Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Gangland Shootings in Dublin MOD Warning in Post #1 (updated 29/05/16)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭tomofson

Thats not what Im getting at, I mean only they would bother using such a high value car in a hit at this point IMO

They are sending a message out. They are the big dogs. The Hutches drive taxis and transit vans, these lads torch 60k cars for a laugh.

I would say all the crews are in contact with a few pro car thieves and probably even have some among their ranks... But yeah I would say that killing was cartel doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭Green Fella

tomofson wrote: »
    I would say all the crews are in contact with a few pro car thieves and probably even have some among their ranks... But yeah I would say that killing was cartel doing.
    How much would a car like that sell for, after being stolen?

Few hundred worth of heroin to whichever addict it was that stole it. Some heavy drug addicts support their habit solely by stealing cars and selling them on to gangs...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭scopper

Nothing, it's not high-end enough to be worth the trouble. I doubt it was a factor. They just picked a car they figured would do the job. Not much to be read into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

I doubt it was the Hutch's that did this either. It seems a bit of a risk, for essentially nobody of any real value, also seeing as he is involved with Whacker, they might want him on their side, unless Whacker and Fat Freddy have smoothed things over, which would be a weird one also. Surely there would be trust issues there.
    It makes more sense that it could be unrelated.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

This is relentless murder and our police service is completely at sea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

So to recap, the suspects in this case are either the Kinahans, the Hutches, the New ira, his own crew, or the travellers he was beefing with a while back.

Should be straightforward enough so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,142 ✭✭✭Augme

humberklog wrote: »

Hello hyperbole.

• Registered Users Posts: 655 ✭✭✭gangstergossip

They wouldn't have the intelligence to pull off a proper hit

that traveller gang have a few bodies under their belt already they would be a serious outfit but i dont think they were involved they have been seriously weakened since their leader was remanded in custody

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 256 ✭✭coniosumadre

Augme wrote: »

Hello hyperbole.
    Not really. If these numbers continue, for the rest of the year it'll be a new record.

Not at all it was more than this number this time of year 2006

• Registered Users Posts: 557 ✭✭✭shane.

The Independent are just climbing all over themselves to say it's the feud as usual, Get a few more days stories out of it and sell a few more copies.

do people still buy newspapers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,382 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

shane. wrote: »
    do people still buy newspapers?
    shane. wrote: »
    The papers have been using the term close associates for related people,they can hardly say related

Sweet fcuking jesus, I can never understand the mentality of people acting like stupid ignorant cunts presumably under the impression that it makes them look smart. Talk about backfiring, but this one is mindblowing due to the previous comment...

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Augme wrote: »

Hello hyperbole.
    Agreed.

*and note to self to not post when drunk on a bus.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 736 ✭✭✭chillin117

The victim who ''Was known to Gardai'' and he had heard of Gerry Hutch is enough for The Indo to run with their Kinahan/Hutch Feud headlines again. Even their other ''Shocking'' headlines are more suited to the Sun etc.
    The Independent is really going downhill fast. At least the Times can sell their content online.

chillin117 wrote: »
    The victim who ''Was known to Gardai'' and he had heard of Gerry Hutch is enough for The Indo to run with their Kinahan/Hutch Feud headlines again. Even their other ''Shocking'' headlines are more suited to the Sun etc.
    The Independent is really going downhill fast. At least the Times can sell their content online.

I can see it getting to a stage where the independent start paying you to read it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Are they though?

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

Does anyone know where christopher maguire was originally from??? I assume he wasn't originally from lusk as most of the population only moved into the area within the last ten years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,839 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Does anyone know where christopher maguire was originally from??? I assume he wasn't originally from lusk as most of the population only moved into the area within the last ten years

According to the Indo anyway they said earlier that he was from Ballymun. then again, it is the Indo.

Strumms wrote: »
    According to the Indo anyway they said earlier that he was from Ballymun. then again, it is the Indo.

he used to live in dunboyne in meath as well

• Registered Users Posts: 577 ✭✭✭mada82

Gangster gossip where would that traveller gang be placed in the scheme of things, are they independent or alligned to any side?

Are they major players?

I'd be familiar with three murders they are allegedly involved in.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 256 ✭✭coniosumadre

Are they though?
    9 or 10 murders this year? I've lost count.Vinne Ryan and the guy who was shot in Clondalkin the same night as Micky Barr, Not just Hutch/Kinahan. 2 direct charges for these murders. Not counting mickey mouse charges, like withholding information, or being in possession of the gun the day before. Flat Cap still on the streets somehow, So from a personal point of view I'd have to say yes. Unless they're playing the long game, at which point when they get to the end they'll have about another 20 fresh cases to deal with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

inforfun wrote: »
    The piece wasnt written by a journo.

I am Dutch but my English is Shakespearian compared to the Dutch in that link.
    The Dutch language gets its ass kicked in those articles in such a way i highly doubt the writer is Dutch. (Might be a Dutch passport holder but from Turkish or Moroccan origin)
    But that aside, that website is most of the time very quick and very correct when stuff happens in the crime world in The Netherlands or related to The Netherlands.

Vlinderscrime was mentioned here a while ago.
    Found out who is running that site and it isnt a Moroccan or Turk.

And that he is well informed is not much of a surprise seeing his cv. 2x convicted for murder in 1989 and 2001. Started an escort agency while in prison. Always been involved or have been close to the crime mobs in Amsterdam.

