Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Gangland Shootings in Dublin MOD Warning in Post #1 (updated 29/05/16)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭scopper

PH was arrested already so I don't think it's him.

Re: the Monk there has been talk he acted as a driver somehow. Seems wild if he did, but who knows with this one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 454 ✭✭Peter Anthony

lol i was trying to find out who dowdalls father was earlier to see if it was him

Id say its JD anyway

- both the man arrested and him are 38
    - He is related to both the others arrested
    - His house was previously raided

Thats a fairly big bombshell if it is. He spent a whole episode with Joe Duffy on Liveline denying his involvement a while back. If it isnt him its a fair coincidence.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 Eroomy

AOD is already on remand currently is he not for the weapons find? But yes that thought did occur to me

Yeah I was thinking he could be on remand for possession of the weapons and been picked up here for the Regency but I now see RTE are saying he's 38 so I think you could be right with JD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,357 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

scopper wrote: »
    PH was arrested already so I don't think it's him.

Re: the Monk there has been talk he acted as a driver somehow. Seems wild if he did, but who knows with this one.

Limo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭scopper

Birneybau wrote: »
    Limo?

• Registered Users Posts: 655 ✭✭✭gangstergossip

journal saying dowdall was 34 in February of last year

www.thejournal.ie/sinn-fein-jonathan-dowdall-resigns-1937189-Feb2015/

I think he's 35 but 3 were suspended

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

The whole dissident link is interesting.

I wonder if anyone involved in the AR murder is involved in this feud.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭tomofson

JustTheOne wrote: »
    The whole dissident link is interesting.

I wonder if anyone involved in the AR murder is involved in this feud.

I Think that was over a different thing altogether but ye never know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

tomofson wrote: »
    I Think that was over a different thing altogether but ye never know

Whatever happened to the lads that were arrested over that?

All went quite.
    Probably not in the country anymore.

JustTheOne wrote: »
    Whatever happened to the lads that were arrested over that?

All went quite.
    Probably not in the country anymore.

You wouldn't know it had nothing to do with this feud though, even if certain people we're known to each other

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

I could be wrong but I understood that the Hutch-Kinihan combination secured supply and distribution on the north side city.

Mr. Big (JG) operates from the north suburbs supplying into Meath, Louth and further afield. The Ryan outfit thought they could extort money from that gang. Mr. Big more or less extinguished that threat.

With the Hutch gang after losing the fight there might be a distribution vacuum for a period that will get filled sooner rather than later.

humberklog wrote: »
    I could be wrong but I understood that the Hutch-Kinihan combination secured supply and distribution on the north side city.

Mr. Big (JG) operates from the north suburbs supplying into Meath, Louth and further afield. The Ryan outfit thought they could extort money from that gang. Mr. Big more or less extinguished that threat.

With the Hutch gang after losing the fight there might be a distribution vacuum for a period that will get filled sooner rather than later.

I wouldn't be too quick to say the fight is over already. But bottom line is they will lose

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 256 ✭✭coniosumadre

I wouldn't be too quick to say the fight is over already. But bottom line is they will lose

Jeez.... No one still know the identity of the 38 year old arrested?? Supposedly arrested in the airport trying to flee, well known and issued with a GIM recently..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Rakish Paddy

Apparently the Gardaí are trying to track down a particular individual in relation to the Eddie Hutch murder:

http://www.sundayworld.com/news/crimedesk/gangland-thug-being-hunted-over-shocking-eddie-hutch-murder-dublin

From the article:
    The feared thug, who has over 200 previous criminal convictions, also has a staggering five outstanding warrants for his arrest which have been issued at district court level this year after he failed to turn up for court appearances.

Also from the article:
    The hunted criminal is a close associate of two gangsters who were arrested and then released without charge by gardai investigating the feud-related murder of Eddie Hutch Snr.

Is there any word out there on who these fine folks are?

