Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Gangland Shootings in Dublin MOD Warning in Post #1 (updated 29/05/16)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Tell you what tho, if you were planning on robbing a bank this is probably the week to do it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,401 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

kfallon wrote: »
    Tell you what tho, if you were planning on robbing a bank this is probably the week to do it :pac:

Sshhhh....big mouth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

kfallon wrote: »
    Well the fact he's dead from a brutal murder suggests that crime doesn't pay!
    When it comes to organised crime you can choose to die either as a rich man or as an old man. Not both.

seamus wrote: »
    When it comes to organised crime you can choose to die either as a rich man or as an old man. Not both.

No point being the richest guy in the graveyard!

Murdered in a hail of bullets is the easy way out!
    The misery they have inflicted on others, doesn't compare!

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Andalucia

amusing account of the funeral in the Indo, some junkie went through the crowd looking for some spare change bud - was asked to show some respect - the irony of it all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭...And Justice

Andalucia wrote: »
    amusing account of the funeral in the Indo, some junkie went through the crowd looking for some spare change bud - was asked to show some respect - the irony of it all

Never miss an opportunity, the brass monkeys. Bet their suppliers looked at them like they were filth, Yet providing for their lifestyle. Who the Fcuk gets a coffin for €20k? 11, 11 limos etc. This was a stupid show that the gardai facilitated, absolute joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

Never miss an opportunity, the brass monkeys. Bet their suppliers looked at them like they were filth, Yet providing for their lifestyle. Who the Fcuk gets a coffin for €20k? 11, 11 limos etc. This was a stupid show that the gardai facilitated, absolute joke.

firstly I doubt this actually happened too much symbolism at a very convenient time for a writer it stinks of made up crap

I'm not quite sure how the gardai' facilitated' an expensive funeral?
    When did the gardai become the police of purse strings for peoples funerals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,159 ✭✭✭bigroad

The problem is 50 convictions free,100 convictions free,200 convictions free.
    AS inda has said its a great country to business in ,yea for drug dealers it is.

bubblypop wrote: »
    I'm not quite sure how the gardai' facilitated' an expensive funeral?
    When did the gardai become the police of purse strings for peoples funerals?

Did you not see the papers? Helicopters, gardai driving the kinehans from Dublin airport? Protection. Where have you been man?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

dd972 wrote: »
    1000 odd people turn up for some lowlifes funeral, and they say crime doesn't pay.

Well, the manner in which he died would suggest otherwise. These scumbags have plenty of support in this country. That lad is probably consider to be a 'salt of the earth Dub' in certain parts of Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 936 ✭✭✭flanna01

At what cost is the tourism industry hit....? Dublin has had its own special update segment on Skynews for the last week..

It puts Dublin in a poor light for any of our UK cousins thinking of coming over for a weekend... (And spending plenty of the Queens pounds too...)

I wonder how many people see the big picture here... It's not just the Garda bill for hosting the scumbags whilst they visit - It's the millions of lost revenue that hasn't been brought into the country due to this filth playing hardmen on our high streets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭handlemaster

bigroad wrote: »
    The problem is 50 convictions free,100 convictions free,200 convictions free.
    AS inda has said its a great country to business in ,yea for drug dealers it is.

Take it to the election campaigners. .. 10 years for ten convictions manitory

Did you not see the papers? Helicopters, gardai driving the kinehans from Dublin airport? Protection. Where have you been man?

Woman!!
    And the gardai did not give them an escort from the airport!! Don't believe everything you read.
    Helicopter, and protection for the funeral was, unfortunately, necessary.
    Do you want gunmen running rampant through streets and cemetarys in Dublin seeking revenge?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

I'd well believe it. The junkie shuffle is never too far away in that part of town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭haveringchick

Hitchens wrote: »
    some scutter that priest came out with :rolleyes:

What do you think the priest SHOULD have said then?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

flanzer wrote: »
    A certain 'famous' tailor in Dublin City was asked to provide all the suits too. Plenty of cash to be made today for those who supply services to the funeral industry

Why is everyone being coy? The tailor isn't going to come after you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

What do you think the priest SHOULD have said then?

