Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Gangland Shootings in Dublin MOD Warning in Post #1 (updated 29/05/16)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Just a bit of history to explain what we are dealing with here:

If ever a TLDR was needed it was for this post!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Call me Al

Am I right in thinking that the father of the Kavanagh boxer who was at the weigh in is alleged to have been murdered by the very Kinahan gang Mr Kavanagh jr was in attendance at the hotel with?

• Registered Users Posts: 669 ✭✭✭josephryan1989

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    If ever a TLDR was needed it was for this post!

If you don't know your history how are you supposed to know why this is happening right now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

If you don't know your history how are you supposed to know why this is happening right now?

What makes you think I don't know my history?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

Call me Al wrote: »
    Am I right in thinking that the father of the Kavanagh boxer who was at the weigh in is alleged to have been murdered by the very Kinahan gang Mr Kavanagh jr was in attendance at the hotel with?

Yup and his uncle last year.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Allegedly yes,and his uncle,mind boggling.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Call me Al

Gamebred wrote: »
    Allegedly yes,and his uncle,mind boggling.
    I thought so, but the very idea that a person would do this is just so outlandish that I was convinced I'd read it wrong or that the journalist had made a huge mistake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Superhorse

Sad to see how FG have used this as a political football tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭tinpib

I'm getting to the stage where I don't believe anything I read/see from major news organisations, never mind tabloid stuff like this:

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/kinahan-gang-plans-retaliation-after-regency-hotel-murder-at-war-summit-in-innercity-pub-34433277.html

But I'm addicted to this story.

Does anyone have any more information on this supposed 'summit'?

What pub in Dublin 8 was it held in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

The Irish Volunteers were created in 1913 in reaction to creation of the Ulster Volunteer Force but split in 1914 with the National Volunteers mostly joining the British Army to fight in World War I while the smaller faction still calling themselves the Irish Volunteers refused. A faction of the Irish Volunteers led by Patrick Pearse took part in the 1916 Rising alongside the Irish Citizen Army led by James Connolly.

In 1917 the Irish Volunteers became the Irish Republican Army and it fought the War of Independence from 1919 to 1921 before it split over the Anglo-Irish Treaty. The Pro-Treaty IRA became the National Army which is today called the Irish Defence Forces.

The Anti-Treaty IRA later simply called itself the IRA after their defeat in the Irish Civil War in 1923.
    Eamon De Valera and his followers created Fianna Fáil in 1926 and abandoned Sinn Féin and the IRA before he was elected Taoiseach in 1932.

The IRA refused to recognize either Northern Ireland or the Irish Free State which later became the Republic of Ireland in 1949.

In 1930s the Republican Congress was made up of Communists who left the IRA and formed their own political group while the IRA was pro-German during WW2 and hoped that if Hitler won he would give Ireland unity.

In the 1950s Saor Uladh broke away and launched its own armed campaign along the border with Northern Ireland but later returned to the IRA when the Border Campaign began in the later 1950s before it ended in the early 1960s.

Saor Eire broke away from the IRA in 1967 led by a group of radical socialists and remained active until 1975.

The IRA split in 1969 with the Provisional IRA led by young Northern Irish leaders breaking away from the older Dublin led Official IRA leadership.

The Official IRA known as the Stickies remained active until 1972 when it declared a ceasefire. They rejected the hard line Catholic Nationalism of the Provisionals or "Provos" and adopted a Revolutionary Marxist ideology with its political wing calling itself Official Sinn Féin. The Stickies and the Provos regularly killed one another. They eventually became the Workers Party with Pat Rabitte and Eamon Gilmore becoming leading members and then Democratic Left. After the end of the Soviet Union and the Cold War eventually its members became supporters of the Labour Party when they moved away from paramilitarism and abandoned the extreme Left. Rabbitte and Gilmore both became leaders of the Labour Party.

The INLA broke away from the Official IRA in 1974 and fought for a supposed Marxist Revolution but were more interested in shooting each other and fighting the IRA than attacking the British. It eventually simply became a criminal organization involved in robbery and drug dealing before being wound up. Their political wing the IRSP lost many key leaders who were assassinated or left and today the party contests elections but polls poorly and takes part in protests like the anti-water protests and the like.

