinic for sufferers: being a prick.

Getting ejected from the premises: appropriate

Covering up your antics with a claim of thuggish low minded intolerance by security for your benign everyday act of playing some simple music: transparent.

Normal people know the differences when it comes to context and symbols. Objecting doesnt make you a political hardliner. It merely illustrates that you have respect for other peoples memories.

I can live with there being a segment of Britain who would prefer I didnt put an iron cross flag on a blitz memorial. That segment is probably quite large.
    I doubt theyre all extremists.
    (And if theres a law making such an action an arrestable offence...which wouldnt surprise me if there is...I can even live with that too)

Can you do the same for Ireland. Just not fly one particular flag in one particular place as it might be considered a snub to the memories of the dead.
    I know its a lot to ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,604 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Well genius if you'd care to check you might find that Im the first to mention context in this thread.

Ah. You didn't understand the reason I brought up the queen at the garden of remembrance, was to highlight the difference in context. It's a pity because it wild have made the conversation shoulder if you'd got that sooner.
    Doing certain otherwise benign and justifiable things in one context is fine while in another it just makes you a complete prick.

Might make you a prick depending on context. I'd say they're stupid laws that make the presence of flags illegal in an area. If someone's weaving a flag provocatively and to stir up national resentment, then I don't care if they're doing it with flags or words. No special rule for flags. Like you said, communication has lots of methods. It's the intent of the message that counts, not the method of communication

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Superhorse

You should get in touch, as he'll probably bring it up again tonight.

The site of the Easter rising is surrounded by tacky casinos, pubs, burger joints, scumbags, counterfeit goods for sale, and druggies. They happen to be there every day of the week, as opposed to a stunt pulled by a shock jock radio show.

Should it be illegal to fly the union flag at the GPO? No. Why? It's provocative, and if you get a broken nose for doing it, then what would one expect.

I'd guess that loads of hotels around Dublin city have the union flag outside them along with other world flags, but nobody cares about that do they?

You can buy English international jersies in some shops in Dublin. The rugby one for example, and some of them used to even have the football one. Did anyone care? Probably not.

The IRA has committed atrocities in more recent times in the UK, a lot more recent than the Rising or the Black and Tans (Warrington, Manchester, Canary Wharf, Birmingham), but they have no problem with us having St Patrick's Day parades there, or idiots walking down the street in tricolours and stupid leprechaun uniforms on Paddy's Day and for international matches.

The hatred on this one is strong.

Ah. You didn't understand the reason I brought up the queen at the garden of remembrance, was to highlight the difference in context. It's a pity because it wild have made the conversation shoulder if you'd got that sooner.

Might make you a prick depending on context. I'd say they're stupid laws that make the presence of flags illegal in an area. If someone's weaving a flag provocatively and to stir up national resentment, then I don't care if they're doing it with flags or words. No special rule for flags. Like you said, communication has lots of methods. It's the intent of the message that counts, not the method of communication

And I explained - the queens visit was a huge expensive event with the near locking down of the northside and unprecedented media coverage acting as an historic politicsl gesture.

If the same conditions can be applied to very rare flying of the union jack at the gpo then I could accept it albeit Id prefer it wasnt.

I think if you were to ask the people who died there the same question in their dying moments (if you could isolate them from the fear and pain) you'd get a similar answer (or maybe less forgiving one).

And no, innocent intent isnt everything when theres two parties involved and one asks the other to stop doing something they find inappropriate.

You seem like a well travelled person.
    Next time youre in London why not bring along a Bundeswehr/Luftwaffe cross. Theyre available on amazon about 10 euro.

Then head on down to a war memorial.
    Once there you can exactly mirror the actions you would find acceptable for a private individual in Dublin at the GPO with a union jack.

Lets call it the complete prick litmus test.

I suggest you try VE day for most accurate results, you can tell any thugs, extremeists, morons or xenophobes who object to move on and stop being so stuck in the past.

Would you do that. Y/N.

Complain to the BAI

Pointless and below me.

Both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,243 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

eeguy wrote: »
    I think you need to get this chip off your shoulder.

he doesn't.
    Arguments like that only perpetuate the hostility that both our countries should have grown out of.

they don't. the union flag has no place on any public building within this country. its not called the butchers apron for no reason and i'm not talking about 800 years ago but 40/50 years ago which is relevant and within living memory (dispite how much some wish to sweep it under the carpet and pretend it never happened)
    Yes Ireland suffered centuries of oppression but we're an independent nation and one of the benefits is that we can fly a union flag from the GPO as a mark of mutual respect rather than subservience.

fly it off your house if you wish. the GPO is no place for the union flag.
    Ito the mark of a great nation that we can forgive and move on, rather than be dogged by centuries old grudges against a country that is now friendly.

