Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings in Dublin MOD Warning in Post #1 (updated 29/05/16)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭satguy

Not CIRA,, No Way.. It was gang stuff, we know it, Gerry and SF know it, The Guards know it,,

But if the CIRA can make SF look bad just as we have a GE, why not make a call to the beep,, cheeky,
    And not one person is buying it ,, well maybe Enda,, but he's a bit thick, as we all know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭ghostfacekilla

tinpib wrote: »
    I'm getting to the stage where I don't believe anything I read/see from major news organisations, never mind tabloid stuff like this:

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/kinahan-gang-plans-retaliation-after-regency-hotel-murder-at-war-summit-in-innercity-pub-34433277.html

But I'm addicted to this story.

Does anyone have any more information on this supposed 'summit'?

What pub in Dublin 8 was it held in?

The dean swift. Not the classiest of establishments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

satguy wrote: »
    Not CIRA,, No Way.. It was gang stuff, we know it, Gerry and SF know it, The Guards know it,,

But if the CIRA can make SF look bad just as we have a GE, why not make a call to the beep,, cheeky,
    And not one person is buying it ,, well maybe Enda,, but he's a bit thick, as we all know.

That's some Tin foil hat stuff.

You think they care about sf and a general election to try a stunt like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,776 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

CIRA claim makes no sense and would be very surprised if true. For one thing the Kinahans didn't kill Ryan, so it just doesn't add up they would seek revenge 4 years later on a gang that didn't even have anything to do with the in initial murder. Also Ryan wasn't even in the CIRA

Stranger things have happened I suppose though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭...And Justice

JustTheOne wrote: »
    That's some Tin foil hat stuff.

You think they care about sf and a general election to try a stunt like that?

Why don't we ask the elected Labour senator with links to the CIRA about it?

Edit: not elected, selected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

It just doesn't seem likely to be the CIRA, to me. We're supposed to believe that they let grudge fester for 4 years before retaliating for the murder of someone who wasn't even a member of their organisation? It sounds like a claim being made by someone who doesn't even understand the difference between the dissident groups in Ireland. A poor attempt to divert police attention away from the real culprits perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

has there been any sort of official confirmation that the assault rifles were used in the attack? so far, all I can recall are reports that handguns were discharged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Some serious shit going down right now in Fairview according to twitter

Wonder if it's related to this

Shots reported fired and the place is packed with ambulances and armed gardai

• Registered Users Posts: 661 ✭✭✭masti123

Apparently it was Eddie Hutch, the Monk's brother who was killed

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

https://twitter.com/search?f=tweets&vertical=default&q=fairview&src=typd

Irish Examiner ‏@irishexaminer 3m3 minutes ago
    Breaking: fatal shooting in Ballybough this evening.. likely to be gangland related.. one fatality

The Bloodshed has started.

Why don't we ask the elected Labour senator with links to the CIRA about it?

Edit: not elected, selected

What links to the cira is this?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,228 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

From RTE News
    A man in his 50s has been shot in Dublin's north inner city this evening.

It is not yet known what his condition is.

Gardaí were alerted to the shooting, which happened at Poplar Row in Ballybough at 7.45pm.

They believe four men were involved, and they are thought to have fled the scene in a Volkswagen Golf.

Gardaí believe the shooting could be a reprisal for the attack at the Regency Hotel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

the lad from winning streak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

masti123 wrote: »
    Apparently it was Eddie Hutch, the Monk's brother who was killed

Jaysus.. that won't end well for anyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Benteke

Ed Hutch dead, **** has just got real

Weather or not he was involved in the hit on friday I dont know but if he wasnt I presume the mob is hitting back and familys are the target,wouldnt like to be a hutch right now the monks empire is about to fall apart.

He will just attack their families, It's all out war

• Registered Users Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭Hangballlouie

Benteke wrote: »
    Ed Hutch dead, **** has just got real

Where did you hear this?

