Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Gangland Shootings in Dublin MOD Warning in Post #1 (updated 29/05/16)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,536 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

BMJD wrote: »
    I'm certain I heard a discussion on the radio in recent days that provisions for electronic tagging already exist in legislation, but for some reason nobody can be arsed implementing it.

but you must first either find them guilty of an offence or they must be currently on bail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

but you must first either find them guilty of an offence or they must be currently on bail.

well there's no shortage of either, is there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,536 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

BMJD wrote: »
    well there's no shortage of either, is there?

Is there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

I'd say the wake of todays funeral will be tense to say the least ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

I'd say the wake of todays funeral will be tense to say the least ..

It'll one of the safest places in the country right now. Wonder how much all this costs the state.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,261 ✭✭✭Shlippery

Walked past it on the way into college.

A great day to rob a bank cos I think every armed guard in the country was in the proximity of the funeral.

It was like something out of The Wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

Is there?

Multiple convictions, many people on bail, loads on TR...

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Berserker wrote: »
    I don't think these guys were cannon fodder though. Two of them were photographed near the hotel and they have been identified as known republicans from the border area, South Tyrone, if I remember correctly. Looks like a man and woman from the pics.

Did witnesses not say that they were shouting at people to move in Dublin accents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭stoller

Tilly wrote: »
    It'll one of the safest places in the country right now. Wonder how much all this costs the state.

This is whats on my mind. All these resources tied up in one area to protect a low life funeral of a scummer who was shot in a gang war. let these idiots kill eachother. The less of them on the streets the better.

stoller wrote: »
    This is whats on my mind. All these resources tied up in one area to protect a low life funeral of a scummer who was shot in a gang war. let these idiots kill eachother. The less of them on the streets the better.

Think of all the innocent people with no involvement in crime attending the funeral, especially the women and children. They can't run the risk of another atrocity occuring in public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

RainyDay wrote: »
    Are you sure about this? Given that they didn't have room for Mick Wallace and Clare daly, I'm not sure that there are loads of folks inside for petty offences.

Well if we reformed our drugs laws so that buying and selling in and of themselves (without associated violence, hitman enforced debt collection etc) were no longer crimes, I'd suspect we could release a lot of people. There are plenty of dealers who never actually get involved in the drive by shootings side of things but still get jailed under our archaic "your body is not entirely yours" laws. Also, folks who get jailed for contempt over non payment of fines etc - sure, there needs to be a method of enforcement but if that kind of sh!te means that the guy who is going around beating people up for the craic can't be put behind bars, then our priorities are f*cked.
    I don't think you can tag somebody 'just in case', Maybe it could be done as part of extended probation terms, or similar.

Well we could draft new laws. Think of it like a life sentence but not actually in custody, just a life sentence (or just of many years) of being under electronic surveillance, due to one's known propensity for scumbaggery. And you could design the system such that the Gardai couldn't keep tabs on you by looking you up by name - rather, when a crime is reported, they could pull up the location and time of that crime on the map, and get a list of all known scumbags who were present at that location. So for instance, if I'm a known gang member and there's a shooting in a particular city pub, they can pull up that pub's GPS co-ordinates and see that I was there at the time of the shooting. At the very least, that would be enough to make me a "person of interest" to the enquiry. But it would also protect your privacy, since they couldn't just look at you specifically by name and make a list of every hookup you have and every night out you go on.

Also finally bear in mind that I'm not suggesting any of this for people who are first time or small time offenders. I would bet every cent I have to my name that the people who partook in the two Dublin shootings last week were not people who have never come to the attention of the Gardai before. These are the people we need to be keeping a semi-permanent tab on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

stoller wrote: »
    Think of all the innocent people with no involvement in crime attending the funeral, especially the women and children. They can't run the risk of another atrocity occuring in public.

This. My college is on the same road that funeral was taking place on, not to mention this guy's family and childhood friends who are more likely innocent civilians than not.

• Registered Users Posts: 686 ✭✭✭ghostfacekilla

Anyone invited to the 'afters'?

Pity the poor pub owner that has to house that bunch of knackers for the night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭WarZ

McGowans in Harold's Cross is very unfortunately situated...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mahoganygas

Anyone invited to the 'afters'?

Pity the poor pub owner that has to house that bunch of knackers for the night.

I've drank there.
    Very surprised to be honest. Usually they are only too keen to keep undesirables away.

