Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Gangland Shootings in Dublin MOD Warning in Post #1 (updated 29/05/16)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,715 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

murpho999 wrote: »
    What organisation are they members of?

Actually I am talking sh1t there. I am confusing this with membership of INLA etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    My point was that it was inevitable, most of these career criminals end up having a work related death.

Ha! It has to be reported to the Health and Safety Authority!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Ally Dick wrote: »
    Actually I am talking sh1t there. I am confusing this with membership of INLA etc

:pac: At least you acknowledged it.

AFAIK you could actually be correct but only if the government specifically outlawed and named membership of these gangs.

Maybe they should do that and treat it the same way they treat terrorism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,382 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

RobertKK wrote: »
    Armed Gardai on the streets of Dublin and they couldn't stop the attack.

Shows what an easy target Dublin is for an attack.
    yeah, it should have been fucking easy for them to stop it :rolleyes: just a snap of the fingers for any police force with a speck of competence. I suppose you could spend all night listing similar places where nothing like this could ever take place.

Superhorse wrote: »
    Too busy protecting a water meter i'd say.
    FFS, this water shite is like a fucking mould, springing up everywhere. Some moaning cunt in a thread about a Springsteen gig even managed to bring it up earlier, I shit you not, the stupid fucker even claimed "I hate to bring it up, but".

• Registered Users Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

JustTheOne wrote: »
    Yeah I did.

But love hate glorifies these people. Young fellas watching think that lifestyle is the best thing ever.

I disagree. Love/Hate depicted "gangland" as a pretty miserable existence rife with paranoia and needless violence. There was a miserable tone throughout all seasons and pretty much every main character had some kind of horrifying ordeal at one point another. I didn't see any glorification or glamorisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,404 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The courts have a big part to play in sorting young criminals out too before it gets into serious stuff like the gangland crime.
    Judges are too quick to throw out cases and are not putting the victims first or taking their view seriously --

http://www.independent.ie/regionals/argus/news/prisoners-go-free-after-garda-escort-was-late-31528614.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Jaysus rough going in the big smoke. Honestly, if these thugs wanna blow the head off each other let them off. I'm just worried about some poor innocent getting caught in the cross fire.

Well your man killed tonight was far from innocent but he wouldn't exactly have been a violent thug either.

He was only killed because he was a soft target, not because he was involved in any of the violence himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,363 ✭✭✭KingBrian2

Yeah the shooting happened near my area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

The shooting and law enforcement featuring heavily on The Live Debate, RTE Radio 1, at this moment.

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/the-late-debate/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,558 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

It's still operating in the south vs dissidents....all you need for conviction is the word of a senior gaurd (highly suspect IMO)
    I've seen you say this before in another thread, and I'm afraid you're wrong.

The belief of a senior guard cannot convict on its own, corroborating evidence is needed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

LDN_Irish wrote: »
    I disagree. Love/Hate depicted "gangland" as a pretty miserable existence rife with paranoia and needless violence. There was a miserable tone throughout all seasons and pretty much every main character had some kind of horrifying ordeal at one point another. I didn't see any glorification or glamorisation.

Yeah that's quite true actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

redarmy wrote: »
    no link just on radio . 104

I heard it on 104 just there too. They don't have anymore details or if it's related to the other two. Wasn't one of the guys from Friday from Tallaght? He checked himself out of hospital yesterday. Could be totally unrelated tho.

Phoebas wrote: »
    John Dundon was convicted for the murder of Shane Geoghegan in the SCC.

He wasn't afraid to intimidate witnesses (he hired a hitman to murder potential witnesses). If it wasn't for the SCC there is a good likelihood that a jury would be intimidated.

There were others, but if it just for this guy, the court is worth having.

There was a case not so long ago where lists with the names and addresses of jury members were found during a search on the home of an associate of a leading gangland criminal which just goes to show.

I wouldn't agree to be on a jury for a gang related case

There was a case not so long ago where lists with the names and addresses of jury members were found during a search on the home of an associate of a leading gangland criminal which just goes to show.

I wouldn't agree to be on a jury for a gang related case

Any link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭mikeym

Ah Jaysus!!!!

The Snapper is on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,715 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

I have to say though, Hutches were under pressure after Friday. Would it not have been beyond the wit of the gardai to put surveillance on the houses of Hutch family members ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

LDN_Irish wrote: »
    I didn't see any glorification or glamorisation.
    The penthouse apartment, the money, the cars, the cocaine, the parties. Hard men doing whatever they wanted and for the most part getting away with it and being both feared and respected by their underlings.

All that would seem glamorous to the kinds of people who get into that business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    I've seen you say this before in another thread, and I'm afraid you're wrong.

The belief of a senior guard cannot convict on its own, corroborating evidence is needed.

failing to answer can be deemed as corroborating evidence. Ownership of a poster can be deemed likewise. I'm surprised "looking too fenian" isn't allowed.

Anyway, all of this is rather moot, as its certain one crowd don't buy the cira story.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭rockatansky

BOHtox wrote: »
    You can give evidence anonymously. I don't know how many people received their sentences from the SCC but I know Michael McKevitt and other well-known dissident republicans. Would you be favour of abolishing this court? So SF can protect their dissident buddies?

Yeah that's exactly what it is, Gerry and Martin protecting the lads who issued death threats against them just a few weeks ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Superhorse

rubadub wrote: »
    yeah, it should have been fucking easy for them to stop it :rolleyes: just a snap of the fingers for any police force with a speck of competence. I suppose you could spend all night listing similar places where nothing like this could ever take place.