I know people in the area

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭...And Justice

What links to the cira is this?

Maria Cahill, RIRA, CIRA

Once again how is she linked to these two groups?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Taboola

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/man-in-his-50s-shot-in-dublins-north-inner-city-34435227.html
    A man in his 50s is in a serious condition after a shooting in Dublin's north inner city tonight.
    The man was shot at around 7.45pm tonight, at Poplar Row, North Strand, Dublin 3.
    Gardaí at Fitzgibbon St in Dublin are investigating, and emergency services are currently at the scene.

Wonder if this was pay back for the shooting in The Regency. Someone from "The Monks" gang?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭JosDel

Benteke wrote:
    I know people in the area

Confirmed in the Journal..it was Neddy

• Registered Users Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Ninap

Do these clowns ever stop to think? Do they think this 'revenge' killing is going to be the end of it? So now, there will be more attacks on them. They can be certain they will be burying more family members themselves.

At least the Provos finally woke up to this reality. They could go around killing people, but in the long run, all they were ensuring was that people in their own community were going to suffer too.

JosDel wrote: »
    Confirmed in the Journal..it was Neddy

Yeah it is Neddy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Niemoj

Jaysus. What is happening to us.

Yeah it is Neddy

Was it his son who was shot dead in Spain last year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭Mackas_view

This news obviously blows the CIRA claims out of the water then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭refusetolose

This news obviously blows the CIRA claims out of the water then?

apparently the CIRA have denied being involved on friday

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,283 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Yeah it is Neddy

Isn't he the father of the Eddie on Winning Streak?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,874 ✭✭✭thomasj

Fm104 reporting a shooting in north strand tonight condition of person shot unknown at this stage

Ninap wrote: »
    Do these clowns ever stop to think? Do they think this 'revenge' killing is going to be the end of it? So now, there will be more attacks on them. They can be certain they will be burying more family members themselves.

At least the Provos finally woke up to this reality. They could go around killing people, but in the long run, all they were ensuring was that people in their own community were going to suffer too.

The thing is,this mob who Byrne belonged to have enough money to wipe out anyone they want they could literally pay to clear a family out if they wanted,be surprised if one of them is murdered again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Just got a push notification that it's Eddie Hutch

Was it his son who was shot dead in Spain last year?

Yeah that's him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

This is going to lead to all out war in Dublin and the Costa Del Crime.

• Registered Users Posts: 568 ✭✭✭Supernintento Chalmers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

thomasj wrote: »
    Fm104 reporting a shooting in north strand tonight condition of person shot unknown at this stage

thanks for the breaking news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭hurler32

Fine Gael closing garda stations all over the country has been a great help to Robbers & Hitmen alike!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

ziedth wrote: »
    Just got a push notification that it's Eddie Hutch

It was, anyway

Theirs Gardai check points all over the place at the moment, it don't make a difference, if someone wants you dead they will find a way

hurler32 wrote: »
    Fine Gael closing garda stations all over the country has been a great help to Robbers & Hitmen alike!!

Yes because there was no gang shootings when the stations were open.

They have been decreasing over the last few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

spurious wrote: »
    Isn't he the father of the Eddie on Winning Streak?
    Eddie's brother appeared on Winning Streak for him.

The guards really need to pull everyone in at this stage. This is gonna spiral out of control.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

don't think Garda stations have any impact on these lads.

Niemoj wrote: »
    Jaysus. What is happening to us.

By us do you mean the criminal underworld?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

What difference would an extra station have made in any of this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Yes this is Fine Gaels fault

Action and reaction!
    I'll still sleep like a baby tonight!

• Registered Users Posts: 661 ✭✭✭masti123

I wonder will Enda Kenny now be retracting his ridiculous assertions earlier now that we know it definitely wasn't the CIRA and was the 2 gangs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Neon_Lights

Living in east wall and there was a series of audible bangs around 7.45, thought it was nothing really as theres rail works etc that it can happen because of, guess that was it.