Apparently it's surrounded by cops at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Duvetdays

A mate of mine that drinks in the belgard heard at the weekend it was on there. Now I've heard from two separate people that there's a lot of police and check points around the belgard this evening. Whether it's the wake or something else going on we'll find out soon enough. It seems very far away for them but you never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Duvetdays

I'd say there'll be about dozen pubs in various locations around Dublin tonight were people are hearing through the grapevine that the wake is being held in there local.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mahoganygas

Duvetdays wrote: »
    A mate of mine that drinks in the belgard heard at the weekend it was on there. Now I've heard from two separate people that there's a lot of police and check points around the belgard this evening. Whether it's the wake or something else going on we'll find out soon enough. It seems very far away for them but you never know.

Yep, heard the same.
    A lot of Gardai swarming around the Belgard housing estates at the moment.

I'm surprised they allowed it. I've heard of them closing their doors when other 'rough' funerals are coming into the area.

• Registered Users Posts: 568 ✭✭✭Supernintento Chalmers

Yep, heard the same.
    A lot of Gardai swarming around the Belgard housing estates at the moment.

I'm surprised they allowed it. I've heard of them closing their doors when other 'rough' funerals are coming into the area.

Ya, armed Gardai have sealed off all approaches to the pub since 1400 today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭...And Justice

JustTheOne wrote: »
    Where did you read their known republicans?

In the I love Fg Labour thread, That's the media spin on it. Never told anyone that they're dissidents. Let the public make the connection to SF, sure they said in the Sunday business post, that they were going to terrify us for the next 10 days.

Go team Ireland, and no , I'm not a shinner, just sick of the rubbish. Enda Kenny mentioned FF 43 times in their manifesto...??? JESUS CHRIST??

Why don't we ask Maria Cahill about these people since she was a dissident republican, and is now a Labour senator.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Its surprising that the government of the day did not provide a guard of Honour or the president (Aides de Camp (?)) at the least.

Its not as if they are going to take action against the important Gangsters is it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

In the I love Fg Labour thread, That's the media spin on it. Never told anyone that they're dissidents. Let the public make the connection to SF, sure they said in the Sunday business post, that they were going to terrify us for the next 10 days.

Go team Ireland, and no , I'm not a shinner, just sick of the rubbish. Enda Kenny mentioned FF 43 times in their manifesto...??? JESUS CHRIST??

Why don't we ask Maria Cahill about these people since she was a dissident republican, and is now a Labour senator.

Em ok!

Anyway I found the link, its been reported from northern based media.

• Registered Users Posts: 469 ✭✭rafatoni

Em ok!

The irish media are reporting the man in drag and other chap with the handgun are 2 well known armed robbers from the north inner city.

rafatoni wrote: »
    The irish media are reporting the man in drag and other chap with the handgun are 2 well known armed robbers from the north inner city.

I know and then the bbc report one them identified as cira member.

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-northern-ireland-35572804

Hard to know what to believe.

• Registered Users Posts: 458 ✭✭2forjoy

they know who they are and have clear pic running from crime scene , i wonder when will they be arrested

Em ok!

It's fact what I posted. Facts simple as.

blinding wrote: »
    Its surprising that the government of the day did not provide a guard of Honour or the president (Aides de Camp (?)) at the least.

Its not as if they are going to take action against the important Gangsters is it ?

Apparently the kinahan gang had a gardai escort from the airport, how Fcuking mental is that?

It's fact what I posted. Facts simple as.

But I didn't ask anything about ff or Labour or enda Kenny I only asked for a fresh link to the men been cIra.

Don't worry I found it myself and it started up north.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭KilOit

Just drove by The Belgard an hour ago, 30+ garda with many armed special branch surrounding the pub. Pub seemed packed!

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Andalucia

love to see the bill for that funeral today
    some casket and 10 stretch limos - that's going to cost a few kg's
    surely CAB have to look at how that bill is paid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,043 ✭✭✭Hitchens

some scutter that priest came out with :rolleyes:

Hitchens wrote: »

What could he say in fairness with some of those boys in the church staring up at him. It would be hard not to feel intimidated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭onlyme!

What could he say in fairness with some of those boys in the church staring up at him. It would be hard not to feel intimidated.

a nice wad of cash in a envelope, he becomes a saint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Where did you read their known republicans?