Jeez.... No one still know the identity of the 38 year old arrested?? Supposedly arrested in the airport trying to flee, well known and issued with a GIM recently..

I think EH junior is roughly 38 and was issued with a threat to hes life.

Half of Dublin seems to have been issued with a GIM recently! Was it the ex-Sinn Fein man?

humberklog wrote: »

jg and his crew have always been separate from the cartel they are the biggest crew in Ireland who dont get their product from the cartel. In recent weeks though jg has been getting friendly with one of the cartels main men from tallaght, pr. They have supposedly made a deal that jg and pr will become partners and go halves on all shipments which will be sourced from the cartel which has supposedly already begun and jg has been told that when the hutch crew is taking care of him and pr will take over all of north dublin while lb and gl and their crew continue to supply south dublin

From the Indo:
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/dad-and-son-arrested-over-regency-murder-34725073.html

Earlier this year, armed gardaí staged a high-profile raid on the 38-year-old man's north Dublin home.
    The property was searched for firearms and explosives by the Special Detective Unit over 24 hours last month under a garda warrant.

Has to be JD, no?

From the Indo:
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/dad-and-son-arrested-over-regency-murder-34725073.html

Earlier this year, armed gardaí staged a high-profile raid on the 38-year-old man's north Dublin home.
    The property was searched for firearms and explosives by the Special Detective Unit over 24 hours last month under a garda warrant.

Has to be JD, no?

sounds like it is is anybody know anything about jd's father?

• Registered Users Posts: 561 ✭✭✭Larsso30

was there not a series of raids around that time?

JD sounds most likely though as it was the most high profile?

Larsso30 wrote: »

Weren't most of the raids against people on the Kinahan side though? Apart from 'The Monk' (who doesn't seem to match the description here) who I think got a visit, JD is the only high-profile raid I remember happening on the Hutch side.

So does anyone think the killing is more or less over or will continue???

What's left of the Hutch side? Do they have the scale or reach to even the score a bit?

Well most of the gunmen and people who where actually involved in the regency killing are still alive, albeit the main one is in custody. I dont think the Kinahan side killed anyone of much significance, no doubt they killed people that would cause tears to the Hutch family such as eddie and kingsize but I dont think they killed any main players as of yet. Maybe Barr thats about the only one and hes involvement was as minimal as it gets. They did try and very nearly got a main player KM but hes still alive so can make a stand and by what I'm hearing hes back in the country.

• Registered Users Posts: 74 ✭✭seerscryer

c1ans7even wrote: »
    rondog wrote: »
    'Reports' that a number of taxis were used and were waiting in Charlemont where the van was abandoned,the taxis brought the gang in all different directions/safe houses

I thought they went through the fields up to st vincents gaa club/ malahide road area no?
    It was reported on twitter early on that taxis were used and it is no secret that Eddie Hutch was a taxi driver, John Hutch, Gerry Hutch and a couple of the nephews! I notice that none of the recent articles in the newspapers remark "innocent taxi driver" anymore!

From the Indo:

Earlier this year, armed garda staged a high-profile raid on the 38-year-old man's north Dublin home.

Has to be JD, no?
    Jonathon Dowdall arrest at Dublin airport about to board flight to Dubai, reportedly on vacation with his family, was seen escorted by 5 plain clothes Gardai through terminal building, not handcuffed. His father was arrested elsewhere I believe.

In
    Larsso30 wrote: »

Weren't most of the raids against people on the Kinahan side though? Apart from 'The Monk' (who doesn't seem to match the description here) who I think got a visit, JD is the only high-profile raid I remember happening on the Hutch side.

In the last week there have been about 25 to 30 raids on various addresses in the Dublin area, largely unreported in the Media, I believe designed at disrupting any planned attacks, mainly but not exclusively on premises connected with the K Cartel. I futher believe that the Gardai have intelligence to say that there is an attack imminent. In order to deter any proposed attack the Gardai have used a policy of disruption!