40/50 year old grudges which should never be forgotten until those responsible are dead or in jail.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,426 ✭✭✭StaticNoise

I was going to ask the political stances of the posters, especially the OP and the most recent reply before mine, but I think we can figure out which party (or associated groups) they'd have most in common with.

Having respect for history is important, and valuable. It is important that countries, races, and people can look at mistakes, atrocities, and loss of life, and come together to make sure friendship and prosperity exists, and not to bring back the horrid acts of the past. All parties involved in a war can be aggressive, violent, pieces of shït, but that's life. The real monsters are the people who constantly dwell on it and who can't try to make amends and move on. Not forgetting, but working towards a positive, peaceful, neighbourly future.

Anyway, back to the radio. Yeah, OP, you should definitely have called in. Not that I agree with you, but because this is the material they want. They want people to take opposing sides and cause controversy. It makes for good ratings.

Pointless and below me.

Both.

Below you but you'll come on to a forum and whine about it instead?

At this stage It's forgotten about and Boylan has moved on to other topics in the meantime. Maybe you should too.

Below you but you'll come on to a forum and whine about it instead?

At this stage It's forgotten about and Boylan has moved on to other topics in the meantime. Maybe you should too.

Its not so much whining as it is letting it be known to the people out there who care and have some sense of history. This thread has 1000+ views so I know the message has gotten out to the right people. As I intended. Thanks for helping.

Btw: whining would be starting a thread about being so dimwitted that I lost 100 euro by not renewing a domain name. :D

Boo hoo nasty hosting company waaah.

I agree its forgotten about by now so yeah lets move on.

I was going to ask the political stances of the posters, especially the OP and the most recent reply before mine, but I think we can figure out which party (or associated groups) they'd have most in common with.

Having respect for history is important, and valuable. It is important that countries, races, and people can look at mistakes, atrocities, and loss of life, and come together to make sure friendship and prosperity exists, and not to bring back the horrid acts of the past. All parties involved in a war can be aggressive, violent, pieces of shït, but that's life. The real monsters are the people who constantly dwell on it and who can't try to make amends and move on. Not forgetting, but working towards a positive, peaceful, neighbourly future.

And thats why if I gave you a flight to London and a Luftwaffe cross you be happy to drape it on a memorial to those who died in the blitz.

Forward looking, modern progression. A new way for Londoners to think of their proud modern allies.

Surely only edl types would react negatively.

Youd be happy to do so now wouldnt you.

Feel free to answer yes or no.

(Btw - your assumptions as to which political party I support are very likely incorrect, you dont actually have to be a 'type' to have an opinion on a topic. Bizarre as that might seem)

Its not so much whining as it is letting it be known to the people out there who care and have some sense of history. This thread has 1000+ views so I know the message has gotten out to the right people. As I intended. Thanks for helping.

Btw: whining would be starting a thread about being so dimwitted that I lost 100 euro by not renewing a domain name. :D

Boo hoo nasty hosting company waaah.

I agree its forgotten about by now so yeah lets move on.

You are whining about it. Look at the thread title ffs. You started a thread on this moaning about Boylan. Whine whine whine about the nasty Brits is all you've done. On a forum, where absolutely nothing can be done about it, whereas if you complained to the BAI, and others complained as well, maybe something could be done about his type of radio show.

I do have a sense of history, but I have better things to be worrying about than some eejit with a flag on a street in Dublin. How do you know your message has gotten out to the right people? You don't. For all you know 999 of those views could be by people who don't give a toss. :rolleyes:

Again, the Shinners like to think that anyone who doesn't agree with their world view are not as Irish as them, are thick, or don't care. Free staters as they like to call the rest of us. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

You are whining about it. Look at the thread title ffs. You started a thread on this moaning about Boylan. Whine whine whine about the nasty Brits is all you've done. On a forum, where absolutely nothing can be done about it, whereas if you complained to the BAI, and others complained as well, maybe something could be done about his type of radio show.

I do have a sense of history, but I have better things to be worrying about than some eejit with a flag on a street in Dublin. How do you know your message has gotten out to the right people? You don't. For all you know 999 of those views could be by people who don't give a toss. :rolleyes:

Again, the Shinners like to think that anyone who doesn't agree with their world view are not as Irish as them, are thick, or don't care. Free staters as they like to call the rest of us. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Hmmm yes the thread title is a bit attention seeking alright. A bit like a certain shockjocks antics.