Ashes to ashes, dust to dust,
    This foockers dead,
    Lets hope his coffin rusts.

from looking at pictures and media reports, this most have been the most costly funeral in Irish,never mind gangland history - the priest must have got a tidy sum to talk about the victim in such glowing terms

should be exhaustive investigations into how this funeral was paid for and who paid for it - vulgar display of illegitimate dosh

Hammer89 wrote: »

he's afraid he might stitch him up.......

sorry :(

*gets coat*

Frynge wrote: »
    Ashes to ashes, dust to dust,
    This foockers dead,
    Lets hope his coffin rusts.

Possibly, possibly... I'm interested in what Hitchens wanted the Priest to say though....

from looking at pictures and media reports, this most have been the most costly funeral in Irish,never mind gangland history - the priest must have got a tidy sum to talk about the victim in such glowing terms

should be exhaustive investigations into how this funeral was paid for and who paid for it - vulgar display of illegitimate dosh

Were you at the funeral? What were the "glowing terms"? Have you ever been involved in organising a funeral? Have you ever even actually attended a funeral?

unfortunately, I wasn't left in to the funeral owing to strict door policy of sharp tailored suit, blue shirt and sunglasses. I'll know better for the next one

But you heard the eulogy? You said the priest used "glowing terms " to describe the deceased so I presume you heard it all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

But you heard the eulogy? You said the priest used "glowing terms " to describe the deceased so I presume you heard it all?

http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/inside-the-church-it-was-a-quiet-respectful-affair-priest-who-officiated-for-david-byrne-defends-lavish-gangland-funeral-34457655.html

There ya go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

not anywhere near the most expensive one , Andy Connors cost some money .
    He was buried with €100,000 of his jewellery including a Rolex Presidential Diamond watch which is worth €40,000 alone.
    As well as being buried in a gold-plated coffin worth €28,000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,004 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

No taste, new money, bling almighty. Feck that.

Reminds me of some Traveller dispatches too.

Anyway, let them waste their money, what do I care. All forgotten by most the next day.

Death the leveller. All in the ground or in the furnace. Same end for everyone.

Tilly wrote: »

But there's not one single reference in that article to the priest having referred to the deceased in "glowing terms" so maybe you posted the wrong article?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Hammer89 wrote: »

"The Tailor" Dublin's latest supercriminal, so named because he lines people in chalk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

But there's not one single reference in that article to the priest having referred to the deceased in "glowing terms" so maybe you posted the wrong article?

On Newstalk lunchtime yesterday he was being interviewed and referred to him as an innocent man who everyone liked, would always lend a hand and was always polite etc etc. He almost said he was a pillar of the community. You can listen back on the podcast.

smash wrote: »
    On Newstalk lunchtime yesterday he was being interviewed and referred to him as an innocent man who everyone liked, would always lend a hand and was always polite etc etc. He almost said he was a pillar of the community. You can listen back on the podcast.

I was listening
    The priest didn't know the man personally
    This is now the case for the vast majority of funerals of young people
    The priest is engaged to say a funeral mass for a person he doesn't know and the expectation is that the priest will eulogise the deceased during his homily
    So he has to be briefed by the deceased nearest and dearest about different aspects of the dead mans character, personality etc
    What do you think his heartbroken nearest and dearest said about him and what did you want the priest to say instead?
    Also, why would the priest cause pandemonium in the church by saying what we all know is true? Why? What would that achieve?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

I suppose the priest could have discussed his (the deceased) "Work" and remarked how successful he was and that his family could afford to be very Ostentatious with their funeral arrangements.

Its harder for a Rich Man to enter the Kingdom of Heaven than for a camel to go through the Eye of a Needle ! (You Know That Kind of Thing)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,186 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

blinding wrote: »
    I suppose the priest could have discussed his (the deceased) "Work" and remarked how successful he was and that his family could afford to be very Ostentatious with their funeral arrangements.

