Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Gangland Shootings in Dublin MOD Warning in Post #1 (updated 29/05/16)

• Registered Users Posts: 768 ✭✭✭wardides

JustTheOne wrote: »
    Sunday world source was it?

It's amazing people know how the media works expecially over the last few years with all the goings on with the government, and just believe anything printed still.

Who knows it might be true but it might be complete bs.

It's very irresponsible journalism if it's not true though. Not that I'm saying much about journalist in this sector, but it's quite a precise fact to blast on the front of a paper without any sort of truth behind it. You can imagine that all this would do would was increase the level of confusion and mayhem which currently exists.

In saying that, I'd be surprised if it wasn't more than just a coincidence. Wasn't an attempt made on his life in October last year, before any of the recent Kinehan/Hutch feud escalated?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭bajer101

Turns out it is pretty much just a headline writer trying to get people in. The car was registered to a company set up by Kinehans (assuming to launder a bit of cash). Something which probably happened years ago, and probably doesn't have any relevance to the background at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

It's great we can pull all these extra resources for policing funerals out of our ass, yet extra resources can't be found for stopping crime
    Great chance for the Guards to get some close up surveillance do you not think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

wardides wrote: »
    Turns out it is pretty much just a headline writer trying to get people in. The car was registered to a company set up by Kinehans (assuming to launder a bit of cash). Something which probably happened years ago, and probably doesn't have any relevance to the background at all.

yes, it was probably just a communal vehicle for bringing people to mass. I doubt any connections. Sure they'd have probably lent it to me, only I didn't ask ;)

armaghlad wrote: »
    Great chance for the Guards to get some close up surveillance do you not think?

Great chance for the gardai to bring a lot of them in for questioning the morning of the funeral and stop the circus . Pictures of alan ryans funeral/year anniversary show people with uncovered faces in military garb. I haven't seen one yet being charged with being part of the ira etc.

At that funeral the "ira" were stopping and searching cars in the area and the gardai let them

surveillance, surmeilance at this stage, they know full well who's involved.

Have the guys with the uncovered faces running from the recency been arrested yet?

yes, it was probably just a communal vehicle for bringing people to mass. I doubt any connections. Sure they'd have probably lent it to me, only I didn't ask ;)

I'd be surprised if some of the hutch's weren't driving cars registered to a company which was set up by the Kinehans to be fair.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Ally Dick wrote: »
    This is what the state needs to do :
    - evacuate the Aran Islands over the next month. Pay the islanders handsomely to move to the mainland
    - take every gang member of the Kinahan/Hutch/Ryan/Keane-Collopy/McCarthy-Dundon gangs, and deport them to the Aran Islands
    - suspend all links to the mainland
    - any helicopters that fly over the Aran Islands get blown out of the sky with a bazooka
    - provide them with whatever ammunition they need
    - give them food and water
    - let them blow the sh1t out of each other
    - after 6 months, come back and monitor the situation. Whoever is left alive, can go home
    - any more gangland activity, and repeat the process again
    That there are so many fooking gangs and that they are so blatant is a Disgrace to the Gardai and the "Government"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

This is what the state needs to do :
    - evacuate the Aran Islands over the next month. Pay the islanders handsomely to move to the mainland
    - take every gang member of the Kinahan/Hutch/Ryan/Keane-Collopy/McCarthy-Dundon gangs, and deport them to the Aran Islands
    - suspend all links to the mainland
    - any helicopters that fly over the Aran Islands get blown out of the sky with a bazooka
    - provide them with whatever ammunition they need
    - give them food and water
    - let them blow the sh1t out of each other
    - after 6 months, come back and monitor the situation. Whoever is left alive, can go home
    - any more gangland activity, and repeat the process again

I think they made that movie in 1981 was called escape from new york

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0082340/?ref_=nv_sr_1

Great chance for the gardai to bring a lot of them in for questioning the morning of the funeral and stop the circus . Pictures of alan ryans funeral/year anniversary show people with uncovered faces in military garb. I haven't seen one yet being charged with being part of the ira etc.

At that funeral the "ira" were stopping and searching cars in the area and the gardai let them

surveillance, surmeilance at this stage, they know full well who's involved.