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

This thread has had multiple on-thread warnings to date that are being forgotten about. To summarise these warnings:

- No Gossip
    - No naming people (by initials or nickname) that are not the focus of these incidents
    - No Speculation
    - No Gossip

The discussion should focus on news items that have been substantiated rather than what is hearsay.
    At a minimum there will be thread bans for those that ignore this warning.

That could be the man himself

I had assumed the same, but according to the Sunday World it's an associate rather than the man himself:
    http://www.sundayworld.com/news/crimedesk/associate-of-gerry-the-monk-hutch-arrested-by-gardai

I hope I'm not breaching the mod rules - I think linking to a published news story is OK?

• Registered Users Posts: 568 ✭✭✭Supernintento Chalmers

It's the father of the suspected drag assassin.
    This was reported in the media earlier.

Its heating up now with all these arrests, no doubt charges will follow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

Somebody is being charged this evening..

https://twitter.com/mickthehack/status/732992983650406400

PH being charged. Maybe Kinahan will sanction that pay raise for the Guards now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

If that lad arrested Friday is being charged then it should be only time before flatcap is charged ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

If that lad arrested Friday is being charged then it should be only time before flatcap is charged ?

Wouldn't they have to extradite him first?

pablo128 wrote: »
    Wouldn't they have to extradite him first?

Of course but its very easy nowadays to be arrested on a European arrest warrant, and then he be in custody either fighting the extradition or agreeing to it.

so gardai are confident the facial recognition software they have is enough to convict the drag lady should be an interesting court case to see how it pans out but that should be one of the hutch sides main players off the street for a while one way or another

Anyway, it looks like the regency attack failed in everyone of its objectives, and its looking like the hutch side with the aid of the dissos vastly underestimated the kinahens, Wonder if this is the end or will the kinahens keep on targeting people allegedly involved, i.e. them who picked the shooters up in taxis and what not ?

so gardai are confident the facial recognition software they have is enough to convict the drag lady should be an interesting court case to see how it pans out but that should be one of the hutch sides main players off the street for a while one way or another
    Apart from Facial recognition technology what evidence even links him to the crime. Very weak surely, cannot see that sticking? I think your 2nd point though may be near the truth. Maybe they feel if they get him off the streets on remand which could be at least a year, that should disrupt everything even if he is found not guilty or released in the end?

One things for sure, the Gardai waited so long to nab him, they must have something concrete.
    Same with the airport jumper, they waited until they felt he'd jump ship to nab him.

• Registered Users Posts: 28 Nemesis......

Apart from Facial recognition technology what evidence even links him to the crime. Very weak surely, cannot see that sticking? I think your 2nd point though may be near the truth. Maybe they feel if they get him off the streets on remand which could be at least a year, that should disrupt everything even if he is found not guilty or released in the end?

A fingerprint needs 12 impressions afaik to identify someone,i doubt without additional evidence that there would be a conviction, facial recognition would be useless in this case,its fairly strict whats allowed to be heard by a jury so you can bet the legal argument in this one would probably kill the case stone dead. It's a holding charge

He clearly wasn't wearing gloves when the shooting happened the firearm may have been recovered, but thats all just speculation

that seems to be the only evidence linking him to the crime that i know of anyway. i have facial recognition installed in my phone its not meant to unlock the phone for any face but mine but some of my mates can unlock it that look similar to me although i suppose the software the gardai are using is on a higher level but still there is reasonable doubt there for me. Yea id say they do want to take him off the streets he will no doubt seek high court bail be another thing if he gets it there would be many objections from the gardai id imagine

Patrick hutch charged with murder of david byrne, remanded in custody for a week.

He clearly wasn't wearing gloves when the shooting happened the firearm may have been recovered, but thats all just speculation

i would imagine it would be big news if the firearm was recovered, seems everyone here can agree that the facial recognition wouldnt be enough to convict and the gardai must have something concrete so could somebody thats been held have made a statement against the drag lady