Its harder for a Rich Man to enter the Kingdom of Heaven than for a camel to go through the Eye of a Needle ! (You Know That Kind of Thing)

That sounds like a cnt of a priest! All passive aggressive...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 409 ✭✭shugy

smash wrote: »

He probably was a polite, well liked and always lnt a hand. Just because he sold drugs and maybe did some other bad things doesnt mean he was rotten to the core. Theres good in all of us, it just depends on our circumstances and surroundings weve all been brought up in. i know people who have did time for murder and other terrible things during the troubles and now they are one of the best and decent people you will ever meet. I dont buy into all that paper talk about all these drug dealers and the wealth their supposed to have. They do this to shock society and also to sell papers. Fs i knew a guy in glasgow who was supposed to be rolling in money yet he hadnt 2d to rub together! Dont always believe what you read in the papers.

How would that go down with the assembled mourners I wonder?
    The family couldn't get an undertaker and Gsrdai and everyone else IS paralysed with fear of these people but you want one unarmed man to stand up and speak out on his own
    Makes sense.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 409 ✭✭shugy

not anywhere near the most expensive one , Andy Connors cost some money .
    He was buried with €100,000 of his jewellery including a Rolex Presidential Diamond watch which is worth €40,000 alone.
    As well as being buried in a gold-plated coffin worth €28,000

Do you people actually believe that!!! lol

That sounds like a cnt of a priest! All passive aggressive...
    How would that go down with the assembled mourners I wonder?
    The family couldn't get an undertaker and Gsrdai and everyone else IS paralysed with fear of these people but you want one unarmed man to stand up and speak out on his own
    Makes sense.
    I thought this religious stuff was about making hard choices and not playing to the Gallery.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I thought this religious stuff was about making hard choices and not playing to the Gallery.

Jesus forgave the criminal next to him on the cross. It's not the priest's place to condemn this man from the pulpit, in the priest's mind he believes that the Lord will decide his fate.

Correct, shoot them all and God will sort them out.

I still can't see them going Mexico, like some people believe, doing horrendous killings of rivals on video then posting it online.

The priest could have said that which would have been something !

• Registered Users Posts: 936 ✭✭✭flanna01

Sure wasn't the poor ould priest affiliated to the worlds biggest gang of kiddie fiddlers....???

The Catholic church may not have worn cut suits and shades, but they too, brought terror too many innocents in Dublin too...

Just saying....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭JosDel

Shame on the Indo for printing the address of the house where Neddy Hutch is getting waked..

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

JosDel wrote: »
    Shame on the Indo for printing the address of the house where Neddy Hutch is getting waked..

Probably the safest street in Ireland this evening.

They did the same with the other guy who was buried the other day

If someone comes to the church to request a Christian burial then the cleric must do his best
    I don't think you know very much about funerals or humans in general

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭JosDel

Stheno wrote:
    Probably the safest street in Ireland this evening.

Stheno wrote:
    They did the same with the other guy who was buried the other day

The Indo removed the online pic with the house number printed underneath, good

Agree, a very safe house while the Gardai are present.

Don't recall seeing any photos of the hearse being carried into DBs family home or the Indo printing the actual house number?

Seriously?

People expect that the priest would do what no one here would do, stand up in front of a gathering of a criminals close family and friends and analyse their crimes and media allegations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭Midnight Sundance

Honestly, what did you expect Fr Martin to say?!! If the guards couldn't put that scumbag behind bars , what exactly was fr Martin gonna say/do?!
    He's a priest, he's not meant to judge. His job was to bury a man. The guards job was to find evidence n put svumbags like him behind jail. At least the priest did his job!

Honestly, what did you expect Fr Martin to say?!! If the guards couldn't put that scumbag behind bars , what exactly was fr Martin gonna say/do?!
    He's a priest, he's not meant to judge. His job was to bury a man. The guards job was to find evidence n put svumbags like him behind jail. At least the priest did his job!

There are posters here who have never been to a funeral and have no concept of the priests role in the death of a parishioner
    It's staggering really

• Registered Users Posts: 686 ✭✭✭ghostfacekilla

There are posters here who have never been to a funeral and have no concept of the priests role in the death of a parishioner

I thought his parish was Puerto Banus.