Have the guys with the uncovered faces running from the recency been arrested yet?
    Guards would be doing themselves no favours making arrests on the morning of a funeral.

Wearing "military garb" isn't proof of membership of an illegal organisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,715 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

arayess wrote: »
    I think they made that movie in 1981 was called escape from new york

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0082340/?ref_=nv_sr_1

And who'll play the Snake this time ? Maybe He Man Alan Kelly ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

And who'll play the Snake this time ? Maybe He Man Alan Kelly ?

they don't call him AK47 for nothing....:pac:

Pictures of alan ryans funeral/year anniversary show people with uncovered faces in military garb. I haven't seen one yet being charged with being part of the ira ?

Ya can't charge someone with membership because they're wearing a costume!

• Registered Users Posts: 607 ✭✭✭rondog

regarding the nicknames being mentioned,as was previously stated these aren't the names gangsters give themselves.

<mod snip> removed speculation </mod snip>

I wont mention his real name but he has been involved in a lot more shootings than whats posted in the papers..... so ive heard.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭PEACEBROTHER

This so called MR BIG is mentioned every second Sunday in Sunday world

Is he ever going to be named or charged with any of offence

This is going on 2 years +

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 260 ✭✭Jimlh86

rondog wrote: »
    regarding the nicknames being mentioned,as was previously stated these aren't the names gangsters give themselves.

I wont mention his real name but he has been involved in a lot more shootings than whats posted in the papers..... so ive heard.
    Oh you've heard? Well god damn it let's bring him in!

He will be before the courts soon facing serious charges.He cant be named because of this impending trial.they think that if hes outed in the media he wont get a fair trial.

Ill be very surprised if hes still alive before he gets to sentencing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Rakish Paddy

I was trawling through all the stories and articles I could find to try to figure who "Mr. Big" was, and that fits with the surname of who I had figured was my main suspect, but a few articles seemed to imply that he was involved in a gang 'with' Mr. Big. Hmmmm...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭PEACEBROTHER

He will be before the courts soon facing serious charges.He cant be named because of this impending trial.they think that if hes outed in the media he wont get a fair trial.

Ill be very surprised if hes still alive before he gets to sentencing.

What charges is he facing ?

I was trawling through all the stories and articles I could find to try to figure who "Mr. Big" was, and that fits with the surname of who I had figured was my main suspect, but a few articles seemed to imply that he was involved in a gang 'with' Mr. Big. Hmmmm...

Nope that's him.Papers regularly mess up their stories.

<snip>

I'm not saying that story is FISHY but that's definitely him is it?

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

MOD
    Please stop with the speculation of identities please.
    Use google if ou want to try join the dots between a nickname and a real identity, that is not what AH is for.

bubblypop wrote: »
    Ya can't charge someone with membership because they're wearing a costume!

the ira gave him a military funeral for thier fallen comrade, it would be logical to think that's those in military uniform providing the guard of honor are involved.

You can't arrest someone because it's logical their involved in something. I'm not sure how you could even think that works on any level.

This so called MR BIG is mentioned every second Sunday in Sunday world

Is he ever going to be named or charged with any of offence

This is going on 2 years +
    Maybe he has changed his name by Deed Poll to Mr Big.... otherwise how would anybody that owes him money ever find him ! !

You can't arrest someone because it's logical their involved in something. I'm not sure how you could even think that works on any level.

These guys don't carry IRA membership cards. if they are parading about doing guard of honors they are representing themselves as part of the group and therefore should be neutralised

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

His real name is Chris Noth

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 454 ✭✭Peter Anthony

Interesting discussion about this in the last segment with Joe Duffy on Liveline today, Joe got fairly wound up. Apparently there was alot of talk on FM104 last night but I cant find anything online.

Also
    Antoin O'Hara, a former H-Block blanketman, pays tribute to his friend Vinnie Ryan who was fatally injured in a gun attack in Dublin yesterday.

Vinnie Ryan, who did not use drugs, did not drink, who was a proud father of a baby infant, a beloved son and brother, a devoted partner to Kelly, died last night 6 hours after being shot in Finglas, Dublin.

Only a few hour after he was shot, the “esteemed” journalist Nicola Tallant was interviewed by Matt Cooper on today FM radio (Listen from 6.30).