The Provisional IRA was the armed wing of the Provisional Sinn Féin party and the main opponent of the British during the Troubles.
    Since the 1994 ceasefire and the official end of the Troubles in 1998 and 2005 when it officially disarmed it is no longer involved in an armed struggle but ex-provos are now heavily involved in legitimate business activity and organized crime especially the illegal fuel industry and smuggled cigarettes. The provos are now just another Mafia but maintain close ties with Gerry Adams and Sinn Féin.

The Continuity IRA broke away from the Provos in 1986 and had a political wing calling itself Republican Sinn Féin. Like the IRSP the RSF has only a tiny level of support however they do have one elected representative Councillor Tomás Ó Curraoin in Connemara.
    The Continuity IRA split into the Óglaigh na hÉireann and Saoirse na hÉireann in recent years. Ursula Shannon, a Phd student from Trinity College was sentenced to several years in prison for involvement in an operation to steal weapons from a gun dealer in Offaly and in prison with Rose Lynch who shot an innocent man she was led to believe was involved in the shooting of CIRA member Liam Kenny.

The "Real" IRA split from the Provisional IRA in 1997 and were responsible for the Omagh bomb. Most of its key leaders are in jail and although it has been involved in attacks on police and soldiers and has been involved other bomb attacks it seems to be now primarily involved in criminality and is at war with the organized criminal gangs who refuse to bow down to them. Alan Ryan was killed because he was trying to extort drug dealers associated with mob boss Christy Kinahan's organization.

Yeah half of that is bullsh*t mate. You don't know what you're talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

FTA69 wrote: »

Enlighten us so?

Can you point out what is bullsh*t about what I have written?

Brendan Behan once said ‘The first item on the agenda of any new Irish organisation was the split’.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

tinpib wrote: »
    Does anyone have any more information on this supposed 'summit'?

What pub in Dublin 8 was it held in?
    No shortage of ropey boozers in D8....the pimlico maybe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

The Official IRA known as the Stickies remained active until 1972 when it declared a ceasefire. They rejected the hard line Catholic Nationalism of the Provisionals or "Provos" and adopted a Revolutionary Marxist ideology with its political wing calling itself Official Sinn Féin. ...........

This must be in the universe where Kirk is evil.
    The INLA broke away from the Official IRA in 1974 and fought for a supposed Marxist Revolution but were more interested in shooting each other and fighting the IRA than attacking the British. It eventually simply became a criminal organization involved in robbery and drug dealing before being wound up.

Either a very nice way of putting things or news from the evil universe again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Useful TL;DR posted on reddit yesterday:

http://i.imgur.com/NTIdgaO.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

kfallon wrote: »
    What's it got to do with him? :confused:

Calm down, Mary Lou.

Can you point out what is bullsh*t about what I have written?

Brendan Behan once said ‘The first item on the agenda of any new Irish organisation was the split’.

Righto.

The INLA never spent time "fighting the IRA". The two organisations weren't best buddies but they never engaged in a feud akin to the type that sometimes flared between the Officials and the Provisional IRA. Indeed, they sometimes collaborated (the INLA invented the mercury tilt switch which the Provos were mad to get) and also took part in a joint Hunger Strike where 10 men died. There were sometimes tensions involving prisoners etc but no fighting.

The Provos initially had some sketchy perspectives on some issues (which were never universally held or all that official in policy) but in general were progressive and certainly not Catholic or right wing jingoistic. The Catholic Church despised the IRA in the main, later on the Provos became a left-leaning national liberation movement which identified with the left across the world.

Ursula Shannon has nothing to do with the Contos, I know her personally and you lumping her in with the CIRA is ridiculous in the extreme.

The Real IRA as we knew them up until recently don't exist anymore.

Just a few inaccuracies there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭handlemaster

If the Gardai dont know the two guys in the photo why havent they released the photos ? And if they dont why havent thy released the photos in order to know their where abouts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Steppenwolfe

Pathetic from the leader of our country smearing Adams,its the default response to Sinn Fein by the government just wheel out the ira and sabotage any policy discussion SF are trying to debate,

He has to deflect attention away from some other embarrassing questions. Like where were the Gardai and was their absence anything to do with underfunding. The Justce minister and Commisioner have already circled the wagons. One saying it had nothing to do with resources and the other claiming they had no intelligence. All that was left was for Enda to create a controversy and muddy the waters. It's standard political tactics for them, if a little pathetic as you say. I doubt it will make any difference to voters either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭tinpib

No shortage of ropey boozers in D8....the pimlico maybe?