Here and here along with countless other news sources.

Andalucia wrote: »
    love to see the bill for that funeral today
    some casket and 10 stretch limos - that's going to cost a few kg's
    surely CAB have to look at how that bill is paid

A load of snotty fifties I'd say.

• Registered Users Posts: 657 ✭✭✭dashdoll

Apparently the kinahan gang had a gardai escort from the airport, how Fcuking mental is that?

This is an absolute joke if true. Let these inbred scumbags watch their own backs. I'm sure it won't do them anyway. They'll probably eventually end up the way most of them do with a bit of karma.

I met an old woman at a bus stop in the liberties yesterday who exclaimed 'ah, isn't it awful with (insert dead man's gf's name) having to rear two kids on her own'?

Sell the 300,000 lamborghini. That's €360 a week until they're 18. That, and whatever 'rainy day' stash that he might have had lying around, her social welfare and children's allowance.

I'm sure none of them will starve to death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

KilOit wrote: »
    Just drove by The Belgard an hour ago, 30+ garda with many armed special branch surrounding the pub. Pub seemed packed!
    I work in a pub in Harolds Cross, the place was in lockdown today

• Registered Users Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

So semeingly that piece of shít was buried in a coffin worth 15k.

Would make you sick.

• Registered Users Posts: 657 ✭✭✭dashdoll

Would make you sick.

The media really needs to stop giving these dregs of society any coverage.

Doesn't matter whether it's a cardboard box or a 15k coffin, gonna end up in the same place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,139 ✭✭✭flanzer

Would make you sick.

A certain 'famous' tailor in Dublin City was asked to provide all the suits too. Plenty of cash to be made today for those who supply services to the funeral industry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Not that long ago since single mums couldn't take their children for first communion, but show a priest a huge wad of drug money from these dealers of death and he'll put on a show. Sickening how the guards stopped the workers of this country from doing their business in order to let this lot of low life's parade one of their fallen hero's around the city.
    Funeral sponsored by Ray Ban and Wrigley's ......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

1000 odd people turn up for some lowlifes funeral, and they say crime doesn't pay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Imagine, a life of crime and what have you got to show for it? A fancy funeral, flash cars, money.

I know what I would rather, a normal life and to still be living after 33, not have to live in fear and constantly looking over my shoulder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

dd972 wrote: »
    1000 odd people turn up for some lowlifes funeral, and they say crime doesn't pay.

Well the fact he's dead from a brutal murder suggests that crime doesn't pay!

...and the rabbit has round the clock police protection

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

...and the rabbit has round the clock police protection

Why do tabloids entertain this nickname nonsense. They should assign them names that make a complete mockery of them like "Salad Tosser"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

To be fair to the Gardai I think they provided escorts to these scumbags because they wanted to mitigate against any more violence. Given the kind of weapons that were used in the Regency murder it obvious that that military grade weapons are likely to be used on any further attempts on these gits lives. A weapon like an AK47 will put a bullet through a normal car, through the outside wall of a house, through several cavity walls. The chances are that several innocents may get injured or killed if there is another attack attempt in the open.

The Gardai are not necessarily protecting the scumbags they are keeping the peace and ensuring that all the non criminals who have to go about their daily lives in the areas that these scumbags were occupying were not put in dangers way.

I'd say the Gardai are galled that they have to protect them as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

gandalf wrote: »
    To be fair to the Gardai I think they provided escorts to these scumbags because they wanted to mitigate against any more violence. Given the kind of weapons that were used in the Regency murder it obvious that that military grade weapons are likely to be used on any further attempts on these gits lives. A weapon like an AK47 will put a bullet through a normal car, through the outside wall of a house, through several cavity walls. The chances are that several innocents may get injured or killed if there is another attack attempt in the open.

The Gardai are not necessarily protecting the scumbags they are keeping the peace and ensuring that all the non criminals who have to go about their daily lives in the areas that these scumbags were occupying were not put in dangers way.

I'd say the Gardai are galled that they have to protect them as well.

Weren't some people calling for 24 hour surveillance on these criminals earlier in the thread? So they get off the plane, the Gardaí follow them around for the duration of their stay and they get accused of giving them an 'escort'.

Sometimes the Gardaí can't win, damned if they do, damned if they don't!

kfallon wrote: »
    Sometimes the Gardaí can't win, damned if they do, damned if they don't!

This is so true