Without even mentioning Vinnie's name, she proceeded to 'wing it' on any questions she was asked, and concocted nonsense as she went along: going back and forth about his brother Alan who was ''in a Feud' with local North side Drug gangs, trying to ''extort money from them''. In other words, starting a smear campaign before Vinnie had even died!

She may be forgiven as she is following the lies that churn out from the Garda press, or the spin doctors in FG and FF. Following like a sheep, why did she not question her sources? Because if she investigated the truth and published it - she would be cut off.

I had the privilege of knowing both Alan (also a non-drinker or drug user) and Vinnie.

Both became members of Oglaigh Na hEireann - to fight to achieve Freedom for the 32 counties of Ireland by whatever means necessary, including force of arms - Inspired by Pearse and Connolly 100 years ago.

As they planned and trained, they seen the devastation that drugs were playing on the youth of Dublin. Rather than sit idly by, they tried to stop it. That brought them into conflict with those that supply and peddle the drugs. Their action was not for personal gain, not to extort money from anyone - an unselfish attempt to help their community.

As casualties started to appear the Establishment went into to overdrive to demonise.

Because they have been doing it for the past 80 years they continue not to give any credit to Republicans that oppose the status quo - especially Republican Socialists.

The ''Alan Ryan Gang'' - as if it was rival drug fighting each other. In other words, the state trying to Criminalise.

Then the journalists jumping on the bandwagon and falling over themselves to embrace and enhance the state fed lie. That pertains today - is there not any journalist that has the decency or conviction to investigate the lie machine from the Gardaí?

Vinnie Ryan, Freedom fighter RIP

http://thepensivequill.am/2016/03/vinnie-ryan-republican-freedom-fighter.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

near enough :

Civil Authorities (Special Powers) Act

http://news.bbc.co.uk/onthisday/hi/dates/stories/august/9/newsid_4071000/4071849.stm

The Prime Minister of Northern Ireland, Brian Faulkner, has introduced a new law giving the authorities the power to indefinitely detain suspected terrorists without trial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,536 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

gctest50 wrote: »
    near enough :

i'm pretty sure this didnt happen in Northern Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,440 ✭✭✭califano

Relax everyone an end to the criminal feuding in imminent

Between Priests and a boxer and probably various other buffoons suggesting that there should be mediation could there be any more evidence that this country is bonkers ! !

Its kinda like saying "They are all a lovely bunch of lads and its all just a weeny teeny mis-understanding"

The Gangsters are putting holes in one another and they are the kind of holes that no priest/judge/guard/politician/doctor can fix.

So will priests/buffoons/and even a boxer stop talking about having a cosy wee chat with murdering gangsters that are probably on some sort of power trip.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

califano wrote: »

He's not a very good advertisment for getting punched in the head for a living.

Freedom fighter? vinnie?
    In a Golf GTI?

*groans*

Yer man offering to mediate, he probably can help, he knows enough of them.:rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭stuar

califano wrote: »
    I hope so it's all getting out of hand, seems the place is awash with guns, Vinny Ryans crew were suspected of trying to assassinate somebody outside a police station.

http://www.sundayworld.com/news/crimedesk/kill-gill

Seemingly the guy they were going to shoot allegedly kidnapped somebody, I don't know what the world is coming to these days???

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/kidnap-suspect-bought-milk-for-hostage-baby-court-hears-29749588.html

Don't know why he'd want to kidnap somebody after winning the lotto??

http://www.herald.ie/news/garda-alert-as-court-grants-bail-to-suspected-gang-boss-29235760.html

"Detectives are investigating if the botched gangland hit on was carried out by the same crew who murdered slain Real IRA terror chief Alan Ryan"

http://www.herald.ie/news/chaos-as-four-shot-in-horror-pub-attack-29658374.html

This did though.

http://www.sundayworld.com/news/crimedesk/junkie-turns-on-crew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,536 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

stuar wrote: »

and what precisely is the relevance of that to the funeral party for alan ryan wearing balaclavas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

I couldn't give a shít what kind of funeral he gets but that shooting over to coffin is not on and shouldn't be allowed happen again this time.

Freedom fighter? vinnie?
    In a Golf GTI?

*groans*

Yer man offering to mediate, he probably can help, he knows enough of them.:rolleyes:
    Nearly a decade old too. What car should he drive?