And he found a bomb under his car last weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

9 or 10 murders this year? I've lost count.Vinne Ryan and the guy who was shot in Clondalkin the same night as Micky Barr, Not just Hutch/Kinahan. 2 direct charges for these murders. Not counting mickey mouse charges, like withholding information, or being in possession of the gun the day before. Flat Cap still on the streets somehow, So from a personal point of view I'd have to say yes. Unless they're playing the long game, at which point when they get to the end they'll have about another 20 fresh cases to deal with.

Murder charges generally take a while to come about.

mada82 wrote: »
    Gangster gossip where would that traveller gang be placed in the scheme of things, are they independent or alligned to any side?

Are they major players?

I'd be familiar with three murders they are allegedly involved in.

i suspect their getting their drugs through the cartel in some way like 90 percent of the gangs in the country but they wouldnt have any major connection to them and certainly wouldnt be involved in this feud. There involved in their own feud which seems to have boiled up again in the last few weeks but there not as dangerous now since there leader went in to custody

Reports now that yesterday's victim phoned the emergency services himself!

Point blank range, 5 shots, two hits, one to the head and one to the body, what was the shooter using? Salt packs, paintball bullets?

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

The Mirror reporting that the shooting may have been over links that he may have had to the "INLA Bomber" that is suspected in shooting Gareth Hutch.

That's quite a stretch if true, and seems a bit like an act of desperation.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Coat22

Strumms wrote: »

he used to live in dunboyne in meath as well

He did? When?

Coat22 wrote: »
    He did? When?

last year he was living between dunboyne and lusk

He may as well have shouted "Sketch! Its the cops"

He saw two men crouched behind the car with their faces covered and said to them are you all right boys, it s the Gardai.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/gangland-victim-proposed-to-girlfriend-the-night-before-his-murder-inquest-34861138.html

How come there's no photo of him anywhere? Papers just including photes of everyone else they can think of but none of him?

had no previous convictions and no facebook page say the media are finding it hard to get a picture of him dont think his family are going to give them one lol

But he was up in court last year on false imprisonment - nobody seemed to think him worthy of a snap.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

When they have to earn their crust these fraud journalists thieving a living they are found out,rehashing fake stories from sources and listing fued victims is the extent of their abilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

He saw two men crouched behind the car with their faces covered and said to them are you all right boys, it s the Gardai.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/gangland-victim-proposed-to-girlfriend-the-night-before-his-murder-inquest-34861138.html

apparently the mun has moved to dublin 15, that's journalsm indo style :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Mr Devoy spent Friday and Saturday at his girlfriend’s house and with family but on Saturday night he asked for the loan of €5 to take a bus to town

Dont think he was one of the higher ups in any gang....

he was the main supplier of heroin in ballymun but seemed use his own product from time to time. He was a complete nutjob who was very feared in his area a certain cartel member with half a face start expanding his operation in to ballymun and mickey didnt take to kindly to it, he hired a hitman and driver to take the cartel man out. mickey the hitman and driver heard the cartel man (who is very paranoid and rarely leaves his house never mind area) was attending a 21st birthday in a certain pub and decided to kill him. They drove over and the hitman shot the cartel man in the face outside the pub ripping apart his bottom jaw while he was running away people outside the pub start throwing glasses and shouting and the hitman turned around opened fire and hit 3 women in the legs. The cartel man survived and poor mickey met his maker not long after

Poor Micky. Salt of the earth. Wore a bullet proof vest to keep warm.

and ended up getting shot in the head and neck

Should have bought a helmet.

ah well....sell Heroine for a living and shi*t kinda happens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭DamienDarts

Did anyone see the article saying that the Huth gang had a meeting one hour after yesterday's shooting?
    I can't remember where I seen the article in bed this morning before work but I think it said they had a meeting in Portland row.

• Registered Users Posts: 883 ✭✭✭davmol

As a child he lived on Killester avenue in Killester

Did anyone see the article saying that the Huth gang had a meeting one hour after yesterday's shooting?
    I can't remember where I seen the article in bed this morning before work but I think it said they had a meeting in Portland row.

If it's the same one I read? It also mentioned that they are having regular meetings and suggested they must be planning some form of reprisal against the cartel.

• Registered Users Posts: 422 ✭✭yqtwqxqm

Saw a lot of activity from the armed police and police cars speeding up and down and an ambulance about an hour ago at the right turn as you go over the M50 towards st margarets.
    Wonder whats going on?
    I thought id time travelled to Belfast 25 years ago.

gardai called to a 30 year old new inla mans house in ballymun an hour after maguire was shot the same inla man who was arrested and questioned for a week in conection with the gareth hutch murder, but released with out charge. This same mans home was also raided in connection with the vinnie ryan murder. He wasnt home when the gardai called and its believed he has fled to portugal

I wonder is he the same guy the Sun are on about going to ground?
    But fears are growing the Kinahan gang are preparing for further attacks after one of their most dangerous hitmen went to ground in the last two weeks.

I wonder is he the same guy the Sun are on about going to ground?

im not sure can you post a link to the article? the guy im on about is in the new inla same as the man who was shot he had a brother killed years back in a local ballymun feud

I think it's this article - http://www.thesun.ie/irishsol/homepage/news/7208515/Bloody-brutal-INLA-dissident-fighting-for-life-after-being-shot-just-yards-from-creche.html