Ya, I know. Could be anywhere really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,142 ✭✭✭Augme

If the Gardai dont know the two guys in the photo why havent they released the photos ? And if they dont why havent thy released the photos in order to know their where abouts

They probably don't want to risk prejudicing a jury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,537 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Augme wrote: »

No jury in the special criminal court which is where this lot will end up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,998 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

I thought so, but the very idea that a person would do this is just so outlandish that I was convinced I'd read it wrong or that the journalist had made a huge mistake.

Maybe he fears the consequences if he decides to leave them?

Gerry Hutch will be going to ground now. Its not now he will have to watch his back, it's in six months or a years time when all the fuss has died down, that revenge will likely be taken.

Anyway there is another book in this for Paul. It's an ill wind...

But they are not caught yet . Surely the present risk to the public trumps that at this stage

Maybe he fears the consequences if he decides to leave them?

Gerry Hutch will be going to ground now. Its not now he will have to watch his back, it's in six months or a years time when all the fuss has died down, that revenge will likely be taken.

Anyway there is another book in this for Paul. It's an ill wind...

He wasnt with them while the murders happened as far as I know,he was boxing out of freddie roachs gym previously which makes it all the more mind boggling,

Its funny that Hutch is getting the blame here and the van was burned out in Marino,didnt he allegedly rob a brinks van in marino.

No jury in the special criminal court which is where this lot will end up.

Good point. I wonder if prejudice can exist there.
    But is they are caught yet . Surely the present risk to the public trumps that at this stage

I'm not sure what present risk to the public there is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I reckon it's got something to do with the half dozen people on the loose with automatic weapons who have fairly recently demonstrated their willingness to shoot people in crowded public places.

I'm not sure the risk of these lads doing the exact same thing again in the next few days is that likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,044 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Listened to liveline today, and it was often mentioned that the gardai haven't the resources to stop this happening.

As much as I'll lose little sleep over those who take part or die in these type of actions, apparently the gardai now have over 100 people working on the case.

So many who were working on other investigations for us lesser folk are now dragged off to investigate scumbags killing each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Righto.

The INLA never spent time "fighting the IRA". The two organisations weren't best buddies but they never engaged in a feud akin to the type that sometimes flared between the Officials and the Provisional IRA. Indeed, they sometimes collaborated (the INLA invented the mercury tilt switch which the Provos were mad to get) and also took part in a joint Hunger Strike where 10 men died. There were sometimes tensions involving prisoners etc but no fighting.

The Provos initially had some sketchy perspectives on some issues (which were never universally held or all that official in policy) but in general were progressive and certainly not Catholic or right wing jingoistic. The Catholic Church despised the IRA in the main, later on the Provos became a left-leaning national liberation movement which identified with the left across the world.

Ursula Shannon has nothing to do with the Contos, I know her personally and you lumping her in with the CIRA is ridiculous in the extreme.

The Real IRA as we knew them up until recently don't exist anymore.

Just a few inaccuracies there.
    I'm sorry but your wrong in saying the INLA never spent time fighting the IRA, they did feud with the Official IRA after they split from them sure the leader of the INLA was shot by the Official IRA.

Judges in the special criminal court are assumed to be above prejudice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭saltsun

RE Why this might bother Adams.
    had to edit out url being a new user - indo piece

An affirmation to the world that us Irish are indeed stupid. Yes Enda, I'd say there's a high degree of probability those AK47's are similar to the 100 million (ish) other AK47's produced.

Jesus wept.

saltsun wrote: »
    had to edit out url being a new user - indo piece

An affirmation to the world that us Irish are indeed stupid. Yes Enda, I'd say there's a high degree of probability those AK47's are similar to the 100 million (ish) other AK47's produced.

Jesus wept.

Although i did mock the taoiseach earlier for the stupidity of the question the particular model of rifle used in the attack was imported in the hundreds by the IRA in the 1980's.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pistol_Mitralier%C4%83_model_1963/1965#Nonstate_users

Still doesnt stop it from being a stupid question by enda.

Maybe you didnt see the news but there was 5/6 men shooting in a hotel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭saltsun

Although i did mock the taoiseach earlier for the stupidity of the question the particular model of rifle used in the attack was imported in the hundreds by the IRA in the 1980's.

Still doesnt stop it from being a stupid question by enda.