Tilly wrote: »
    I couldn't give a shít what kind of funeral he gets but that shooting over to coffin is not on and shouldn't be allowed happen again this time.

Shooting into the air over the Coffin might be the least shooting to worry about:eek:

Actually I agree with you. Its time to stop this stuff. Fancy dress at funeral !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭JustShon

blinding wrote: »
    Shooting into the air over the Coffin might be the least shooting to worry about:eek:

That's kind of the problem. If they did a rifle salute it'd be the ideal time to hit someone at the funeral. If you did it from enough of a distance you could be long gone before anyone realised someone had been shot.

Right so the gangsters own pubs
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/revealed-dublins-criminal-rivals-have-interests-in-up-to-half-a-dozen-pubs-across-the-capital-34507896.html

but this bit in the article maddens me

"Gardai have not yet mounted an operation targeting the gangsters who are suspected of murdering Eddie Hutch Snr.
    Two men suspected of involvement in the murder of Eddie Hutch Snr have been formally notified by gardai of active death threats against them from associates of slain Gary Hutch."

Right so the gardai haven't started yet "mounting an operation" against them
    but are running like little bitches "formally notifying" them of threats on their lives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭JustShon

but are running like little bitches "formally notifying" them of threats on their lives

It's all about evidence. You need a sizable chunk of evidence to arrest someone but I don't think there's any legal minimum amount of evidence to warn someone that their life might be in danger.

JustShon wrote: »
    It's all about evidence. You need a sizable chunk of evidence to arrest someone but I don't think there's any legal minimum amount of evidence to warn someone that their life might be in danger.

Why bother using the resources to "warn them". do you think these gangland lads are oblivious to the notion of their rivals retaliating against them?

Gardai: "One-legged mick our investigation tells us, dicko dano is going to shoot you because you shot his bruv"

One-legged mick: "no sh1t sherlock, but I didn't do nuffin"

Gardai: "don't worry, we'll provide you with all the protection you need"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Rakish Paddy

Gardai: "One-legged mick our investigation tells us, dicko dano is going to shoot you because you shot his bruv"

One-legged mick: "no sh1t sherlock, but I didn't do nuffin"

The Garda and One-Legged Mick are both Cockneys?

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/revealed-dublins-criminal-rivals-have-interests-in-up-to-half-a-dozen-pubs-across-the-capital-34507896.html

"Gardai have not yet mounted an operation targeting the gangsters who are suspected of murdering Eddie Hutch Snr.
    Two men suspected of involvement in the murder of Eddie Hutch Snr have been formally notified by gardai of active death threats against them from associates of slain Gary Hutch."

Nothing new. Gilligan pumped money into pubs up and down the country when he got out of jail few years back.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭323

Yes. It did!

Internment . The indefinite detainment/imprisonment without trial, began in August 1971 and was in place for a number of years. Know a number of people who were interned for various lengths of time.

Instead of reducing violence, it caused it to increase and was probably one of the best recruiting tools the IRA ever had.

As to OP
    Scumbags killing each other off = less scumbags.

Whats the problem?

“Follow the trend lines, not the headlines,”

323 wrote: »
    Yes. It did!

Internment . The indefinite detainment/imprisonment without trial, began in August 1971 and was in place for a number of years. Know a number of people who were interned for various lengths of time.

Instead of reducing violence, it caused it to increase and was probably one of the best recruiting tools the IRA ever had.

As to OP
    Scumbags killing each other off = less scumbags.

Whats the problem?

Because innocent people get dragged in too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,996 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Given the extent of Kinahans drugs empire, how many people, who deplore what is going on, are unintentionally giving him money? What I mean is he probably has loads of money pumped into properties, pubs and hotels, among other things. If he is the main importer of coke to this country, why isn't more of it being seized. A lack of resources? A lack of informants? Has he people employed by the state on his payroll? I recall Howard Marks had very sophisticated methods of shippings drugs into the UK, he also had bought off custom agents and other people.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Simon2015

Can someone tell me what pubs these scumbags own so I can avoid them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭bajer101

Simon2015 wrote: »
    Can someone tell me what pubs these scumbags own so I can avoid them.

The Dáil Bar.