As for this thread 'doing nothing about it' Im not so sure.

Heres why: With 3000+ views its likely I got to express my opinion to at least 1000 unique viewers.
    If only 10% of that number agreed with me thats 100 people who now know how to shut down the arguments of people like duderino or yourself to the point where they must use insults or just plain leave.

That is to say, if someone proposes waving a Union jack on the grounds of the GPO just ask them if they'd do the same with a luftwaffe flag on the grounds of a blitz monument in London.

Thank you for keeping my thread active btw, its exactly what I want.

Bye now.

Assuming most of the people reading this listen to Boylan. This thread is gone off topic anyway. It's gone off your original post about Boylan's show.
    Again, more on your line to ring in or complain to the BAI than moaning on here.
    It's a typical Irish trait, of which I'm guilty of as well. Moan moan moan about stuff, but do anything instead of directing the moans towards those who need to hear it.

Boylan will no doubt try this again coming up to Easter. Hopefully I'll have emigrated then and won't have to put up with the 1916 stuff that's gone into overdrive. I'm sick of it already.

Maybe Boylan should try it with the German flag and if people don't get abusive or try and burn it, then maybe he should ask why not!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

I didn't hear the show, but here are some thoughts which may (or may not) be relavent to the discussion?

The thing is. In 1916 the Union flag flew over many buildings in Dublin including the GPO. This was the norm of the time, and most Irish people were at ease with this. Those who took part in the rebellion were a different breed, they were fervently Anti English, anti British, anti Union, anti Royalist, and anti everything connected with Britain, they were also a small minority of physical force republicans who were Pro-German, in the middle of the Great War!

But where does that leave the rest of the Irish population of the time who were pro British & anti Rebel?

The above^ is what has been portrayed in RTEs Rebellion (maybe some of watched it), so please dont castigate the messenger for printing what the reality was (pre executions).

So if one wanted to portray what flew over the GPO in the Easter of 1916 with the popular support of the Dublin public at large, then why wouldn't the Union Flag fly?

LordSutch wrote: »
    I didn't hear the show, but here are some thoughts which may (or may not) be relavent to the discussion?

The thing is. In 1916 the Union flag flew over many buildings in Dublin including the GPO. This was the norm of the time, and most Irish people were at ease with this. Those who took part in the rebellion were a different breed, they were fervently Anti English, anti British, anti Union, anti Royalist, and anti everything connected with Britain, they were also a small minority of physical force republicans who were Pro-German, in the middle of the Great War!

The feckin cheek of them.
    Challenging the benevolent crown.

Take their land and enslave them I say.

Oh wait..

Assuming most of the people reading this listen to Boylan. This thread is gone off topic anyway. It's gone off your original post about Boylan's show.
    Again, more on your line to ring in or complain to the BAI than moaning on here.
    It's a typical Irish trait, of which I'm guilty of as well. Moan moan moan about stuff, but do anything instead of directing the moans towards those who need to hear it.

Boylan will no doubt try this again coming up to Easter. Hopefully I'll have emigrated then and won't have to put up with the 1916 stuff that's gone into overdrive. I'm sick of it already.

Maybe Boylan should try it with the German flag and if people don't get abusive or try and burn it, then maybe he should ask why not!

I wont be writing a strongly worded letter to some nanny-authority. This thread is my reaction. I consider it more of a public announcement than a whinge.
    See a whinge says X happened therefore waaaah.
    Like for example I was dumb and lost €100 therefore waaaaah.

A public announcement says if X then you should Y.
    Like for example if someone does (X) to the memory of your dead relatives then its either (1) unaccepable and should be stopped, or (2) its acceptable for you to do (Y) in return.

If you happen to be the queen on a diplomatic visit and/or a large television production then you get a pass. Extenuating circumstance.

Otherwise it should technically be an arrestable offence. Given refusal to stop on request of course, just to cover the buffoon factor.

That filters the possible arrests down to complete pricks, troublemakers, and attention starved nobody djs on 2nd rate stations.

Ask them to stop, if refusal take flag and place buffoon/troublemaker/wannabe shockjock in garda van/cell for an hour or two to calm down.
    Its less costly than a possible violent incident.

Most people can resist the pressing urge to wave/drape/place a flag on 1 particular spot of a foreign country anyway.

Thanks for keeping the thread active.