Yeah am familiar with different variations, it was the absurdity of the question. I presume Enda will want to know whether the bullets used are indeed similar to bullets that can be fired from an AK47.

(Never have, and can't see myself ever voting SF for the record).

Judging by Ednas comments if you commit a crime with the said weapon you're suspected of being ira,mind boggling how hes running a country.

I'm sorry but your wrong in saying the INLA never spent time fighting the IRA, they did feud with the Official IRA after they split from them sure the leader of the INLA was shot by the Official IRA.

I'm aware of that and you're not wrong in what you say but by "IRA" I was referring to the Provos who are generally what we mean when using that term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭whatawaster81

It's grand lads Brendan Dassey has already confessed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,998 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

He wasnt with them while the murders happened as far as I know,he was boxing out of freddie roachs gym previously which makes it all the more mind boggling,

Its funny that Hutch is getting the blame here and the van was burned out in Marino,didnt he allegedly rob a brinks van in marino.

Well he left the Wild Card gym supposedly because Roach was not giving him enough of his time.
    He had just signed with them(MGM) when his father was murdered, he cut links with them at the time, then went back to them again. So maybe he actually believes they are not responsible for his father's murder. Hutch was targeted in a bar in Spain a few months ago. It is most likely him or some of his murdered nephews former associates who ordered this. Given the year that's in it, the CIRA could be claiming it to try and be relevant somehow.

Yeah Im going along with the Hutch retaliation line,I dont believe the Ira claims at all whens the last time the cira done anything like this? the murdered victim has been driving around in his flash cars on his own for years and could've been hit any time,this hit was a crack at the kinahans who allegedly have casino resorts in their portfolios these are mega rich the price on contracts on peoples heads wont bother them can see it getting very messy and hutchs crew paying a price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭satguy

Enda says that the AK47's used were supplied by the IRA because they are similar to other AK47's that are made by the factory that makes AK47's...

Yeah Im going along with the Hutch retaliation line,I dont believe the Ira claims at all whens the last time the cira done anything like this? the murdered victim has been driving around in his flash cars on his own for years and could've been hit any time,this hit was a crack at the kinahans who allegedly have casino resorts in their portfolios these are mega rich the price on contracts on peoples heads wont bother them can see it getting very messy and hutchs crew paying a price.

We can't have private armies going around shooting each other.

The Irish government have to come down hard on these scumbags and lock them all up.

There needs to be internment. They have intelligence on these guys and they can grab them all and throw them in a pen.

The human rights crowd can go and sh*te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

The Irish government have to come down hard on these scumbags and lock them all up.

There needs to be internment. They have intelligence on these guys and they can grab them all and throw them in a pen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

satguy wrote: »
    Enda says that the AK47's used were supplied by the IRA because they are similar to other AK47's that are made by the factory that makes AK47's...

That's why he earns the big money. Brains to burn. Hence the smell of wood on fire betimes.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭...And Justice

Nodin wrote: »
    That's why he earns the big money. Brains to burn. Hence the smell of wood on fire betimes.....

Mad stuff Ted, the CIRA split from SF in '86, and he wants Gerry to explain why this murder happened?. Anyone with a few brain cells can see that it was a revenge murder for the hutch mob. The CIRA thing is totally made up INMO, even the guards are baffled. The perpetrators were allowed leave. I reckon this claim is a government stunt over the special criminal court to further discredit SF. All the while the murderers are looking on and laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Obviously not enough intelligence to stop people in fancy dress armed to the teeth shooting up a hotel on a Friday afternoon while the press were snapping away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

Funny that a few weeks ago everyone was up in arms because the gardai were accessing phone records, now when something happens people are up in arms as the gardai didn't have any intelligence that this was going to take place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Funny that a few weeks ago everyone was up in arms because the gardai were accessing phone records, now when something happens people are up in arms as the gardai didn't have any intelligence that this was going to take place

I guess it goes to show that having access to such things doesn't help to prevent incidents very much.

I think people are wondering why gardai took longer to arrive than ambulances and fire brigades more than anything else. Considering that even the media had predicted violence surrounding the event, you'd think gardai would have at least had a patrol in the vicinity.

Also it has emerged that a BBC journalist had to call gardai after spending over an hour hidden in an office, to see if it was safe to come out. Meaning that gardai didn't even sweep the building when they showed up.

Doesn't say a whole lot for them at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Jesus this John glynn fella manager of the hotel is loving the limelight, all over the radio now on the news.