FFS, this water shite is like a fucking mould, springing up everywhere. Some moaning cunt in a thread about a Springsteen gig even managed to bring it up earlier, I shit you not, the stupid fucker even claimed "I hate to bring it up, but".

Well done you for noticing it. Blue Peter badge in the post.

Ally Dick wrote: »
    I have to say though, Hutches were under pressure after Friday. Would it not have been beyond the wit of the gardai to put surveillance on the houses of Hutch family members ??

Going on tonights evidence, it was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Phoebas wrote: »
    The penthouse apartment, the money, the cars, the cocaine, the parties. Hard men doing whatever they wanted and for the most part getting away with it and being both feared and respected by their underlings.

All that would seem glamorous to the kinds of people who get into that business.

Did you actually watch the program? They all died a premature death, some pretty gruesomely.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,151 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Nodin wrote: »
    failing to answer can be deemed as corroborating evidence. Ownership of a poster can be deemed likewise. I'm surprised "looking too fenian" isn't allowed.

Anyway, all of this is rather moot, as its certain one crowd don't buy the cira story.

The CIRA nonsense was clearly an election stunt to throw shïte at the Shinners. There's an election coming up afterall.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Yeah that's exactly what it is, Gerry and Martin protecting the lads who issued death threats against them just a few weeks ago.

Well McGuinnes himself, and other SF members, have convictions from the court. So it's definitely in their interest to see it abolished.

But of course, gangland activity does not exist according to SF.
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/election-2016/gangland-does-not-exist-says-adams-as-he-defends-sf-plan-34432134.html

JRant wrote: »
    The CIRA nonsense was clearly an election stunt to throw shïte at the Shinners. There's an election coming up afterall.

Jesus Christ.

Seriously just think about what youre suggesting here.

Sure enda probably phoned it in himself.

JRant wrote: »

Wow. So some lad from Mayo rang the BBC to pin the murder on the CIRA. Do you know your IRA branches even?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭JohnnyChimpo

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Did you actually watch the program? They all died a premature death, some pretty gruesomely.

Yeah, I don't reckon that one lad getting hooped with a pool cue was very glamorous and aspirational.

BOHtox wrote: »
    Well McGuinnes himself, and other SF members, have convictions from the court. So it's definitely in their interest to see it abolished

What? How is getting rid of it going to quash any convictions that were issued in the past?

Wow. So some lad from Mayo rang the BBC to pin the murder on the CIRA. Do you know your IRA branches even?

In fairness, Enda counts on those who don't.

I don't think the people who find that lifestyle glamorous are particularly long term planners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,546 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Clearly that's not the case, he'd have to be able to use a phone to do that......

Scum killing scum, I don't see a downside right now....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭mikeym

Big debate on 104fm :D

Ah here leave it out:D

The post you replied to make me loose faith in some of the citizens of this country.

To actually believe something like that.

This is the tripe we are hearing from the left nowadays.

Complete fantasy. Everything is due to enda Kenny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Scum killing scum, I don't see a downside right now....

But eventually some innocent person will get caught in the crossfire or else shot in a case of mistaken identity!

Jesus Christ.

It's not just Enda that wants SF do do badly. It's not beyond the realms that the CIRA themselves would have claimed responsibility for the attack knowing the pressure it would put on SF when labour and FG inevitably use that as something to beat them with.

The CIRA hate SF.

Jayop wrote: »
    The CIRA hate SF.

You just looked that up after your previous mental post was flagged with the CMH.

• Registered Users Posts: 744 ✭✭✭Breaston Plants

I'd say Nicola Tallant is creaming herself.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭ectoraige

Augme wrote: »
    Yea it's amazing how the Gardai can't patrol every street in Dublin. Talk about useless!

Sure there's only about three of them anyway, O'Connell Street, Grafton Street, and whatever street Coppers is on.

kfallon wrote: »
    But eventually some innocent person will get caught in the crossfire or else shot in a case of mistaken identity!

Already has happened, those savages rob and pillage throughout the country at will, do you think they do that without harming innocent people?

Jesus Christ.

RSF / 32 CSM, whatever they're all calling themselves these days, and their supports absolutely despise Sinn Fein. Given the chance to damage them in the up coming elections would they? Absolutely.

Any idiot can pick up a phone.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I've merged the 2 threads and relabelled to 'Gangland Shootings in Dublin'.
    It's probably more appropriate as it appears these are linked and is the shooting(s) tonight are a continuation of the shooting in The Regency last Friday.

Jayop wrote: »
    It's not just Enda that wants SF do do badly. It's not beyond the realms that the CIRA themselves would have claimed responsibility for the attack knowing the pressure it would put on SF when labour and FG inevitably use that as something to beat them with.

The CIRA hate SF.

No just no. The cira wouldn't be bothered doing something as ridiculous as that.

It was probably done to try take the heat off the gang who did it.

In my completely uneducated and uninformed opinion, the CIRA did do the shooting on Friday but it was a paid hit and they claimed it because their members were caught on camera. The claiming of it has 2 purposes, 1 to give the "republican angle" and 2 to put pressure on SF knowing that the government would be salivating at the chance to link Gerry and Mary to this.

No just no. The cira wouldn't be bothered doing something as ridiculous as that.

Really? What makes you so sure?

Any update from Tallaght anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Nodin wrote: »

Willie Frazer has a video up complaining about "fenian looking" types that were seen in his area. Maybe he could be called as an expert witness :D

Any update from Tallaght anyone?

It's still there.....:rolleyes:

How is it ridiculous? If they did do it then it's clearly worked because before these threads were merged it took 28 posts for someone here to mention Gerry Adams.